Rent Jurassic Park: The Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Jurassic Park: The Game

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

1718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a good solid 7

posted by proloz (WESTERNPORT, MD) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big game reviewer, but I feel like this game has been reviewed unfairly by a lot of people. No, it's not a shooter---there isn't a TON of action really, just lots of button pressing as they flash on the screen---BUT, the game was really enjoyable overall. The story was good, it really was like a movie instead of a game. Normally I skip through the movie sections of games, impatient to get to the next part---with this though I found myself really feeling the characters and wanting to watch everything. It's not terrible at all. Parts of it are actually pretty fun, other parts are frustrating. I think the achievement of not dying in the game is pretty impossible unless you keep reloading. I went to see the 1st JP movie the day it came out years ago---ever since then I've been into the whole JP thing. So if you like the movies, then you'll probably like the game---unless you are expecting a gun toting, FPS, which this game is not. It was good though. I played it and beat it within two days. Take a chance with a rental. I don't think it's a buy at all, or even a keep it. But a rental? Heck yeah! That's what GF is for! :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

newcomers to the franchise beware

posted by skyrimmaster (CAMP HILL, PA) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Jurassic Park: The Game isn't for everyone. People expecting an action-packed first-person shooter thrill ride or even an open-world exploration game will be very disappointed. Jurassic Park: The Game is about the story, character development and plot twists like Mass Effect. The game is centered around quick-time events like RE6 and dialog choices like Mass Effect. Don't get wrong I'm not condemning the game for that, as a matter of fact i don't believe this game could have been made any other way. Realistically if it was a FPS we would be complaining how the raptors were either too slow making them unrealistic or too fast making it insanely hard. There are still plenty of scary moments in this game to keep fans of franchise satisfied. Plus, this game is just dying to be played in the dark.

I have several complaints with the game:
1. The game can get glitchy at points when action becomes too frantic.
2. The lack of control of your characters to explore the island is a disappointment.
3. The game is just too short even replaying scenarios to get the achievement points only took 4-5 days which certainly isn't a buy.

All in all its a good rental for fans of the 1st movie. Maybe a buy if packaged with the movie for newcomers to the franchise but that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jurassic Park: The Adventure Game

posted by Leo_Bottoms (LA HABRA, CA) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Jurassic Park: The Game, by the same creators as the recently acclaimed Walking Dead, is by far a great game which stays true to the source material, the original Michael Crichton novels. Suspense, drama, science fact and fiction, horror, and action, and guranteed never a dull moment until one comes across an inevitable difficult puzzle. Much like Heavy Rain, the story is stellar yet the gameplay is much like a modern day adventure game, where instead of stopping the action and creating a consequence free enviroment, the player is held responsible for their actions and must act quickly when the time calls for it. Unable to close a door while a raptor is about to make a lunge and you die, graphically. As adventure games go, this is by far a great one that ought be ported to most of the modern consoles including the Wii and would suffer little to no drawbacks graphically or technically. The game is simple for the avid adventure game player, and the many decisions available gurantee a few playthroughs, though like many adventure games it's replayability is restricted. As such, it is worth a look and a playthrough at least once, and is liable to change the mind of even those who dislike adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More then meets the eye

posted by Incarseris (CENTRALIA, IL) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The title itself drew me to this game as im sure it did for many others. A decent game but with many flaws. the graphics are discourging and the voice acting needing improvment but besides that the story fits sug into the movies and reavels some answers to questions left behind by the movie. A game more ment for fans of the movies. But on thr bright side the story line is great,action parts will keep your eyes glued to the screen. And the familar music will do just what it did for you in the movies. A game worth a shot in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

surpringly decent game if you arent playing better

posted by beeronasti (ODESSA, TX) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

25 out of 32 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

a jem in the rough as they say, pretty terrible graphics in some places, and in others almost on par with A games, but def not AA. character design and facial expression is decent, and voice acting runs the gambit from amazing to the truly awful.

the game plays out like a heavy rain or a poor mans LA Noire restricted to only investigation mode and action sections. usually the most difficult thing to accomplish with a perfect rating is something silly like running down stairs, or hacking brush. conversation trees are decently drawn out, although u never know which will lead to the next cut scene so its tough to explore all the options

also it can feel a little disjointed as each chapter is done by an entirely different cast including director.

still if your familiar with the series you can see the impact and shadowing influence as you following along in the footsteps of the movie. its interesting to see the chopper fly in over head and hear about the famous archeologist arriving to visit. its the knowing that you understand the reason behind why things are the way they are even though none of the other characters do.

there are some awesome moments and some heart wrenching ones too in a surprisingly far more story driven experience than i would have expected going into it.

they could have used the amazing jurassic park soundtrack better, but when the hauntingly familiar tones ring out it makes an impact.

its more an interactive movie interspersed with investigation parts than a real game. but it is still unexpectedly entertaining and leaves time for your to touch yourself and toke on somethin even while apparent danger is paramount

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Relatively easy and short, and could have been

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

better. It's a respite from fast-paced shooters, and a relatively easy, and short "interactive movie" where button pressing basically moves the story along. The story itself is woven around what might have happened in the aftermath of the first Jurassic Park movie plot. If the graphics had been more up to date, and if the story had a bit more depth, it could have been a good game. But I suspect it was made just easy enough for younger kids to play, so it isn't all that challenging nor overly scary. It's a light-weight game for those who might need a respite from playing all the shooters and "heavy" RPGs for a spell. Your younger brother (or sister) can play it too. Not a bad rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very slow

posted by bcolewarner (KENNEWICK, WA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very slow game with very low player action. The game itself has alot of action but after playing this game for almost 2 hours i was left wanting some Resident Evil 5 action. Great game for younger kids 10-15 but very boring for a mature player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth playing

posted by brendanG (WELLINGTON, UT) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

i did not like this game not one bit and i like watching the Jurassic park movies, but this game just isnt worth renting, its like a puzzle game and finding clues, u dont even get to control your character. you only push the buttons that are shown on the screen to go investigate the area where the symbols are shown,, my son was really excited to play this game, but realized that it was really boring..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even close

posted by TooLFan (GETTYSBURG, PA) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I just want to write this to hopefully save someone else from making the painful mistake I did.

If you are expecting a game where you actually have control of a person, running and hiding from dinosaurs and such, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!!

This game is much like CSI games where you point and click to find clues to solve a crime. Only in this game, they pretty point out the clues for you by putting magnifying glasses and the corresponding button press by the clue.

So, this game is as about as much fun as a crossword puzzle that is already 3/4 filled out, or a word find with most of the words already circled. If that's your thing, click the rent button, otherwise move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the thrill

posted by TheGangsta (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Attention to all gamers who sees this game and think it would be fun to roam around one of the most recognizable titles in pop culture, you're wrong.
This game starts off like it might be promising but quickly reveals its not, the control scheme is based off quick time interactive button presses (similar to games like heavy rain) but fails horribly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

LA Noire meets dinosaurs

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I'm really not sure what Telltale games was thinking with this version of a Jurassic Park reboot. I mean all these possibilities for game direction fly in my head, like a Survival type explorer like Dead Island or maybe something like Turok. It's impressive how developers can screw up something so cool like Jurassic Park and take it in these weird directions.

Instead, Telltale creates an interactive puzzle detective game, very similar to LA Noire. Wow how fun! Picture watching unskippable cut scene after another, only being able to move a camera angle to look for clues. You click a button like A, X, or Y on the clue to see what it says, or some dialogue will occur. These cut scenes move the game along so you progress.

You'll need to move the camera to look for clues you'll need to complete the task at hand, sometimes you'll need to move to various locations. Any by moving to various locations, I mean you just click on a new screen and it moves you automatically. This game is a joke; I feel terrible for anyone who bought this game thinking it was going to be a sweet action adventurer.

The voice acting was good and the graphics were fine. But the bogged down kiddy game of clue was a great way to not have any fun. Pressing button sequence one after another like Bayonetta ruins any suspense a scary dinosaur scene could give you. Don't click fast enough or click the wrong buttons and you might have to redo the cut scene sequence again. Having fun yet?

Apparently this game was designed to hit a different target market or be something totally unique, but the word fun wasn't in the game design I guess. Fans of the original JP like me will surely be way too old to enjoy something like this anymore, and considering LA Noire did it already, it feels copied and rushed. The campaign is also pretty short, and there's zero replay value here folks. No online play or coop or other game modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God Awful

posted by rhinosaurus (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Seriously?! Someone thought "Yeah, that's awesome, let's just put it in stores like it is." I could accept this from a Nintendo64, but 360?? With it's hiccups, lack of freedom, and graphics that don't even approach what the system is capable of, someone ought to be ashamed. Ugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Jurassic Park review

posted by usmcspartan (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Simply put this game sucked, I was being generous with my rating of 1. All it is is you hit what ever button when prompted to do so by the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

3 out of 10

posted by hatwy3 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was absloutly boring, one of the worst games i have ever played in 7 years!!! the only fun part was when ever the dinosaur ate the human, jurassic park fans would be crushed to see how poor this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time just watch the movie...

posted by EazyE360 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is very boring & slow. You don't really get to do anything other than walk around & talk to people. Do your self a favor & don't waste your time. Watch the movie & enjoy it because you will not enjoy this game. Its so sad what they have done to a great movie..;(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game i have ever played.

posted by Jak_Jakz13 (BEDFORD, IA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i don't normally write reviews as i prefer to let others develop their own opinion of the game. but this...... perversion... inspired, rather forced me to write one. two thumbs down. if i had a third, forth, and fifth thumb, they would also be down. there is an absolute lack of any actual type of game play, this is more of a "pick your own adventure book" with only one possible ending. one long boring story with an occasional "press A" or "hold B." Waste. of. time. never add this to your gameQ. the creators of this game should be sued, assets froze, and made to play this game for at least 10 hours a day. as i can think of nothing worse than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HATED IT!!!!

posted by triplesooner (NORMAN, OK) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i got this game thinking i was going to fight dinosaurs, or at least get to run from them. you dont even get to control your character. all you do is pick what they say or how they do something. my advice to everyone is to rent any other game but this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game sucks!!

posted by crash82 (OAKDALE, PA) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game had potential but they blew it. Good story but the fact that you can't control your movements really made the game boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by bigjonx (ODESSA, FL) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

you dont anything except walk around pushing buttons worse game ive ever played dont waste you time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game

posted by t_stokes (MISHAWAKA, IN) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

worst game i've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Give this game a chance!

posted by dowNFlow (BONDURANT, IA) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yes this game has its flaws but dont miss out on its charm the chase scenes got my heart pumping and some of the more difficult scenarios are very challenging and fun...just think in episode 3 you get in a knife fight with a raptor!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The Game Sucks Big Time and Well it isn't even a game you have to look for clues where it shows you so that is why it sucks big time alright people!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible!

posted by STATiC_NATiON (TULARE, CA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Just an all around awful game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by CHRIZ04 (AMARILLO, TX) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I dont think it deserves to be called a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A button presser

posted by wierdscaryguy86 (CONROE, TX) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Im about two hours in and i cant say its a bad game but its not nearly what i was hoping for. Gameplay reminds me of the CSI games :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse