Rent Kameo: Elements of Power for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kameo: Elements of Power

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

4624 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oh Kameo. Oh Kameo. Where art for thou Kameo?

posted by GLantern4 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Kameo was the first launch title that I picked up for my 360. I originally got it because I thought my girlfriend would enjoy playing it. However, I was surprised to see I really enjoyed it. The game is short, but its life is extended if you go out to collect all the fruit and costumes in single player, and also play the ranking and co-op portions. Even with its short single player, it was a great story and game to play. The graphics are spectacular and the characters you play are enjoyable; however, the later ones appear only necessary for certain areas. I highly recommend this title to 360 gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game was Excellent

posted by MichaelS (SEDONA, AZ) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game was one of the better 360 games that I have played, it has a whole bunch of interesting characters that have their own individual powers
and that is just one reason why I thought this game is excellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kameo=Good

posted by PartyArty (HUDSON, NY) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is a very fun-filled game. There are many different characters and a lot of ways to enjoy this game. It is a challenging game and requires some thought but that's what makes it fun. The only downfall is the length of the game was able to beat the game in under a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprised, I didn't expect to like it.

posted by reviewman (MANVEL, TX) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I don't usually go for platformer games, and I didn't expect to like Kameo. But due to the lack of titles this early in the life of Xbox 360, I thought I'd try it.

The graphics are cartooney, this should be expected. It started out a bit slow, but the gameplay was solid. I found myself really getting into the game.

The plot is pretty good, the different moves for each elemental character keeps the fun factor at the forefront of the game.

I'm glad I took a chance and rented it, for some it may even be worth buying. Try it out...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better late than never

posted by Amazing (HINESBURG, VT) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Rare sure did take it's sweet time with Kameo. The game has been notoriously under development for years and it shows in the way it plays like a game from the 90's. As far as platformers go, this is an enjoyable time. I finished it in about 13 hours. I like how easy it was and that you never had to wonder what to do. As Kameo, and elemental elf, you can change into many strange creatures, all with unique powers to help survive the level. I will keep the review as short as the game and just say that it was an average experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay, for an early 360 game.

posted by Dissension (EUGENE, OR) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Kameo is a difficult game to review because it's so great in some areas and so faulty in others. The graphics are vibrant and colorful, and even now in 2007 look genuinely impressive. It has the feel of an early showcase game, really out there to show you what the 360 is capable of without necessarily going all out to be a satisfying and engaging gameplay experience.

The object of Kameo is to save your family through the use of creatures who you find, and can then willfully transform into. Each creature has different powers and abilities, as is to be expected, and each can be used to solve different kinds of usually simplistic puzzles.

The pacing, combat, and level design is vaguely comparable to a game like Zelda or Okami, but nowhere near that level. Every battle and every room in every dungeon is a puzzle of some sort. The problem is that these puzzles are either too easy or just completely illogical. With up to 10 creatures to transform into, you're often left juggling around with them trying to figure out which one needs to be used, when realistically there are 5 or 6 that seem like pretty logical options. Fortunately you can always consult an in-game guide who takes all challenge away from the game by telling you exactly what you need to do.

It should also be noted that this game is short. After six dungeons and about 13 hours, the game is over. That's not much for this genre of game. It's over too quickly and without much of a challenge along the way. It might be an okay rental, but not likely a game one would want to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best games made for the 360!!

posted by 31gamer (RIVERVIEW, FL) May 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Where to start... This game fits like a glove for the 360 and is a MUST PLAY for all 360 owners.
Video: Stunning game play and cinematic graphics through out the game.
Sound: WOW!! Well orchestrated theme music, background music and sound effects. I can't rave enough about the cinematic and background music.
Game Play: This game is very well written. A good story line from beginning to end, easy to follow. Game length is perfect and the auto saves help a lot. The game can be easy in some spots and very challenging in others. It is a perfect combination to keep you playing with out getting to frustrated and wanting to quit.
The ending was nice as well... Play the game and see the ending for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kameo leaves you wanting more.

posted by Morova (LAKEWOOD, WA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Rare has done a good job here bringing to life a immersive and incredibly beautiful world of fairies and trolls (ie. elves and orcs if you ask me). It's reminescent of Zelda64 and about as intutitive though not as expansive.

This is a good game for young or intermediate gamers, mostly because of scale of difficulty and learning curve, sheer size (vast isn't a descriptive term I would use), and replayability.

For the more serious gamers that want to take shot at massive scores required for an "A" ranking, one handy combination I found was using Deep Blues Oil slick with either ash or thermite. One score achieved on Thorns pass was over 29 million.

In summary, a fun game and looks great, but hardcore gamers are going to want something more unless they are looking for a short adventure game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kameo - Good idea, but poor design.

posted by Crypt1k (MOUNT VERNON, WA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Ah, yes, Rare's other 360 launch title. It should be noted that Kameo had been in development for 5 years, first announced for the N64. So, with about 5 years to play with, you'd think Kameo would have had far more depth and length. However, this isn't the case.

Graphics: Let's start off with the best part about this game: the graphics. Kameo's graphics are, in my opinion, some of the best out there in terms of Xbox 360 titles. Most everything looks absolutely stunning, and it all fits together nicely. However, a few bad textures and particle effects plague the game - some looking almost as if they weren't changed since the N64's version. But overall, Kameo's graphics pack a punch and look great whether you have and HDTV or just a regular one.

Gameplay: Kameo's gameplay is a mixed bag. The shapeshifting aspect of the game can be quite fun, but the problem is that none of the shapeshift "characters" are given enough time to develop. As soon as you get one shapeshift and just get used to the skills and controls, you'll get another. While there are quite a few unlockable skills for each shapeshift, none are required and they are nothing more than fun, extra add-ons.

The combat system is a bit more in-depth than it appears, but it still ends up eventually just becoming a button masher. Enemy AI can be quite interesting at times, as they sometimes will end up fighting each other because one of the blokes hit another. I enjoyed the fact that there is much freedom in Kameo to manipulate them. Enemies can be thrown off of cliffs, thrown into each other, or even used as clubs.

Sound: The sound in Kameo is, for the most part, decent. The background music is all orchestrated, which adds a nice effect. Voice acting is decent, especially for a video game. Sound effects all fit nicely together.

Overall: Kameo is still worth a play, especially if you're looking for a good ol' adventure game to go through. Even with its faults, it still is a a memorable journey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kameo Challenges 360 Owners....?

posted by GhostRR (PATUXENT RIVER, MD) May 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

For all in the review that say "good for kids" not even close. This game provides a good mental challenge...it requires alot of thinking and strategy. Over all it was a little easy to beat and some boss were pretty lengthy to beat even if they were easy or not, But all and all it deserves the 7 and it is worth a rent. game titles should read (Game is for men who love fairies!).....Or Not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kameo is Zelda with powers to change....

posted by Halo360 (WINCHENDON, MA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is beautiful and incredably smooth. The cartoon animated graphics are incredable in HD and on non hd still impressive. this game is so smooth and feels like your in a animated feature. This game is about Kameo a young fairy who has the powers to change into a bunch of cool charicters on the fly to beat the puzzles you face. you turn into a termite that carries a cannon, or an ice beast that picks up ememies and spears them on his back to use as ammo there are tons of things to do and unlock. They have 2 player Co-op at home or LIVE co-op to play. This game is like ZELDA but your a girl and you have cool morphing powers that are so cool. you travel around finding your powers and friends and other things and this ORPG, platformer is INCREDABLE and I say a MUST own, DEFINATELLY rent this you wont be dissapointed, i rented it and bought it the same day i recieved it from gamefly..a MUST PLAY, for anyone kids, teens adults its so smooth and lifelike it really is a NEXT GEN GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kameo Cartoons

posted by Pugsley (SOUTH LYON, MI) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are into Animated figures this would be the game for you. It was an okay game I would have to say that the gameplay was smooth and the cartoonish look was impressive. Like I said you have to like this kind of game to be really impressed with it. It would be a great game for kids though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just an ok game

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a decent game that could have been better. it is another game that suffers from being a launch title, it doesn't know who the game is made for and it also suffers from some horrible frustrating bosses..
the graphics are amazing, drop dead gorgeous.
the game controls well except when you are in the underwater level...
and some of the bosses are ridiculous, even after figuring out what you have to do to defeat them, actually accomplishing this is frustrating. the last boss is an exercise in patience and sometimes futility as well. the bosses are what ruined this game for me. some are so frustrating that i almost stopped playing the game.
as for achievements getting the 1000 points will take time and patience and there are quite a few of achievements that are worth 0 gamers points.. strange but it was a launch title...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun! (for about five minutes)

posted by jman64 (SLINGERLANDS, NY) Aug 13, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I tried the demo for this game I thought ok, this games alright, might be worth renting, so I did. Boy was I wrong. This is a terrible game with a horrible control scemme. The only reason im giving it a six is because they give you a lot of acevments. So in short, just plain avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kameo

posted by budroz (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a Great Game to RENT

Its a strategy/Action/Adventure- /Fantasy Game all in one

Its not too easy and not too hard

The graphics are exactly like perfect dark zero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kameo: Rare's special surprise

posted by Feebleflea (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kameo is game that you wouldn't normally see on a Microsoft machine. The graphic are nice as it is with the sound too. But what it comes down to is the game play. You get some HUGE battles which in can spend hours in. Also there is co-op which helps lengthen the farley long game.
I recommend this game to LOTR fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it, but frustrating

posted by sgtroeder (OXFORD, PA) May 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game very much it was well put together for a launch game and was visually pleasing. The game play was fun, maybe a little too much for younger kids to grasp, but all in all I thought it was a blast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well Done

posted by SavingJunk (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) May 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very well done. Great level design. Very few glitches that I found (yes I do look for glitches). It also have very smooth and thorough gameplay. When you switch your, creature I guess you'd call it, it's smooth and and doesn't take to long so you can get right back in the fight right after you click the change button. Here again, very few glitches. I found 4 or 5 super jumps a couple of level skip glitches. That's it. That's not bad compared to the glitches i've dug up in other games. It does have a very childish theme so if you looking for an in-depth story go for Condemned: Criminal Origins. You should try it, it's pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game looks amazing and is alot of fun!

posted by Ninuzzo (OCEANSIDE, NY) Apr 20, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was one of the first games I rented for the XBOX 360 at launch (liked it so much I kept it through "buy it now" option....where do I start?the game has a simple storyline to follow and is not overly complicated...you can change into certain elments (creatures)to solve certain puzzles....the game looks amazing and believe me when I say this...the game is a blast to play..awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boxing plants are cool

posted by kramm4716 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Platforming gets more and more difficult as computing power gets more complex. Old-school jumping puzzles were great back in the day, but now? How do you do a jumping puzzle in 3-D first-person and keep it fresh? Not only that, you can't see your feet!

Kameo breaks the mold. There are puzzles, yes, and some of them are even jumping puzzles, but when you have ten different warriors - all with distinctly unique abilities - at your disposal, a jumping puzzle sounds like fun. The first time you dash off a ramp as Major Ruin and transform into Chilla mid-air to grab an ice wall across a canyon is fantastic.

I should point out the game is easy. It's designed for all ages, so there's a guide who gives you advice (and eventually the answer) at the first sign of trouble. I didn't mind this, but some might.

The graphics in this game, I think, have used the power of the 360 the best of all the games I've played so far. Some of the others look more realistic, but this game is pure fantasy and plays it up, with vibrant, fun colors and exciting level design. I loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game is very short

posted by outlaw (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

if your a fan of banjo and donkey kong and konker well this game is nothing like rares other looney games it way to short and kinda lame. were these guys slacking of or what. lazey brits

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!

posted by roll4evr3 (MERRICK, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 27 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

this is the stupidest game ever made. it is not fun at all and it has no point

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

KAMEO SSSUUUCCCKKKSSS

posted by jgkay2005 (INDIO, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 36 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This game is very hard and sucks I think this game is the worst on 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Rare Don't

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Rare was one of those great game companies back in the 90's, one of them that most people who grown up with N64 is fond of. Banjo-Kazoie and Conker Bad Fur Day comes to mind, which are the greatest platform games they have made besides Perfect Dark series and GoldenEye. Sadly Kameo doesn't fall within the greatness of Rare and it is probably for a few reasons. One this game is the first development delayed game that has history that can be traced to late N64 early GameCube days before Microsoft bought them out. Second is because it is a launch title. It succeeds in some areas but it still doesn't make up for it.
Story is mainly a simple fairy tale structure. The Elves vs the Trolls ended with the war in the Elves victory years before the game takes place. When the game takes place, Kameo's Sister unleashes a Troll horde to get back at Kameo and their family and it is up to Kameo to save the day. This is similar to Cinderella like story or Snow White but with more blood and violence. The game is rated Teen due to violence but it could've tone it down for a E or E10+ rating and still be great. That is an alright story for casual or not so much hardcore gamers or family focus gaming.
Gameplay is the same platform jumping to get to points and also secret areas and the like. It is repetitive after a while for this one sadly. Co-Op is probably the best since it can be played for friends/family or online with others.
Graphics is similar to a xbox game but more better looking but yet not the prettiest launch title of the bunch like Call of Duty 2 or Condemned 1. Sound quality is the strong suit, even the music score is the best for a launch game. Difficulty is easy.
Overall this game is a 3/10 for a gamer who enjoys hardcore games but also likes an easy rider experience if it can live up to it. Otherwise it is recommended to rent it for those types otherwise it is a must play for family or casual gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAD

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) May 13, 2013

Member since May 2012

horrible game, only way i can see anyone likeing this game is if they were 7 years old or younger. no story, lame protaganist, all your transformations right off the bat, lame level construction and enemies and just all around bad game save your time and over look this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse