Rent Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.5

4955 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Kane And Lynch 2 =Solid Gaming Experience

posted by JeremyB (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

39 out of 46 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

After playing the first Kane And Lynch when that released a couple of years ago, I came away disappointed with the shooting, aiming, and lack of online game modes. Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days fixed these issues for me from the previous game, while also adding a new style gritty experience for it's single player mode, even though it is only about 5 hours long on Normal Difficulty.

This game you mainly play as Lynch, who Kane is meeting up with in Shanghai to close an arms deal that Kane apparently needs really bad for his daughter. Like you would expect with these two, everything falls apart and you end up on a chase not only to save Lynch;s wife, but also a chase to escape Shanghai with your life.

Again the single player did provide a quality experience. Some may view the single player as being to repetitive as the majority of it does involve running and shooting. For me though personally, the action as able to keep me involve and I never once though that the game was repetitive at all. Solid single player, just wish it was a few hours longer. I don't believe a 5 hour single player should warrant a 60$ purchase, in today's economy.

The multi-player in my opinion is where the game is the most fun. There are 3 main modes: Cops and Robbers, Undercover Cop, and Fragile Alliance, which returns from the first Kane and Lynch. Cops and robbers is pretty self explanatory from its name. Undercover Cop involves a group of criminals with a set objective usually to grab diamonds or cash and escape out alive. There is one person in the set of criminals that is an undercover cop that no one except that cop himself knows who he is. It's a great mode because you have to not only watch out for greedy partners who may betray you, you have to keep your eyes peeled for that undercover cop who is just waiting to take you out.

To pretty much sum up my experience with Kane and Lynch 2 so far: Its a solid game that lacks in areas such as single player length and story clarity. Rent only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days

posted by MarssRoxx (LUBBOCK, TX) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'd like to point out that the only reason I'm writing this review is because it is being unfairly judged by some fellow members who didn't even have the decency to play the whole game through.

The game starts strong and with a punch, the non-stop action goes on throughout the game. Although not a long story mode, it does pack a lot of action into 3-4 hours of gameplay.

The style of this game reminded me of Gears Of War, 3rd person cover & shoot. Cover is an essential part of this game as being out in the open will render you vulnerable to a lot of damage from the bad guys in a minimal amount of time.

Most of the complaints I've read about this game seem to point out that the "Handheld Camera" style is a big turn-off. Although it does become a little much sometimes, it is completely bearable and nothing out of the ordinary. If anything, it's what sets this shooter apart from all the other mediocre ones flooding the market (Sniper anyone?).

The "Arcade" mode in this game is very, and i mean VERY repetitive; not a strong feature of this game, although it will keep you entertained for a good 30 minutes or so before it becomes boring and stale.

TL;DR Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is not a 10 but it most certainly deserves a playthrough. The strong storyline and action packed gameplay will keep you on the edge of your seat for atleast 3-4 hours as the game itself is not very long (I've been playing for 8 hours and i have 500 gamerscore). Thank You For reading, have a nice day :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Surprisingly Good Game

posted by Demised (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I played the first Kane and Lynch and was pretty disappointed, being a fan of the Hitman games I was looking forward to the gritty realism and mind games that the company was so experienced in, I played through it simply for the story as convoluted and disjointed as it was. The company did everything right in the sequel.

Graphics: First, I'd like to point out that a lot of reviews bash on the graphics, and honestly I have no idea why. The detail is amazingly sickening and realistic, from the cuts on the body to the different clothing to the stages themselves, everything gives off this feeling of "That is how that would look", helped immensely by the 'cam-corder' style camera system which the whole look of the game is based around, loading screens say Buffering, the camera sways and bounces drastically when running and extremely gruesome or inappropriate things are mosiaced as if the game itself was a filmed hardcore documentary that you could watch off Youtube. I think it all works very well together and really is a stand out look for a game that needed some uniqueness to it's basic premise.

Sound Effects: The gun sound effects are a tad out of place, either they don't seem to be loud enough for they simply don't sound like the gun you're shooting half the time. The voicework though is incredible, just by the voice work alone you will find yourself understanding these tragic characters and feeling for their losses or regreting their mistakes.

Other: The story is by far very high value compared to the first game, none of the story seems fragmented or out of place but it leads me to my only big complaint with the game. The game is way too short. You can burn through it in one sitting. The multiplayer game is where the replay value comes in, unlike the single player story mode. Fragile Alliance is addictiveness that can not be compared to any other game out.

This game is a definite rent. Then decide whether to buy it for Fragile Alliance or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by unholy1 (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game really makes you wonder how some people even get paid to make games. The game was sloppy ,slow, and terrible. The bullets never hit the targets and your partner, well lets just say is useless. I have never seen such a sloppy targeting system. While the enemy seems to have no problem shooting you, You can't even hit them with more than two bullets out of thirty. I will never ever play this title again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

K&L2(garbage)

posted by Traumatiic (GRESHAM, OR) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

K&L2 (BAD)

posted by Traumatiic (GRESHAM, OR) Sep 11, 2010
Member since Feb 2010
This game was so short, I pray that nobody bought this game, I didnt even bother going into to the multiplayer modes because of how bad the gameplay mechanics were in the story

-Terrible camera( I know this is supposed to be called the games "Style" but thats a bunch of bullcrap) Camera often glitches off of you or into a room your not even in.

AI- the enemy AI is borderline idiotic, slow reaction times, they run in circles or just stand there while I blow them away.

Weapons- You never know which weapons are better, they dont even give them names or any info about the weapons and they all feel about the same, terrible.

Character models- Everyone looked the same, I got sick of shooting the same Chinese dude over and over and over and over again.

Overall story mode- The games story mode barely exists, the story took me 3 hours and the most, there was no variety in mission types, just take cover and shoot. I was incredibly happy when it was over because it was so incredibly repetitive and boring

So overall this game was just a waste of time, I had to fight off the urge to snap it in half to prevent this from tormenting another innocent player.
1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

where is the rest of the game?

posted by kue2086 (GROVETOWN, GA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a great action packed game but it took not 3 hours to beat the game. Game was way too short and the ending was horrible.

Loved the game play, hated the storyline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gets old

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Sep 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game seemed pretty sweet at first, but after awhile me and my friend got bored of it. I enjoyed the first one alot and had high hopes for this game, but the story is cheesy compared to the first one. The controls are better, and the camera is cool, but its also annoying especially when you are running around. The guns and sound are very well done, but the ai takes many shots to kill and after awhile you just wait for the spot you know the ai is gonna pop out and you shoot them. Shoot shoot shoot thats it. Sucks for my friend he actually bought this game hahahahahahaha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sad waste of time

posted by coguy750 (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play a game from the same folks that gave us Hitman. But when I loaded up the game I lost any enthusiasm. Five minutes into the game I was already frustrated trying to wrestle the broken over the shoulder third person shooting mechanic. The lighting was a migraine inducing combination of overly bright neon lights and simulated lens flair, resulting in a "Las Vegas after an opium overdose" feel to the visuals. The use of cover was well done and easy to use most of the time, but the character seems to move very slow. But to be honest, Lynch would probably be classified as geriatric(old guy). And a terrible story is the cherry to top off this excrement sundae drizzled with the blood of a hepatitis positive nun. This game was dismally bad to me but you may find a niche that it fills in your life. After all that's why we have game fly, so we can loose all hope when we realize a game is utterly disappointing, but not have to suffer the loss of $60.00

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kane N Lynch= Complete Garbage

posted by projectddr (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I honestly think the developers are on here giving this game good reviews because it is complete garbage. Usually with most games, part 2 is suppose to be a huge improvement. In comparison, with games such as Army of Two and it's second installment. This game has no improvements at all, it even goes backwards to a more horrible game than the previous one. The storyline doesn't click with part 1 and has several glitches.

All these reviews are people whom play the game on either easy or normal. If you do play it on Extreme you will realize that its not challenging but very frustrating with the several glitches that come with this piece of garbage from the U.K. I recommend Gamefly to take this game off their inventory because it is the worst game of the year. I never felt so disappointed with a sequel to a game until now. At times, I even felt I was going to go bald like Lynch out of frustration plus I was playing it on co-op. I'd rather play part one over this game any day.

I hope the developers never create another sequel or game in their lifetime. The shooting system was even better on part one than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too short and nothing original

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Sep 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was average at best, featuring nothing special for a cover based 3rd person shooter. Aim with LT, shoot with RT and use the A button to slide in and out from cover. The only thing unique was the way the game is 'filmed'---others say the POV is similar to Blair Witch Project. Well it doesn't matter, because after 5 minutes I had to go to the options and switch the camera to STEADY because it made me very nauseous. THE SHAKY CAMERA CAN BE TURNED OFF PEOPLE.

The Kane & Lynch odd couple still remains very awkward to me, and the excessive vulgar language got old after the 2nd mission. The story was OK, but I did enjoy the non stop action. Any time you thought you were home free, you may have like 40 guys up ahead waiting that you will need to take care of, and then off to running away again.

Now for the bad. You can beat the single player campaign in 4 hours easily. It's very short. Some missions only took me 10 minutes to beat, getting 25G achievement points for killing 25 guys in a tiny level.

The cover system in this game was very frustrating i felt. They made it so that you can never feel invincible when in cover, like almost every other 3rd person shooter. BEWARE when you are in cover you will still get blasted by bullets, and will need to adjust all the time. I cant even tell you how many times I died while ducking totally hidden in cover. Enemies seem to hit you with 100% accuracy every time they peak their tiny little head out from a corner.

Take that as you want, but it is different from most shooters where you can seriously dominate games by using cover effectively. You may or may not like it. Aside from average guns, story, graphics, gameplay, sound, etc. it is worth renting. Perfect Gamefly rental.

Multiplayer is fun- you should read online for more details, but it's like cops n robbers and you collect money, you can turn on your teammates and things like that. Also worth checking out.

Milt Drucker - gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gameplay Itself

posted by ronca23 (MCKENZIE, AL) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The storyline was great, however the whole camera-man view was a bit cliche, as if this is a documentary about 2 men on a killing spree, I also like to see my enemies brain matter splattered across pavement when i get a headshot, not have it censored. This is a 17+ mature game not some child TV program. The cutscenes were also great and the controls were too. however, the camera shaking while sprinting was a turn-off. I won't describe the ending but it didn't appease me whatsoever, it left a cliffhanger worse than halo 2. if looking for a 3 hour game to keep you on the edge of your seat for roughly 3-4 hosr this is a specifically "rent" game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well it's ok kinda

posted by Cuda70 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Over all it is a good game but the "Handheld Camera" style is a big turn-off. The Glare is so bad and the floating blue dots turned me off. Also how many “Cut Scenes of two men opening doors can you stand” Way too many in this game for me. The game play is your typical shooter. You just keep running ducking and shooting until you get to the end. Not a bad way to waste a few hours. All in all it was a fun game to rent not on my must own list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kane and Lynch 2 - Please don't make it a trilogy

posted by Geello (EVERETT, WA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is only the second game in recent memory where I have simply been unable to force myself to go any further, the first being Mirror's Edge.

Note - I did play through and complete the first title and actually sort of enjoyed it and the accompanying storyline.

The visuals are decent, except for massive amounts of bloom lightning and the horrific handcam/bouncy camera style. The dialogue during cut scenes is great, but out in the world you hear the same lines over and over and over again from your character and the enemies.

The gameplay is what killed it for me though. Maybe I'm just not a fan of cover shooters or something of the sort, but being behind cover didn't seem to mean much in this game. Even fully ducked down behind a concrete barrier and not doing any suppressive firing I was constantly being pelted with bullets. They were doing some Angelina Jolie bullet curving with deadly accuracy.

To summarize it -

Walk into room, take cover, blind fire, pick up ammo/guns. Rinse and repeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a really great game (NO SPOILERS)

posted by marbly23 (PLEASANTON, CA) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i thought this was a great game. i was iffy about it at first but it turned out really good. i really like the story and gameplay. the "Cloverfield" camera style was a nice touch.

the guns and aiming need an adjustment. shooting the smg's felt like i was shooting ghosts. picking up ammo from your enemies is a lot better then having to scavenge for it.

one thing i didnt like not noing where to go next, a good number of time it seemed like an obvious route i had to take, but turned out to be a dead end.

overall i would highly recomend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kane and Lynch 2 Dog Days

posted by JackieChan (TRENTON, NJ) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I cannot understand why this game gets the reviews it does. It is the worst sequel out and yet people love it. The story is extremly weak. The creators mess up the most important feature in a shooting game which is shooting. They focused mostly on the graphics as a way to make it seem as the game was improved from the original, but the original is far superior in everyway and that game was less than mediocre. I doubt the developers even tried their game because they would see how flawed their product is. I just hope one person sees this review and realize how terrible this game is and rents another game like tetris.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quick but Hardcore

posted by XBoxHead (RATHDRUM, ID) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game suprised me. First off the graphics were impressive and times upon first playing I almost felt sick to my stomach. Maybe sitting a matter of inches from the big screen might have something to do with that but that's neither here nor there.
This game is basically a furious run through a gaunlet of hailstorm bullets, rains of lead from helicopters thundering above, and ambush after ambush by angry Chinamen hellbent for leather to have your hide. The down side is it's real quick. I started on a Friday evening and was finished that Sunday. 5 maybe 6 hours of game play. I was glad I rented it and didn't spend the $50.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thank god it was rental

posted by SkanDog (VENTURA, CA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Im glad I didnt waste my money by purchasing this game. I played it for 30 mins and put it back in the mail. Got about 50 achievement pts, thats the only good thing that I got from this game. No pros for this title only cons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful game

posted by Nuzrog (CARY, NC) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Kane and Lynch 2 looked very promising i loved the first game and was very excited. i got it in the mail and jumped right in, first note the game play looks like im watching a movie from 1983. the damage on people is unrealistic, in the multiplayer i emptied two magazines of a gun on one person and he did not die, the game is very poorly put together, i wish that this game would have been delayed another two years to make it a semi descent game, i am extremely disappointed and will be returning this game to gamefly within 5 days of receiving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible

posted by ratedgap (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The aiming is terrible, the story is terrible. I couldn't even bring myself to get past chapter 3. You shoot, people fall down, people get back up. Awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by DjjustB (PITTSFIELD, MA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game sucks.. Aiming sucks.. The camera sucks.. The story sucks.. They end censor the good stuff.. Game Just blows all the way around. If you have motion sickness don't play this game it will make you sick with the hand handle camera angles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just a warning

posted by hisuphola (SKOKIE, IL) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

A boat load of bugs in this game, so bad that all the people related to finding and removing them should be fired and never be allowed to work in any type of video game or even electronics thing again.

Biggest one being talking audio (aka if you have the poorly done subtitles on you will notice people talking but not hear anything), best three things to do to prevent this are:

-Never kill someone who talks or at the least before they are done talking (like a female driver almost hits you early on and lynch and her argue).
-Take it slowly make sure you complete everything you suppose to before advancing (such as when you have to take on some gang in a wharehouse or something and soon after cops).
-When holding someone the game will count him as dead so a conversation might start if he the last man "alive" so WAIT for them to be completly done talking before executing the man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Insanely Short!

posted by renegadex2 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I beat this game in one sitting. It might have been just over 4hrs. I recommend passing on this title. The first one was no good and this one isn't much better. Wait for something better like Mafia 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Rent this one.

posted by Misterfoot (AUGUSTA, GA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Waste of time. Same crummy gameplay as the first. Same horrible weapon accuracy. Horrible graphics. Not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two meets Reservoir Dogs!

posted by SuperSofa (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Better than the first one!

Pros:
Campaign and Overall:

-Storyline is easy to follow and interesting. Throughout the campaign you will feel a deep connection with the characters. There will be nail biting situations that you will encounter that will leave you feeling almost sick to your stomach!

-The whole game looks as if it was filmed through a tiny home video camera. This is a very cool look for the game and gives it another sense of depth and diversity from other games.

-All of the guns have a very real feel about them. If you shoot a shot gun it is going to go the length of a real shot gun. If you shoot a machine gun you are going to get recoil.

-Most intense online multiplayer matches I have played in a long time! It’s been a while since a game has made me yell, “RUN!!!! GET TO THE VAN!!!!” to my teammates when you have $250,000, 5 seconds and 4 cops chasing firing AK-47s!

Cons:
Campaign and Overall:

-Cover System is broken. Most of the time it is just easier to not take cover and shoot through the corner of a wall.

-The cool camera style mentioned above can make you feel motion sick. Since it looks as if it is filmed with a home video camera you get this “Cloverfield” type camera motion that can make you very motion sick. This can be turned off in the options menu but it takes away some of the feeling of the game.

-Campaign is short and can be beaten in about a day or two. Unless you are playing on Extreme mode, the campaign will not take you very long. 4-6 hours on normal

-Extreme game mode is what it says, “Extreme!” Prepare to die, a lot! If you get shot about two times, or even one with a shot gun or some types of pistols, you are dead. This can be very difficult if you have to protect someone else or run through an airport.

-It is hard to shoot people online. Online AI are easy to shoot, but if you have another player that you want to shoot,right next to you, you will have to run around each other blind firing.

The Super sofa's Score: 7.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just replay the first game.

posted by MrTechRat (CORONA, CA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had fun only because i played this game with my brother on Live. I am very glad i get to send it back when i am done with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse