Rent Kengo: Legend of the 9 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kengo: Legend of the 9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.2

1003 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I discovered how to play this game...

posted by momenteer (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yeah, I know everybody says this game sucks, but I'm going to tell you how to play it so you can enjoy it...this is not a button mashing game!

It looks good, and they don't tell you how to play it so it is INFURIATINGLY FRUSTRATING - which is why so many people gave it a negative review.

I stuck it out. Here's the deal. The ONLY objective is to kill everybody. There are 3 ways to take REGULAR guys out:

1. Non-Locked-On Attack (couple hits and they are down)
2. Grapple Throw (lock on to an enemy first, then press x once to initiate a grapple, wrestle for a moment, by pulling the stick to pull the dude around, then press in a direction and hit x again to throw opponent and follow-up kill with a slash of b or y)
3. Special Kill (There are places on each level like a log, a wall, etc. where you can grapple throw an enemy near it and the lock on indicator will turn red above their head - then press b or y and you will trigger a special kill that gives you big points and gives a cinematic breather)

Most of the fights are with characters that are stronger than you. Use the same tactics - though play more defensively as they will grapple you too (in which case move the stick to or counter what direction they pull you in, and press x or a & x to escape) Hitting x after escaping a grapple will make you jump out of the way from the follow up attack, if there is room to move.

There are no health powerups, so try not to take any damage at any time. Breathe, Relax, and get to choppin bodies!

Man, I wish I had someone to play this game one-on-one with! That is where this game shines I imagine...

In-Joy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wow

posted by tomatohead (Seattle, WA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't played a game this bad in a long time. The gameplay is all about slow button response time. The environments were boring. The AI was monotonous. I think this has been my fastest return to GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It really IS bad...

posted by peacefrog (CHERRY POINT, NC) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually disagree with the haters of "bad games". But they were right this time. This game WILL get on your nerves. You will get cheap-o killed MANY times. You WILL wish you didn't rent it! You will see the title screen about 600 times until you give up from starting a level over and over and over again. I'm a hardcore samurai fan, and this game did not satisfy me in the least. Please just listen to the haters this time, don't even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Samurai Action

posted by Scarab893 (TAMPA, FL) May 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I know everyone seems to hate this game and I understand why, but I have to say this game is deeper than your normal hack and slash. I mean yeah its not the most exciting but I have to say being a die hard Samurai fan, i found this game to be pretty enjoyable. I gave it a 7 only because there could have been less repetative "goons" to fight and graphically its not up to the 360 standards but again its fun when you give it a chance as well as challenging.

First off mastering the different stances of your blade and upgrading your stances with certain moves. From strong attacks to weak quick attacks its all about chambara in this game. Again if you compare it to whats out there its totally different so I think thats why people are giving it a bad deal. Yeah it gets repetative sometimes but again its more about the sword play. If you remember back on the PS1 there was the Bushido Blade series, well this is the updated version. Yes graphically there isnt anything to go crazy for, but again sword play. Knowing a boss battle can be a drawn out sword slashing or a complex blade to blade chess match never knowing if your going to land that single deadly strike. Yeah its cool cause if you time it right or get the right combo you can kill a boss with one lethal blow and the fight is over.

Again I know it seems like there are more cons than pros but you gotta give this game a chance. You cant just pick it up and expect it to be awsome you have to understand the mechanics of sword and once you master the combos you'll see
what this game is about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A bad example of a hack and slash

posted by Baene21 (STILLWATER, OK) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

horrible game, a bad example of a hack and slash mixed with a fighting game like tekken. during boss battles your character likes to disappear if you are backed into a wall or obstacle, making it very hard to judge your next move.
Rent worthy? No
Buy worthy? Definitely not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better then what people say

posted by Kimimaro (OCALA, FL) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm really starting to suspect that many people are getting the wrong impression of this game, as a "hack and slash" type of game.. I even read somewhere where someone said that it was a rip off of samurai warriors, which is completely bogus since if all you do is button mash on enemies, they will kill you. Kengo requires precision, focus and a general know-how of the game mechanics to be able to properly fight.

There are many good features of this game, and quite a unique twist for the online mode. However, there is no practice, or tutorial on how to play the game or work the fighting mechanics, so you have to get first hand experience in game.

There's a Story mode, combat mode (1v1 fighting), and Online mode. During Story mode you will be able to choose 1 of 3 starting characters, which you can unlock more characters later. Your character has basic combos which when you complete the mission you will obtain points to be able to unlock different moves that go along with a specific button (Y or B) combo or other attacks that are initiated by pressing a directional button and Y or B. There are 3 different stances for a character, all which you can switch between during combat and can purchase moves for. However you can't save points that you didn't use to another upgrading session. You can also unlock "AI traits", which are used for Online, by finishing missions.

Combat mode is, well.. 1 vs 1, nothing to really explain there. Online fighting is a bit different.. The "Ai traits" you unlock in story carry over here, and effect how your character fights (you don't actually fight yourself, it's basically a bot match).

Graphically, they are somewhat better then Xbox quality, but not even close to being able to completely take advantage of the 360s graphical capabilities. Game play is decent, but will bore you after a few days since it isn't really revolutionary or innovative, and online (since you don't play it yourself) won't really have you coming back for more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nothing like the original

posted by Phatslugga (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I remember picking up the first Kengo for the ps2 in a $5 bin. To my surprise it was a great game. Tons of characters, moves, realistic battle system and it was just great fun to play with friends and talk smack after slicing them up a few times.

Lots of things have changed, and not in a good way. Firstly, this game is no longer a VS style fighter. Instead, its now a generic hack and slash action game that is being choked to death by its own linearity. There are two different attack buttons, and you can mix them up a little bit, but there is little reason to do so, since all the combos do the same amount of damage, and there really is no incentive to switch it up.

Graphics are pretty bad, sound is nothing special, just a total bore. If you're looking for anything that resembles the original game, look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kengo, a game for all you hardcore samurai fans

posted by shmooey (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

A lot of people have been giving this game bad reviews. I on the other had simply love this game. The main thing that drew me over was its realistic fighting system. Changing between stances, having your swords clash, and pulling off those awesome execution moves. Also there are 9 interesting samurai to chose from each with a real historical background.
Now I will admit this game dose have some down falls. The story mode is a bit thin and uninteresting and the online mode is really weak, because all you do is watch your samurai fight. I do really enjoy the two player offline mode though. If your a hardcore samurai person then this game is a must have, other wise just rent it and see if you enjoy it. Well that's my two cents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best fighting games IMO.

posted by Whovencrof (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say I enjoyed this game quite a lot. It was nice to get out of the tedium of current gen fighters, and harken back to a simpler time. A time in which sticking a sword into someone meant dealing them a mortal wound, not 1/20th of their hp bar.

Pros:
- A fairly advanced skill based fighting system, complete with a cadre of instant KO moves.
- The ability to use your surroundings as a weapon.
- Characters that mimic your style of play, and only get better when you do.
- Custom combo/skill trees.

Cons:
- A rather harsh learning curve.
- A somewhat poor storyline in comparison to other good games.
- A cadre of instant KO moves.
- Characters that only get better when you do can be annoying when you aren't very good.

All in all I'd say it's at least worth a try, if you're a fan of fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOWThat Sucked!!!

posted by BlakDragn (COQUILLE, OR) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was absolutely appalled at what I thought would be a decent game. At least the subtitles were in English! The graphics were sub-par, and the story... well, it was in Japanese, so I don't know! It was so bad that I sent it back the same day I got it. I don't think it was worth the plastic used to make the disc!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

.....at least it has multiplayer?

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Oct 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

12 out of 25 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

ok, lets face it, i dont care if youre a die hard ninja or samurai fan, games like tenchu and dynasty warriors suck. kengo legend of the nine however, does raise the bar slightly.

for a 360 game, the graphics are bad, and if you are someone who needs their game to be completely stylized and unrealistic, you wont like this game at all. but the realistic fighting moves and combos are probably the best part of this game. you dont do superhuman techniques or fly through the air, u block, slash, and try to throw your opponent off balance. this game is good because it is technical, if you are a button masher, you will fail miserably at this game.

now, you DO have to be a samurai fan to realy enjoy this game, especially 'cuz the story mode is so dry. the only REAL fun in this is sparring with a friend in battle mode. another downfall for this game is they dont tell you how to play it, wich WILL frustrate you at first, but you WILL get the hang of it, i promise, and when you do, you will destroy your friends with either a powerful downwards slash to the back, or by stabbing them and throwing them down a well. this is not the best game ever, but it may be one of the best samurai games ever. a definite rent for people with freinds to play against.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by ubergamer1 (ALTO, MI) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

omuhgawd this is the most infuriating game evar! there is no learning curve, only a learning wall.
the instructions don't come with game fly games and there is no tutorial or anything. 3 seconds into the game you fight a legion of samurai who wrongly accuse you of some dumb junk, they are just filler, and offer no real opportunity to learn how to fight because they surround you so you are forced to kill most of them immediately, then if you do get one alone they die too easily for you to try out any moves. once you have defeated the dozens of puffballs you go up against a boss. You will likely die the first time you fight him. and the second and third. each time you will be forced to watch your corpse for several moments, ya know, laying there. Being dead. then back to the title screen to start all over, no checkpoints, nothing. needless to say, after learning to fight and getting to the third or fourth boss fight, getting beaten and being forced to start from the beginning again, it gets frustrating. plus the gameplay is lethargic, the controls lame and I just hate everything about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

How could it be so bad??

posted by bugwump (EL CAJON, CA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Hardly a next gen looking game - graphics are OK for what the 360 is capable of.

Swordplay is a joke. A couple of slash buttons, a block button and a charge button. String them together and you have combos more boring than the original street fighter.

I was pretty excited about this game as I love swordplay. The only reason this didn't get shipped back the same day as I received it was because I missed the last pickup for the postman....horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ewwwwwwww

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 46 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

The only reasons you should attempt to waste time on this game are:

- Neither Bioshock, Stranglehold, MOH:A or Heavenly Sword (PS3) is available to rent
- You like garbage Tenchu looking games (and that game was already garbage)
- You have no chores to do around the house (clean, wash clothes, mow the lawn)
- You have no job or class to attend
- You are absolutely flat out bored

It is better than Two Worlds I will give you that! If you rent this game well you have been warned, if you BUY this game I'll give you my address and you can send me the 40 bucks next time you feel like wasting money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is broke.......

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Sep 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Run, run as far and as fast as you can from this game. The controls are horrible. I literally played this game for 10 minutes and sealed it up and sent it back. If I could give negative numbered review scores this would be a -10. I am ticked that I wasted 10 minutes of my life playing this. Run......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what

posted by humper (WESTERVILLE, OH) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

the worst game on 360 to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ive played on 360

posted by Master78 (POOLER, GA) Sep 15, 2007

Member since May 2005

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The game look like it belongs on ps2 or original xbox and it plays like tenchu but without the fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

never again

posted by xXSupermanXxLC (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

What were they thinking?... simple as that. i could understand if i only played it a little and stopped, but i took my time and gave the game time to grow on me. it grew but what came from it was mold. the game was a mistake and i always say if you cant create something my 11 year old nephue can create better...than dont create it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For real Samurai Fans

posted by Dartic (SAINT JOHNSBURY, VT) May 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this game is good don't let other people fool you that it is bad, it is just that the fighting is realistic the stances of the characters are those used in Modern day kendo the style is the same too hit your opponent where the sword is not,blocking is only 20 % of defending yourself and timing is everything. This game is not easy but it is disliked for all the wrong reasons however I will have to say the graphics could do with a bit of a improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Trained to kill

posted by karatekid206 (CARROLLTON, TX) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Well, its not the best game guys......the first couple boss battles are really the meat and potatoes. No reason to switch up your combos just gets you blind sided due to the awkward camera and hack-n-slash style of play.Be as technical as you like....but the game forces you to start mashing the two attack buttons cus its repetitive enemy and slow paced grab then insta kill thing does not do much for the game play.
I say keep it around for the VS mode! its nice to see your friends struggle with the stances then finally start throwing out a good challenge.
One good thing to say about this game is, usually I get soooooo ANGRY when i die quickly in games, like UFC 09 Knockouts urrrr!!!!
but this was fun to be out skilled by a Ronin or w.e. happend to run you through! Have fun dont expect a lot!
p.s. i train in martial arts and everything is right on the money if thats incentive to pick it up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by 557r35 (WILLCOX, AZ) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Bottom line this game is so bad that it is not even a game. Bad graphics, All attacks do the same amount of damage. It is just a button mashing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissapointment

posted by Fac3less (JOELTON, TN) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Ok; I'm the guy who will play through just about any game at least once, but not this one. Within the first 5 minutes of playing I knew that I would not like this game, but I kept playing and gave it a chance. The longer I played the more horribly dissapointed I became because I was actually looking forward to this game. The story seems like it would be ok, but the gameplay stifles the urge to play very quickly. If I could rate it lower than a 1 I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kenjo 9

posted by DeathZero (BLUE RIDGE SUMMIT, PA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I couldn't even play the game because when I tried the ingame camera made me feel like I was going to have problems so I took it out right away and put it back in it's envelope and going to reaturn it very sortly =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WASTE OF GAMEQ SPACE

posted by xenonative (MIDDLETOWN, NY) May 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

like the title implies this game is horrible. im not going to waste my time writing a review why u shouldn't be playing this game. JUST DON'T

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

barely worth a rent not worth a purchase

posted by KILLAro (Hollywood, FL) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

kengo legend of the nine is a repetitive non-informitive game.which gives you no idea to what you're supposed to be doing or where you're supposed to be going,leaving you to slash thourgh
waves of enemies until you reach their boss and with the remainig health you have find a way to defeat him. the leveling up system is questionable as well.and the online multiplayer well there is none.this game is dry and infuriating but if you're that into samurai give it a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse