Rent Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days for PS3
view large frontback

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

3160 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

DonHey's Review

posted by DonHey (FORT MYERS, FL) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

41 out of 46 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

--NO SPOILERS--

At first, I was skeptical. A fan of Kane & Lynch: Dead Men, I was worried that the sequel would not live up to the hype. However, after playing the game, it in fact does. Though, it is not as great as I hoped it would be.

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is set in Shanghai, China, which, as we've seen several times before, can be a great setting for a video game, if done right. While I praise Dog Days for its depiction of and the grittiness of the city, I am most displeased with the new visual effects. The blurred, distorted appearance gives you a headache, and it is a real pain to control the character, especially when running.

Another negative is the combat. Yes, the weapons and fighting control are decent, but it is all very unrealistic. I shot a guy in the foot with a pistol from a very far distance and it killed him. One shot to the foot!

A positive is the story. While I do not want to spoil anything for anybody, I can say that there are some pretty cool twists and turns throughout the game. However, playing with a buddy makes it a LOT funner.

I did not get to taste multiplayer as much as I would have like to have, but I was satisfied with what I was able to see/play. It was interesting enough.

Overall, I'd recommend renting Dog Days for sure, and possibly even buying it.

Combat: 5
Story: 8
Controls: 6
Multiplayer: 8
OVERALL: 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DECENT GAME

posted by ironcity46 (VERO BEACH, FL) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

WELL, first off, the game is way toooo short, beat story mode on hard in 2 sittings, about 3 hours, other than that game is alright, graphics are different, but pretty good, story was short but good, gameplay was above average, online was above average, overall i wouldnt buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dog Days Review

posted by JosephS (ARCADIA, CA) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

In Kane & Lynch 2, Lynch, living in Shanghai, calls on his old partner, Kane, to help him close an arms deal. However, a simple job goes terribly wrong and Kane and Lynch must to go down a road of death, violence, and torture with a body count that goes into the hundreds. In fact, half way through the game you’ll probably wonder where are all these guys coming from? Looking at style, game play, and the multi-player I find this game to be above average.

If you don’t like the style, there’s no reason to get this game. It’s done in a gritty shaking cam style that blurs out nudity and heavy violence, like head shots. At first, I found it to be annoying, but over time I found the value in the style, especially the blurred violence. Some things are better left to the imagination because our minds can scare us more than any image on a T.V., and that’s the case here. If you like brutal, raw violence then you should give this game a try.

The game play brings nothing new. It’s your traditional co-op, duck and cover, shoot them up game. I find there are two strategies to the game. One, go guns blazing and waste everything in your path which is more suitable for the easier difficulties or work with your partner and flank the enemies which is only necessary on harder difficulties. The play style gets repetitive quick, but luckily the game is short. You can probably beat it in one afternoon.

Other than the co-op play, there are three other multi-player game types, regular heist, undercover cop which one person plays an undercover cop on a heist, and cops and robbers where you switch between cops and robbers during three heists. The cool thing about these games is you can stab the other players in the back and take all the loot for yourself which gives it that every criminal for himself feel.

Overall, I give this game 6 out of 10 because without the style there’s no reason to get the game. My suggestion is to rent the game, beat it, and return it the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not enough change of pace

posted by syko2022 (ALLENTOWN, PA) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

All you do in this game is basic duck and cover gameplay mechanics. no gernades, no melee, and a horrible aiming system. the story is boring and clique.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for about 4 hours

posted by Super1617 (CONCORD, CA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What starts off as a fun shoot em-up game quickly becomes too hard, too frustrating, and WAY too repetitive. You essentially do the exact same thing over and over. A group of bad guys enter the room. They hide, shoot an you, and you shoot back. Kill them all, move to next room. Repeat process. Trust me, not as fun as it sounds.

The aiming leaves much to be desired too. Many times I've had my sights set right on a bad guy, yet I'll manage to shoot everything except the bad guy. There are multiple weapons that all essentially do the same thing; shotgun, machine gun, hand gun.

Just like Kane & Lynch 1, the game is simply too hard (and I had it on easy mode). There are times when you will simply be overwhelmed by bad guys, getting shot at in all directions, and running back for cover usually doesn't help. A lot of the game is trial and error (in terms of knowing when and where bad guys are going to pop up).

I don't recommend renting or Gamefly-ing this game. If a friend has it, then borrow it and play it, but don't spend a dime on this game that will have you pulling hair out of your head after a couple hours. This is the first game I've ever rented from Gamefly just to have it sent back the next day. The game developers are headed in the right direction with the game, but they have a long ways to go before making this a respectable series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by JFBIII (FAIRFIELD, IA) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

1sts are usually better for other reasons than this.

Game plays like an arcade game with little to no strategy than just shooting your way through with a terrible camera angle that looks like an amateur is holding it and following you around like you're on Real World...only it looks more like home footage than even Real World.

The terrible camera ruins it all and earns my first "1" score of games I have rented. This is soooo horrible most indy games are better. I would have rather wasted 2 hours of my life chopping onions and crying like a little girl than attempting to play this piece of shiate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kane and Lynch: Ow,..my eyes. and MP awesome.

posted by N2s810 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just finished Kane and Lynch: Dog Days in about 10-12 hours (i played on extreme diff.) and was overall pleased with this 3rd person action romp. All the mechanics are there; but the new "gritty shaky COPS camera" camera angle is a great idea but can conflict with game play at times. ( plus it just plain bothered my eyes.)
I didn't really get a feel of a NEW with this game in comparison to the original. It felt like same old game, new setting and film grain camera. But if you enjoyed the first game like i did, then pick it up.

Online multilayer is VERY satisfying! There's nothing better than a MP game mode where you get to screw over your fellow thieves, or even infiltrate them as an Undercover Cop. Grab the loot, get the escape van and pay the driver 50/50 of your grab to drive off and leave the other players in the dust. (my fave) In my opinion the MP is worth the rent alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

M = Mature! Not this fascist censorship BS!

posted by Dravinist (COVINGTON, KY) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I would like to point out this game has a M (Mature) rating - I want to see the gory dismembered head shots, the nudity, and not this visual blocked out censorship. Call me a spoiled American - I have no reason to tolerate this Danish (IO Interactive) or Japanese (Square Enix) blackout. I am disappointed in not only this but the chunky cover & aim system - seen much better in other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by noooooo (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

i was so excited for this game but i was extremely disapointed. the graphics you cant even see half the time. the weapons are horrible the best shotgun takes 3 shot at close range. the online is annoying in "fragile alliance" and "undercover cop" every one kills each other the game is a failure i suggest you DONT rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kane and Lynch OK but Nothing Special

posted by rapini (ROSELLE, IL) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game is decent, a good rental. The whole hand held camera ie Blair Witch Project really, really didn't work for me!! I hated the concept for a video game but then again I hated the concept for films. I find it gives all movies and now video games a cheesy, cheap and unfinished quality. Game play was OK but certainly nothing special unless the camera thing greases your chorizo! No more than a 6!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow, this game sucks.

posted by That1Dood (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

First of all, graphics are horrible. They could've done better then those graphics because it does not even look like a PS3 game. Story line was kinda wack. Combat system sucked. Game has about 3 hours of gameplay, i dont see why anyone would want to play this garbage game unless they're doing it for the trophies. If you're doing it for the trophies good luck my friend, you are one brave gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW, some game >:(

posted by YoungD24 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not even worth my time, I got it for one day and was able to beat it within 4 to 5 hours or so. Unbelievable!! The story plot was really short, and not that great to keep u glued to the TV. To be honest, I went back to playing Red Dead Redemption and Killzone 2 after this. However, I will say the online gameplay is entertaining, only to enjoy other peoples company in completing tasks, but thats it. Nothing special here whatsoever. Gamefly, I am so glad to be a part of you guys. You really help distinguish the good games from the Bad. Rating.......a [1] for this game :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kayne and Lynch 2

posted by surfer7 (LAIE, HI) Aug 18, 2010

Member since May 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What is with the pixellation?! How annoying. One would think that the graphic language would be coupled with graphic violence.
A real let down after all the hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kane & Lynch Dogs Day (Horrible)

posted by TashaRhae1 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When the 1st Kane & Lynch came out, I was very excited, the graphics were great, the story line was great and I liked the characters and how realistic the game was. My only complaint was the game was 2 short, my husband and I played the game on Co-Op and beat it in 2 days, but because the story was so good, I didnt mind. BUT with the Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days, I was very dissappointed, it was NOTHING AT ALL like the 1st Kane & Lynch. The graphics were not great, it gave me that blurry, fuzzy look and the camera movement was all over the place. The story line made no sense at all, I was confused before I played the game. Another problem I had was that the game is rated M for mature, but yet they blurred out images, I didnt understand that. The game was very unrealistic. And again I played the game on Co-Op with my husband and, beat it in 2 days. The game felt like it was just thown together. I was very unsatisfied.
This game doesnt deserve to be rated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All Hype No Game!!!

posted by Freezy8771 (BETHEL PARK, PA) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a huge disappointment. I mean for all the build up they did for this game, it was a dud. And the pixelation what was that all about. Also very very anti-climatic ending. Rent it if you want but thats it, it's good for a day maybe two of play time. So disappointing!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool to play as bad guys but lacks important stuff

posted by Paul1355 (RANDOLPH, NJ) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off let me just say that this is a huge improvement over the first Kane and Lynch game which was horrible. If they made game 1 with these graphics then maybe I would have played part 1. Part 2's graphics are not that great either but good enough to play the whole game and deal with it since all the shooting and killing is sweet.

The story was ok, A little extreme and gruesome for most games. Twist and turns in the story but there were some other downsides.

First off the amount of enemies is ridiculous. You wind up killing over a thousand guys when it is only Kane and Lynch, very un realistic.

Graphics were a slight improvement but compared to most shooters out these days, the graphics were a D+ at best.

Lynch was an idiot, the character you play in the game, in the story you will see how his dumb choices affect the story...you would think a street guy who has seen it all would make better judgment.

The worst part was the ending. I won't ruin it but it wasn't good. After you beat the game you feel like you killed all of these guys for a quick ending and the story just ends. You don't know what happens after the last scene which was not really a scene to end on. Kind of ambiguous.

Anyway I gave this game a 7. It was good, fun because of the fact that your BAD guys killing cops and gangsters.

Story was average 7.

Graphics were a 5.

The fact that no other game is like this makes it's rating higher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

blair witch Kane and Lynch

posted by vINANITY87 (WEST POINT, NY) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

man this could have been a really fun game with a story that is likeable if you don't mind some grittiness to it. the story picks up some time after the 1st with an interesting and origianl story. still the aim is garbage and highly inaccurate so you'll be unloading an entire clip on each enemy. The blair witch project camera angle and blurry screen get very very annoying and even after turning up the brightness on the screen it seemed nothing could get me past the annoying display on my big screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Somewhat disappointing

posted by DrewPizz (APOPKA, FL) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Compared to the first Kane and Lynch, this game blows. The camera angles create a good sense of actually being there, but this ends up more annoying than exciting in the long run. As far as actual gameplay, it's certainly not bad... just not quite what I expected for the sequel to one of my favorite shooters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game is Frun but gets old fast. A bit too hard.

posted by smcpartlin (KELLER, TX) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, it also has a real gritty feel. The game has a good story mode and Co-OP is fun. (but it seemed Co-OP was a little too hard. Maybe harder then it needed to be)

After a while it get's old. (doesn't seem like there is a lot of guns to find) Same looking bad guys pop up. Wish they spent more time making new people to shoot. But the world looks pretty good.

The Arcade mode is also fun... but again for the Casual gamer... getting to buy all the weapons is near impossible.

Wow are the early guns hard to use accuratly. they are weak and miss 90% of the time. Ammo isn't a problem but you have to waste tons to kill bad guys because guns are so no accurate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

KL2 had potential but fell well short

posted by gamer16 (CENTREVILLE, VA) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I engaged KL2 hoping to wash off the bad taste left by KL1. Unfortunately that did not occur. Sigh!! Where to begin... if you are looking for a third person shooter where enemies spawn out of nowhere and your character is shoot by phantom shooters, well then have at it. I found the most frustrating part to be the feeling of my character being shot and when I attempted to look for the shooter there is no one to be found. This happened quite often and really annoyed me. I was expecting a more polished shooter game and was disappointed. Another aspect that could not be overlooked was the difficulty of killing your enemies. I understand that this is a melee shooter game however, when you scope down your enemy and have him in your cross hairs and clearly get a head shot how is it possible that the enemy gets back up, shakes off the hit, and rejoins the gun fight. this occurred routinely no matter the weapon. Also get use to shooting your enemies a lot to get them to die, emphasis on A LOT. For some odd reason the bad guys are able to shed bullets and make more contact when firing upon you. I mean you will be crouched behind a van for cover, yet they still manage to hit your character at ease no matter their tactical position. A third undesirable aspect was the overall weak plot of KL2. I do not want to spoil anything, but the plot was basic and uncreative. It was hard to buy into the motives and rationals of the characters because of the weak story line. In addition, what is the use of having an "M" rating if your not going to utilize it. When shooting an enemy in the head rather then being able to see brain matter splatter all over the place, their face is automatically pix-elated. You do see blood splatter but KL2 could have pushed the envelope. I will end on two positive points. One, the presentation is awesome and gives you a sense that your actually there running a shooting. Lastly, I was able to beat the game in approx 5 hrs so I didn't have to endure to much pain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The repetitive game play starts to ware

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are a little below standard fare and the shaky, old film look of the visuals is a double edged sword. On one hand the shaky, old film look pulls you into the action at first. However about halfway through the games story mode it became an unwelcome distraction. Luckily there is an option to steady the camera in the options menu which helped out a lot. But when you get a good look at the graphics the character models are substandard at best. Hair is stiff and sold as if it is made of one piece, even when the characters are running or turning their heads. This really shows on the Lynch character since you play as him for most of the game. Also most of the time the characters mouths either didn’t move or match up completely with dialogue when speaking, it is more difficult to notice when the shaky, old film camera is on since it covers up most of these flaws.
Level design is very basic and levels tend to be linear with the slight illusion of openness. The game will funnel down corridors toward the end of the area at which point you will proceed to the door leading to the next area, repeat until the end of the game, save for one on-rails shooter area. Its sometimes difficult to tell which door leads out of some of the larger rooms, but there is a hint system that will point you towards the door.
The enemies you will face throughout game are very limited. There are probably three different kinds of enemies with three different skins per enemy type (four if you count helicopters). Enemy AI is also very dumb and enemies will run into fire, hide on the wrong side of boxes, shoot in the wrong direction during fire fights, and so on. Also, Stealth elements of the game are broken, as your AI partner will always alert enemies and give away your position usually leading to instant death situations when you don’t even have a weapon to defend yourself, since at certain points of the game your weapons will be removed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not As Good As The First.

posted by niteowl (NEWBERRY SPRINGS, CA) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is within its first four levels, it is a quick, fun, good graphics, and great dialogued game. After that fourth level everything goes down hill. Great diaogue is replace with repeated curse words, quick gameplay turns into very long battles that on harder difficulties become almost impossible to keep interested, and the graphics start to glitch up. Also enemy AI has their difficulty kicked up a notch, but instead of being challenging it just becomes annoying with the enemy AI constantly jumping back into action even though they were already dead, enemies popping up randomly, and even sometimes the occasional floating enemy. Now thinking back to the first game they had made a great team of criminals: Kane a mercenary who must save his daughter and Lynch a psychopathic druggie with no family. In the first game Lynch would even sometimes get dilussional. But in the second game there are no dilussions. Alsothis is a very short game and I beat it in 5 hours. There are a few fun missions, but the game is only fun when played in co-op. Overall though for a game that came out three years after the first it is incredibly short, tedious, and to worth buying. This game is barely worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Never about the money with these characters

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Aug 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna start with the good;

1) Third person shooter- YES

2) Controls are easy to get a hang of

3) Lots of gun play

4) Not a lot of unnecessary cut scenes like you see in other titles.

5) Action is pretty much non stop

6) Graphics are not as bad as other state.

Now the bad:

1) Unless you are using the sniper rife of shotgun. You can't put anyone down with one shot.

2) If you use assault weapons, foes dance away after being shot.

3) Foes can hit you with a handgun from the other side of the room. Without a sniper rife you can't even see them.

4) No body armour, no place to buy weapons and stuff on black market.

5) These guys always are doing a heist, yet never seem to be after the money.

This title is worth renting, but if they had made it a lot better, it would be worth buying. But if you are interested in full scale gun battle against just about everyone in the city. THIS GAME IS FOR YOU.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay, quick-paced action shooter.

posted by northbrook (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Never played the first one of this series so this was my introduction into the series. Gritty and rough around the edges, it delivers some firepower but lacks any sensible plot. The game feels shot on a steadycam and its a low res one too. Everything in this game is dark, grey, out of focus half the time and the overall tone is very bleak.
Forget the storyline, something about a deal gone bad and that's that....no focus on elaborating but seems like the entire Chinese army is out to get these two, plus a whole bunch of cops and thugs.

I think i beat it in 3 hours, multiplayer would be fun but no one is online to play it!

Decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow

posted by jgthespy (Redlands, CA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This might actually be the worst game I've ever played. The shooting is wonky, the graphics are horrible, and the story is bland. I can't think of a single reason for this game to exist. The singleplayer isn't the slightest bit fun. It's just a series of really boring firefights and some yelling. It's hard to express just how much everything about this game sucks.

The multiplayer sounds really cool in theory but it's not very interesting to actually play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse