Rent Jeopardy! for Wii
view large frontback

Jeopardy!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, Wii U, PS3
GF Rating
6.6

471 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A Fun Title for Show Fans

posted by mariop715 (HAMDEN, CT) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the longest time, Jeopardy! has struggled to create an adequate console title. Previous versions (like the misguided Playstation title) suffered from critical flaws in design that made them incredibly unfun to play. The new Wii version of this classic television game show, however, seems to have broken this trend and brought fans an enjoyable, albeit shallow, title.

The most important aspect of any Jeopardy! game, beyond usual mechanics inherent in titles like presentation or design, is the quality of the trivia presented. Luckily, the new THQ title is able to create a rousing set of questions that truly tests the mettle of even the best trivia gurus. In addition, the breadth of questions seems to be expansive as through a dozen rounds, I have yet to encounter the same set of questions.

Furthermore, the answer entry system presented here is approachable. When the user chooses to answer a question, they are presented with an on-screen keyboard and use their WiiMote to select their answer. If the answer is a longer one, then another window displays a set of possible answers from the letters already typed in, streamlining the process of answering far better than the dreadful rotating wheel seen in the old Playstation title.

For all of its fun, however, Jeopardy! does suffer from its share of flaws. The most glaring, and destructive to one's fun, is the rather inconsistent response system. On occasion, one can answer with merely a last name and receive a correct response. At other times, keying in thyroid or Martin Luther King (instead of thyroid gland or Martin Luther King Jr.) will come up incorrect. Additionally, while presented as a family title, few children will be able to compete even in the easy mode (as questions still remain considerably imposing).

Regardless, Wii Jeopardy! is the Jeopardy! game that console fans have been demanding. Though not as fun as its PC relatives, this version presents a new and challenging title to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Almost Jeopardy!

posted by odarpm (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented Jeopardy! fully expecting to keep it. Then I played it. I maybe played 4 games and was already getting repeat categories. For a game having 24,000 clues I should ba able to play alot more games before having repeat categories. Then I got to final jeopardy, it's multiple choice. How bad is that?!?! The hardest question that determines the winner is multiple choice? No thank you! Other than that, it was good for its first few games. I'd much rather have it like they used to where one player would leave the room while the other answered the question. Also, the game wasn't compatible with my USB keyboard. That would have made typing in responses so much easier. It gets a 5 because I really like Jeopardy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice.

posted by ZMiletich (DANVILLE, CA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just as Jeopardy fans asked for in a long time. Alex Trebek and Johnny Gilbert doing their jobs, and ALex himself reading the clues instead of Johnny like in the PS games.

In case you're all complaining about multiple choice "ruining" the experience, it's what makes the game a bit easy, as some fans claim it made the game too easy for some people. In the Medium and Hard difficulty levels of the game, there's manual input, as in the PS games and all other past generation games.

I own the DS version of this, though it could live up to the Wii version itself.

As for the clue crew, Kelly Miyahara seems to be the only member appearing in the game. I wish Jim McGuire and Sarah Whitcomb could be in, but no matter. Jeopardy for Wii is the best overall and I wish the DS version could afford to be like it's Wii counterpart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better then i thought

posted by gamer231 (BOONVILLE, NY) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

it was great deffinatly a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Fun

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Had a blast playing this. The easy mode is a great way to ease in with people of diffrent skill levels because you have a 1 in 3 chance of picking the correct anwser. Medium and Hard make you spell it out and it can sometimes mess with you if you don't input the exact thing (ex: Washington vs George Washington). They copied some code from the Wheel of Fortune game with the audience, avatar taunts, and prizes for the avatar. The game is still a challance and is fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

still the best.

posted by yuckyjake (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I've always loved jeopardy! always will. I've been playing it since it debuted on the original nintendo systems and its always been a winner, as have I. The use of the wii characters is so keeping with the player participation, it just makes you laugh, all the reactions and modifications available. My kids love it, would love it more if it were more oriented to them. Makes em wish they put out teen tourney versions and kids tourney as well. we await.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jeopardy!

posted by Zakk (MARICOPA, AZ) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is a really fun game that is a lot like the show. There are a few things I wish they did different, I know the show only has 3 contestants but this is a video game they should have made it 4 player. Also when you go to answer they only give you 3 choices to pick from and I think they should have done 4. That way if the first 2 answer wrong it wouldn't practically be giving the answer to the 3 player. All in all this is a pretty good game and worth checking out if you like trivia games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it!!

posted by JCBear (ANDERSON, SC) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

If there is anything I love, it is a great game that plays EXACTLY [or as close to it as possible] like the real one!! The likeness of Trebek is good, and I love that I get to use my MIIs!!

P.S.: I also have Wheel, and it too is VERY comparable to real thing as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the game repeats itself a lot

posted by gothskull (ALAMEDA, CA) May 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

yes i guess this game is alright but the questions repeat themselves a very large amount which makes the game quite boring but i do reccomend it if you like a good brain workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad....

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

It was exactly what I expected. Wii's limited ability combined with party fun. It had real voices for every question, which was nice. Great rental for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Jeopardy 2010

posted by indyrose (MIDDLETOWN, IN) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Game plays great, but if you are a Jeopardy enthusiast, there are not enough questions to keep you interested for long!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »