Rent Journey Collector's Edition for PS3
view large frontback

Journey Collector's Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

1085 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun and Beautiful, but not a long-term game

posted by Oxshaw1015 (MERCED, CA) Dec 14, 2012

Member since May 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game because my Q was filled with games that had not come out yet, and because I had heard such great reviews about it.

The game is amazingly fun to play, and the simple mechanics work very well in the Journey environment.

While fun to play, the number one thing I can say about this game is that it is beautiful. The world that you are placed in, the way you interact with it, and the music all blend to make a gaming experience like no other.

However, if you are looking for any story you can follow with ease, or are looking for a long term game, keep looking. It took me less than an hour to beat Journey, and the story is a purposeful mystery that is not for any gamer wishing to indulge in a story that branches in any way, shape, or form.

In the end, it is a beautiful game that I would recommend to any gamer who is between-games and who wants a refreshing gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Breathe of fresh air...

posted by rollin16 (WOODSIDE, NY) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was more of a spiritually relaxing gaming experience for me as it makes you use your own intuition to flow through the journey. It was a beautiful experience coupled with a soothing soundtrack that flows with you.

I just want to say for those who are thinking this game looks very boring.. I had thought that too when seeing the gameplay online, but after I played it I gotta say I was pretty impressed. Of course for those people who just wanna shoot everything that moves, this might not be for you... but if you at least have an open mind and willing to experience something different for a short while then go for it.

This is a multiplayer game that allows you or other people to kind of "team up" and guide each other in this journey even if it means that person is going to stick with you for a short while. If that happens you might come across more people along the way. They are completely anonymous to you in the game play which makes for a deeper multiplayer experience since you can't talk or hear them.

This is a very very short game and I think it served it's purpose being that way. If you have a PS3 and have around 2 hours to spare then I say kick back and enjoy the journey.

"It's about the Journey, not the destination"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

enjoyable....relaxing

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Overview
=================
Okay so this game is totally not my style. I am a shooter fan primarily, with some RPG and sports mixed in. However, I wanted to rent this as it has been so well reviewed.

The bottom line is that this is a pretty simple game without a lot of action. It is an artistic style game with some minor puzzle solving. However, without a word it delivers a story (a journey :->) that is pleasant and relaxing. The graphics are simply incredible. It was a pleasurable diversion from my normal games.....

Pros
=============
1) great graphics
2) relaxing story

Cons
=============
1) not enough replay value for me (good rent)
2) if you can't stand a game without action avoid like the plague

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More than games,great experiences not to be missed

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

When one wants to point to videogames that are art, thatgamecompany's three creations would serve as fine examples. For those who didn't already get them from the Playstation Store, "The Journey Collection" brings the three games (flOw, flower, and Journey) to a disc based package. Along with the three games are developers' commentary, concept art, the music, and even three minigames (Nostril Shot, Duke's War, and Gravediggers) to enjoy, making this a worthwhile purchase for indie gaming fans. It's not a perfect package- each game needs to be individually installed and accessed to play instead of just launching from the disc (a minor complaint, as it doesn't take long) and the minigames are simply an okay diversion. They're worth a look, but they range from meh to just okay. But they're not the draw here. The first game by thatgamecompany was flOw, a game in which you play as separate creatures making their way down several levels, eventually unlocking six different critters, each one with a different playstyle. The music and the graphics are nice, and it's interesting to play, but it's also easily the weakest of the three. Their next game is flower, which is an absolute delight as you move petals on the wind through environments, opening flowers along the way and revitalizing the environment. The colors are bright, the controls fluid, and the music terrific. The last game is the collection's namesake, Journey. The most ambitious of the three, you take your character across deserts and through ruins to investigate a mysterious light at the top of the mountain. The journey is a beautiful one, both visually and aurally, and even packs an emotional wallop towards the end. You can journey solo or with a companion online. All three games are short in length- it'll take 3 hours max for a playthrough- but all are well worth revisiting. These are more experiences than games, so they may not be for everyone, though all should try them. You'll be glad you did. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting Collection

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Flow - Very conceptual. Very pretty. Very interesting controls. Very, very boring. You're some sort of amoeba and eat other microscopic creatures to grow? The tagline of the game is something like, "If life could be simple." Simple here translates to boring. I hated this game. NEXT.

Flower - Very surprised here. I REALLY enjoyed flower. Basically, you start as a flower petal and using the controller's six-axis motion controls, you float through the air to hit and "awaken" other flowers eventually having hundreds of petals following your original one. Later levels introduce different "objectives" you need to complete which switches it up. Weird concept for sure, but the game play was very enjoyable. Relatively short (Maybe took an hour to finish?) but one of the more interesting and surprisingly enjoyable games I've played in a long time, especially since I knew nothing about it jumping in.

Journey - Long story short, you play as some dude (or possibly dudette) trying to get the top of a far away mountain by jumping/flying throughout different parts of the world. You get powerups to get a longer scarf so you can jump longer distances. The kicker here is that in the game world, you'll meet other players trying to complete the same task as yourself. Some will travel with you, others you'll leave behind and vise versa. With no actual communication in game (voice chat) I had fun communicating with other players using other forms of communication (patterns, symbols, pinging, etc). The world itself is absolutely beautiful and the game play is real slick. Again, a short title that I completed in an hour or so.

Final Word - So funny story, there's actually 6 games on this disc - Flow, Flower, Journey and three Indie games I didn't bother checking out because Indie games aren't really my thing. If they are your thing though, this collection is a steal at $25. I'd give it this collection a higher score, because it was real fun, but Flow was SO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not My Thing

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

These games are not for everyone. They're mostly for the "games are art" crowd. The visuals are very impressive but the gameplay is incredibly dull and boring. It's a 10/10 piece of digital art, but a 3/10 game. I don't like how the collection still makes you download each individual title to play them either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shortest game you will ever play

posted by Squisheep (SPRING, TX) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Minesweeper can take longer; this game is a 90-minute metaphor. It is nice looking and atmospheric, although definitely not for young children (no adult content, but the theme will be completely lost on them.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by hilikus255 (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Super creative game, awesome music. Everyone should try this one out! 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

weird game....but worth a try

posted by Brian1989 (FLORENCE, AL) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

definitley not for everyone. i really enjoyed the art style. the game is pretty short but i got about as much out of it as i wanted. It's a very artsy game. the story is about as deep as you want to make it. i didn't really like any of the other games except journey. flower was kind of cool for 15 minutes then lost it's appeal.

I would say definitely worth a rent if you're interested. too short to really justify a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i love this game all of these games in it are made with passion you can tell there games are a one of a kind and are amazing no matter what a hater says. That game company is awesome!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Save time by playing demo first

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like artsy stuff more than game play, go for it. Bored me. As an interactive cartoon, it is pretty, but it requires no skills and is pretty pointless. I have removed it from queue after playing demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Graphics were beautiful the game not so much

posted by autbrat (VALDOSTA, GA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The graphics in Journey were absolutely stunning but that is pretty much where anything good about the game stops. Even my 7 year old son who was watching me play said it was completely boring. It pretty much throws you into game play without giving you any hint of your goal. Needless to say this game just wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste of time

posted by punkbenRN (SANBORNTON, NH) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

These games are garbage. They are incredibly boring, and I didn't even know the controls or purpose to 4 of them.

Journey - you walk around waiting for something to happen in the desert. It doesn't. Congratulations, you beat the game.

Flower - the only game with any semblance of gameplay. You play as flower pedals guided by the wind. More fun than it sounds, but the appeal dies out after 20 minutes or so.

Flow - what the lleh is this? I played this for a half hour and still had no idea what I was doing or how you win.

The three other games I forgot the names to - Boring, forgetable. Great for provoking suicidal ideations.

All in all, I would rather be impaled by a dull rusty pike than play this garbage ever again. The other reviews talk about how this is "relaxing" and a fresh concept in gaming. If you want to relax, sit outside on a sunny day, you will enjoy that 50 times more. As far as how fresh and creative these games are, I don't understand what is creative about it. Each game is literally one idea that is stretched out to make a game. Every level is the same, graphics are boring and uninspired. I gained no enjoyment from this game. If anything, my hatred and disdain prompted me to communicate this with anyone who may glance upon this heap of garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHOA! HOLD THAT MOUSE!

posted by herpofool (WHITEFISH, MT) Nov 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This isn't a game disc, guys! There's no games on this disk, it's all commentary and behind the scenes; you have to DOWNLOAD the games from the store in order to play them! You still have to PAY in order to play the games! I am unable to download anything from online, so this ended up completely USELESS! AVOID AT ALL COSTS (unless you actually have one of these games, then you might find something nice about it)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really, really boring

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

If you're looking for a piece of interactive art, I guess "Journey" (and some of the other games included in this collection) would fit the bill. However, if you're looking for an actual game to play - something that has conflict, definition, and a sense of direction - then this collection is definitely not for you. I know it wasn't for me. I've played a lot of bad games in my time, but this is one of the very few games I would actually call boring; not bad, just BORING. The way people were hyping it as "ZOMG, game of teh decayde", I was expecting "Journey" to be some kind of unique, defining experience. Instead, I just wandered around a desert for thirty minutes or so until I finally decided to pack it in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dull and Boring

posted by TallusTheKiller (OGDEN, UT) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

I am a person that likes action in my games. If that is what you like then stray far away. I played this game for about 5 minutes and then sealed it up and sent in back. The main quest sees you running through a never ending desert with the occasional bout of really high jumps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RARE.

posted by bowsmasher (SPRING HILL, FL) Nov 17, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

JOURNEY:
I don't have the lexicon too express nor explain, the immensely complex-simplicity of this game.

FLOWER:
It makes you feel closer to nature, closer to yourself. You del deep emotions rarely experienced through typical Blood, Guts, Gore, Bullet's and carnage as is usually the focal point of most games...sadly. This game takes a great risk...Spoiler... it succeeds.

FLOW:
The only dull spot on this impressive collection. Game play is simple and graphics detailed/unique. Playing as an ameba, eat other amebas, get larger, dive deeper. Unfortunately, Flow doesn't manage to spring the invigorating emotions it's neighbors bring to the screen. It's simple, if you like the game, you may keep playing. But, if you think it redundant, as i did. You will give up on it without going any deeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique Resting Games

posted by BungaHead (CLINTON, MO) Oct 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I highly recommend this highly creative bundle of games if you are in the market for a unique experience.

First off, I played Flower. Flower is a unique experience, you playing as the wind and using the PS3 Six-axis mechanic in your controller and any button to blow your flower petal through gorgeous and moving scenery.

Journey really impressed me with how it's simple premise and flying mechanic was so fulfilling. I enjoyed the anonymous "companion" matching and interactions. I thoroughly enjoying playing with random people, who sometimes would drop out, but I was lucky to meet great people who led me around to collect every symbol and glyph. How nice. We became friends afterwards on PSN after what we had been through on this moving journey this game takes you on.

It's a short campaign with 8 levels but with very high replay value. Once I completed the journey I felt ecstatic and ready to play it again. I play through it 3 times all with different people and I took away a different experience each time. This is a must play.

Flow, I didn't really play. Not my type of game and it's six-axis control was nothing like I experienced with Flower. I played maybe 10 minutes and passed to enjoy Journey and Flower again.

Fantastic games from a fantastic game developer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game i've played in a long time

posted by fail0045 (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

How does one tell a story with no words? I could not tell you that but journy some how knew just how to tell one of the best story's scense half-life 2. Buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than i tought

posted by foot_fetish (LEXINGTON, KY) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

was kinda hesitant to rent at first but ended up liking the game a lot. only played journey so far. its not very long, the graphics are amazing, great gaming experience. try and play it online tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful

posted by Ealad (ROCKFORD, MI) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Everything about this game was great. The only con I can think of was that it was a bit short. Not too short, as I feel that the length they chose to make the game was pretty good too. Just wish I coulda had more time to play around in each area (given more puzzles and stuff)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Awsome

posted by quenten12 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

is probably one of the best games made for the Ps3 and would love to see some DLC but its a long shot WARNING it is NOT for everyone so many will hate it so its for those with patience and imagination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful gaming

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

This game is great if you're burned out on shooters, racers, or RPGs, etc. Journey may seem like a "zen" or relaxing title, but it actually made me nervous on more than one occasion. There's a sense of isolation and especially in the underground level, a bit of scariness.

This is a co-op game without all the usual bartering and switch pressing junk like in RE6 and Dead Space 3. You don't have to worry about sending PSN messages to get through. It's pretty much visual. The story is sort of like ICO and Shadow of the Colossus, where nothing's stated definitely and it's up to your imagination.

It's great to feel that first time you see another co-op player in the distance and you make the little music notes to communicate. I went through three different partners in my first playthrough. I remember the sense of loneliness when my first one disappeared and I looked around to find no one. You will often lose a partner only to find a new one minutes later.

You don't see any PSN names until the end of the credits and they won't show up on your "Players Met" list unless you finish. So you could send a "thanks" note or something to them afterwards.

The graphics are simple and gorgeous. When the sun hits the sand, it looks like a sparkling red sea. The music and sound effects are also deceptively simple. During the flight up the mountain, the music is amazing and may bring a tear to your eye.

The trophies are fairly easy to get, though some of the collectibles are really hidden well and may require a guide for a second playthrough. Some take a bit of grinding or multiple journeys, like meeting 10 partners.

There's a bunch of game installers on the disc, like Flower and Flow, which are also pretty good. There are also some indie games on there if you're interested.

The only caveat is that it's very short. I finished my first game in 90 minutes, but it doesn't wear out its welcome and it's very replayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great gaming experience

posted by D_waz_92 (PORT ANGELES, WA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Journey Collector's Edition consists of three games; flOw, Flower, and Journey. flOw and Flower are unlike anything I've played on PS3, both require no pressing of buttons, the tilting and steering of the controller itself determins the direction you go. Both games are equally enjoyable and unique in their own strange and beautiful way, providing a nice change of pace from other genre games. Journey is different, you will be controlling your hooded character through multiple landscapes completing various puzzles and tasks as you move towards your destination, an ominous mountain peak far on the horizon. You are accompanied by a tranquil soundtrack that pulls you in to your Journey in ways most games don't. The subtle and simplisic nature of this game is executed very well and is what I found made it all the more satisfying..call it an Art House type of game. If your inbetween games, Journey Collector's Edition should be in your Que. It's a solid and rewarding gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by rlando1 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game is really fun, the soundtrack goes well with it, and the graphics are amazing. For those of you that like action packed games this isn't for you, but for people who have an open mind about games definatly try this. This game is not that long, but I still find myself replaying it! I have not tried the other two games, i've only done journey because I got hooked! You can download a free trial of PSN if you would rather, but it only lets you do the first level, but I bought it after that! A great game and I wish there was an expantion pack, and more games similar!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse