Rent Ju-on: The Grudge for Wii
view large frontback

Ju-on: The Grudge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

410 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting concept, clumsy execution.

posted by JTurner82 (HIGHLAND PARK, NJ) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loosely based on the popular Japanese thriller series, JU-ON THE GRUDGE: HAUNTED HOUSE SIMULATOR is not your typical game. It is a first-person controlled exploration title in which your only weapon is a flashlight. You don't fight monsters, but there are plenty of moments which provide for some genuine scares. Whenever you hear a grisly croaking noise, the player is thrust into a series of quicktime events in which the Wii Remote must be shaken in various ways in order to move onto the next scene.

It's an interesting idea altogether and provides for a change of pace from the usual "survival horror" genre; unfortunately, the game suffers from two major drawbacks which hamper its potential. First, the controls are EXTREMELY frustrating. Two, and more disappontingly, the game is far too short. There are only four stages (five if you manage to collect the "secret items" hidden in each), each of which can be completed in about 20-30 minutes time.

Too bad, because JU-ON THE GRUDGE's main attraction is how it successfully creates its atmosphere. Areas are extremely dark and detailed very well (the only exceptions being the two "ghost" characters you encounter), and the sound employs lots of silence, save for the occasional jolt of dissonant chords when a scare is encountered.

Had JU-ON been longer and its messy controls were better repaired, this would have been an ideal purchase for Halloween; as it is, however, it's a flawed experiment which is best suited for a quick rental, even if it is reasonably priced at $30.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

2 Things.

posted by Kingdom128 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I may have to say this game was good. Very Scary though. But there's 2 problems....

1- This game are far too short. You can finish in under 5 hours. Even though it may takes time for you to find the missing item.

2- The control are SO bad. It's hard to move while holding B button to move around. It's just that it was very frustrating! I was having a hard on the last mission which takes place at the Cursed House, is on the stairs. Whenever the time I go downstairs it's SO hard for me to move. So frustrating.

So I give it a 5/10. Sorry, I like the Grudge but this game needs a bit better next time and make it longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Scary game...Scary gameplay too...

posted by UGamers (BINGHAMTON, NY) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me begin by pointing out the BIGGEST flaw of this game, the controls. The controls are extremely horrible due to the fact that this game only takes advantage of the Wii remote instead of the remote AND the nun-chuck. Looking around is the worst and strangely I was able to look around better if I was moving. For example, at one point I was in a room and attempting to look around for I don't remember what reason, but the camera continually turned in a random direction. So I found out that if I steady the camera in the center of the screen (which was tedious in itself) and then backed up and moved forward gradually turning to the direction I wanted to look it either worked or at least gave me a look of what I wanted to look at. Also, I noticed getting closer to your TV very greatly makes the camera controls worse so if you are closer, you are just making it harder on yourself. The parts where you have to move the Wii remote in the direction arrows on the screen indicate can be very frustrating and it may seem like the game is deciding itself whether you are right or not. For example, I was at a part where I had to run from the girl, Kayako, and the game gave me a series that was something like left, right, right, up, up, down, etc. but anyways it was very easy on paper but it took me at least 4 tries to pass that part (each time starting from the very beginning of the level). Although, there was another sequence like that which was literally just a cluster you know what of arrows in all directions, but I passed that on the first try. I didn't even finish the last level (the cursed house) due to the fact that I attempted literally about 20 times on the first arrow sequence of that level.

The good parts of this game, there are great scares throughout the game that (and this is recommend) if you play with a friend will keep you laughing at your spooks. Two player is also very entertaining. This game is worth renting and playing through in one night

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Grudge I have with this game: It's too short

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

For me, JuOn: The Grudge has to be the most dissapointing game this year.
I really liked the presentation; you are stuck in a darkened place (hospital, apartments, factory) and are armed with a flashlight. You wave the flashlight about with the Wiimote to uncover the path out of the nightmare. You press the B button to go in that direction. (It would've been easier to utitlize the thumbstick to move about, but that was only a small problem to me).
But there's a limited amount of power in each battery that powers your flashlight (next time, get the good batteries), so you have to search and find other batteries and keys (they're easy to find; just look for a glimmer and you found it.)
Along the way, a creepy boy and a creepy girl try to scare you to death. In some areas of each level, you engage the girl in combat to get away from her.
During the combat phase, one of two things happen. First, arrows will appear on screen and you have to wave the Wiimote in those directions.
Or, a circle appears, then moves about the screen. you have to keep a set of crosshairs inside the circle at all times.
If you are successful,you will escape the wrath of that girl.
Keep on going through the level (unlocking doors along the way), and you will get to the end of the level. But the levels end far too soon (less than thirty minutes a level), and there's only five levels in the game.
Making matters worse is the fifth level is locked and can only be accessed by finding torn up pieces of paper in the other four levels. Most players (including myself) will give up far before we find all those scraps of paper.
I'm really frustrated. This game has some really nice scares in it, and it's very immersive, but the lacking content has me asking "Is that it?"
Here's hoping a sequel will have more levels in it; Ju-On: The Grudge is just too short to give a lasting scare. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just rent the Foreign Classic

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls are absoulty atrotricuous and there some interesting features a courage meter and all this game has terrible controls and just rushed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Grudge against the creater

posted by NightFox87 (FAIRFAX, VA) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was extremely boring. It's not survival horror, it's haunted house simulator. You have to search for spare batteries so your flashlight doesn't die on you. That's basically the whole thing. Me and my friend couldn't even make fun of the game it was that boring. I returned it after trying to play for 20 or so minuets in the hopes that it would get better. It didn't. The scares are like those Youtube videos where you're distracted by the video and then the creature jumps at you. Except much more boring.
The controls are also very frustrating. The character walks unbelievably slow and has no run option. Sometimes turning the wiimote will just barely turn the character and other times they will spin so much you can't remember which direction you were facing.
If I could rate this game lower than one, I would. I see no good points to it. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Reviewing Juon: The Grudge

posted by Dante372 (MARTINSVILLE, IN) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In Juon: The Grudge it is VERY hard to find out what to do, where to go, and where to find batteries. The lighting in the game is a large issue. If you have and HD TV I would suggest you crank the brightness. With the gameplay, the controls were VERY unstable, the scary parts weren't that scare, but they had there moments, and the chapters were nearly endless. But, I honestly had fun playing through it with friends. So, if you want a cheap scare this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ju-On the Grudge

posted by coreybone (WATERLOO, IL) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While playing this game, yes it scared me, alot. But the controls are horrible, you can't control were you are going most of the time, and the slow walking and not able to run just drags out more of the, " I wish they would just kill me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of time

posted by dolphins10 (AYLETT, VA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

dont get this just watch the movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ju-On The Grudge

posted by BIOSHOCKBOY (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Personally I think that this game sucks a little because its not as good as the movie. A piece of poo is more interesting then this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Grudge

posted by VGamer101 (EL CAJON, CA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game was very good with showing the detail but had trouble with moving the wii remote when you go versus the grudge in each level. This game i gave it a 4 because it could have been better and longer and was not scary at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could've been better

posted by zappaslave (MANOR, TX) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I got this knowing it wouldn't be that great, but, the control scheme is kind of weird, your flashlight is amazingly weak, and you get zero clue of where to go. Sure, that's likely most of the point, but, when you find yourself in the middle of a room unable to even see a wall, or realize that you're actually staring at the 'ceiling' because you have your Wiimote just slightly tilted upward.

I couldn't play this for more than 15 minutes without finding myself bored, and confused.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ju-on: The Grudge

posted by 1Guardian (WAYNESVILLE, MO) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Semi decent game play and horrible control mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good? Yes. Good game? eeeeh...

posted by moonhowl (WELLESLEY, MA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

Ju-On the Grudge is a scary, fun, and tense experience, and it's definitely fun if you plan to play something alone at night for the sake of scaring only. However, I can't say much of anything for its quality as a game. The control is bad, and the mechanics are bad. (The whole b to move thing may have been immersive, but I just kept ending up walking in circles, running out of battery and dying. Thumbstick please!?) In short, if you're looking for less of a game and something more akin to a 2-hour Wii motion controlled version of an internet horror flash (such as The House) then this is for you. If not, don't even think of it as an option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Short and Annoying

posted by iaihmb2 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The controls on this game are quite annoying. It takes forever to jsut turn your character around or even to walk. I know that they do it on purpose to make it more scary but after the first scare, they really all seem the same to me. The game itself only has 4 episodes so it is also quite short. A waste of time really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

There's nothing scary about a meowing kid

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

The title pretty much says it all. The game is definitely startling, as things jump out of nowhere, but they might as well be balloon animals, sandwiches, or Simpsons characters.

There's nothing scary about the enemies that hunt you in this game, which is a shame, since the atmosphere is otherwise very interesting, if more than a bit slow.

There's slow pacing for mood, and then there's slow pacing to pad out the game. This one is far more of the latter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Grudge against this Grudge

posted by chocobo90 (MASON, OH) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

Ok, so when i saw that there was a Video game Version of Ju-on:The Grudge, i then and there thought I MUST PLAY IT i really loved the movies and being the mega gamer that i am, thought the game would be just as amazing...after playing this game i look back and think to myself, wow, when our parents told us to think before we act, boy were they right, making the choice to play this game wasn't a total waste of my time, in speaking that the game is so short it took me about an hour and a half to beat, but it's not something i would want to play through again, first off, the controls, were so bad i wanted to throw my Wii remote at the screen, you attempt to turn your "flashlight" around and instead, you find yourself pointlessly gazing at the ceiling, but hey, i thought to myself, let's just let the bad control's slide, and then, came the scares, the game uses the same way that the movies scares people, with the woman with the freakishly long hair and the boy with the strange black cat, but all the scares that they throw at you are so repetitive, at one point i thought to myself, didn't she just do that five minutes ago? third, the graphics could have been so much better, so all in all, Ju-on:The Grudge the game wasn't that great at all, but if you are looking for something that will make you jump about five to ten times, throw your Wii remote once or twice and then say "huh? that's it?" then Ju-on:The Grudge is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Scary & Sucky

posted by BennyMN (NEWFOLDEN, MN) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

The game is fun and scary; however, the controls are inexplicably horrid. The flashlight is difficult to control, often acting erratically, played for a half hour and went back into the mailbox..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls are hard

posted by gmhickok (SCHERTZ, TX) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

I liked the scares of the game but the controls were difficult to use. Needless to say I didnt finish it. The controls kept ticking me off. Scare factor is pretty good though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting premise - poor execution

posted by mayura (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I knew nothing about this game when I chose to rent it (other than seeing the cover art), but I was intrigued by the horror element. Too bad the execution of the game couldn't have been a little better. The poor graphics might have been acceptable with a game that was well lit. But if you're going to use just a flashlight to move around and have a limited amount of time to find what you need, it would be nice to be able to tell if you're looking at a desk, a box, the floor, etc. I think that it really took away from any chance the game had of being at all "scary" - or really playable for me.

Bottom line: I'm glad I took a look at the game - as a curiousity. But I'm even happier that I chose to rent instead of buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pointless waste of time

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

play ps3 survival horror titles instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The game was fun but not worth a buy

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I liked the game but I would not recommend you buying it unless you are a Grudge fan, but it is worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cheap Scares come on in.

posted by Bennymoth (ANAHEIM, CA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

I rented this game with the intention to play with my friends and we would all be freaked out about anything we do that night, and it truly did deliver.

But the only real scary parts of this game is that things would just pop out on the screen and make you jump. It really didn't accomplish anything further than that.

The controls are well horrible, there is no running button (and sometimes if you were in those situations you would want to run) and to move around with the flashlight bugs out a lot.

And the worst part of the game is there is no check points. I would get 3/4 through the game and there would be a turn base sequence and sense the controls are horrible you would die and have to restart the whole level. Completely ruining the scary feel of the level and making it feel like a complete waste of time spending 15 minutes repeating the same stuff over and over.

Honestly your better off watching the grudge or any other scary movie then renting this game.

But i did have a good time freaking out that night and being too scared to walk down my poorly light hallway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ju-on: The Grudge

posted by Swann88 (DONALD, OR) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

This is a boring game...period...nothing more to say...heck, it's not really a game. Don't rent it unless you like wasting time and being bored doing nothing. They should have made it a survival horror rather than a walk around doing nothing. DON'T GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »