Rent James Cameron's Avatar: The Game for PS3
view large frontback

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

1581 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AVATAR

posted by maseve (COLUMBIA, MD) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This was a great experience, I really enjoyed emersion into the Planet Pandora. I am new to PS3 and 60 years old. I doubted my ability to play games since I mastered Pac Man. I had no trouble after initial game. I loved the film and the graphics of the game are spectacular on a big screen. I can see how people spend long periods of time at this. I am practicing so my infant grandsons will be impressed with my abilities. I played both ways and was enjoying being a mean old RDA guy killing with pleasure. I spent over 5 weeks with this game before it became tedious. I got to one spot and could not defeat the Navi. It's a great game I will buy one for my grandsons and myself to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a good game didnt whant to play it anymore on the human sid of the game.didnt feell like geting mad all the time because of dieing all the time very easy game to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very impressive, a blast!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Dec 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

37 out of 46 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Okay, so just got this game, and was pleasantly surprised! The game starts out with you choosing from a list of people to use as your characters, each with a Na'vi Avatar. It takes about ten minutes to get to the action, but don't be fooled be the less than stellar character animations, because the game is a blast! The action is very fast-paced and fun. It's kind of hard to dodge the fast alien wolves you fight, but you don't die that easily. I've only come close to dying once, and I easily healed. Turning into an Avatar is pretty cool, and the environment animations are very good. a tad blurry when driving in vehicles, but no big problem.

Pros: Decent story, sweet weapons and cool Avatar weapons and animations. Environment graphics are good, action is a blast, very fast-paced, decent level-up consistency and cool characters.

Cons: facial animations are under-par, camera is tad-bit flimsy, dodging is hard.

Overall, this is a very enjoyable game worth a rent. The movie is going to be an obvious hit. can't wait to watch it. This will easily help pass the time. Highly recommended for fans of third-person shooter fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just couldn't get into it

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Mar 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played this game for several hours and its ok but not great. Better games kept arriving and I eventually sent it back unfinished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad, not great ... just ehh

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) May 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the controls are kinda like GTA, the gameplay is easy, the online is a bit silly... but for trophy hunters this is worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible almost painful

posted by juicywad (LAUREL, MS) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of the movie, I was over joyed when i got the email from game fly saying the game had shipped. Once I received the game and played it I was far from over joyed. The graphics were awful, pre-rendered and rough, painful to the eye. The game play and story left even more of a bad taste in my mouth. This game was just a cheap and easy way for them to make more money off an already successful movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The New Avatar Game

posted by DashyRoo (BURBANK, CA) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is kinda like call of duty modern warfare 2. You get the big guns you kill enemies and get XP. First you start out with the worst guns then you level up get new armor and new guns. Now with the game: It's very fun, but it's SO different from the movie. I beat the game on the RDA side..... My dad played it and he said the game was terrible( So that means he couldn't beat the 2nd level.) On one point you get to choose the RDA side or the Avatar side. The RDA is easy and the Avatars are the hard ones. On RDA I fully leveled up to maximum.
I got it as a present then something happened.
Buy it or rent it you'll love the graphics/gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible gameplay

posted by jhonny0121 (SAINT MARYS, GA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is lousy! It takes forever to get to the actual gameplay. When you finally start to play the game, it has to save every couple of minutes. The controls are difficult. You run out of ammo quickly due to the erratic weapon handling. Do not waste your time with this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Avatar

posted by Paulytee (MONTEREY, CA) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great movie! But not so hot of a game... It's a pretty game I'll give it that but it falls into that dreaded category of "movie" video games. Unfortunately, like many other movie video games, it feels rushed and incomplete. It's more of a marketing tool than an actual deep game. I will say it was a bit of fun but I quickly grew bored... 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Only 8 hours to beat...

posted by deusalpha (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game has fairly decent graphics. It only took me about 8 hours to beat every level %100 with all side missions accomplished. The fighting techniques are limited. The lack of lock on targeting does make it a little more of a challenge to kill the viperwolves, however I found this game too easy and I am glad that I rented before I bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Avatar: the game

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Avatar, is based off a Sci-fi movie from the award winning film director/writer, James Cameron. Ubisoft took on adapting the world of Avatar ingeniously. The controls are not very awkward, but might take a minute to get the hang of. Gameplay resembles Red Faction, Saints Row2, but with completely different game elements and interfaces.

If you don't like -hardcore- Science fiction, you probably will not enjoy this title.

"Avatar: The Game" does not go with the movie entirely, but you still start off as a RDA officer. You select your own character in the beginning, male or female, depending on your preference.

There is a War building on the planet Pandora. You are called onto the planet, because your DNA is suitable for controlling a Pandora inhabitant, called the Na'vi. You house/control a artificially made Na'vi's body, using a machine that makes your DNA symmetrical to the genetically modified Na'vi native in which you are to control. Avatar, is the devices' name. Insertion was the goal but as you unveil what is to come; you are given the choice to help or destroy the world of Pandora. Where Earthlings are the invader, you are to lead the side you choose to victory.

Ubisoft has executed a truly brilliant Sci-fi game. The world Ubisoft made is completely based off plausible Planetary dynamics. Meaning, Avatar's world has principle/logic of how wildlife and plants work in certain conditions and/or atmosphere. A true alien planet, simply.
There is aircraft, watercraft, ground vehicles of different sorts for you to drive. This title has a RPG flare to it, with the ability to select who side you are on. Giant world to explore in. The graphics are great, but unlike any other title, you are able to play in a 3d mode. I do not have 3d glasses, so I haven't tried the 3d aspect that is located in the Options. You have perks in the game, as you obtain xp.

Conquest mode is like the board game, "Risk".

The only downfall is the unbalanced multiplayer, but is worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by Gamer4627 (KILLEN, AL) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had a hard time playing as the Na'vi with the Very limited ammo then having to get close enough while getting shot the WHOLE time, but that is the tougher side, then i chose the RDA and things got fun and I got addicted with the guns and vehicles the fun never ended, until I got swarmed by 4 sword carrying na'vi and 3 archers that killed me twice in 4 seconds but otherwise fun game.
RDA is my choice for this game and that is why it is a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Horrible, Not Fun

posted by bhlynx2 (GLASGOW, VA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I was wary of renting this game because it is connected to a movie and I generally avoid those like the plague. However, I recently rented the Wolverine game and really enjoyed it so I decided to give this game a chance.

The game is not horrible, but I did not enjoy playing it at all either. The landscape is impressive and huge, but I got tired of looking at it. It is like traveling through a large painting, you can't interact with all of the lush scenery surrounding your character so it gets old kind of fast. That is hastened by the constant travel your character is forced to do. I really don't want to travel halfway across the world shooting Viper-Wolves and other such creatures to report to some trooper who is just going to send me back to my point of origin. The game is not very long, but if feels much longer because the gameplay is so uninspired.

The big draw to this game is the decision you make to fight for the Na'vi or the humans. It is made out to be a huge decision, and in a way it is, but it is not a moral dilemma, it is a gaming decision. Which game do you want to play, because the games are very different depending on which side you choose. Neither one is very good.

Even the characters in the story are bored. It is not voice-over acting, but voice-over reading. I might have enjoyed this title a little if the characters in the story had some life in them, but they don't.

Two other things that bothered me. I was irritated when an animal would run by without touching me and knock my character down. The characters are not very light on their feet and it takes too long to get back to their feet especially for characters who should be impressive physical specimens. Also, when using the Bow & Arrow the soldiers you fired at would fly backward before the arrow hit them.

Nothing in the game is broken and there is a lot of backstory if you are willing to read it instead of see it, but the game is not fun and I don't have anything positive to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!

posted by RudeDog (NASHVILLE, MI) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played like 5 or 10 minutes of it and i was discusted...for this new of a game the graphics sucked the gameplay sucked it was glitchy the animals were verry horrible looking and it took forever to download and it loaded like ever 3 minutes in the game...i was extremely disapointed of the loding because this is such a new game and it was a waste of time!

Dont even rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth It.

posted by Pournn (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played through this game 3 times, just to see the different endings!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3D Heaven

posted by luke723 (SALEM, NH) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Next to my first encounter with a girl playing this game in 3D on a 50 inch television is the coolest thing I have done it my life. The 3D is incredible and the game is amesome from the weapons to the types of vechicles you get to drive to being able to make game alterating desisions. If you have a 3D ready tv get this game even it means you won't have any money left to buy Christmas presents for your kids, it is that stellar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poorly designed

posted by MistandFog (BETHANY, OK) May 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game really isnt worth a rent. The poor, monotone speaking, the fact where you go one place to another, and then if your an rda the navi are a real pain in the testicles. And the bad part of the Navi is the short gameplay. And the red, giant ikran in the movie, you get to ride that for like 5 minutes and then your there. Its okay for 1 or 2 playthroughs but eventually you'll get tired of the repetitive gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse Game EVER!

posted by Dicoll528 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Okay, look, I got the game and after reading for hours, I found that this game sucks. I couldn't lock w/ the gun to kill things, and I felt like I was trapped in "Pandora" which sucks in game-form. Great movie...failed game. 1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like how you are able to play both characters

posted by CConley (JOLIET, IL) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You are able to end game as tani and go back at the decision. And the go and play as soldier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dreadfully Boring

posted by Screath (OCALA, FL) Jan 13, 2010

Member since May 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game for less than an hour and I was already bored. The mission structure is repetive and non-engaging. The framerate didn't help. Overall, avoid this game as it will lower your opinion on the movie (which is actually 10 times better than this poorly designed game.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Garbage

posted by crielstar (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not a good game at all, bottom line....garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ilikepie00 (RIVERHEAD, NY) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok u may think this is a preety good game. Well.... im here to say this was the worst thing i ever played i could only play for 1 hour untill i said "i am glad i have MW2" so yah i dithced and my played the best game ever if u want 2 waste ur time in a good way read a book yah the game was so bad i woud rather reed a book. DONT GET THIS GET MAG Mag has 256 players on 1 map online so pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee dont get this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so good

posted by NexDeus (JAMESTOWN, NY) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Ok. To be fair here I dont completely know what Im talking about because I could only stomach about an hour of it. The graphics were Terrible, the controls were way too lose, the enemies had no logic behind what they did and the animations were so simple it was just an eyesore. Im not really here to tell you not to play it, just be aware its not the best looking game out. If you like avatar, OR are willing to play an action rpg simply because its your niche then have fun. Personally, it wasnt for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Avatar Fans only!

posted by scottmcdaniel (CENTERVILLE, IN) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

If you think this movie is just plain cool,
then you will want to rent it, or buy this game on the cheap.
it is a pretty good adventure that I think only fans of the movie will enjoy.Game mechanics are fine and combat gets the job done.There are plenty of brief interactions and more story elements to discover expanding the films story.Beware, if you are afraid of heights in games you will have a serious case of vertigo as there are many parts of the game played out climbing cliffs.Locales are lush with trees and plants and all the creatures from the film are represented.there are lots of things to pick up and collect.I wish the flying was as cool as the movie,but I can live with it.Shooting,and melee is handled pretty well.There are abilities to upgrade and weapons to earn.what's more to say.Play this if Pandora is your second home!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Starts off boring..

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

But then it becomes a very interesting game! The storyline is actually pretty good, you can choose to play either as the humans or the Na'vi (avatars). The controls are a little different but you will get used to them. The trophies are easy, just time consuming to get all the sector challenges. I finished everything in about 30 hours gametime, so not too long of a game. A definite rent if you are a fan of the movie! If you haven't seen it, I think I would recommend watching it first to understand the basics of this story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse