Rent Kid Icarus: Uprising for 3DS
view large frontback

Kid Icarus: Uprising

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

1288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I have ever played!

posted by JCGir (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I pretty much like everything about this game. I loved the storyline, the controls, and the music. I heard that people didn't like the controls in that game, but I didn't have any problems. I expected this game to be really short and that I wouldn't really get into it before I rented it. But it turns out that the game had over twenty chapters that were packed with extra things to do in themI got really hooked into the game and I wished more games were like it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WELL ITS ABOUT TIME!

posted by Iamtyler1235 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If i could sum this game up in one word, it would be "amazing". Nintendo finally brought something NEW to the 3DS, ive waited for it for a year now.... it was worth it.
The storyline was good, im not going to say fantastic, but good enough. Flying through medusas army both in the skies AND on land made a great adventure. I loved the rendition of all the characters, they all had their own attitude, in the game you see a comic-style version of the characters talking on the bottom screen, while on the top you see the 3D version. I found this to be a fun way to see the story as it was happening.
The flying style was fixed, unfortunately. But you still had controll of where you moved in the camera zone. There were many weapons like claws,bows,spears, ect. So that added variety to the gameplay.
Unfortunately, one thing i must say, the controls were pitiful, to move the crosshairs in the middle of the screen you needed to move it on the bottom touchscreen, use the ABXY buttons which i chose, or the D-pad. It took some getting used to, and ended up making the game get irritating at points.
The dialogue in the game involved shoutouts from certain old games like nintendogs, and old nes games.
This game brought no-glasses 3d to the next level. One level in particular i loved was chapter 8 where your in space, following a pirate ship or whatever. Was visually stunning!
So in my opinion this game is 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

(By Far)The Best 3DS Game So Far

posted by wiilover27 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 18, 2012

Member since May 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is way better than I expected it would be.

First off, the Graphics:
Extremely beautiful.
I usually find myself looking at the backgrounds than acutally fighting.
Everything runs very well, too.

Next, the Story:
The story is spectacular, and the dialogue is hilarious(they also make various references to the original Kid Icarus).
Although, while fighting, it's kinda hard to read all of it.
Plus, they do talk quite a lot, and sometimes I find myself finishing something before they finsh speaking.

Next, Gameplay:
Simply, unique.
The switching between air and lands battles makes for a fun addition.
The controls are a little bit difficult at first, but are pretty easy to learn once you get used to them.
Also, there are powers that you can use to help in battles.
Each power ranges from health recovery to giant lazers.

Next, Variety:
In this game, there are 9 different types of weapons in this game, and each is unique; Every weapon you get is different from the last, so, what you have there is endless possibilies.
Also(like in Mario Smash Bros.), there are collectable "figures" called "Idols".
They can be obtained by using coins to launch eggs, through online play, and through Collectable AR cards.

Lastly, Online Play:
There are two different modes in this:
1. Light vs. Dark is where teams of three battle against eachother to deplete their life gauge; once depleted, the tema's Angel comes out(Either Pit for Light, or Dark Pit for Dark side).
Once the other team's Angel is defeated, the match ends.
2. Free-for-All is where(up to)6 players brawl it out.
The person with the most kills is the winner.
Also, in some matches, there are Mystery Weapons. After the match, a random person is chosen to recieve the weapon.
Also, sometimes, you'll win random items like: Weapons, Idols, Powers.

In the end, a great game for the 3DS, although, it's not for everybody.
A definite rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game-A must have!

posted by Mezinchna (JUNEAU, AK) Aug 31, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great! Endless gameplay thanks to the PvP option, a great storyline, BREATH-TAKING music, a HUGE selection of weapons, and a new boss and a unique stage for each level! I feel in love with this game the moment I had it. While the controls take a bit of getting used to, I would HIGHLY reccomened this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Review

posted by Rickay (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was a fun game to play, only the camera angle was hard to keep up with while playing the ground battling parts. Pretty cool to watch and play in 3-D. Alot of talking though, so you would need to play somewhere where you can have the sound on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY challenging!!

posted by Pebbles_21 (BURTON, MI) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thought it was a GREAT game! The only thing that kinda irritated me though, was that there was a little bit too much dialogue. Other then that, I would definitely recommend this game to someone! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome graphics!

posted by fugzilla (CONWAY, MO) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome graphics, and awesome characters talk to you but just not my type of game. If all games were that well built it would be amazing. Beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun with room for challenge.

posted by Ash_Jones (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the most challenging games I've played in awhile. You can choose to play the entire game on standard or you can constantly challenge yourself by increasing the intensity. It had a steep learning curve for me at first, but the more I played the better I got. I averaged about a 5.0 intensity by ch.24 but I couldn't finish it before I had to return it. If you feel like games lately have been too easy, try Kid Icarus Uprising. See if you can finish every stage in Uprising on 9.0 intensity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for right-handed people

posted by aetabar (CASS CITY, MI) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great for the 3 hours that I was able to put up with it. The action was great and it seems to have an excellent storyline. Only thing is that the game wasn't really made for a left-handed person. The only efficient way to move the character is using the circle pad and the only efficient way of aiming is by using the touch screen, both of which are left handed actions for a left-handed person. If the aiming style had something like the aiming style of the new 3D Zelda, where the reticle moves when the 3DS moves, this game really would've been awesome. If I hadn't been left handed, this game easily would've gotten a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kid Icarus is Up and Rising.

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kid Icarus Uprising is the third Kid Icarus Game. Taking Place after of Myths and Monsters, Kid Icarus Uprising expains the story of Pit and Lady Paulentana, who must try and stop Medusa again. When they do they realize the real threat is not her. Controls play with the circle pad and the L and R Butons. The touch screen is used for aiming. The story is exelent and has a TON of 4th Wall breaking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best 3DS Game ther is yet

posted by Quikman1 (HELENA, AL) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though this game has been out, and I have also been playing it since release over again, I find this game to be the best 3DS game so far. I can't say for how this game will compare later, but it is better than the ones out today that I have played.

The game starts 25 years after Kid Icarus. You find out that MEdusa and some of her commanders like Hewdraw, Tanatos (Thanatos: "Actually it's tHanatos, the extra H is for H-amazing) and Twinbellows (Pit: "Here boy, old Pit's going to teach you EVEN MORE new tricks, and then I'll give you a bath, and if your good I'll give you a treat, and we'll go for a walk. OH we are seriously going to rack up some serious Nintendogs Trainer Points!!!")

Now the 3D graphics are H-AMAZING, there are approximately 108 weapons to choose from, there are bosses, a secret ending where MeHONKKK (Spoiler Alert) and then VirHONKNNK (Another Spoiler). Anyway, I would reccomend this to anyone who likes reborn classics, amazing 3D Graphics, Action, Adventure, Mystery, fun and lots more.

My favorite part of ALL of Kid Icarus: Uprising is the dialogue, I laughed my head of with this dialogue. There is the always arguing and bickering Hewdraw (which puting all three heads lines would take a while) there is the Aurum (Enough said) where Palutena Makes some really funny jokes with the two otHONK plus some of the examples above. Then there are thousands of other examples that woudl take up my leftover space left in this review.

Along with that, there is Dark Pit, a clone of Pit which is more evil, meaner, but isn't truly evil to the bone. Pit even saves hiHONNK. Now other than that I have to talk about the best aspect with the least amount of space left.

Multiplayer mode is home to Dark Vs. Light, and it is controlled 3-on-3 Multiplayer Chaos that I always play and I think it is the most amazing aspect. I'm out of time so play the game for yourself and discover the most amazing 3DS game. Oh and don...... (ran out of space)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kid Icarus 3Ds

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

More Of The Updated Kid Icarus Its Different From Its Original..3ds Defintely Made It Into 3d Formation,even 2d you basically take the skies,shoot out weird enemies,when u meet land is where its at you even fight bosses,theres a story in between all this..looks like a basic shooter from the skies similiar to starfox but it gets better..the game isnt the best but its not totally bad either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great Game

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Sep 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well lets first start off this is a great game, but the control scheme can be a pain unfortanately it is not remedied by the circle pad pro the control option does let you switch the aim o the second it just helps a little. once you set it up your fine. now moving on with story it has alot of weapons ranging from swords to cannons. now if you are like me and wanted to know if this was like a zelda game welll cold trutgh it is not..sorry it has elements but mostly has elements of those classic games where u pased it lvl by lvl, now there is an idol collector where you capture enemies depends on your power ups which play apart in both modes like weapons, now the both modes are standard single and multiplayer. the multiplayer modes are free for all which is self explanitory and light vs. dark in which you play with a team of 4 and fight to defeat oposition you can earn weapons in this mode as well as power ups.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth Buying

posted by donomanx (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I initially rented this game an optioned to keep it. Since then I've probably dropped over 50 hours into this game. There's a ton of levels that can be played at multiple difficulty levels. An assload of weapon drops keep you coming back.

Multiplayer is really addictive and fun online. You'll find yourself trying out different weapons and powers for hours to find that build that rocks.

Street pass is great as it allows you to trade weapons with other players.

Can't say enough good things about this game. It got decent reviews but I would argue its one of the best 3ds games out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating at times but solid game play

posted by nerdgasm (WATERVLIET, NY) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great.... at first but how many plot twists and chapters does one game need?! If you like to be surprised a lot I recommend it but even if you don't it is a really good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eh...

posted by dr_octagonapus (SOUTH LYON, MI) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, wut can i say? this game IS short, but it IS good. I would NOT recomend this game to anyone under the age of 8. This is becuz the cutcenes are all dramatic and will make lil kids 7years old and under cry. characters also call each other idiots or filthy, tell each other to shut up, and language like dang, or heck (not that those are bad words). also the goddess of light tells pit that he has more "swagger".
on the other hand, though, the wepons are better, the grapics are awesome, the sense of humor is great, and its like playing super smash bros. in 3-d. all in all, this game is good, but only to the people who "get it"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game that I own

posted by Rabbit102099 (ROME, NY) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game I own and It has a great story and adventure. Nintendo has done it again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short and Straight

posted by yoshinetzero (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

don't let the comments about the controls intimadte or put you off, this is an excellent game you dont want to miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kid Icarus review :)

posted by Sabree (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was just really fun to me, the best thing about this game is the dialog, the voice acting is spot on and what they say and do is quite funny, the story line was amazing, and a cool thing about this game is you can use any type of weapon you want like claws, cannons, swords, bows, and many more, the one thing that gets annoying about this game is enemies! it's like you never get a break when you launch into a chapter, enemy right after another, although they aren't that hard to handle but well lets just say that it's quite easy to get game overs, it's not that the enemies are hard it's just they keep coming and you don't have much recovery items. but more or less this game is quite fun and i highly recommend this to of course Kid Icarus fans and Nintendo fans alike. Oh and another thing that Nintendo payed attention to is the 3D, there are so many things in that game that's perfect for 3D (especially in later chapters)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by thatsabigtiger (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Incredible game! Might be my favorite game on the 3ds so far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by robtom (LONGWOOD, FL) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually think this game deserves around a 9 rating, but this is to counteract any idiots giving this game a 5. Graphics are amazing and deserve a 10/10.
I admit that the gameplay takes getting used to and cramps your hand after a while, but is saved by the great storyline. 7/10
The story is a great and funny and it seems the characters are always talking about something which is one thing I wish all games could do. Every level had new scenery and I found myself thinking "I wonder what will happen next level". I am not a fan of games that leave you in silence for most of the storyline and this game allows for long conversations between characters. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by nyxpanda (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was great in every way when it came to story, graphics and gameplay. Highly recommend if you like fast paced shooting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitly the best 3ds game

posted by Twilight_hero (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Kid Icarus Uprising is the must have 3ds game, the controls can get a little getting used to but this visually stunning game gives fantastic gameplay.
With the single player campaign having bite sized chapters, weapon fusion giving you better weapons, and a treasure hunt of sorts it ranks among some of the best handheld titles Nintendo has made.
The online multiplayer is fantastic with it having virtually no lag you will be spending a lot of time gathering awesome weapons here just for fusing them because that's just such an addicting aspect of the game
If this game had more RPG elements such as upgrading weapons it would makes this game just even better then it already is. I highly recommend this game to any one who has a 3ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth the wait.

posted by CamGuide (COATESVILLE, IN) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After 25 years off Pit is back in Kid Icarus: Uprising. With the original Kid Icarus was a 2D side scroller, Uprising is an on rails shooter/ third person action game.
First the positives. The game is one of the best looking 3DS games to come out. The on rails flight missions are by far the highlight visually. Everything makes Pit look tiny and gives you the feeling of being up against great odds. Sadly this is where the possitives end.
The controls are handcrampingly bad. Stylus for aiming, control stick for moving, and left trigger for shooting. This causes your left hand to support the 3DS while your right hand is holding the stylus. Every level is also nearly exactly the same. Fly around, and and battle, boss fight, repeat. If the game had decided to just be an on rails shooter I would have enjoyed it much more, but having to put upwith the on foot sections makes the quality and enjoyment degrade.
With all that the game would still be worth a look, however; what ruins this game is the constant conversation between Pit and the goddess Palutena. They never seem to stop talking, and for some reason Pit seems aware that he is in a video game.
This game is not broken, but a lot of design choices bring down the quality of the game. This was suppose to be the 3DS game we were all waiting for, but it looks like we will have to wait a little while longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Have a 3DS? What are you waiting for?

posted by Vector48 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is a lot to be said about Kid Icarus: Uprising, due to character limitations however, I will have to keep this relatively brief.

Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of those games where everything just goes right. As you boot up the game, you are thrown face first into the action without any interface, and boy is it an adventure to behold. Gameplay is split into two portions in this game,levels typically begin with a flight segment akin to Starfox, and usually end with an on-foot segment that feels like a cross of Smash Bros. and Kingdom Hearts.

Despite what popular word of mouth may be, the controls are amazing. There is no better way for a 3DS game to allow movement, dodging, independently moving a pointer, shooting and charging attacks, performing melee, cast spell-like abilities, and move the screen, much of which can be simultaneous.

There is nothing about the game I can complain about, most everything is easily above average or ingenious.

Gameplay is astoundingly fun with enemies and bosses that are such a joy to fight. A masterful risk and reward system aligns the game to any difficulty you could want, allowing you to bet currency on tougher challenges.You can wield everything from bows, to wolverine claws, to tornado causing mallets. Collecting and combining weapons customizes the gameplay to your style. There's plenty of challenges and levels to keep you occupied, and the online battles are amazingly fun. This game oozes replay value.

From a non-gameplay perspective, the game remains excellent. Great and colorful cast of characters, all form of witty banter. Voice acting fit for a Saturday morning show and is hilarious because of it. A wonderful soundtrack which just adds so much to the experience. Graphics the work with the 3D and look gorgeous either way. Hints to the 8-bit days which don't over rely on nostalgia...Honestly I could go on and on.

VERDICT:BUY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse