Rent John Woo Presents Stranglehold for PS3
view large frontback

John Woo Presents Stranglehold

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

2089 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More than Max Payne still gameplay

posted by Gregarious (RICHMOND, VA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I went ahead and bought the game based off the great demo from the PSN store and have gotten through the first two levels. Let's just say that I have both Tony Hawk, Skate, Heavenly Sword, and Warhawk available and I'll choose to play this one over them.

The game play is similar to Max Payne--you can choose to shoot normally or hold L1 to slow down time and have a chance to knock out a few more guys quickly while diving through the air. There's more to it though. You can run along banisters and rails, slide on carts and wires, and swing from chandeliers. (Game tip: These slow time AND allow you to have less damage). This type of slaughtering gives you "style points" which earn you health; a sniping action (Game tip: Go for the junk. It's hilarious); a barrage, aka invincibility and unlimited ammo for about 5 seconds; and a 360 degree spin move complete with flying doves. Later you get to shoot bad guys from a helicopter with a 50 cal. machine gun.

The graphics are great too. The 2nd level reminds me of Drake Uncharted screens. The difficulty on "regular" is challenging and fun and it's a great game to show off your HD TV and PS3.

It's just too bad that us PS3 guys had to wait so long for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Worth The Wait

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Stranglehold was a perfect example of the difference between promise and performance, between screenshots and gameplay. GI ran a glossy spread on it many months ago that made it look bigger than life, action-packed, and graphically beautiful. John Woo's involvement was supposed to lend a vigor and balletic grace to the title. In the end, it's a great deal of blood and little else. The visuals are far below PS3 standards and the missions are endlessly repetitive. The weapons are tedious and the audio is mediocre. Voiceovers are unimpressive. Even the much-vaunted diving and sliding abilities of Tequila only interfere with the gameplay, oddly enough, instead of smoothing things out. This is one for the pure run-and-gun crowd but even with them it will fall short in its boring predictability and underwhelming video qualities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Run and Gunner

posted by JustaGamer (COCOA, FL) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first review. The major selling point of this game is the environment. Not only are there a plethora of environmental kills, but they have "Style Combos" Which is basically places that will light up and give you the opportunity to do some classic movie stunts like sliding down a stair rail while shooting. Each level is graded A-F based mostly on how many style points you got. Style points can be used to purchase extras like costumes and videos. The weapons range from mp5 machine pistols, to "Golden guns", to M16s,shotguns,rocket launchers and heavy machine guns. There is no auto lock it is all free-aim.

I've played a lot of games, and the one I would compare this to is Max Payne, with a few differences.
1. I prefer the Max Payne story more, Stranglehold is a sequel to the movie Hard Boiled. I never saw Hard Boiled so the story of stranglehold didn't interest me, I skipped almost every cut scene which I almost never do.
2. Not every dive will trigger slow-mo
3. You Never have to reload.
4. You have specials like tequila bomb which triggers a quick cut scene every time you use it of tequila spinning around shooting and then most of your enemies are dead.
5. There is a wall cover system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Problem with audio

posted by Jrod76 (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play is fine but there seems to be a problem with the audio. It goes out from time to time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too boring and repetitive

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I sent this game back in less than an hour.Its the same thing over and over again.Ememies pop out,you shoot them.Its not even worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay Game But...........

posted by toks64 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Audio in This game is horrible
sounds, like the sound is cracking like your speakers are busted.
I beat the game and hurried up and sent it back.

really disappointed in this game because horrible audio.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Richly detailed + Lackluster gameplay = Eh!

posted by Geist13 (VACAVILLE, CA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

With stylized gunplay, an over-used bullet time mode, and bloody violence, one would feel right at home if it were a movie. A run of the mill, hardboiled "vengeful cop vs dozens of bad guys" John Woo police story.

Unfortunately, Stranglehold does not compare to the action guru's film work. Instead the video game is a repetitive, inconsistant yawn-fest. A clone of so many titles this game knocks off or is it the other way around? Remove John Woo and Stranglehold could easily be another True Crime sequel.

Stranglehold starts out interesting enough, with breathtaking graphics and some innovative ideas, but fails to deliver the goods. One cop against what seems like an infinite number of stupid A.I. controlled enemies who all look the exact same, and often pop up when your back is turned. After a couple hours of gameplay that ranged anywhere from "wake me up" boring to "what the..." frustrating, I gave up and sent it back to Gamefly.

John Woo should face facts, and go back to doing what he does best: action films. Leave video game making to the professionals. He tried, so I will give him credit. Skip this game, unless you want a "no brains, no frill" tiresome ride into bloody mayhem".

Pros:

+ Beautiful, realistically detailed graphics.
+ Fully destructive and interactive levels.
+ A few different gameplay modes.
+ Some stylized movements; sliding across tables, carts, etc.
+ Decent "for what it is" voice-overs. Even Chow Yun Fat's voice at times did not even sound like him. Alas, the voice-over could have been worse.
+ Doves! Any John Woo fan knows what I mean.

Cons:

- Tiresome and repetitive gameplay.
- Luckluster, dull storyline. YAWN!
- Robotic, or stiff player movement.
- Horrible controls, "what no jump button?"
- Consistantly plagued by bad camera work.
- Player often gets stuck against objects.
- Enemy A.I. is horrible, most of the time they just stand there or get in the way.
- Seems like there is an endless amount of enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not really good but not bad either

posted by mistadj (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a no brainer. No need for instructions or thinking at that. Just run and shoot. Dont worry about getting lost becaues its pretty much on a path you and you cant explore anything. Very interesting killing people though but at some point you wonder if it will ever end, they just keep coming. This is a great game to rent on those down moments like when you are stuck in the house sick or just want to kill some time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A "To the point type game"

posted by Qballer33 (FAIRPORT, NY) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Not very deep, not very engrossing, but definitely a good time. If you liked Max Payne, you'll find this game very cool. It has loads of potential, but I think it falls short of making a true "video game statement". I had plenty of fun playing and eventually beating the game. Didn't take too long either, but I think if it did I wouldn't have enjoyed it as much. The content, length, and game play are just right if you want to have a good time playing in John Woo's world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love the game

posted by dcj2045 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is the one to get if you love action this is more than I was expecting this game is hot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sranglehold

posted by only1bo (DETROIT, MI) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Non Stop action. With a Great storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a terrible game

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sigh

That's the perfect way to start this review, because nothing can sum up my disappointment with Stranglehold more than just that. A sigh.

This game blows. Granted, it came out in '07 and I rented it in 2011. Still, I can't imagine it being good when it came out, thanks to it's gameplay, which is a complete mess. Just a bunch of ideas - some kinda work, most don't - all thrown together to make sure that NOTHING WORKS. Interacting with the environment? Great idea. But having Tequila do it AUTOMATICALLY? HORRIBLE. He just keeps sliding across tables you don't want to, and when you DO want to, he tends to get hung up on things. The point is, it's hard to focus on where enemies are shooting you from when your character is spazzing around all the tables and stuff in the environment at random, with no input from the player. The bullet time mechanic is also pretty bad, occurring automatically during some maneuvers and manually at other times so overall it just happens whenever (and runs out at inopportune times CONSTANTLY). The aiming in general is pretty "squirrelly" too - this is one of the worst third person shooters I've ever played. Before OR after Gears of War. Stranglehold is wretched.

Seriously. If you're thinking of renting this; STOP. Go rent WET instead. It has far more style, a much more solid design and engine, great music, a great bullet time mechanic, is more polished, and is just loads of fun. All of those great things are features that Stranglehold lacks. What a complete disappointment. Ugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fast paced arcade style game

posted by Biggn82 (SPRING HILL, KS) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To fast paced, its a constant barrage of enemies running out at you (which normally sounds cool in a game) but not this one cause there is no real system to duck for cover or hide behind walls. Its all slow mo shooting or focusing on one shot or something like that...and its to face fast paced. You'll be shot 50 times in the time you clean a room. Some things are cool like sliding and slow mo but you basically have to do slow mo the entire time, which I dont really like, there is no serious feel to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What the?

posted by luaplizard (MELBOURNE, FL) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for a more Max Payne feel but one of the elements that mad Max Payne great was the story and this game didn't deliver at all. They weaved plot in between the most repetitive action segments I've seen since Dynasty Warriors. Some of the areas were incredibly difficult due to the lack of precision control. The look and style of the game were great and for mindless action shooting the game is stellar but I am very glad I rented it instead of buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What I expected

posted by who10tj (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was short and very repetitive. All of the areas, or chapters, looked exactly alike and the graphics were somewhat disappointing. The game play is a mix of Max Payne, with the slow motion, and Dead to Rights, with swarms of enemies coming from every direction once you enter a new room. The areas are also very busy and make it hard to see where enemies are at. Ok rental while your waiting for another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A new Max Payne

posted by deadatbrth (WERNERSVILLE, PA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the overall gameplay was good. it was nice to see that most things are destructible, but the game was too easy IMO and it is almost identical to Max Payne, just with a updated look to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game

posted by dawhoking (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 22 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

this game has the worst lamest graphics... it should have been made made for playstaion ONE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stranglehold

posted by Winnie123 (BELLEVILLE, MI) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This was a good game!

posted by Legend5000 (MEMPHIS, TN) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This was a good game and I wanted to buy this one when I rented it but it wasn't available. For the most part your shooting and moving and the added bonus comes with the slowed reaction time when your shooting, it's great! Then the acrobatics of this guy is insane, he's shooting off of rolling tables, rails you name it! I would advise anyone to rent this game if you like to be where the action is, this is it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent It, Don't Buy It

posted by Gurnett (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I went in to this game not expecting much. I left being thoroughly impressed with it.

First off, let's note the game's biggest flaw: It's only about 4 or 5 hours long. Because of this, I certainly wouldn't recommend buying it. However, the 4/5 hours that you get out of this game are a lot of fun.

The game is a rip-off of Max Payne. This would bother me if not for two things: 1). Max Payne was awesome, 2). Max Payne was highly influenced by John Woo, whose name is on the game.

The 4 or 5 hours are a lot of fun, with the main character, (the poorly named) Inspector Tequila, having numerous abilities to choose from, including slow-motion "bullet time", a spinning auto-attack that kills everyone in site, and a cool zoom effect when using guns that result in a one-shot kill. Inspector Tequila can also shoot glowing spots on the surrounding environment blow up platforms and take out enemies in mass.

One positive of such a short game is that the gameplay never has a chance to be repetitive or boring.

It is what it is; it's a short game, with middling graphics. However, the action is fun, and the game will keep your attention for all 4 or 5 hours.

Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dated

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

I had high hopes after playing the demo for this game a few years ago. Somehow time slipped by and I never got around to playing it until now. I hope you like what you're doing on the first stage because that's what you'll be doing for the entirety of the game. I don't mind repetitious games if the redundant gameplay is fun. Assassins Creed is very repetitive but I do not grow tired of those games. That may not be a fair comparison, but it's just an example of a repetitive game succeeding.

I skipped through every cutscene the story was so bad. I don't know if it was just my disc but the music cut out so much that I completely turned it off. So there I was, silently and mindlessly jumping and shooting from one level to the next. The best thing about it was the game's length. It was only a few hours. If it had been mere minutes longer I would have prematurely thrown in the proverbial town. I did like the destructive environments and special abilities but that is a far cry from saying that I enjoyed the game overall. This game is not worth the disc it was put on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Do they run out of bullets in Hong Kong?

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

When John Woo is at his best (Hard Boiled, The Killer, A Better Tomorrow) he is as entertaining as they come. I found even the cheese of Hard Target & Face/Off to be fun. When he misses (Windtalkers, Paycheck, M:I 2)...well I find him almost unwatchable. For me this game was somewhere in the middle.

Inspector Tequila (of Hard Boiled fame) is still working the beat and doing things his own way when a fellow officer is murdered. Tequila wastes no time is rushing to action. What follows is a typical Woo type plot, full of twists and turns and lots of drama that is difficult to actually care about.

The plot gives Tequila reason enough to get to work guns blazing. And oh boy are there guns. The great fun in this game is without a doubt the crazy stuff you get to do while shooting everything in site. Played in 3rd person you have the ability to pull of stunts you'd only see in these movies. Slow-Mo diving, sliding down stair rails, running up walls, dodging bullets, and more...all while slaughtering half of Hong Kong. The game succeeds in making you feel like an unstoppable, unkillable force of nature.

The more of these cool moves you pull of fills up a gauge that allows you to pull of super moves, although to be honest generally only used the one that allows you to do a perfect shot on someone. For good or for bad, they found a way to make killing insanely fun here.

There is still reasons I couldn't grade this higher. It's just too darn short. You can blow through this game fast, and it's never that hard to boot. The settings are unique, but the graphics nothing special, the voicework average, and as stated the story is mediocre.

Just because a game isn't a classic, though, doesn't mean it's not worth a look and a quick weekend rent. This one is lots of fun, and as long as you are not looking for anything groundbreaking, you will indeed have a blast...to the face...with a shotgun. It's that kind of ride.

7 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

now this is a blowem up killem game

posted by MANINBLACK (PETERSBURG, WV) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

My wife got me this game for christmas because she said it was my kind of game...well..I got madden 10 and some others...and still playing this one more... it is cool and you can blow up all the stuff you want....get this one to have fun... it repeats itself alot...but you wont lose intrest for a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My review

posted by Phantommkr (OCOEE, FL) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Better than I thought it was going to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by fjchisman (PACIFIC GROVE, CA) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

To me this game has a fair story line and has good shooting line capability. The storyline finally is good and easy to follow. One downside to the game is it is not realistic at all. You can get shot multiple times and guess what, you won't die. Congrats to anyone that rents this game. Enjoy the game and have a good day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse