Rent Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum 2009 for Wii
view large frontback

Jillian Michaels' Fitness Ultimatum 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.4

1078 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could've Done Much Better

posted by WitchViper (OLATHE, KS) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

49 out of 50 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

I was looking for a fitness program to keep me interested on a daily basis, because Wii Fit was starting to get old after a few months. This is NOT it. I've lost interest after a single day. The exercises feel forced and artificial, especially running. You have to push the controllers in a sort of straight downward motion, which isn't how I run. If you use the balance board then you have to kind of shift your weight back and forth...weird. Every last exercise was dull and repetitive, with no live feedback. Jillian would say inane things that had nothing to do with what you were doing. (Trust me, I sat on a chair and did nothing to test this theory.) If you're jumping logs, you can't fall off. If you're throwing grenades, you can't get blown up. The terrain doesn't change. There is no goal, no new level.

The worst thing, though, is that there isn't much real feedback, especially live feedback. It gives you a score a the end and tells you how many calories you burned but when I would do step aerobics on my Wii fit, it would tell me if I timed it right. If I did yoga, the trainer would tell me if I was getting shaky. There always seemed to be something to accomplish on Wii Fit but not so here -- it was just going through the motions. If I wanted to do that, I could get an exercise video. It's much cheaper.

The only thing this game has over Wii fit is multi-player mode and the ability to string workouts back to back. Otherwise, I think they need to go back to the drawing board. I really wanted to like this but I don't recommend it. Or at least, try it here on gamefly first!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not anywhere as good as Wii fit

posted by SkiONe (DUMONT, NJ) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For starters the woman has the largest nostrials of anyone I have ever known and she insists on lifting her head and looking down her nose as she talks to you.

The interface is clunky and not that intuitive. The "boot camp" moteef is not that well done.

Onto the excersizes; the one thing they did better than the Wii Fit is that they take you from excersize to excersize without having to stop and go through a menu. That is where this game being better than the Fit starts and ends. The only excersize that resembles your physical activity is the speed walking excersize (which you are forced to do alot) all the other excersizes involve you moving in a wierd way and very often have nothing to do with what is going on the screen. For instances, there is a log jumping excersize which involves you very quickly squatting up and down while your avatar slowy jumps from log to log, the more you jump up and down the more logs you jump. On the up side the excersizes do get your heart rate up and they do make you sweat quite a bit. So if you don't care that the "game" itself is not the well designed then the excersizes will get you in shape (perhaps even a little more agressively than the "Fit").

I decided to keep this game just to break up the monotony of doing "deep breathing" and slow as "advanced" step of the Wii fit. I am really looking forward to the 3 new balance board fitness games coming out this year and will certainly give them a try when the time happens.

I can leave you with this: on 1/1/09 I was 221lbs and on 3/3/09 I am 206 and I did it all using the Wii Fit and this game. So it does indeed work. 30 minutes a day and you will be in much better shape in 2 months!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

34 out of 37 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what it is suppose to be... FITNESS! The jogging part is a nice touch to the game. You can actually track the calories burned, but you have to actually do the workout or the calories burned will not be correct. I thought there was going to be more game play to it. If you want a good workout while unlocking diet tips, then this is the game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse