Rent Jenga for Wii
view large frontback

Jenga

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
2.8

578 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great Idea, Poor Control

posted by BowmanChik (BROOKLYN, MD) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bringing Jenga to Wii was a great idea, as it gets rid of the monotomy of having to re-stack the blocks between games.

What I didn't like was that they added new rules that completely contradicted the original rules of Jenga. Originally, you were not allowed to touch any other blocks but the one you pulled. This game allows you to poke around and even hold other blocks while you move them.

But if you can get over that, the controls are very shakey. They give you poor movement, especially for a game where movement is the key.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Concept you would think would work on the Wii

posted by Nedyah (GARDNERVILLE, NV) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

By all accounts you would think that Jenga might actually work on the Wii. However after going through a painful tutorial I felt confident I could do this.

I tried a single player game and as I tapped out my first block I tried to grab it...the tower fell. I tried again this time trying to go slower pulling out the block. The slightest jerk made the block come out way too fast resulting in a fallen tower. I continued trying but was not able to get ONE block out let alone multiple. Turned it off and sent it right back.

Maybe it takes super steady hand that I obviously don't have. Good luck if you give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Play the real Jenga

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Dec 10, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

If your trying to play jenga, get the original, classic, wood pieced set. dont bother with Wii Jenga... Disappointment will follow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the postage

posted by OneBttrfly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is incredibly boring! The controls are super sensitive and the CPU players are not much more skilled than the regular players. You don't get more than three or four blocks stacked before the tower topples. My suggestion is if you are hankering for some family Jenga fun, go out and buy the real thing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I'd Rather Play The Real Jenga!!!!!

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game just makes playing Jenga too difficult. As the overall concept is cool, it's just not worth buying. I think that this is just going to be another Wii blunder. The game is a waste of time.
This is a generous 4.
Game-off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD GAME

posted by Briteeyes (CANEY, KS) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

THE GAME IS DAMAGED WONT PLAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I sent it back the next day.

posted by neightfly (ASSONET, MA) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

I found it boring and hard to grasp. I am willing to bet it is much more fun at a party with 4+ people. But maybe not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game control is not fun at all

posted by TopGamer1 (BOULDER, CO) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Bloom box is a million times more fun. The controls on this game are the worst I've seen on the Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Stupid

posted by Gamer7245 (MOUNT PLEASANT, PA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

First off let me say don't ever play this game ever! Controls are awful and shakey but the real problem is that the game is pointless. Games are supposed to let you do stuff you couldn't normally do like play pro football or fight in world war 2. you can just go out and buy the real wooden jenga. Trust me its alot more fun plus its actually playable unlike the video game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It wasn't the best game

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

It was very hard and challaneging. It took me 15 mintues to clear on stage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game is all scratched up

posted by rookie88 (MOUNT VERNON, IN) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

dont know cant play it cause its all scratched up i think checking them before the leave would be nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a Good Game AT ALL

posted by teacherkw (MCALESTER, OK) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I did not like this game one bit. I put it in once and then haven't touched it. I'm sending it back asap. I don't like being able to "pin" the blocks. The real version of jenga is much better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too complicated

posted by caileec19 (PITTSFORD, NY) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

After going through the tutorial twice and trying to play the game for an hour I gave up on it. The control and remote use were just too complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor mechanics ruin a fun concept

posted by GameDrop (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

My wife and I played this game for about an hour. Neither one of us really ever got used to the controls; you use pointing to select the block to move, and then you move the Wii Remote in space to move the both pull the block out, and then to position it on top of the stack. Neither one of these mechanics works very well, to the point that most of the time we were either toppling the stack, or else placing the block on top where we didn't really mean it to go. Aside from that, playing Jenga here takes about 4x as long (because of the mechanics) than it would if we just got the game out of the closet. This game would have really benefited from an 'easy play' mode whereby if you tap a block and it's loose, it is either automatically placed at the top of the tower, or it lets you select where to place it (instead of having to manually manipulate the blocks).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pointless Game

posted by JohnnyBoi1 (STOCKTON, CA) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

probably the worst game ever created, its pointless, boring, harder than the actually is. Avoid this game at all cost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Jenga

posted by BPD237 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) May 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Waste of time. Too difficult, buy the real thing don't waste your time renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only on the Wii

posted by Dekack (RENTON, WA) May 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

Hmm, If you are considering renting this I would probably look to see what else there is. The concept is okay but the game is pretty boring. After figuring out how do play I tried the world tour and quickly became bored of it, not only is is it hard to get more than five blocks removed but the computer would have their block removed and on the top before the screen would start panning down. And at first trying to put the block on the top, I had it in the pictures and furniture in the background and when I finally was able to get it near the tower I would knock a block off and lose. I played it with my girlfriend and it was a little better, at least I won a few times. Overall, if you played the board game it is pretty much the same on the Wii just a little tougher to control. If you are into games with some action you will quickly get bored with this game. I was pretty nice giving it a 3, believe it or not there are much worse game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

why Jenga gets an eight from me

posted by Nin10freak (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game is a wonder house of playtime, and you can go from soothing to intense with just a flick of the Wii remote. This game is just plain fun and adds a level of play that you can't get from the blocks you stack yourself, effects. Plus there is no boring cleanup. The only problem is the game play is a little finicky, therefore making the game slightly twitchy, but that is a TOTAL nit-pick though. You cannot go wrong adding this to your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as bad as everyone is saying

posted by asdf123 (GARLAND, TX) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game was pretty fun. If you're not inexperienced with the Wii Remote, you'll catch on pretty quickly. We had fun with it and its definitely not a game to play if you are a loner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great Idea

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

A game which was a great idea and sounds great on paper. Also, it even looks graphically appealing in the pictures...but this game just fails to execute. The gameplay is horrible and boring. It is very difficult to re-place the pieces and it just isn't very much fun. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rasy2kG Review: Jenga World Tour

posted by Rasy2kG (CHULA VISTA, CA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

When you say Jenga, I think back to all the fun I've had associated with that game. Whether it was the Jenga tournaments we held backstage during high school drama club performances or just playing it with my family when I was younger, Jenga always meant fun.

If there's one thing for certain, it's that Jenga World Tour has take that notion, torn it to shreds, burnt those shreds, taken the ashes, put them on a rocket ship and shot them into a black hole, never to be seen again.

Yes, Jenga World Tour for the Wii is bad enough to ruin something I've believed to be true for almost my entire life. Of course, I'll still play Jenga... just not this game in particular.

The game doesn't go to any lengths to look good, as it reminds me of a late-generation title on the PS1 or N64. Add in odd-looking block patterns like the neon blocks, and it's just ugly. On top of that, the game's soundtrack is entirely generic and forgettable, and the announcers are completely unnecessary.

The only saving grace of this game is that it has two mini-games buried deep within it that are actually kind of fun. Other than that, it's a forgettable game all around.

The "beauty" of Jenga World Tour is you're paying twice as much for something that's two hundred times less fun than the real thing. Bad A.I., super bad physics, and terrible controls have cone together to form a perfect storm of suckitude. This is a prime example of a game that deserves to be B.O.A.'d (bargain-binned on arrival), and even then, I can't justify a purchase.

Pros: Two mini-games buried deep in the title are actually fun.

Cons: Bad A.I., bad physics, ugly graphics, terrible controls... need I go on?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Jenga: Tower of Pain

posted by Reinhart (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This is a co-review. Half of it is by me, the other half is by my girlfriend, Kristen.

David: 2/10
First, let me begin by saying that this game is about as much fun as smashing your hand with a hammer. That is to say only a masochist would enjoy this. If you want to play Jenga, go out and buy the actual game; it's much more fun and doesn't cause one to want to throw their controller at the screen.

The block physics are wonky and unrealistic, I'm not sure what to say about the graphics since the core of this game is removing blocks of wood from a tower... but they're (the graphics) are actually OK for a Wii title, as if you cared. The music is awful, completely awful, it reminds me of old arcade games but not in a fond nostalgic sense but an ear bleed inducing synthesizer vomit sense. The controls are horrible to use and playing it for more than twenty minutes was a lesson in pain.

The only redeeming quality about this game is that it made me laugh for approximately five minutes, but not because it was fun, it made me laugh because it's impossible to play.

Don't rent this game, don't even consider it. If you are still considering it, stop, punish yourself (you'll like it since you're clearly masochistic.) and then go buy the boxed game.

Kristen: 2/10
This game is horrible, with the Wii remote it's almost impossible to do anything. Half the time I tried to do something it didn't do what I was planning. Jenga on the Wii is more stressful then fun. So I guess if you are stressed out and you want something to push you over the edge you should rent this game. I actually feel bad that my boyfriend wasted his time renting this game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Buy The Wooden Blocks

posted by Davidban (ISSAQUAH, WA) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Jenga is a fun game. I recommend playing it with the real wooden blocks.

The computer version is a poor simulation. I'm pretty good with the wooden blocks, but clumsy trying to use the weird Wii motions that simulate pulling the blocks around with a rubber band. Without a real 3D view, it is hard to tell what might be causing the tower to go into a slow motion fall. Sometimes the tower falls so slowly that you can continue playing while it is falling. Very strange!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why would anyone want to play this?

posted by kottonmouf (BARTLETT, IL) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

remember that game that mom pulls out sometimes when grandma comes over, you play it once, dont feel like picking up all the peices and put it back in the closet to collect dust? well its back, this time in wii form. the fact that someone tried to cash in on your childhood memories with an inferior version of a game you already own is insulting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT!!!

posted by WiiFan08 (TRENTON, NJ) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

this game is really bad i mean it BAD!!!! the graphics are horrible and the controls are way too complicated. if i were you i would not rent!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse