Rent Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters for PS3
view large frontback

Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.4

206 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Why can't anyone make a GOOD flight sim?

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Nov 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why companies can't make a decent flight sim on a console. Everything always has to be distilled down to the basics...unrealistic events with unrealistic weapons...just doesn't make sense.

Anyway, this game gets a 5/10 from me, just based on knowing what the "Janes" name has meant to military flight sim fans in the past. I'd see this as a GIANT step backwards from USAF or F/A-18...no cockpit view, arcade-like gameplay, poor sound, bad story, and unrealistic flight characteristics and weapons systems.

OK game if you're into that...I wouldn't bother if you're a fan of actual flight sims like Falcon 4.0 (or even any of the old PC based Janes games).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

!!!flight comparable to driving a VW bug!!!

posted by sseyfferle (MINDEN, NV) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like very unrealistic flight patterns with a maximum speed no greater than that of a Volkswagen Beetle, then you might like this game. I would rate this game a 2 out of 10. its sluggish with low climatic action, no cockpit view and primitive controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Seabeejason28 (MARYVILLE, TN) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of jet fighter sims and this game sucked. I can't believe a game developer would even allow their name to be associated with this thing they call a game. Terrible gameplay, terrible theme, terrible voice acting, terrible graphics, the list just goes on and on. One of the worst games I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG!!!

posted by crash13666 (OAKLAND, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Worst flight sim EVER. Sloppy controls. Weak grphics. Complete waste of time. DO NOT RENT, BUY OR BORROW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by dansan382 (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

What can I say...

controls are horrible, graphics are subpar, storyline is stupid. Didnt even bother trying multiplayer. I felt like i was trying to fly a house it was that unnatural and no joke I turned it off within 15 minutes because I was getting dizzy from this bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lousiest game ever created

posted by backdraft101a (MADISONVILLE, TX) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The game sets up winnable scenarios and the flight controls are so SLOW you couldn't win a battle even if you had a chance!!!! There are set variables for flight and you would think they would be able to simulate them but NO ONE can seem to get a flight sim right PERIOD!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by dodgetech4 (THOMPSON, CT) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

awful graphics and kinda boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

jasf

posted by bmatt192 (BREWSTER, NY) May 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

boring, good graphicsto technical for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Jane's has lost it's touch..

posted by Pentaholocaust (EL PASO, TX) May 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

So the glory days of gaming from Jane's are far gone. Maybe they should just stick to exhaustively informative books (which are quite good!) and leave the gaming to other companies.
After 2 days of playing, I'm sending it back. The campaign was incredibly short, the "dogfighting" was laughable (shoot 2 missiles at a regular plane to down it, 3 or 4 at a "boss" plane to down it.) and the dialogue..would almost make me think this game was a comedy. You play as "Razor" who sounds like a complete tool. The banter between him and "control" will make you groan sometimes at its ridiculousness. If I had to hear him happily say "Roger Control!" as I was vectored to blow up the next SAM site that was somehow annihilating the ground force....ugh.
Basically in this game you fly from point to point and shoot a bunch of missiles at planes or ground targets and move on to the next one. The most difficult part of the game will be deciding "Do I take a plane with a bunch of AA missiles, ATG missiles, or a good mix?
Bunch of planes to choose from (unlocked through missions, some real, some not) and different variations of them with a new paint job and load-out.
As a flight sim, it crashes and burns so to speak. Arcade style flight, with no realism at all. Stay away from the ground and the rest is cake.
Online play was nil. In the days I had it, I searched at least 25-30 times, and never was there ONE game going.
Disappointing Jane's. Very very disappointing.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »