Rent Katamari Forever for PS3
view large frontback

Katamari Forever

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1614 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Weird and Confusing

posted by shystermeister (VAN NUYS, CA) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game was not at all what I was expecting. It's very crazy, confusing, and weird. The controls are all weird too and the game play is very difficult because of it. I spent 5 minutes on it and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

jg reviews katamari forever

posted by battlemage (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

Katamari forever is a videogame series that was only to be released in japan but found its way over to the united states threw the ps2 i really never played a katamari game fully ive always seen bits of it threw demos and such but i havent really played it fully and is it good my response kinda. Your given a time saylike three minutes to collect as much junk trees people cows anything in the area when your done or your time is up your jerk of a king father tells you how you did and shuns you if you dident get a decent amount from that katamari you created the gameplay is simple but takes sometime to get used to cause you use both anlog sticks to control the prince the main character of the series and it takes time to enjoy the core game cause you cant just start rolling anything you see it depends on how big or small your katamari is . The story centers on the princes dad falls hits his head and gets knocked out cold so the prince with the help of some of his friends build a robot verison of the king but it goes psycho destroys all the stars which leads you to collect and create the stars again... your real father wakes up eventually which leads to different missons that go back and forth from the actual king to the robot king so the premise of this game hasnt changed in years the controls really take a while to get used to i mean rotating the kaitamari is hard enough its not good its not bad its an okay game if they fixed the controls and the whole time limit system it would be a better and more enjoyable game if they just fixed those two problems iam giving this game a C+ mostly because the gameplay needs to be improved the controls for moving the prince and the katamari need to be fixed or improved whatever word fits better thank you for reading-JG"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very disappointing for a Katamari fan

posted by MrHaru (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Katamari Forever. Holy cow what a huge disappointment. SO MUCH in fact I physically could not complete the game.

...no seriously, but I tried!

Usually Katamari is designed to look like 2 hours at a playground and childcare center filled with toddlers: lots of things just thrown about and it's MESSY AND CLUTTERED. That's what makes finding things to roll up so strangely satisfying and addicting. This is still true for this game.

Until you get to the last few levels where you are redoing older levels in older Katamari games where instead of having an idea of where to go (because things are so cluttered together you can see what else you haven't picked up) the majority of the items/clutter is spread thin. I got so many "Game Over" screens and it was all because of how terribly placed all the items were. If it were just legitimately a hard level with a different kind of objective I'd get it, but you can't tell me that you granted me a new area to explore and...ugh.

I've played a lot of Katamari and what I'm saying is basically the design minds in this one is EXTREMELY frustrating. ...and y'know, I'd REALLY like this game more if it didn't tell me to go fudge myself for doing the best I could. I get that The King of The Cosmos is supposed to always be pissy and never happy with anything under 100 or 120 scored levels but it's hard finding the joy to try and continue playing when I am literally still being verbally beaten down like it's still supposed to be funny. In reality that's just a nitpick, but it adds to the frustration of dealing with Katamari Forever.

Even the initially appealing visuals of the game eventually irritated me because it felt like a cheap filter put over the screen, and I was not a fan of the B&W levels either.

So it's a shame I won't be buying this game because I seriously had high hopes for it. How could the quality of the game drop so drastically from Beautiful Katamari for the 360??! I don't get it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh

posted by JoelandGabby (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

What is a fantastic to look at, and weird (in a fun way) characters and gameplay I feel it's severely less fun than little big planet two

Apples v oranges? Maybe, but my opinion is don't even rent this game unless your Q is in serious need to a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game!!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Funny, good music, hilarious Japanese styling every where, but also a visual wonderland. The story lines never cease to amaze me. Where do they come up with this stuff!?! I tend to favor the non-bloody, non-war mongering types games so I really went for this one.
Gameplay: obviously the main drive is the gameplay. I was impressed and delighted with the originality and interesting goal of rolling a ball through huge rooms full of [stuff!?] Various levels of [stuff!?] make this so interesting, fun, and creative. You get to roll the ball using L + R picking up the right sized things to reach the goals of time, size, etc and the characters are like "out-of-this world" The king and queen were hard to figure out but they are funny and whimsical throughout the levels with their dialogue.
The colors, sounds, artistic display on each level gave an entire 3-D feel to this completely unique title!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why?

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Why isn't it for sale? It is my current game out, and I wanna keep it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As Faithful to Katamari as Conceivably Possible

posted by Omrikon (NEW HYDE PARK, NY) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

Gameplay: 7 (Interesting but repetitive)
Graphics: 9 (Expectedly cute and blocky)
Sound: 8 (Same type of music as the rest)
Originality: 5 (Lots of rehashed levels, some new stuff though)
Story: 7 (Quirky but simple)
Replayability: 10 (Pretty much the whole game)
Completion Difficulty: Irritating

Katamari Forever is basically all of the older Katamari games rolled into one with an extra few levels and mechanics sprinkled on top, such as the ability to jump on non-Classic mode.

Nonetheless, the game manages to preserve the concept of Katamari faithfully, and the characters and storyline remain as odd as ever. This time around, the King has fallen into a deep amnesiatic sleep/coma and cannot do his job. As the Prince (or some cousin), you must help Roboking while simultaneously trying to restore the kings memories.

There are quite a few levels, all centered around the usual Katamari idea of rolling up as much as possible, though some incorporate limitations in terms of size, time, and points based on types of objects rolled up.

However, there are 4 different modes of rolling. Aside from Katamari Forever, which is available on every level, numerous levels have Katamari Drive, Eternal Katamari, and Classic Katamari as well. As such, completing the game and getting all of the achievements/trophies requires a lot of replaying of the same levels.

Despite the irritation that arises from attempts to complete it though, Katamari Forever is a rather relaxing game, especially on Eternal mode. Admittedly, certain levels such as Hot Stuff and Camping are more annoying than others, but most are simply a matter of rolling up as much as you can. The grading criteria of the King and Roboking are pretty stringent compared to earlier games, so passing doesn't necessarily mean you've done very well, but the grades are largely unimportant.

Nonetheless, I likely won't buy another Katamari game anytime soon. Completing every single one has Katamari'd me out...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

katamari forever

posted by willpenny3 (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

wow this was bad called a puzzle game i played 2 levels and put it back in return envelope perhaps the worst game i have ever played and ive played some bad ones maybe i didnt give it enough time but i was very unimpressed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unreal

posted by dflplmelo (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Worsy game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Game, but played it last time.

posted by Perseid (Raleigh, NC) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My rating of 4 is for anyone who played "I Love Katamari" on the PS2. Otherwise I'd rate higher.

I love the Katamari series, played through both the PS2 versions. I have two major problems with this version:

1 - Many of the levels appear to be not just based on, but actual ports of levels from I Love Katamari. I really disliked playing multiple levels thinking "Yeah, been here, rolled that." Now, the new levels I saw seemed nice enough, but come on guys.

2 - I was hoping for at least touch increase in graphics on the PS3. I believe there's a bit of cell shading that's new, but my first reaction was the graphics were less clear than before. Probably, they're just exactly the same. I also didn't care for the Perfect Fit or other special levels that start black and white and show you exactly what's available to roll up by turning them color. Takes a little challenge out, and don't care for many black/white levels.

A minor issue I had was it seemed to early in the game to roll as big as you can. It seemed a great accomplishment to half way through finally get to roll big enough to roll up a person, or building, whatever. I think the 5th or 6th level I played a level where I grew to about 2/3 the size of earth. Was anti-climactic to then go be one foot across on a new level.

It also seemed as though the turning controls were just a little less smooth than before, but it was ok.

I didn't complete the game. Once I hit the 3rd or 4th level I played before, I sent it back. So if you've never played it before, well then rock it - everyone should play some Katamari once. And maybe the levels later on became awesome, but I didn't make it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Katamari Forever

posted by LOLmonade (MOLINE, IL) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall, as a long time fan of the Katamari series from Playstation 2, I found this game to be fun, but somewhat of a greatest hits version of the Playstation 2 games with brighter, crisper graphics.

For the uninformed, the Katamari games are based around you, the prince, cleaning up after the King makes some terrible decisions causing the stars to fall out of the sky, and the King gives you the task of replacing the stars. How do you do this? Obviously by rolling up a bunch of items in a ball! The first few levels will involve picking up small items such as dominoes, tacks, pencils, and small toys, while the later levels will have you picking up people, houses, skyscrapers, and chunks of land! While the gameplay sounds simplistic (it is), there are several different challenges for some levels, like trying to pick up as many items of one color as possible, or having to avoid picking up certain items.

While I am personally a fan of the game series and it's addictive gameplay, I found this game to be too much of a retread of the prior two series. If you're a newcomer, I would suggest renting this game or buying one of the PS2 games to try it out before you invest $50 in this game. If you MUST HAVE a graphically updated version of Katamari, then go ahead and buy. If you're a fan of the series, you wont find anything new here, and I would suggest renting or buying out of a bargain bin in a year. If you're not a fan of the series, nothing will change your mind here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game! Now all the best in one beautiful spot

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

If you have played other Katamari titles, chances are you loved them as I do because they are so different and anyone can play and enjoy them.

As usual with Japanese games, the cut scenes and characters are silly and not easy to follow, but you can live with it. The levels look amazing and there are so many to unlock and explore it can keep you busy forever. Very few levels you will only play once as you keep striving to do better and better on each one.

I would rent this one and check it out. If it's not for you, send it back and move on. If you're like me, you'll love it and spend the money to keep it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks!

posted by yin35yang (BALLWIN, MO) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I hate the way they talk too much and the time limit 3 minute. I get angry of the time and talking too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

same game as the last few. and that's ok

posted by coconono (KOKOMO, IN) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Basically its more of the same: quirky ultra-japanese gameplay mixed with equally quirky ultra-japanese humor.

if you dug the first games, you'll adore this one.

I enjoyed this one better than the 360 game(Katamari Forever) because the difficulty was a little less brutal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Katamari, you either like it or don't

posted by nobadgames (WOODRUFF, SC) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

It's a Katamari game, you either like it or don't. My kids (4 & 6) loved watching all the items get rolled up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally, the Katamari has come to the PS3!

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

For both new comers and devoted fans this game is awesome! Roll things up and make your Katamari bigger! You begin as tiny as an ant and get big enough to roll up the entire world! This game is pure adictive fun and should not be missed!

For some reason the ladies seem to love this game especially, I recommend letting your mom, sisters, girlfriends, etc. play this one, as they will have a blast! Just be prepared, you may not get your controller back for some time.

Check it out, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game

posted by firefot (WINDER, GA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is so bad it should be on the game cube
by far the most terrible game i have every had this displeasure of playing
my ps3 had the unfortunate luck of having this game inserted in to it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rollin' with the fun

posted by fentekreel (WEST VIEW, PA) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Once again the katamari group takes a great game and rolls up the fun. I'm not sure how many mushrooms the developers had to take to come up with this concept but frack its fun and challenging. Collecting all the presents and re acquainting yourself with your cousins can be a blast
Gameplay is the same thing as you would expect with a new twist...you can jump! Its neat but doesn't work as expected :( Instead of a button combination you have to shake the controller (or something like it) and it doesn't work all the time. I spent quite a few levels pumping up and down and still not going up... Though rolling has gotten a bit better than previous versions and is still just as smooth as one would expect.
While the jumping mechanism is something to be worked on or hopefully patched since most games now a days can be it really doesn't take too much away from the fun. I'll be rollin' now...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same Old Same Old--A good thing to fans

posted by UNCDoug (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Have you played any of the past Katamari games? Then you know what to expect. Quirk, and lots of it. Gameplay that few games have been able to duplicate. And LOTS to collect-presents, cousins, and rolling up everything. You do have a new storyline, involving the RoboKing. Yes, the normal King is still there, but his storyline is to go back and play levels from previous Katamari games in order to bring his memory back to him. A little bit of a letdown, but at least bringing in the collection aspect of the game doesn't make it too tedious to go back to old levels. Namco even reharshed the old music, and it's not even as good as the originals. Quite disappointing.

Overall, you get what you get with Katamari Forever. If you've never played a Katamari game before, rent it. And expect a wild and fun ride. There's not much else out there like it. But if you've grown tired of the Katamari franchise, there's no reason to come back and play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love the series

posted by Soulkiss (EUREKA, CA) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

This is a biased review because I love the series and still think it's great but when you've played one Katamari game you've played them all. The Japanese title for the game is "Katamari Tribute" which is a more fitting title because this is a greatest hit game with the best levels from past games mixed in with some new. worth renting and trying. The game is very trippy and wild you basic roll objects into a ball in the alloted time and that is the game in essence well worth the rental but not for everybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Same game

posted by kristint (Salt Lake City, UT) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the same game as every other Katamari game. Nothing new. The most annoying thing is that the king talks to you while you roll the ball around and a translucent pop up covers the screen. You have to click a button on the remote to dismiss it while rolling around and collecting. And it happens over and over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Katmari Forever and Ever

posted by Hutif2000 (CANBY, OR) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Clump Spirit fans rejoice! Katamari is back and better then ever. The graphics are amazing, the load times are almost non-existent, and the weirdness is weirder than ever.
Just like every other Katamari game, you will be rolling a sticky ball around and picking up objects. Katamari forever adds the ability to jump and two pickups. I have been a Katamari fan for a long time and loved this iteration more than the ones I have played on the PS2, PSP, and iPhone.
The controls are tight, the dialogue is funny, and gameplay is addictive. That being said, there are a few complaints. There's a lot of talking. Most of if can be skipped with a simple press of the Star button, but I still thought it was a little irritating. Also, I still felt no particular urge to change my avatar to one of the cousins or to outfit my character with the gifts I collected. I really only collected them at all because I wanted the trophy for it. Both pretty minor complaints, but I found both annoying in their own ways.
It should also be addressed that the maps in this game are all maps from previous games. This may bother the more dedicated fans, but I thought it felt nostalgic. That's just something that will depend on who's playing.
Ultimately I think this was by far my favorite Katamari game yet and I recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most psychadelic game ever

posted by gruettner (SHREVEPORT, LA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game is relaxing and simple.
At the same time it is addictive and destructive.
You can't get a much better balance than this game.

You have 3 different modes to beat the game in.
The 2 Multiplayer games are possibly even more fun.

Finally, the artistic flare to this game makes it very unique. Even the sounds that come from the animals, buildings, or stars is very entertaining.

If you haven't tried this game get it now. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not as good

posted by batp15 (DAYTON, TX) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i played some of the games on the internet that are like this but the controls are much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Katamari Hit

posted by yanalyst (ROGERSVILLE, MO) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The quirky game that made our thumbs sore in 2004 is back, and it's better than ever. The graphics still aren't much to look at, but many other aspects have seen an improvement. The menus are much easier to navigate than those of We Love Katamari, and the addition of the multiplayer cooperative mode is refreshing. Yes, there are the nearly-obligatory trophies, as well, which some players may find useful for an additional challenge.

The real reason to buy this game, however, is the tweaks to the gameplay. The Sixaxis allows for a new move to jump up to higher ground without having to roll over it, and the "heart" item allows the player to pick up items that otherwise would be slightly too large. And if you're one of the unfortunate PS3 owners who cannot enjoy backwards compatibility, fear not--the developers have recreated some of the best-loved levels from the previous two games.

There's plenty here for everybody, from the grizzled veterans who remember cartridges, to the newcomers who are just now encountering our favourite pastime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse