Rent Kane & Lynch: Dead Men for PS3
view large frontback

Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.5

2440 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good

posted by Dajisc (ARDMORE, OK) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I thought it was a good game but not over all.

I'll write Why i liked it first.

Graphics were outstanding. AI was above average but there is a but in there (ill explain in my con section.) Kane and Lynch's humor was interestingly funny. Multiplayer was pretty interesting.

Cons
Well back to AI. There were times i wanted to throw the controler at the tv. There would be instances where you are pitted against alot of AI enemies . And the people you have on your side tend to do something stupid like run right out and get shot up instead of useing cover . You have to go and heal them before they die and boom you die . hence the but up top . But they still have there upsides .
Storyline was good untill a certian point. It skipped from one event to another and left the middle to be desired as now your baffled as how they got from point A to C . And you know nothing about B. Ending sucked all the hard work i put into it the teeth grinding and verbal assualts on my TV . There could of been a better ending .

All in all was worth the rental
would i buy it . Not sure really depends on weather or not i feel like i wanna play the multi on it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as some say

posted by KARNAGE (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Granted, this game could have been SO much more; however I thoroughly enjoyed it. The graphics are not up to the same level as other next gen games, but this wasn't a big deal for me. The online ability is decent but finding matches can sometimes be a chore, but once in the games are above average. Not having voice communcation hurts this games rating. For the campaign, I thought the story was good and the characters very well written. I loved the fact these guys aren't in their 20s with perfect bodies and chisled chins. The cover system is not as smooth as say 'Uncharted' but is not that hard to get around. I have heard complaints about the aiming, but for me this adds to the realism of the game. People do not hit what they are aiming at 100% of the time and I really liked that. The closer you got to an enemy the more accurate you became. Excluding the cover system, moving was smooth and easy. Aiming was even easier, the blind firing option was a nice touch. In most games control over your squad is not where it should be. This game is no different, everything is fine until you direct them to attack a postion; sometimes they fire from cover and at others they just run over and get lit up like a candle. But I haven't played a game that has figured that flaw out yet. Overall a decent and entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but nothing special

posted by denver2010 (englewood, CO) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I had fun playing this game, but it really didn't do anything special for me. The prison break and rain forest levels were fun, but that was about it. In play dialog is funny at first but gets very repetitive. Rent it if you want to shoot hordes or bad guys, but don't recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kane and Lynch: Dead wrong

posted by pzander (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Kane and Lynch, has had a ton controversy around it due to the firing of the reviewer who ripped the game on Gamespot. I decided that I would judge it for myself.

At first glance it looked like the kind of game that I would like to play. Violence, guns, bad language and things generally in bad taste.

I knew in the first 15 minutes of playing this game hat it deserved whatever harsh criticism that lead to Gerstmanngate. I read the review that got the guy fired and I agree with most of it. It’s basically unplayable at some parts. Literally, at one point I got stuck in a wall and the game just glitched out on me. The gameplay is clunky, the movements and aiming are awkward. It reminded me of a bad version of a game I really do like, “The Getaway.”

When companies are making millions of dollars on games, this type of shotty mess is unacceptable. It seems fair to me that if you make a horrible game, it will get terrible reviews, and people won't buy the junk, they lose thousands of dollars. Economics 101

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice action filled game, if you have time for it

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

29 out of 43 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Mix a little of the following ingredients and you get Kayne & Lynch however it is not as good as any of those games alone but gives you an idea about game play:

R6V- Rappeling, cover firing, blind firing, weapons, squad combat
Stranglehold - Causing complete destruction
GTA3 - Free roam, exploration, drive any vehicle, enter buildings

and any multiplayer, co-op game and you will get Kayne & Lynch. Yes you've been here before, you've dont this before in one game or another. But this is a pretty nice game that snuck under the radar between two console movers being released within a week of each other (assasins Creed and M.E).

This may not be on your list of "must play/own" games but if you have a rainy cold afternoon to spare you wouldnt be wasting it with a rental of K&L.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The end is like UHHH...

posted by PS32daWii (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

A lot of fun! Gamefly was made for games like thees! Ran threw it. With all the shooters out right now its Good in comparison. Call of duty modern warfare is Much better! Warhawk is just as good. I just like the scenario in this game! Can't beat bank robberies and jail breaks! so f all the haters on this game! Peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Let Gamefly keep this one.

posted by DigitalC (BURBANK, CA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

save your money & save your rental spot for a real game. This game is, at best, substandard with horribly written dialog even George Lucas would be embarrassed about. Game play is just sad and boring, story line is overly complex and leaves you with the with the question "who cares?".

EIDOS should be ashamed to try to sell us something as lame as this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This sucks!!!

posted by SlickJC (MOREHEAD CITY, NC) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I don't think I've been as frustrated with a game before this bad. First off, the game is too dark to even see what's going on. Where are the brightness controls? Second, how are you supposed to shoot out a small window to a dump truck when you only get a few seconds to even aim at it. Supposedly Jenny gets killed on the "third" pass? Not if you're not in the hole with her on the "second" pass. They made this game to try to be challenging, but it's more frustrating than anything. Wish I could actually see the people I need to shoot at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice Storyline

posted by cuyuna (DEERWOOD, MN) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I liked the storyline. They made Kane and Lynch talk like they would in a movie. There dialouge through the game was really funny at times how they complained at each other. I didn't like the game play. The controls felt sloppy. You could have your sights on the guy your going to shoot and it would miss. It seems you get killed way to easy in this game as well. If you like a lot of swearing this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WHAT MY FRIENDS 7 & I THOUGHT ABOUT K&L: DEADMEN

posted by DANTE3 (FLOWERY BRANCH, GA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

WE THOUGHT THE STORYLINE WAS FAIRLY DESCENT, BUT THE GRAPHICS WEREN'T SO GOOD, THE AIMING WAS OFF &, THE GUNS WERE UNREALISTICLY LARGE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is not what I expected

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to be the opposite of what it turned out to be. The controls where sloppy and the in game graphics where not nearly as good as in the cut-scenes. The map didn't show where to go. I was constantly ghetting long. This game is not a must rent or a must buy. Get Assasins Creed or Uncharted:Drake's Fortune instead. You will regret renting Kane and Lynch: Dead Men. I wish they were really dead like their PS3 title name says. That way I would not have to sit through such a mess of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONLINE PLAY IS HOT!

posted by Pdot617 (LYNN, MA) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Story mode is cool, But the online play is addictive.... I give it a 10.. i play this 1 the most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST !!!

posted by swagg12 (HARTFORD, CT) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

IT LOOKED GREAT ON THE COMPUTER BUT WHEN I GOT IT WAS BULL SHYT GRAPHICS IS LIKE PS ONE GRAPHICS SUCKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was ok

posted by Asrielja (CORONA, CA) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This was an ok game. I played with a friend of mine, and we kept getting the feeling that it was a single player game forced to be a co-op. We played army of two, and we felt that had a better co-op experience.

The controls are good, the graphics are good, but the game play was pretty stale, and boring. The Characters were likable though.

Overall if you didnt like Army of Two, you probably will like this, if you like this game, your probably wont like Army of Two, its just one of those games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Who wouldn't want play as unlikable criminals?

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

In all honesty, I went into K&L blind. I wanted a good co-op to play with my friend, and this fit the bill. While not horrible, the game was certainly lacking in important areas.

Kane was a member of a gang called "the seven" and is on his way to death row. His former crew intercept his transport, but certainly not for his own freedom. Kane's old mates accuse him of stealing their money, and have kidnapped his wife and daughter as ransom. Lynch is sent along to report anything suspicious. This makes for an interesting dynamic, as our duo are not exactly the best of friends. Adding to the hostility is Lynch's mental condition, which leaves him to fits of rage and blackouts. Fun times for all.

Many hated the story and the lack of any true heroes, but I found this part to be one of the few really intriguing aspects of the game. One level, while inside a bank, my friend starts happily gunning down innocent people. I figured it was just him being a bit of a psycho, but I look over and see that those innocent people on my screen look like enemies to him. Other characters are deformed, and some have a pig's head. This was outstandingly written, and played perfectly into the story. I loved that scene.

Of course eventually you have to think about the gameplay, and this is were it grinds to a halt. A third-person perspective, the controls are often sloppy and unresponsive. The guns never feel fun to use, and the graphics are lacking. The attempt at squad tactics never worked as well as I'm sure they hoped it would. Your teammates AI is pretty pathetic.

I did like the way they incorporated many different locations without being obvious about it. The story flowed into these areas, which were in general, well designed. I also thought the voice work was well above average.

Kane and Lynch isn't for everyone, certainly not for the kiddies. It does have some flaws, but get together with a friend and it's certainly playable, just not very special.

6 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Amazing Game

posted by Gameman150 (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Now alot of people Don't like this game
Witch i do not understand

This game was freaking awesome
The story was perfect, dark and gritty, and like nothing I've ever played before
The multiplayer was new and extremely fun
And every thing else was near perfect

One of my favorite 3'rd person games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun for the online but getting out dated

posted by notnormal (LOVELAND, CO) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The game it's self does have weak plot and gets a little blah after a while. IT is fun for the online stuff if you like making enemies online. IT seems that everybody wants to be a traidor in this. sometime you run up agianst people that are there to just shoot ya. good challenge to try an get them back in a game of revenge!! the second edition sould be much improved!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beware!!!!!

posted by compsci78 (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

First off I have to say that I am 31 years old and have been playing games since they began unlike some people on here that I am sure are about 12 or younger. If you thought this game was awesome than there is something really wrong with your idea of a good game. The story was SO hole ridden and choppy. You would go from one event to the next with no in between. If you are going to do that then why even attempt at any story. Just go back to the old days where you do just go from stage to stage with no real purpose than to get to the end. I would consider myself a rather advanced player and I thought the controls were horrible. It was't about not hitting a target because it was hard to aim. I would aim right at someone and unload an entire clip and come nowhere close when the cross hairs were on them the whole time. I mean it is ok to try and be realistic about the aiming but have the cross hairs move like they do in most games. Don't have an aiming system that tells you they are on them and then hit nothing. Even the big guns that normally mow people down you couldn't hit people. It was very frustrating and definitely the AI for your comrades was rather bad. There are many games with better squad control. Rainbow six that is ages older was better. You want a great squad tactical game play that. Graphics were nothing special. Like some people were saying I don't even know why they put the ability to use cover cause they could still hit you.
I think the worst part about it was that this guy is supposed to be a top assassin or gangster or whatever he is and I mean he performs like some guy that just picked up a gun and decided to start shooting.
I am not one to quit a game but I had to on this one. It isn't I couldn't beat it but I just don't see the point. There are way too many games out there to play to waste time on this one. I suggest staying away unless you just have no other games you want to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Didnt bother

posted by Chibisand (YOUNGSTOWN, NY) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Demo glitched when me and my bud played wiating for the fricking long install time... so i didnt bother and returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible (rare reviewer)

posted by gamer16 (CENTREVILLE, VA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

I have never reviewed a game before this monstrosity. Yet, I feel inclined to aid the next poor fellow you thinks he/she will let their curiosity take the best of them and guide them towards renting this game. If you like dying repeatedly because you can not see your enemy, feel free to rent this game. Also, the aim axis is so off, it's as if the characters are shooting while intoxicated. It is impossible to see anything during certain points of the game. During certain scenes the game environment will become pitch black, not allowing the gamer to maneuver or react to the barrage of shooting from the endless squadron of enemies that continue to show up at any given level. Do not bother taking cover it doesn't work, either because you will often have to safe the other characters in the game from going Rambo, or because you will get shot no matter what you are hiding behind.

If the GMF's rating scale could go to the negative rate scale, I would give this game a negative 3 (-3).

Who ever purchased this game, should ask for a refund, or sue the manufacture for insulting the general populace with such a waste of time and game disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

5 stars for lowest rated PS3 game!

posted by Stromp (Webster, TX) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

In my book anyway, this is the worst PS3 game I have played.

Yeah...if I wanted to die every 2 seconds on easy, I would have no reason to play games.

Gameplay = 0
Graphics = 1
Story = 0
Control = 0
Puzzle Solving = -10

The gameplay itself falls out like vomit. I cannot believe they are making a sequel. The controls then exaccerbate the already bad gameplay, by namely getting you killed every other minute, or just flat out not working how they should. And then to put a cherry on top they insult you with amazingly poor graphics. If that isn't enough, they throw some strewn together story that makes Ballistic: Eks vs. Sever look like genius story telling. And then when you're down on the floor unconscious from just how bad this game is, they kick you square in the family jewels with the -10 puzzle solving, because basically, there are no puzzles to solve, no special weapons usage, scaling walls, finding clues, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nothing fun about this dull shooter.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Jun 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

The story is kind of cool and the characters have some appeal to them. However, there are many things wrong with this game. Chief among those problems is the controls and overall combat mechanics. Your character moves slowly and the shooting is very inaccurate and full of glitches. There is no real impact when shooting and some enemies take way to many shots to go down. The graphics and sound all could have been done on the PS2 as the game takes no real advantage of the PS3's power. I really don't recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kane and Wench

posted by Novabrian (WESTMINSTER, CA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game I liked at first but then it got nearly impossible.How can you shoot a helicopter while it's shooting at you when all you have is bad aiming capabilities? DO NOT RENT THIS LAME GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gotta get used to the controls!

posted by milz503 (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is not nearly as bad as people have rated it. It's hard to get used to the controls at first but once you figure them out it's not that bad.
The online play is a lot of fun because you play together to pull off heists instead of just running around repeatedly shooting each other and respawning.
The language is definitely R rated but then again these guys are robbing banks and mowing down cops so it's not a game for kids.
I think the best part about this game is the split screen co op mode. You work together to get things done and are constantly saving each others butt.
Overall this game is worth renting just give it a chance. Take the time to get used to the controls. I think I played it for about ten minutes when I first bought it, got frustrated and put it on the shelf. A few months later I got it out with a friend and really got into it.
I give this game a 7 because it's not for everyone but still it's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game off line

posted by shdnadunat (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

no replayability perfect for gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse