Rent Just Cause 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Just Cause 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

7031 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining, good value, but a little repetitive

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

JC2 is overall a very good game, and it's definitely worth the rental if you like sandbox games that allow you to blow up stuff.

Pros:
- Giant world
- Lots of stuff to do
- Good graphics
- Reasonably decent story
- Few glitches for a sandbox game
- Decent variety of missions
- Hard difficulty was difficult, but not insanely so
- Good AI
- Lots of vehicles
- loved the grapple and the things you could do with it

Cons:
- A little tedious toward the end
- Many bases were clones of other bases (not a huge amount of variety)
- Neverending streams of baddies at bases on hard

Many compare this favorably with the Mercenaries series, and I have to agree, though I didn't think Mercs 2 was all that bad like others do. The map is huge, I mean HUGE, and the number of places on it is a crowded mess of dots. So lots to do, though some of the locations feel templated (like the numerous comm sites that are all identical). The story was good, though a tiny bit cliche at times.

The grappling hook is what makes this game unique and entertaining, IMO. It can be used in a ton of ways from an impromptu means of locomotion (in combination with the parachute) to a means of attaching a baddie to a propane tank that you can then launch with your pistol. Yes, there are many entertaining ways to use it!!

And I truly appreciate the game developers not making the more tedious gatherer trophies require 100% completion. Many games have items you have to find across the map and that can be really tiring. This game you only have to find 100 of 300 special items, and you can easily find that many during the course of exploring. And the game completion trophy is at 75% not 100% thankfully. It was a _grind_ just getting the last 10-15% of the 75%.

Lastly, the game has a lot of variety even after finishing the story, from vehicle races, to colonel "assassination" missions, to item and upgrade collecting, to trophy hunting tasks, to just plain go around and blow stuff up with gigantic fireballs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Cause 2 Review

posted by ChikinFace (NAPLES, FL) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

35 out of 39 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

It is a really great game. I like how you can just walk around the island and do all this crazy stuff. Like i jumped out of my own plane and stole the plane who was chasing me. This game is ridiculously fun. But it might not be a good choice if your used to the type of game with set missions, because you get to choose who you help and you can choose where you want to go. I would compare this game to the Assasins Creed series or any game that you can do crazy stunts and explode anything you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my God

posted by thefifth (LATHAM, NY) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

32 out of 36 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Simply amazing. The graphics are stunning. There is an endless amount of things to do. The map is thee biggest ive ever see. Imagine the Fallout 3 map. Now multiply that by 3x then add life, vegitation, mountains deserts, jungle, and oceans. The movement and feel of the game is so smooth it feels so real. If your "Games I have Out" isnt full i suggest you put this game on your list because HONESTLY this is the best game ive ever played...The things they say in the game are kinda wierd and stupid like "Son of a Mia!" but thats nothing to be annoyed or frustrated over because the rest of the game makes up for it....Do your thumbs and eyes a favour and go rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gg

posted by kaydog (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i really like this game it can be hard at some points but i can always pass them the cool thing about is this game is that u can dive any car heli play bike i rate it ti have got a lot ferther this time and i think it is an awsome game so newcomers get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game with tons of side mission

posted by 25gamerFPS (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will say this Game is great a lot of fun for me it better than grantheftouto 4. but without going online.

i had played this game overall for more than 30 hours and im going to keep it later on i may sell it.
there are few stuff i didn t like:
The parachute even doe its great if u fall u dont died but sometimes its just annoying everytime this guy wants to jump he does like he is falling from 1000 feet high and it was from a second floor. if u played u will know what im talking about.
Im sad cuz while u are driven cars u cant shoot no even throw a grenade like in gta4.
I would like to see more realistic action like why the detect u so easy and even when u use the sniper from far they detect u.
The military airplane its almost impossible to shoot with.

over all this is a great game it can be better of course.
For me this game deserve a 8 and it could be 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Cause 2, Good Game!

posted by Jswaqq (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just Cause 2 Is A Good Game Is Almost Like Grand Theft Auto But Better! The Only Thing I Dont Like Is That There Are 10 Mission And to do A Mission You Gotta Unlock It By Making Chaos! You Make Chaos By Doing Side Missions! And You gotta do alot of chaos to unlock the Missions!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

just cause 2 EXPLOSIVE !

posted by bigdbust (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What could be more fun then grapling up a wall then parasueting to a top of a building.And shooting everyone up there.Then jumping off the building then grapling to a car kicking the guys A/SS out of the car then jumping out of that car and going into a new car.Crashing that car into a building then hucking somebody up to a wall and then shooting them. WHAT COULD BE BATTER THAN THAT From, Big D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really, Rich, Detailed Fun over the top game

posted by earthskull (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I will keep this short. This game is an awesome sandbox game. It has huge areas you can explore, and lots of cars to drive and crash and even planes and helicopters of course. I love GTA 4. Just Cause 2 is not as good. These games are different though. Just Cause 2 is more open than GTA 4, but GTA 4 has more busy, congested areas. Just Casue 2=Nature. GTA 4=Urban. Just Cause 2 is such a cool game actually, it has a lot going for it. The only problems I have are that ammo is much more scarce than I even imagined it would be, considering the over the top nature of the game. The other issue I have is the control of the gun fire, and duck and cover system. It feels quite awkward at time. Yes, I am comparing it to GTA 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Totally Worth Getting !!!

posted by PS3Master7 (BOCA RATON, FL) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Just Cause 2 is actually one of the best games I ever played. Amazing graphics, fun missions, this game has everything! Some people may not agree. If I had to say somthing bad about this game is the horrible diolouge. Other than that, great game !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It may lack polish, but its still great fun

posted by ArcticSwan (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

If you love Grand Theft Auto style games will certainly love this. Panau might be the largest open world game, taking forever to get around. Fortunately, getting around is awesome. There is over a 100 different vehicles in the game, but you'll be using your grappling hook and parachute 90% of the time to get around. Falling from high up, pulling your chute sounds simple, but when used with the grappling mechanic it creates a new experience.

An example being using the grappling hook and parachute together would be firing the hook at the top of a building. You hurtle up at it but before the edge you activate your chute and release the hook. Momentum will carry you higher, longer, the degree varying on certain the physics and while you are floating you can use your hook to change your position or rise higher. The hook has plenty of uses in combat as well like pulling enemies off balconies, stringing them to ceilings to leave them open to anything, or through creativity using it as a battering ram or pinball, but you'll have to find out how.

The world is huge, the draw distance is great, even from way up high. I've taken a jet as high as I could and jumped out and watched it plummet into earth below. With Panua as big as it is, you hope the plot and story would be good too. But the game doesn't excel in this area. The game definitely tries to be silly, not taking itself seriously, but a silly plot can still be good. This one sucks.

I don't have room to get into the plot, but I'll explain the missions. There are 3 factions in the game that you do missions for, eventually leading to Story missions. Missions range from everything, small to large, to even races. Chaos is a currency made from destruction you create that can be used to buy upgradable weapons or vehicles, or fast travel through the world.

While the checkpoint system and sound glitches are awful, the game is fun and a completionist's dream. The fun stuff, how much there is, outweighs most of the problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gta meet uncharted 2

posted by LpsLost (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

and it does everything right. I LOVE this game .. rent it now.. even tho you might wanna buy it after you rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game

posted by tcuaron45 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Just Cause 2 is definitely one of the better games I have ever played. When you begin playing this game, there is no question to the amount of effort that was put into the game. Nearly endless game content, wonderful graphics, and the biggest sandbox game I have ever played. The missions are always exciting, and never get dull. The missions will vary from blowing things up with a plane or a helicopter, to strategically running into an enemy camp to fight and take over a territory. I played on hardcore, as I do with every shooter I play. I found hardcore difficulty, just perfect. I was never completely stuck, but never breezed through the game. Fortunately, even on the easiest difficulty, I can't imagine this game going by quickly. Just Cause 2 has many hours of playtime available, for the story line alone. I was amazed with this game, absolutely loved it. I'm apprehensive about ever returning it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Non-linear game ever

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Alot of fun to be had here. Beautiful game just simply beautiful. Gameplay is what sets this game into the top ten of anyones library. The level of design and texture just really bring Just Cause to life.

At times i felt i was playing a BA version of Mercenaries but that went away when i took a fighter jet to the sky and started raising oil rigs to the ground just for giggles. Enter the grappling hook. Its the stuff dreams are made of combined with tethering objects together oh joy rapture( is that word copy righted). You'll find yourself just trying to do things just to see if you can. Finaly the chute. Fly high and drop in with an arsenal of weapons ready to lay waist to everything. Oodles of fun peaple.

Flawes? I mean the plot who cares. The moment you enter the game you know the usual story/intro to all games. After your let off the leash you can do anything. . . ANYTHING. Grab this title and be ready for your eyes to hurt and sleep depervation to settle in oh and get a calander you might lose trac of time completly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Chaos reigns supreme.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off the people that are saying the graphics aren't good are straight up blind. I've played alot of PS3 games Uncharted 2, MLB 10: The show and GOW3 and this game is right up there graphically with Uncharted 2. This game is beautful in every way. The settings are breathtaking and the overall detail is exceptional. Yeah it's another GTA style game but so what there are a million FPS and it's not about the quantity it's about the quality and this game is quality. This game has improved on every aspect of the first. It has over 400 square miles to explore, 100 vehicles, massive destruction and the missions are actually varied and fun. There's no reason to rent this game because it definately deserves a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun

posted by Steugen (LOUISBURG, NC) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is a GTA style, open world, surreal action game. It's graphics are some of the best I've seen from a game of this style, with only a couple minor glitches in my experience. I like the variety of vehicles(cars, bikes, choppers, planes, etc). The grappling hook is a fun feature that allows you to ascend tall buildings, pull people off roofs, link two things together, and even move around quickly if you get good at shooting it, deploying your parachute and repeating. The GIGANTIC open world and variety of terrain makes it a fairly varied experience for the genre. The only drawbacks I find are the gunplay being a little inaccurate, and the voice-acting/story being a little cheesy, but I'm willing to overlook it for an arcade style action game. Definitely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Immersive Sandbox

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Just Cause 2 has a lot of things going for it: lots of destructible scenery, a nice array of weaponry and vehicles, a huge, detailed world to move around in, and creative story missions that range from climbing WW2-era lightning towers to defusing nuclear missiles in mid-flight. Not to mention a wicked-cool grappling hook. It's unapologetically stupid, making no excuses for the ridiculous (yet fun) spectacles that occur every chapter.
That said, it has its problems. The camera can be fairly maddening; more than once I couldn't see what was right in front of me because my own head was in the way. When you're being shot at, it can be nearly impossible to tell what is shooting you (and from which direction) unless you have a HDTV. I call this "inFamous Syndrome".
All in all, this kept me more entertained than most sandbox games and I'd recommend it, at least for rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nothing but FUN.

posted by CamelToad (MEMPHIS, TN) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The over the top game play combined with what has to be the largest game world ever in a game in Just Cause 2 makes it one of those games that you have to force yourself to quit playing. So much exploration and freedom with so many forms of travel including planes, jets, helicopters, a variety of ground vehicles and the parachute + grapple. This is an open world/sandbox game that is done so well you will find yourself spending hours at a time inbetween the actual missions because the game world is so gigantic that everywhere you look you will see something in the distance that sparks your interest.

Worthy of note: a great feature exclusive to the PS3 is the ability to record your game play and instantly post it to youtube, and with the variety of insane stunts you can pull off you'll love having it recorded to show your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just cause 2

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Just cause 2 is very cool and fun. The world is very detailed and with simple game mechanics that makes the game a instant classic. Just cause 2 plays like Mercenaries2 but without the flaws. The game isn't very much like Grand Theft Auto, other then the open world exploration.

You play as Scorpio, well that is what the local gangs call him. Scorpio is Actually a government Secret Agent who is uncovering a sinister Dictator's hidden agenda... By blowing up everything in sight.

Billions of unique cars, billions of helicopters, aircraft(even a 747 airliner), boats, etc... in which to do your secret agent destruction in. Certain buildings blow up, trees get knocked over, and even a snazzy lil grappling hook to hook statues onto your car and drive down a residential street with a statues' head being towed behind.
The map is ridiculously large, but even more remarkably is the detail of the world. The shaders and blending techniques are most beautiful
seen, especially in a Exploration Game world this size. You can also swim underwater, which is also rich in detail.

Made by Square Enix and Edios, who have demonstrated game mechanics can be very simple as long as certain physics of the game are outstanding... {By using rag-doll motions for getting hit/killed to characters in game but having detailed explosions, which many game developers place absolute realistic motion without the shock and awe of a explosion, as like GTAIV.

Square Enix developed a standard for open world exploration.. The story is very basic. Just Cause2 has endless moments of laughing hysterically at something you done/accidentally did. You can also record and upload action moments you did in the game!

You should definitely try Just Cause2, try the demo if you are not sure. I was very amazed an exhausted from exploring the rich detailed world. It is a game you can play over and over.

You constantly see something new in Just Cause2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprisingly fun (time consuming platinum)

posted by johnnyvisc (VACAVILLE, CA) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is probably not for everyone but I really like it. You are given options of were you want to go kinda like GTA but not quite. I also like being able to fly helicoptors and airplanes, drive motorcycles and tanks along with the normal fast cars etc.... I think they did as good a job as any on the controls of the character and vehicles. I have never used a parachute and grappling hook in a video game in this manor before but i thought they were a good addition. There are very few games i would buy anymore since I have Gamefly but I might just keep this one. Platinum should be easy but extremly time consuming. You will really have to like it or youll get bored trying to get the platinum. The main story is already long. I would rate this game a 9 out of 10 mostly because its a 3rd person shooter and while your in the air the scenery looks terriblely fake, on the ground its alot better though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply the BEST game

posted by splitrock (LAKE PLACID, NY) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

There is no sandbox like this. I have spent more time on this game than ANY other. Now in all my games I want a grappling hook!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Cause 2

posted by dmoney2418 (SAGINAW, TX) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is a great game if you like third person games like GTA IV it has a massive map many helicopters and planes scattered through out the map you can fly for like 5 minutes before you reach the edge of map one way, i like that.. many different things to destroy. but the structured play is kinda week i thought but its all free roaming map do what you want so i think that is a better part than all structured game play any way i gave 8 stars..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game with Great Story

posted by GamesFly (KEARNY, NJ) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Just Cause 2 is a great, solid game. This game, in my opinion, deserve a 9 out of 10. Many things adds to the epic gaming experience. Like a major asset is the destructablity. It is always fun to destroy a giant oil silo while going 200 MPH in a military fighter jet. Adding to the jet, there are a massive amount of vehicles ranging from a high-end luxury car to a massive military transport jet. There are also many boats and motocycles. This game also have a few drawbacks too. One drawback is not a major one, the voice acting. Many sources (GameSpot, IGN) review that the voice acting is horrible in this game. In my opinion, the voice acting is like something out of a cheap (In a good way) movie. But you'll barely notice this drawback because of the amazing story and events that happen while they talk. Another drawback is the short story. It's a great story but due to the short story it get kind of boring after you finish it. Overall, Just Cause 2 is ultimatly a great game. If you're still unsure, it's definatly a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent time-sink

posted by Northwasp (BYRON, MI) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this once before through a local store for 2 days, and I only played it for about an hour before returning it. I had spent more time playing Heavy Rain. I decided to give it another shot through Gamefly and boy and am I happy I did.
The game does a pretty good job of making just about everything you do fun. Even a standard raid on a military base can turn hilarious with the grappling hook.
The grappling hook is probably one of the best gadget concepts in any game that I've seen since Portal. I spent hours at a time just experimenting with the different things one can do with it.
There were a variety of weapons, but I mostly found myself just using the pistols and smgs as the ammo for them seemed the most plentiful.

There weren't many negative points to this game, but a couple things I was a little disappointed in were the voice acting and lack of more destructible environments. The voices/animations seemed a bit out of sync at times, and at others seemed pretty scripted. There was a lot of stuff to be blown up and doing just that kept me busy for hours. However, I would have liked to have had the ability to level buildings, somewhat like in Red Faction: Guerrilla. With the variety of attack vehicles and heavy ordinance you have at your disposal, it seems a bit less potent when you can only destroy certain objects in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing open world game

posted by 6BABG6 (CANOGA PARK, CA) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i have always loved gta games and this game i think BREAKS them all because the amount of things you can to in this game in UNLIMITED. hook people to cars , planes, and other things. The missions are amazingly fun. controles are very responsive andthe graphics i think are the best on ps3 (not including uncharted 2). get this game today and experience the best franchise of a game that i have personally played. 1 more word AMAZING game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

posted by CODECRACK (WEATHERFORD, TX) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

for a game that you get to steel a cars boats and hellicoppters its pretty good for that kind of stutff.rico (the story dude) is in ACTON

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse