Rent James Cameron's Avatar: The Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
5.7

2864 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do you have a 3D TV? Me neither...

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

51 out of 69 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Avatar stunk. I haven't written a review for a bit because Gamefly makes it impossible to keep track of them, but I had to get that out of the way.

Unless I'm mistaken, every problem stems from laziness - to the flat vegation that "turns" with you to appear full and lush rather than actually have quality (look at it from above and you'll LAUGH!) to the AWFUL platforming where your Navi pivots around an axis on their person (because no one else will tell you that the Navi parts are really a PLATFORMER disguised as a shooter) that will cause falling to your death more times than I could count (I seriously lost count around 46 falls-no lie). If I were to guess, I'd say some real good artists swindled Cameron out of two years of development money by presenting a very flashy product promoting 3D but consisting of never ending fetch missions without every giving the player a reason why. The script is fairly terrible (within the first hour my helicopter crashed after rescuing me, of which I somehow survived, only to leave me to fight my way out of the jungle and secure a new ride - oh yeah, THAT's original) with the voices/sound not matching one another at all.

There are loads more issues that I won't bore you with because alone they ain't that big of a deal, but together break the game. Any real gamer would have seen all the problems with this game in an hour or two and the product could have been a great shooter, stealth action save/destroy the planet adventure. Instead we get a poor Lost Planet clone that has no right telling as grand a story as Cameron invisioned.

As for 3D, I'm sure it would've been great. For the, what, 3% of people with a stereoscopic TV? have fun with that. As for the rest, why even bother? What a waste of a pretty game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWSOME! and Not so awsome

posted by ACRAZYEMOB (PITTSFORD, NY) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

First off i thought this game was very fun and entertaining!!! I loved playing as the marine and going crazy! but the Na'vi part was really challenging and pretty frustrating! With the marine it was smooth going and very fair. The avatar path was kinda tough. I died way more than I did as a marine. As for the stroy line it was very frim for both ends! Also for storyline I thought the Na'vi was fighting for a better cause. The marine side, all u had to do was basicly kill every one and collect a very precious item. And its not Unabtainium. I was also a little dissapointed that only one character from the movie was incorerated into the game but other than those things THIS GAME WAS A - MAZE - ING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is fun!

posted by C00LADAM (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

17 out of 25 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Maybe it was because I went in with low expectations but I really had fun playing this game. The game looks awesome and the story i found was actually not so bad. The only thing I can say is that you should play as the RDA first, its much more familiar, a lot like lost planet actually, and more action packed. Also, then when you play as the Na'vi, you'll appreciate the game much more.

Also, make sure you checkout the Conquest mode on the teleport modules. Its actually a pretty fun and rewarding mini game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

could have been amazing

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

The concept behind Avatar definitely had some potential and I must admit this alien world James Cameron has concocted has me wanting to know more. Further, the alien world with its strange creatures and native population was very interesting to me- at first- then I made the grave mistake of betraying humanity and "going blue". What did that get me? Terrible melee combat, even worse flight controls, oh yeah and I am fighting what I believe are Marines with bows and arrows...can you say not fair or what? It seems the more I play the more "powerful" my Na'vi gets but combat is still lopsided (I would had loved for my special powers to either A) last longer or B) have a much, much shorter cool down period). Regardless of all that, what did I get for betraying my own kind? Well I get berated by just about every Na'vi the game lets me speak with, yay that sure gives me motivation to help these blue people. I wish I could double cross the Na'vi and go back to being a Marine.

Let me go back to my original thought about being interested in this new world. Well, the game is short on plot and story so don't expect to experience anything here. Perhaps see the movie and hopefully it will be more engaging.

Now on to multiplayer. I joined numerous quick matches (one per "level") last night and low and behold nobody on the planet is playing this game! Well, actually, at the VERY end of one king of the hill match some random person joined my game. Woo hoo! I actually think multiplayer might have some potential but I played as a human so I can only imagine how terrible it would be to play as the Na'vi.

I think my favorite part of this game (aside from my interest in this world) would be the RTS mini game, which does not offer alot of depth or anything but I seem to be really good at it so whatever that is worth.

I believe if they would have spent some more time making the story deep and engaging and fixing how weak the Na'vi are, that this game would have been alot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

so close and yet so far away

posted by corpsefire (CHICO, CA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

So I fell for the hype and was really excited to get this game and was totally dissapointed. Graphics at first glance seem impressive, but if you really inspect them you will notice that contour lines are poor and everything tends to blur into a green mass that you take little notice of as you play.

Character models are exotic and creative and I can't wait for the movie but the game fell drastically short of it's potential. If it had an auto target feature the game play would at least be bearable but as is, it's cumbersome frustraing and dissjointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh...only Hardcore Cameron fans need apply.

posted by JimHefti (TROY, NY) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game could have been much better, but it isn't that great. About 20 min into the game you choose between Humans and Na'Vi. I chose humans because I saw Mechs in the movie preview. Unfortunatly, as a human, you are essentially a game warden. Run around and shoot cats and flowers. With really sloppy controls. Thats pretty much waht this game boils down to. I couldn't even play long enough to try a Mech, it's just boring.

On the positive side, the jungle looks decent, supposedly it looks amazing at night, but I couldn't stay interested long enough to make it that far.

Bottom Line, if you want 3rd person Shooting, try Gears, 3rd person Melee, try AC2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

avatar game

posted by rockervan (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i realize that the game took place 2 years before the movie, but even then it still didnt add up. This game is a renter for sure, i would never own the game due to how short the campaign was, and the game play itself, there wasnt enough customization, choosing from a few cruddy characters, and even less avatars that looked nothing like the character you choose. Game play wasnt fluid, controls were iffy, and lack of a sprint made it seem they intentionally tried to draw out a relatively short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

James Camerons: Pong

posted by khyron74 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

first i'll be fair, i played the game for about an hour. That being said, I am also a huge gamer, owning all but the wii. I own upwards of 3-400 games (didn't take the time to count) but it is a hobbie. I was looking forward to this game but sadly it didn't hold my interest. While the graphics were nice ( the jungle almost on par with farcry 2 in detail) and controls decent, I felt like run from point A to point B and shoot things inbetween. Meanwhile take pictures of plants and critters (like pokemon snap). You drive in a jeep and watercraft with no weapons and they are just meant to get from A to B. The map has branched paths but for all this jungle you are stuck on these paths (no free roaming like farcry2 or oblivion). Your objectives show on a minimap but you'll find yourself wandering aimlessly trying to get to the destination (most the time I ended up in an empty room/dead end on accident but the map showed to go that way).
What's really disappointing is the missed oppurtunity here. The dialog is boring an bland serving just to tell you to go somewhere to do something, nothing more. Condsidering they had all of the resourceds from James Cameron's movie I would have thought this in particular would have been more polished. As for the 3d, I own the hl67a750 dlp from samsung, 3d ready but even google cant show me the easy way to setup for it with this game and all of the peripherals required (I.e. do I need a computer with nvidia enabled 3d and shutter glasses or will just polarized glasses do?) Since they are trying to pioneer this tech to take off it would help if they catered more to the general public like "3d for dummies" or something.
Like I said, I may have not given this game a fair shake with just an hour but I have been playing games since Pong first came out. I just couldn't get into it enough to stay hooked. I asked my friend if it was my age (I'm 35) he both his kids lost interest in it as well. Hmmm.... they never even played pong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not What It Could Have Been

posted by CG0882 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

16 out of 25 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Avatars game could have been a great game..They had a great idea for a story for the game and movie... But this game lacks any type of gameplay... The graphics are not finished and seem horrible. To me the whole game seems a little rushed for release..There are alot of glitches throughout the game..

The plus for the game would be all the different weapons, creatures, and enemys. Its fun to hold the trigger on enemies..Thats all i can think of good for this game

Maybe rent but beware of buying

Gameplay-6
Graphics-7
Story-7
Controls-5
Replay-4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's better than you think.

posted by MaximumFus (NAMPA, ID) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is better than most of the Gamefly gamers rated it.This is a good game,with a few more months of spit and polish at the developers it could of been a great game,but its still alot of fun.The single player campaign is longer than I thought it would be and the multiplayer part of the game will have you playing long after you beat the two different single player campaigns(one as the RDA forces and one as the Na'vi forces).Go ahead try it out I think you might just like it.-MaximumFusion(XBL G.T.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK game

posted by angel1029 (LENOIR, NC) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I found myself wanting to like the game more than I actually did. I appreciated it for what it was an avatar game but I would have liked for it to be more like Assassin's creed I guess where for certain missions and stuff it switches you back and forth between Avatar and Human a lot more. (hopefully not a spoiler) but yea the graphics weren't to die for the game was kinda blocky especially without auto lock targeting I was sitting there shooting and random plants before I actually found something. Plus you just can't win its like no matter what you are the opposite is always stronger and hard to kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

once its over you'll just pretend it didn't happen

posted by whygrill (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

its got stunning environments, but mediocre gameplay and absolutely terrible writing. if your a fan of the movie like me, your better off pretending this game doesn't even exist. and if your not a fan of the movie, this will just make you hate it even more. the game never reaches anything close to the quality of the movie itself. especially the writing. it was not written by James Cameron. it was written, or at least it appears to have been written, by a 3rd grader in the ubisoft crackpot development team. i could of done a better job myself and for once thats an honest statement. the gameplay itself is bearable as a human but playing as a na'vi is just one huge chore of annoyances. swords and arrows vs guns and robots, brilliant! its unfortunate though because of just how good a job they did do on recreating the world of pandora visually. it seems they spent all their time creating the beautiful world with what i will admit is probably the best forest foliage designing i've ever seen. they just forgot to make a fun game with a good story to actually put into that world.

the only reason i can see anybody be attracted to this game is if they are a fan of the movie. it drew me to renting it. but it was a waste of time and adds absolutely nothing to the movie's experience. and if i had played this before watching the movie, i would of probably not even bothered watching the movie at all because i would of expected the same garbage writing from this game to be in it. but no, its a great movie, just not a good game. it wont kill you to play it. its not broken or anything so its quite playable, at least as a human soldier. though annoyances do distract from some fun. but the environments are beautiful. so it gets a mediocre score of 5/10 instead of a straight up 1/10. but it adds nothing good to the avatar experience and by the time its over you'll just pretend its events didn't actually happen to preserve the dignity of the movie itself. avoid it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Terribly flawed, and an awful waste of potential

posted by Tanukichan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

How sad it is when game developers are given the opportunity to more fully flesh out an interesting and vibrant world, which we as the audience are only given the briefest of glimpses into on the movie screen, and these developers completely waste it by generating yet another barely competent run-and-gun with a story and characters more shallow than those in the film.
Visually, the game is acceptable by today's standards, and utilizes the XBOX architecture well. Dynamically, the game falters. In the opening sequence, we are presented with a close up of Ms. Weaver whose lips don't even attempt to synch. Apparently her character just had a stroke. After five minutes of wonderous exploration, the player realizes there is nothing to interact with, no hidden items to discover, nothing more than quest-givers with poorly written dialogue and needs no more complicated than "Go push that button for me," "Go look over there," "Go shoot someone." I don't believe the bullets even exist in the game world: when something is in range, a diamond appears on it-- pull the trigger and anything with a diamond on it takes damage according to the weapon stats. The "bullets" are fairies.

Spoilers below.
Here is my impression of the first half-hour of the game. A human recruit arrives on Pandora. Why is this recruit here? Read her biography. No, really, read it. Why are humans on this planet at all? Read the encyclopedia. No, really, read it. Okay, now go shoot everything. Now get in your avatar. What's an avatar? How does it work? Shut up and read the encyclopedia. Now make a choice! Make it! What are the ramifications and who is in the right and what might possibly compel the character to choose one or the other? Who cares, this is a player-driven experience, if you want a story... read the encyclopedia!!!
This game is entirely presented through exposition, no narrative. What are the main character's motives? Who cares, just keep shooting plants.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

for real?

posted by rowenshade (WASHINGTON, DC) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The UI on this game is generally good, and the depth of the initial stages is decent. The facial graphics are pretty sketch though, and actually aiming, locking on, shooting or even surveying the area are nearly impossible. Hence, 1 star.

If it were a game where I just wandered around looking at things, I would give it 5-7. But in a game where shooting fast-moving targets is pretty central to survival, this is a total failure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better then i thought it would be.

posted by udokau (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i read alot of these reviews and most of them seem very negative. ive been wanting to rent the game despite of the reviews and i enjoy it alot. graphics are great and the eniroments are epicly beutiful. controls are solid and are easy to master hehe. gameplay is consistint and offers multipule ways to approach your objective (if your clever enough to spot them) and online is fun. however, my only complaint is the lack of varriaty in the online multiplayer. the matches are fun but there arent many maps per game type. perhaps a dlc pack would fix that but everything else is great. this game is deffenetly worth a rent and im considering buying it. all in all its much better then some of these reviews suggest and an epic ''adventure'' full of dangerouse enviroments and beserking jarheads. i give it a solid 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Okay expericence

posted by McDavis (HUTTO, TX) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The campain is a lot better than I have seen in other movies video game spin offs. The multiplayer though was a let down. Bows and arrows verses shotguns, assult rifles and nail guns?? Other than the fact that I would say avoid the multiplayer of this game, the mini game inbeded into the game itself, "Conquest" was really cool. It's basically the old board gae risk Avatar style plus you get an achievement point for beating it halfway through. Overall I would give the single player campain a 7.5 out of 10 because you can chose sides as the RDA or the Navi. The mulitplayer gets a 5 out of 10. The maps are cool but it's all a one sided game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

avator

posted by konigvondr (FAYETTE, MO) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i am curious to know why it takes so long to get a new game once i have sent my previous game back. this is the second time i have been a member of gamefly and i am on the verg of dropping my membership again. i sent my last game in on saturday the17th, it is now wednesday 21st and you do not even show that i have returned the game. i would like a response.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AVATAR-Should be called Garbage....

posted by ICEMAN92 (BRANDON, MS) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sorry to say but this is one of the worst games ever. I could only handle about 15 minutes of this game. I don't know what I was expecting but don't even put this one in your GameQ.

Man i'd be upset if I purchased this one. Thanks Gamefly!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly good

posted by fallengod (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I came into this game not expecting much and it turned out to be excellent. I beat both sides in two days because i could not put it down. The story on both sides was great, the graphics were great and the controls were great. This is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Typical Movie to Game

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just like any other game based on a movie. Except a select few, Quantum of Solace was great. This games one standout feature is that it has stereoscopic 3D capability. I never got to play with it because I don't have a 120hz or better TV. So, if you have a 120hz or better refresh rate on you TV or monitor, then you should play this game just for that reason. Apparently it looks really cool in 3D. Also, you'll need a pair of 3D glasses too. Which, I'm not sure what type. I've seen some online that they sell with certain 3D capable TVs and Nvidia makes a set that is strictly for Nvidia GPUs and drivers but they might even work, I doubt it though. So you'll have to look into that if you've got the sweet TV. When I saw the screen shots for this game I thought it looked pretty sweet. Cruising in vehicles through the jungle, slaughter huge dinosaur like creatures, but it just wasn't as fun as I thought it would be. At one point, SPOILER ALERT: you have to make a choice to join with the native people of Pandora or remain with the military forces that you already belong to. If you join the natives you get stuck using melee weapons, bows, staves, one gun and you get to ride on the dinosaurs for transportation. Also you've got, uh... super powers that work on either side. If you stay with the military you've got access to a decent supply of cool weapons and some vehicles. For me, the whole point of playing this game was to slaughter dinosaurs. I like the concept, Turok did it pretty well, but this game just didn't cut it. The AI is braindead. Even driving them they don't handle at all. So, pretty boring 3rd person shooter. Unless you've got the 3D stuff then it could be cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game

posted by WarDawgs (MILTON, WA) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Avatar: Good Game?

posted by didjyk (DETROIT, MI) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

James Cameron's Avatar may seem as a good game to the people who just bought the game and they can't wait to turn into their Avatar. Well tough luck at first you pick your person and name them. Then you turn into your Avatar for a quick 30 seconds. Then go back t your normal self. Then the game has you doing all these dumb uneccessary missions by yourself when Viperwolves are attacking you probably over 50 guards are back at base just walking around. Oh yeah and who can forget the battle between normal you and the BIG Viperwolf that preety much ends up being undefeatable. You can shoot the big thing all you want but it wont die, but 2 hits from that thing and your're dead. To all those Avatar fans out there unless you have some good cheat codes don't waste your money. Good luck. You're going to need it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avatar

posted by Briteside (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

bad story line noting like the movie. graphics are not up to par like an average shooter. plaay was tough controls are wierd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game sucks just like the movie.

posted by IAmMe123 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just like the movie. Worst. Game. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

so so

posted by moneyman44 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is NOT like the movie it is fun but NOT any thing like the movie i repeat!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse