Rent KillZone for PS2
view large frontback

KillZone

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

4088 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth your time

posted by Chymera213 (MEADVILLE, PA) Jun 13, 2006

Member since May 2006

26 out of 31 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I have played a lot of shooter and this one is one of the best. It is not the halo killer that some say it is but it is however a very good game. Lets start with the good, the opening cutscene is good and so are most of the other ones, the weapons are nothing special but can be fun to use, the charaters act like a disfunctional family and have some differences in the way they play. the story is fun and the game has some difficulty to it also the VO is nice. As for whats wrong, the ememys are not too smart, the weapons all feel too similar after a while and although they have a really cool bash animation they do not have a normal bash button also you can not jump! also the weapons can feel a bit too weak or strong, for example the pistol can drop an enemy in two shots while an assault rifle takes about 15 shots and the snipeing is odd. all in all this is a very fun game with a good share of fun to be had and problems to be fixed so i say go ahead and rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by maddog2575 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

24 out of 33 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game rules. X-play may have said it was a cheap remake of Halo. but i don't think so.
the graphics are amazing and the guns are awesome . the only problem is how hard it is to kill the enemy. other than that it was sweet. i recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Painfully Average FPS

posted by EskimoGuy (ESCANABA, MI) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Killzone wasnt out to reinvent the FPS genre, and thank goodness for that.

Overall the game was mediocre. Which isnt to say that it was good or bad, just...neither. It should make more sense when we break it down:

GRAPHICS
This is an area that would constantly jump from 'wow' to 'ew' almost every level. The level environments are incredibly detailed, but suffer from tearing and clipping issues. The character models also run from great to awful. Just about all of the bad guys look awesome, whereas the allied NPCs look like they were from a PS1 game. Even the main characters models lacked any real shine.

SOUND
The music in Killzone is awesome. Orchestrated bits are sprinkled throughout the game, and they fit the moods perfectly. The weapons for the most part sound okay, nothing jaw-dropping. I did experience one problem about two levels in where one of the more available weapons sound changed to what could only be described as a 'dripping' kind of sound. Reloading the level or restarting the console didnt fix the issue either. The voice acting is also pretty good. Other than the drip-issue, the sound overall is great.

GAMEPLAY
Here are where most of Killzones flaws lie. The controls can sometimes feel too rigid. There are just inconsistencies abound, for example:
There are two main assault rifles in the game, one, when fired, makes your crosshair climb from recoil, the other does nothing. Even the heavy machine guns have no recoil-climb.
Not all the characters can do what the others can. Which I guess makes sense, as then you can have the paths branch a little. But it doesnt make much sense when the branching path meets the main one about twenty seconds later.
Also many of the weapons dont 'feel' right. The shotguns especially lack the oomf feeling they usually have. They just simply squirt out some shots and thats it.

OVERALL
For the most part, Killzone is a pretty solid game, but it isnt without its flaws. I would have to recommend a rental, or a cheap buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

24 out of 37 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

When i first heard about this game the hype was saying that killzone is the halo killer. Well i dont believe it killed halo but i do like to play this game more then halo, but i hate halo - its way too over-rated. The game is realistic in almost every aspect. The one problem in this game that annoys me, is the fact the game isnt smooth and continuous. It looks like it lags with any interaction. Whether it be shooting, reloding, pausing, walking, ect... This game is fun to play, and killzone 2 for ps3 is going to be amazing. The game looks realistic and is one of the better first person shooters for the station, A MUST RENT! I would have liked a better story, longer gameplay, and enemies that take less then 3 bullets to head to die. My last biggest beef with this game is the sniper rifle. I cant stand it, in any game i love to snipe but this one, not so much. Orange sniping screen, takes to long to zoom in and out, more difficult to aim then most first person shooters. But a good game.

Gameplay : 7
Graphics: 8
Sound: 8
Story: 5
Length: 4
Overall: 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its a good game

posted by Troyp06 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Killzone is a really good game but has some flaws the faces may not be perfect sometimes but they will work. Just don't let the faces or people bother you and this will be a really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An awesome and outstandingly AMAZING GAME!

posted by greatgame5 (MORAGA, CA) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I usually hate 1st player games (not including the Halo series) but this definitely changes my perspective on how great 1st player games can be. This game has it all, loads of guns to choose from, a wide variety of great characters, great graphics, and an outstanding range of different levels. You can go from the middle of a lab to a metropolitan abandoned city and there is always a load of enemies to shoot at. So if you know a thing or two about good PS2 war games you would have already gotten this game but if not I urge you to get this right now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A VERY FUN GAME

posted by splintcell (LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN, GA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

its realistic about the camera shaking when ur near an explosion and when u pull a weapon out, and the weapons are great and graphics are awesome, but u have to get used to dying allot and the aiming. and on battlefields u can choose the good or bad side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

killzone is awsome

posted by jordan7775 (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

killzone is so awsome me and mt brother played it for 1 week nonstop.killzone is the best shooting that i ever played!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was okay

posted by redvsblue (Rexville, NY) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

A lot of people said this game was better than halo! It was pretty good
but not better than halo I recomend this game to any halo fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of THE worst games I've played in a long time

posted by supernerd1 (EMMETT, ID) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Honestly people, don't rent this, and god forbid you BUY it. I know all the hype about Killzone 2 is pretty hefty right now, but renting this game to see how it all started is a big mistake. I've played Killzone 2 and it's a very good game, of course it IS for Playstation 3. It's almost like the creators went and made the second one as a sequel but it's really like the first done right. If you have a Playstation 3, rent Killzone 2, NOT Killzone 1, it's a waste of your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost There, But Not Quite the "Halo Killer"

posted by jordanswie (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 24, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

(The conversation between the makers of the game before the release)
Makers: Okay, we finally got the graphics down, and we have a cool new design for the enemies.

Sony: Hey you know this game needs to be done by next month right.

Makers: Okay, Calm done people. All we have to do is make a mediocre shooter with great graphics, and no one will notice the poor gameplay.

Helper: Wait! we haven't created a death sequence yet for when someone dies.

Makers: Oh that's ok we can just make whacky ragdoll effect.

Basically great online play, wonderful graphics, cool animations like reloading,climbing,vaulti- ng, melee, an grenade throws.

Single Player:
The enemy takes rounds and rounds of bullets without dieng, and after playing for a while it can get repetitive. Cool weapons though. Also there needs to be more work on game physics. Lacks a co-op feature.

Multiplayer:
Much better than single play, and always seems to have a constant flow of people to play against. Multiplayer is loads of fun, but my only issue is that I seem to die very easily, but I guess it's just because I'm mediocre.

Overall: I found that the game was enjoyable, but if you were to buy it, it would definantly be for the online play.Also the most hilarious part of the game is what happens when people die, people end up in very strange,akward, and unrealistic positions, which makes me go crazy everytime. Like one time my body was sittin erect with half my body in the ground I just looked like a stump, or when I died next to a railing, which seemed to magically prop me up despite all reason. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NO!!!

posted by Yomama8762 (GARDNERVILLE, NV) Jul 1, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

NO!!! I did not like this game! It had cheesy graphics and weak gameplay. The game gets really old and boring in less then an hour, the gameplay isn't that good, and most of the time you're taking cover instead of shooting. If you like boring games, you will love Killzone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it didn't work at all

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i rent this game but it didn't work at all and i want to try so i went to disreplay and i buy the game to see if i like it it was fun and really hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

analog problems

posted by MKmaster (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Controls, way 2 jumpy. Other than that, the games... OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool shooter

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

This game is pretty cool.Youre fighting the same enemies pretty much over and over again,but its good for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DON'T EVEN RENT!

posted by jree62 (CORONA, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This games graphics sucks,the game glitches every 40 seconds,and every time you switch your gun you have to reset it. I'll take Crysis 2 anyday

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the kill zone game

posted by joseperezk19 (SANTA PAULA, CA) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i go the game and it doesnt play i would put it in my ps2 and it wouldnt work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

tough game

posted by tomh2010 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This game is not much fun offline. For those who have online ability you would enjoy this game more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ok

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

bad graphics.i might just be used to playing ps3 games. and bad controls for aiming ang shooting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

here is some advice

posted by 2400 (BENSON, AZ) Sep 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

i have seen alot of reviews that say it is hard to kill guys and it is just get the , one hit kill, cheat code. i had this game years ago now i have it agian and this time i will beat it so, i say rent it and try the code good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good for its time but skip if u just want story

posted by WitchDocta (RICHMOND, TX) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

Killzone 3 came out this year and i was really excited but i had nvr played any of the other killzone games so i rented killzone one to catch me up on the story. I dont know what i was excpecting it being a game from 2002 so i was very disappointed when i got it. The graphics were terrible the controls were shakey and hard to use and if u die u start from the begginning of that section and thats annoying when the sections are pretty long. i decided that i really didnt want to try and go through the entire tourture so i went to youtube and looked up killzone story and sent it back. for everyone who just wants the story to play killzone 2 or 3 i would skip the game and go to youtube much simpler and easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

killzone is a killer

posted by anarchy_666 (LAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

when i first started i played the campaign its great but not the best cool characters awesome story but after playing a couple lvls i went to battlefields played offline and online i got to say whatever they missed in the campaign they certainly made it up in the battlefields great game rent it play it love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yeah...

posted by tomcat778 (RENO, NV) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I personally hate this game. The crosshairs on your weps are horrible its like there all for rocket launches u cant hit anything hardly at all and i know im not a bad player. The sesitvity is really bad looking left and right is riduculas even turned all the way down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

KILLZONE FOR THE AGES

posted by jonahthegreat (HOBOKEN, NJ) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is a great way to begin your 'first person shooter' beginnings. Killzone for the Playstation 2 is a remarkable not too distant future campaign about interplanetary wars happening in the milky way galaxy..sounds a bit cheesy but the concept is amazing how the producers made this world. The gameplay is phenomenal and leaves you off the edge of your seat for the most part. Weapons list is a 10 as well along with the story.

this is a great game i recomend to ALL who are 1PS fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Killzone: Are you serious?

posted by Torture3666 (SLATINGTON, PA) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

So, I understand they made two sequels to this game, all I can say is that I hope the designers did a better job on 2 and 3 than they did on this POS. Never in any game have I had such a difficult time hitting a target, moving or otherwise. I was hitting maybe 1 out of 5 shots, and it's not like the designers did it in a way that would simulate wind or breathing, no, it's just totally random misses, the only weapon with any decent accuracy to it was the sniper rifle which was hard to find and even harder to find ammo for. Personally I will not be playing 2 or 3 and I can't get rid of this thing fast enough to make myself feel better, now if you'll excuse me, it's time to take the real weapons to a firing range where at least if I miss I'll bloody well know why!

Sincerly,
Disgruntled military shooter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse