Rent Just Dance for Wii
view large frontback

Just Dance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

2523 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just Dance: Just Okay

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

53 out of 57 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

For those of you who liked the dancing part of Raving Rabbids, here comes Just Dance where you - er, just dance to the tune of 32 songs.
Each song has your avatar facing you and performing dance steps, which you match.
It takes a while to get used to the controls, but it's not that hard. I got a good score on most of the 32 songs available. The trick is to think that the person on screen is your reflection, and get as close as you can to matching their movements as possible; if you’re off by a bit, the game will give you some slack.
Besides, the game gives you all 32 songs up front, so there’s no need to unlock anything, and it’s great as a party game with three other players.
You can play a single song; a best of tournament where it’s a best of 3, 5, 7 or 10 songs; a “Red Light, Green Light” version or the “Last one standing”: last one makes a mistake wins.
So how’s the songs? Well, they’re not the latest chart toppers, but I like the selection from “Eye of the Tiger” to “Fame” to Acceptable in the 80s” to “Le Freak”
But this game has problems. First off, there’s no love for the single player; it’s play it party style or not at all.
The game has trouble recognizing some movements and the cord between the Wiimote and Nunchuck gets in the way a lot.
The thing that will turn a lot of players off is this game has little presentation to it; it’s about as bland as you can get. You get the songs, you dance to the songs, and you repeat.
But if you like dancing with friends at a party, then you should give Just Dance a try. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game

posted by playzbazz (REDLANDS, CA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game was a lot of fun! I liked how the only thing needed was the wii controller! Also, it was a fun family game that my whole family could play and it was easy to explain and even the elders enjoyed it. I really liked the song section too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Dance

posted by medicmom40 (ATLANTA, NY) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game or Dance studio in a box was awesome. It actually got all 4 of my children on their feet and moving around. They had a blast with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Dance

posted by gunner0210 (KOKOMO, IN) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a lot of fun. Was a hit at my kids birthday party. Even my 3 year old plays!!!! I think the motion plus would help for more acurate game play, but over all fun game for the whole family, also good exercise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is all about the experience!

posted by JNF247 (WALTHAM, MA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! It may be a little bland or simple, but its so much fun to play especially with others! It is definately a kind of game where the more people you have to play the more fun it is. This is probably not a game for children younger than around 7 as it starts off fast and sometimes it is difficult to match some of the moves right, (Tip: make sure your hand is correctly positioned on the wii remote because if you are holding it wrong its much harder to get the moves right!) but its all about having fun. This game is all about letting go and not being afraid to look like an idiot and if you do it just makes it more entertaining. For me its not about the high score its about having fun when i'm playing it and it exceeds all my expectations there. Some of the songs aren't great, but they're not horrible and still worth playing. The worse of a dancer you are in my experience, the more fun it is. I played this with my mother (who has no rythym or grace and cannot sing or dance at all) and even though i still beat her scorewise my score wasn't too high either because I broke down in hysterical laughter watching her do the moves multiple times while we played as did she! (she chose MC Hammers "Can't touch this" as the song, by saying "let's do "don't touch that"." which started off the laughter to begin with.) I can only hope that they come out with an expansion pack or something like that to give you more songs to do!

I bought this game and to me it was well worth every penny spent if not more for the hours of laughter it has already given me as well as those to come!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A lot of fun

posted by yeshuvtali (MONTICELLO, GA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun. More like a kareoke/dance video. Really no game to it, but lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WooWhoo!!!

posted by stabefam (DOTHAN, AL) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome!! Our whole family loved this game. The only reason it wouldn't get the highest ranking is because there isn't actually a game, JUST DANCING!!! So much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great party game

posted by jadefu (EASTHAMPTON, MA) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is a fantastic party game, especially if you don't mind looking like a dork. It's also good for all ages since kids and parents can play together.

It only requires the wii controller to play, you just hold it in your hand and dance along with the demo on the screen as if you are watching in a mirror. Some stick figure hints pop up to give you a warning as to what steps are coming up, but you'll get the hang of it pretty quick. Even my 4 year old niece just enjoyed dancing along to the music and saying she "beat" her parents score.

It's definitely a party game and not a single player game, unless you're looking to add something to your wii workout games, because you can work up a sweat. There's only 32 songs, and they're all unlocked from the beginning. It would be great if there was DLC or something to expand the songs library. The family were previously fans of DDR, and the great thing w/ this game is there's no dance pad to worry about, and 4 players can play at the same time.

A fun game, but rent it first, or buy it on sale if you like this style of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE THIS GAME!

posted by Kaylamarie (MIFFLIN, PA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is everything I thought it would be! its very fun and it has very cool songs to dance to. Such as "I like to move it move it" "Hot N' cold" "Girls just wanna have fun" "Kids of America" (There are some older songs as well.)

All you use is the wii remote (No numchuck) I might buy this game even, VERY good workout game. I played it for about twenty minutes ( I would have played longer but I was to tired) and by the time I was done my hair was dripping with sweat!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good attempt...but...

posted by Natcap (DAYTON, OH) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The concept of Just Dance is genuinely good, especially for a platform such as the Wii. On paper, the idea of a more inclusive "dance dance revolution"-esque game sounded like a perfect marriage for a motion-based console like the Wii. However, all was lost in execution. I wasn't able to get the hang of the game at all. Instead of having various difficulties for each song, each song is a set difficulty, which limits what you can play and how much you can enjoy it. Just Dance employs a skewed version of the "DDR" style gameplay, but instead of arrows or symbols identifying what to do on a step-by-step basis, they provide you with a moving timeline at the bottom of the screen. Every four-count, a new still shot of a dancer scrolls along the screen slightly implying what you're supposed to do next. However, all they give you is the very first step in a sometimes complex set of moves for the next four-count. All you have to go by after that is follow-the-leader with an actual dancer in the middle of the screen showing you what to do. This lead to a random, confusing, frustrating, and at the same time monotonous few minutes before I put the controller down in disappointment. I had high hopes for Just Dance, but the execution of the idea was very poor. I really hope a revamped sequel is released, or another company sees the lost potential and creates their own, better version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So Much Fun

posted by sarab83 (LUSBY, MD) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I want to start by saying I am an average Mom of 2 and not a hard core gamer. I play games because I think they're fun. I don't look too far into them to try and pick out details to compare with other games.

We've been playing this game for 4 days now and LOVE it. My 8 year old loves trying to beat my scores. On some songs she has. I like the fact that you only need to use the Wii controller and the songs are all there and ready to go. The variety of songs is nice too. Some of the songs my daughter recognizes from TV or her Cd's and others I know from "back in the day". Also, the little images on the bottom that tell you what move is coming up is helpful too. There is a setting that allows you to take that off. We are far from bored with this game and we've danced to every song multiple times.

Please remember the name of the game is JUST DANCE. Which means you, just dance. If you're looking for something more complex then this isn't the game for you. However, if you want a game that is entertaining, easy to get going, and a good cardio workout this is for you. I recommend this game for people of all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of Fun

posted by kingnaz (HILMAR, CA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This got lots of bad reviews, but it all depends on who you are and who you play with.
I am not a gamer....
I am going to dance with my grandchildren who are teen and pre-teen. I am getting lots of aerobics.
I might buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slightly boring

posted by snoopymom (SURPRISE, AZ) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played almost this whole game in one afternoon and it didn't take that long. The moves only register some of the time and overall I was not impressed with the game at all. I did get a bit of a workout but that was the only plus this game had. I'm glad I didn't spend any money on this at the store!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

well nice try

posted by horsecrasy (WEST HAVEN, UT) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game was awful it did NOT and i mean NOT read my motions coretly my 8 year old cosin sugested this game and she seemed to have fun with it but i did not so what does that tell me if you do decide to rent it and dont like it dont even try to like it because all it is you flailing your arms around like a MORON!!!!!!!!! i am 11 and HATED this game so if you are above the age of 8 dont try it and if you do....dont say didnt WARN you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God sent

posted by GRITS302012 (SOPHIA, WV) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

My son has Autisim and he loves the Just Dance games! He does not get very many games do to the thinkin process but The Just Dance games are so great he will dance for hours! You will work up a sweat the more you do it. I have played this game with him and now i find myself playing it when he is not home just as a fun little workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just dance

posted by windfeather (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

it kept saying error

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boo

posted by cuppycake748 (BLANDON, PA) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I didn't like this game that much. The songs were pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better

posted by cutiebutie4545 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Well one thing it needed were newer songs (most were from the 90's) and its not really fun if you are playing by your self it has alot of games were there is no real point in playing them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected!

posted by richard1294 (EPSOM, NH) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I rented the just dance game for fun as when I put it in my console, it was oppisite. A lot of the songs on there, you need to be an expert to do. There a few good songs on there, but not enough songs to keep you satifised for a week. All the good songs are for experts!

My reccomedtion, buy at your own risk!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Dance

posted by ladyearth (ANACONDA, MT) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I have rented this game twice, and each time I have had a bad disk. so to date I have not been able to try this game out.I guess the only way I am going to get to play this game is if I go out and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by funky12 (PLANO, TX) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

i hate it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good fun game but with some problems.

posted by steel30589 (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

First of all why can I not use two wiimotes to play this game I dont like being smacked in the face with the nunchuck cord. There are plenty of games out there that utilise this feature why this one does not is beyond me. If you can get passed the face lacerations this game is not bad its a good party/drinking game that always makes sure people are having a good time. All in all this game cannot really compete with DDR but it does come close despite the handicap of not having a dance mat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

JUST DANCE 1

posted by Sherylp (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Ok, so we played Just Dance 2 and LOVED it. Rented this and we were pretty disappointed. I guess thats our fault for playing them "out of order", but a few things we didnt like are: You cannot type in your name for statistics. You have to choose a lame icon. I was a diamond and my kids were cake and donut. WTH? Most of the songs are old or really old, probably because they didnt want to pay alot to license new songs. The dance moves are ok, but again, old and more like aerobics. There is NO sweat program. The dancer graphics are about the same, but the scoring graphics are really plain. No cool sounds or effects when you reach high score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Dance

posted by abcd2002 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

My family loves this game! It gets the whole family playing (if you have 4 controllers) and moving. It's a fun game, but also a workout, if you do all of the dance moves full out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not what i was looking for

posted by mstaken78 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

i thought it was like the just dance 2... We played just dance 2 on christmas and had a ball. So i thought i would start with just dance thinking it was like just dance 2...NOT AT ALL.... But my kids loved it...Thats all that matters....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse