Rent James Cameron's Avatar: The Game for Wii
view large frontback

James Cameron's Avatar: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

562 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

About what you'd expect from a movie tie in game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Let's get the obvious out of the way; this game (like many other movie tie in games) is a 3D platformer where you jump over obstacles, take out enemies in your quest to go from point A to point B.
But there are a few new twists in James Cameron's Avatar. It uses the game play from Tenchu: Shadow Assassin where you can sneak up to the bad guy and take him out with just one hit.
Unlike Tenchu: Shadow Assassin, you can fight off the bad guys if you are spotted using a bow or the staff. The bow is more fun for me because the staff is nothing more than me flailing my arms about as I try to take out the soldiers.
Through 13 levels you will collect glowing objects which you use to enhance your fighting ability (do more damage with a weapon, reload faster, and so on) But most of these enhancements really don’t affect the gameplay very much; you’re still going to need the same number of strikes to take out the bad guys.
Another way to make the game easier is to have a second player tag along and help take out the bad guys. But the second warrior has to stay on camera at all times which makes intense combat harder than it should be.
Speaking of things that are harder than they should be, there’s the final boss fight which is a real pain in the neck. For the first half of the fight, your bow inflicts damage on him. But the second half, it does not. Why? I have no idea.
And the mechanism used to jump is flawed while in combat. The stumps are just obstacles that got in my way or I would leap onto the stump and get shot by the soldiers.
Even with those problems, many player can get through this game in about five to six hours (depending on difficulty.) And since all you’re getting is the Adventure Mode, there’s really no reason to shell out $50 for this title.
James Cameron’s Avatar: The Video Game is your basic movie tie in. It’s fun for a short while, but only a short while. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Camera is Baddddddddddddddddddd

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This could have been a Great Game but like all the games like this one the Camera is very very very Poorly Programmed. There is No reason they cant Program the Camera to stay behind the Player unless Moved No reason whatsoever except that The Programmers think that they know what a Gamer wants . They have no idea they are Brain Dead. The Game is Good as far As I have Played except for the Fact that the camera is ALWAYS in the wrong place and having to Push a Button to get it to try and center is nothing but Moronic Programming There is No reason for it at all!!!!!!!!!!! Why dont Programmers stop trying to think they haven't got the Brain cells for that Give it a chance if you like Poor Camera programming if you dont dont even rent this game wish I wouldnt have bought the game thats for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by pamstheone (BURTON, MI) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Don't rent this game is a waste of time all you do is run around a forest and fight people off which isn't very exciting!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game will not play in my system

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Aug 2009

I'm thinking that this is the second time I got the Avatar game for the Wii system and it would not play. I put the game in about ten times, turned off my system three times and the game still will not start up. All other games start with not problems. Will be returning this game with a rating of 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

avatar

posted by drkathyf (TRABUCO CANYON, CA) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

dont get this it is really boring right when i got it i sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fantastic game

posted by nerkie (ARK, VA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

As I was waiting for the game to arrive in the mail I read a lot of the reviews for the game and became increasingly worried that it would not be as good as I was hoping. Fortunately it was better! The major complaint I heard was that it did not follow the story line and that is true, the game does not in anyway follow the storyline and for me that was perfect. If you're looking to follow in the footsteps of Jake Sully, do not rent this game. However if you're looking for a game that will expand your view of Pandora and the Na'vi people this is the game for you.

The pros are the amazing graphics, the easy to follow storyline and the great developement of characters.

the cons were the controls. I had no problem with the simple walk around and slash controls however once you got the dodge ability with the bow I was dodging all over the place when all I wanted to do was change the camera angle so that became a little difficult. Also, using the wii balance board for flying actions did make it seem more realistic however the reaction time was slow and sloppy, so I'd stick with the normal controls for flying. It's the only reason why this game did not get a 10.

I would definitly rent this game if you're looking to explore more of Pandora.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Somethings wrong

posted by CoDWAWRulz (WHITWELL, TN) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Where is it D:<,It says ''At Home'' buts its not here D:<

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Perspective changes throughout the Avatar game.

posted by DocPlayer (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

When I first saw that Game Fly carried this game, I thought that maybe it would carry the same awe that the movie it was based upon had. Then I glanced down and saw the Rating, and at the time, had a 5.3. I knew from my Gaming Sense that there was something wrong here, so I was naturally inclined to check it out.

Assuming that the movie and game producers had the same mind set, you would think that they would want to make money off the game and movie, without giving away the movie through the game, and visa verse. After a chance at playing, I realized that the game was misleading; it did not follow the same theme as the movie at all.

Considering that the game had difficult controls and lack of freedom to explore, this game would often be the last one to make much of a stride in Gaming History. The constant monotonous playtime would make the next move in the game predictable and very easy.

This game, which had unusually easy, repetitive motions, made the next enemy movement a predictable one. It also lacked freedom to do as you wished or let you explore throughout the game. This game had a 'straight track' playing system where you would need to go from Point A to Point B, instead of letting you go around and have more freedom.

Just like many games, there are some such as this one that could use a few tweaks and upgrades here and there. This is one of many games that you could play, learn the style, and breeze through it. However, you could always increase the difficulty and jump to another area.

Like one person to another, this game changes from one person to the next. For example, Gamer A could think that this game needs help, while Gamer B may think that this was the best game ever. It all changes with perspective.

In the end, I would give this game a 7 because of the ease of use after many plays; knowing that you can do this to get that for instance. After a hard day of Gaming, you could just sit back and zip on through it, one movement after another.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

medeoker

posted by hopergamer (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the game was okay... but lots of glitches occured. its not worth getting in my oppinion waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

avatar game BOGUS!!!!!

posted by donavan (PEORIA, AZ) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the game absolutely sucks. all you do is run in a pre determined path and hit people with a staff and shoot people with a bow and arrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

another movie game fail

posted by OzuGamerHC (BRISTOL, CT) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game was utterly horrific. I was shocked to see ubisoft had a roll in another poorly constructed movie game. For a game that has a lot of emphasis on stealth it is unbelievable the lack of control you have over the camera. In stealth games you have to be well aware of your surrondings and you can't even look around without taking out your bow which causes your avatar to be exposed. The combos are confusing and frustrating to repeat and the on screen actions demand reaction timing at the brink of human capability. The game also lacks a lot of basic needs like some kind of level map, a restart, a save or load. If you leave a level it will bring you back later to the last checkpoint you arrived at, which it nornally doesn't indicate where that is. Furthermore if you decide you want to restart a level you must complete it first an extremely annoying lack of functionality especially on the third level where you first fly. On this level you must collect items by flying through them but they look a lot like plasma fire some of you may know what i mean.
I strongly suggest you don't play the wii version i hear the xbox 360 one is much better. Save yourself some frustration and anger... don't try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disapointing

posted by darksatin (LAND O LAKES, FL) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I was very disapointed in the graphics of this game. Playing the game it was dark so you could not see targets very well and it was hard to manuver.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Avatar

posted by emortal88 (TAMAQUA, PA) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Good Features-

Ability to upgrade items in-game
Ability to have a second player join at any time

Bad Features -

No free play - your forced to go certain places there is no free roaming
Limited Gameplay - not many things that u can do , really basic gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game is ok.

posted by DianeHerr (OKETO, KS) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I wouldn't buy this game. I played it on very easy and the flying was very difficult. I don't recommend it for kids. Very hard to understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TOTALLY AWESOME! (until level 7)

posted by Shotzi (SANTA ANA, CA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game was awesome. very fun. Enjoyed the first 6 levels. Level 7 got me really frustrated and I had to give it up. Otherwise, I enjoyed the game. Totally fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game!

posted by goosebumps (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 6, 2010

Member since May 2007

My 11 yr. old son loves this game. Likes it cause it has 2 players too. He says he likes this game cause you could sneak qietly around the guards, likes the way the fighting with the sticks, Gonna have to buy this one. My little girl (6 yr. old ) thought the game was OKAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by tiltaria (FAIR OAKS, CA) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game has lots of new things that i have not see and it isnt just killing people to win. it matches most of the movie and keeps you interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Confusing Controls

posted by howdy131 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Wii is the first video game system I have ever owned in 25 years, so I am not an expert by any means. I picked this game because I love the movie, but the controls are confusing. Stealth mode never works for me. I would move the controller the way it shows me, but I never hit anyone. All I have figured out to do is run in different directions and jump. The weponry is practically non-existant. I don't own a wii motion control, but I don't think it makes much of a difference. I am taking this back and getting another game instead. Definately DON'T BUY, rent instead. P.S. If anyone has any tips for how to use the controls PLEASE post them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by MatthewX (JUSTIN, TX) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I am impress with the game, that simple

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Thing On Wii Since Force Unleashed

posted by Gamer736 (SOLDOTNA, AK) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Ok. Let's get right down to it. James Cameron's Avatar for Wii is AMAZING! Let's face it Nintendo Fans --the Wii isn't doing good right now and suprisingly, when I first played this, I was Amazed! For a Wii Game, it's pretty good. The graphics are decent and nice. The Gameplay revolves around Stealth, Which may sound bad at first, but when you actually play, it's Really Fun. You can collect Items called Eywa Spirit which you also get whenever you take down an enemy. You can use Eywa spirit to Upgrade your character at the Upgrade Menu Now. For my Criticsm, 2 Player is a Living Nightmare! The camera focuses on Player 1 Which makes stealth in 2 Player hard. Whenever you sneak behind an Enemy, you can use a stealth attack to finish them by doing an on Screen Prompt with the Wii Remote. You can use an Attack by swinging the Wii Remote (and you don't Waggle Slice up and down OR left and right, but must mix the slices Smartly for ACTUAL Combos Guys).
Next. if you have Wii Motion Plus at certain locations, you can summon a Pandora Wasp to help you, which.. well.. DOES NOT WORK OUT AT ALL! Example: Im trying to go down. The Wasp spins around.
In the flying levels, you can use the Wii Balance Board. But since at this time I don't have my board working, I can"t test it. You can also use the Nunchuck by tilting it. It works better than it sounds
and theres only around 4 or 3 flying levels. The Cutscenes: There are only around 7 Or 6 cutscenes in the entire game, including the Ending. The rest of the story is explained by Text in between Missions.
Avatar is a good game overall if you want to play a decent Wii Title. Play it, But DO NOT Buy because sadly it's short Plus NO Marine Gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »