Rent Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.4

216 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

PRETTY DARN GOOD

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Oct 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game because i remember playing the old jane flight simulators on pc and remember them being fun and inovative, while this game doesnt really take anything to the next level that we havent seen tried it gives you a solid fighter simulation game wich i truly have enjoyed.
Some will find it lacking and some will just straight up enjoy. I recommend renting before you keep or buy but worth the rent.
Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game, Could've been better

posted by NxLocke (DALY CITY, CA) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gameplay:
Great gameplay, but limited in terms of optional weapon loadout. They are limited to preconfigured plane loadouts. Missions becomes repetitive with almost an unlimited amount of enemies when you are not trying to acheive the objectives and staying below the radar net in most missions. Lack of gameplay options and game modes with only a campaign and multiplayer mode. Campaign mode can be finished in half a day.

Storyline:
A bit cliched but decent.

Graphics:
Great graphics, details, and textures in maps and planes considering the size of most of the levels. However, textures and objects doesn't load fast enough for high speed planes. In short, with a fast enough plane, you can fly faster than the sceneries can be loaded resulting in graphics & sound clipping.

Sound:
A little dull music and voice actors could have been better.

Overall:
A game that is fun to play for a little, but quickly lose its entertainment upon beating the game. Multiplayer is fun for a while, but quickly loses its fun. Good game to rent and play for a day or two, but not so good to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not that bad.

posted by Explostevo (DENTON, TX) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the graphics are sub par, this game is actually kinda fun. The story is generic and pointless but if you want a descent modern jet combat game, not a bad choice. Hopefully you're not planning on playing any mutiplayer mode, cause no one is playing. It is fun to turn on your afterburners and bomb ground targets and get in a good position to attack enemy pilots. Also, you don't have to go into a dogfight mode to kill super-expert pilots and its not so realistic that your planes lack of agility slows down gameplay. Seeing how we are gamefly customers, renting this game wont be a waste of your time. I dont suggest buying it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointed

posted by trueblue72 (HORN LAKE, MS) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Let me first start by saying i have been playing flight sims for more than 20 years and i was super hyped to see janes getting into the market since they have some of the best referance books around well i have been waiting a few months for this game to come out and it was always low on the game que so i decided to buy it well after putting it on my harddrive and getting the update i was at the start screen and noted the rather weak graphics i let it pass got the the third mission and was flying at 1500 feet with level ground and somehow crashed into the ground(this happend 3 times in the game)i let it go.Then i try to vary the aircraft i fly in the differnet missions ( i fly the f4 phantom II when the gams have them)but because of the zero stealth the f4 had my countermeasures were pretty much useless,yep the better the stealth rating the better your countermeasures will work did not like that but let it go.by misson 10 my game had blackscreened 2 time to the point i would have to reset my xbox.and not to mention the 2 missons i restarted cause the textures would not load and i had a gray backdrop and ground all i could see was my plane.by the 16th and final mission i was laboring just to finish it and when i did finish the last missson it froze just as the achivements poped up and when i tried to restart it my save file was corrupeted and i would have started over again no thanks!!the few poistives i will say is the weapons were pretty cool and several missions were varied and kinda fun.i cannot recommed a rent or a buy and i was able to get full refund after explaining all the issues i had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Ace Combat

posted by JustinCH (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty mediocre, reminds me a lot of Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X. so if you are looking for the fast pace combat of the Ace Combat games you will be sadly disappointed. The graphics are okay at best, the story is pretty generic with a Western democratic coalition trying to help the southern part of a middle eastern country "Azbaristan" from being dominated by the northern communists. The planes loadouts are fixed and you can take an unrealistic level of damage which leads to you not trying to avoid missiles at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Janes advanced strike fighters

posted by hpalmer (MOAB, UT) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game had horrible reviews but I thought that it sure was better than that new ace combat that I wasted my money on what a joke that game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not bad but could definetly be improved

posted by JerryWaggs (MESA, AZ) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The Fly ability and controls were good but the displays and versatility could Definitely be improved plus the game doesn't save the Campaign so starting over sucks. can't pick your own weapons load is a downer to. Doesn't come close to the old Janes software I use to us on PC's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what flares?

posted by dlevinson (NICOLAUS, CA) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I enjoyed the game as a whole and I really do think this game is for the specific croud who is willing to over look the many faults of this game just to enjoy the planes. I love the F-4 Fantom and any chance I get to fly it is great. The variety of planes in this game was quit extensive and the missions were really long which isnt neccisarrily a good thing. One mission recommends a A-10 thunderbolt 2 and at one point multiple sqauds of SU-35's contantly re-spon right next to your target and it is exruciatingly hard to complete you mission in a ground attack air craft when multiple air suppiriority planes a chasing you. The one thing I couldent exuse was the fact that if you are flying at 400 miles strait forward and a sam fires at you from the front 95% of the time it will miss you and thats playing on hard. I dont recomend buying this game but if your looking for a few hours of fun and some really nice planes, rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good for 1998

posted by jaxisland (MIDDLE GROVE, NY) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game was very disappointing, choppy gameplay, graphics were OK at best. It felt like they did the voice track in one day, there was no originality to the story or plot. Gave you options on planes but ratings were so bad on most that I stayed with the Hornet just because it wouldn't blow up after being hit. All in all for todays games this missed the mark. I played through it in a half a day and at the end was so disgusted I just threw it back in the mailbox. In the end I couldnt find one feature of this game that was worth anything really. Graphics, plot, voices, controls, were all terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok but need some work

posted by bagman12002 (PUYALLUP, WA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Nice graphic and real cool missions, but game needs more options to change the game settings for colors, had a nice way to move around and see diffrent angles of the plane in flight but once you let go of stick view goes back. ok game needs some more work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

glitchy but ok

posted by Dragon_Comandr (SEASIDE, OR) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game has decent game but it has a lot of glitches during some of the missions the ground would not render and disappear causing u to run into an instakill zone. but if u don't mind this than the game is worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls suck

posted by swfan1963 (BURBANK, IL) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Another XBOX 360 flight "sim" game with controls that SUCK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fair

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2003

Fair game, but not worth a purchase. Wish someone would make a good flight simulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

JASF

posted by H8MACHINE (GRANTS PASS, OR) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I was excited to play this game it was allways low on the list so i allmost went and bought it but i got it in the mail before i could....THANK GOD because i would have thrown $60.00 out the window,graphics leave allot to be desired story line is basic there are many bugs(game locks up)allot but it is fun for a day or two i have seen worse flight sims but is a definite renter...not worth 60 to buy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really what did i expect

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

nothing much to say about this game maybe a ok rental but other then that i mean its pretty lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »