Rent James Bond: Blood Stone for PS3
view large frontback

James Bond: Blood Stone

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

2215 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice! Not worth a 10 though...

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

43 out of 45 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Let's just make this clear: i am a James Bond fan. Ever since i watched the first 007 movie, i was hooked. With all the guns, secret agent stuff, and beautfiul women, i became obsessed very soon. Sadly, time moved on and i got hooked on other things... I think Activision did a really good job reviving 007 this month. Here's my review:

Gameplay: Just like the last one, but oddly better. With the camera shaking as you run, smart AI and fun challenges, it's safe to say the gameplay of BloodStone rises above everything else.

Storyline: The plot was deep and definitely moved me, i can't give away too many details, but i have to say, a lot of people are going to enjoy it (it beats defeating the Enclave in 2277, Fallout 3)!

Sound/Graphics: This is why i give it a 9, not a 10. While the graphics and sound were great, its nothing really different. If good graphical and sound quality is what you're after, you're better off chasing after Fallout New Vegas and Oblivion (both favorites of mine).

Conclusion: Really cool game, definitely worth your time and patience. If you liked it as much as i did, maybe buy it, but definitely try it out first, 007 isn't for everybody.

:foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

James Bond:Blood Stone

posted by shandalereed (VICKSBURG, MS) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has good grafs but it not long.and you cant play it with friends at home if ur not online.But besides that it good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

james bond is back

posted by 5150cr (NASHUA, NH) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

i loved this game. great 3rd person shooter with a mix of driving. the graphics arent the best but if your a bond fan give it a try. the only thing i hated was the length. way too short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game, but nothing new

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Nov 4, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Okay, so after playing the last Bond game and having a blast with it, I rented this game with decent expectations wanting a fun ride filled with explosions, guns, and head shots. That's exactly what Blood Stone is. Despite some not so glamorous character animations, the action is great, but not ground-breaking. Its the same style of gameplay in every shooter, ever. But with its own Bond twist, it makes up for the lack of individuality. Guns are decent and act real, but ammo is very, very plentiful so don't worry about that. Levels are nothing new, move from this point to that point and kill all hostiles kinda thing. All with Daniel Craig's priceless look of "I don't care". The story is decent, but nothing like the other Bond stories. Not bad, its actually interesting. Its better than Quantum of Solace, probably because of Blood Stone's fantastic driving sequences that play out like a real movie, explosions and everything. The acting is okay. The mouth movement isn't perfect, but good enough. But M looks so hideous. Not sure why, just does.

Pros: Great gameplay, fun and addictive. Decent story, nice to have the movie actors in it. Driving sequences are amazing, the highlight of the title. Nice environment graphics and locations. Good difficulty topped off with a great pace and decent checkpoints.

Cons: No memorable baddies, way to much ammo. Same old level design, sub-par character graphics, mouth movement is a bit off. No gadgets.

Don't misread this review, its a blast to play, from the opening Bond sequence, to the explosive driving scenes, its really fun to play. But, I hate buts, there is nothing new whatsoever to this game that sets itself apart from all the other shooters out there. Is it amazing, no. But its a great game to pass the time while you wait for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit. Defiantly worth a rent. I'll probably buy it on-sale sometime in the future. I give it a solid 8.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a Bad Bond Title...

posted by RobAnybody (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I wasn't sure what to expect from yet another entry in the Bond series.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The game mechanics were fairly simple, but this is a good thing, as it made the game easier to get into and not overly complex. The stealth/cover aspect of the game was implemented perfectly, with it being easy to get into cover and manoeuver around obstacles while remaining hidden. One big plus: When moving in cover, Bond will change from standing to crouching when his surrounding dictates it. This makes it much easier to stay hidden and continue to move around and pick off enemies.

Otherwise, the driving sequences were handled well, not making it necessary to learn too many new controls while behind the wheel. The graphics were good enough, not really blowing me away, but not detracting from the game at all. The environment graphics were actually really good, but the characters looked a little outdated.

The only thing I really found wrong with the game was that it was TOO SHORT. I was all ready to spend a rainy day playing this game with my girlfriend at work, and I finished it in just a few hours. There's some replay value, if you want to go for the various trophies, but I'm not too into that, so I was left wanting more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Coulda Been Great

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Started out great and was pretty promising. Almost like being in a Bond Movie! Almost. Towards the end of the game, it's almost like everyone quit. Worse, they seemed to have the need to follow some set formula, including the (now dreaded) "twist" ending that you didn't see coming (but did, because all you have to do is ask yourself, "what would be the lamest ending that didn't really have any sense, but a person who's never seen The Usual Suspects wouldn't suspect?").

The last level I could have done without. While the melee takedowns are awesome in the beginning, they become bland by the end because of their one-button ease. In the beginning, you almost feel like James Bond in the first scene of Casino Royale where he has the bomber by the collar in the embassy. But, by the end, you're kind of annoyed that there are so many guys to shoot.

The cover mechanics were okay, but there should really be some sort of "evade" button for these games, sort of like the roll in Gears of War. But, the cover tactics get kind of boring by the end too: cover, melee the first guy, shoot from cover, rinse, repeat.

If the second half of the game were as good as the beginning, this could have been a classic Bond Fan's dream instead of 5 hours that you're just not getting back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

James Bond Never Disappoints

posted by MrStarChat (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoy James Bond 007 video games it really gets your blood going and taking to that place of no mans land great graphics great story line great game play all around this game Blood Stone was quick fast and witty

add it to your gaming list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun.....but not without flaws.

posted by Jawsfan (CLERMONT, FL) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I received this the same day as GOLDENEYE for the Wii. This was more fun easily. The graphics let it down somewhat, but the controls work fine enough. The cover mechanic works similar to the Uncharted games. The sound was great on the surround sound. This plays out as if you are watching (intereacting) a Bond film and it even has a theme song! You are able to stealth attack or shoot to take out your enemies. The early boat and car chases were a fun departure from the shooting to be done. I've only played for about an hour but so far it is fun. I'm probably more biased towards it as I'm a serious 007 fan anyway. Yes there are graphically better games out there but if you want to feel like 007 you should enjoy it. The cuts scenes so far range in quality but add to the feel your playing out an 007 movie. There's not enough of the Bond theme music though. I've yet to try the multiplayer but from what I've played so far it's worth the cheaper keep it price from GF for me........but don't pay $60 for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

That's it?

posted by ScrewFaceQbase (BRONX, NY) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Where's the Bloodstone? I hope the next release finishes up this story, I have a feeling there are alot of dissapointed 007 fans out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Coming Soon to a Sale Bin Near You

posted by tomcattie (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Single play campaign had a few OOh ! moments but at times like this i am and continue to be a Gamefly member. Campaign felt short and frankly robbed as Bond was basicly any goon without gadgets. Multiplayer felt awkward with weapon weapons unlocked in set order without any clue what your next unlock is to look forward to or not . As far as I could tell there were no equipment upgrrades or weapon upgrades and no set challenges. I couldn't stop yawning long enough to get past level three and also was ready to start Medal of Honor>>> more yawning to come. Graphics were a little above par. All in all not enough to sink your teeth into but a good snack until we see what Santa brought us. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So-so

posted by Crackstar (REDMOND, WA) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

From the opening action sequence, to the standard bond lead in i was really shocked by how average the graphics in this game are. Im running full 1080p and it looks like the game is a grainy 720i. I just finished the game and as much as i wanted and tried to be impressed, this game obviously does not push the ps3 to its limits. When you die you get this cheesy blood driping down the screen animation, (goldeneye's was better and that was almost 15 years ago!!) The game doesnt seem like it had much thought put into it, and im sure it was rushed out for the holiday season. As much as I wanted this game to be great, youd be better off buying the original goldeneye for N64( im not exagerating) and giving this a rent. I couldnt believe ign's review, but now i see why it got a 5. Ill give it the same. Heres hoping the franchise goes back to a company like rare, that will take the time and effort to make a great bond experience. Shame on activision for simply going thru the motions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

James Bond: Blood Stone - Review

posted by Jon1247 (GRANBY, MO) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

While I did get some enjoyment out of this game, it's overall hardly worth even a rental. I'm a major James Bond buff, but even with those credentials I found it hard to have any sort of fun while playing.

The gameplay itself is standard third-person, cover-based shooting fare with repetitive mission types. It's worth mentioning that the controls are abhorrent, with downright peculiar button mapping. A lot of the functions in the game are mapped to one button, which seems to be an annoying modern day trope in video games. Still, there is no originalty to be found in the gameplay that hasn't already been done in far better third-person shooters.

I had heard tall-tale of the chase scenes, but even those are merely pseudo-fun, at least, until you realize how scripted they actually are. The driving controls feel off, and sometimes your car will fly through the air whenever hitting a minor road bump.

Narratively speaking, this game is no On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Heck, it doesn't even rank near the film adaptation of Moonraker. It's a very boring experience. Overall, it has a very lack luster story with little to no actual spying or espionage included, which is very strange indeed considering that this is a James Bond game. I love the reboot Bond films, but the vocal performances by Daniel Craig and Judi Dench are so phoned in, I think they registered long distance charges.

All this, and not to mention the fact that the amount of glitches I encountered throughout the experience was astronomically high.

Don't get me wrong, it's not a horrid game. It functions correctly, and it accomplishes exactly what it set out to do, it's just that it's so ridiculously boring, something I didn't even think was possible with a licensed James Bond game. Skip this game, and rent something like GoldenEye 007 on Wii, PS3 and Xbox 360, or if you really want a good third person James Bond experience, then rent Everything Or Nothing, or From Russia with Love on GC, PS2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Extremely underrated. If you're a Bond fan, I highly recommend renting this. Not THE best Bond game but let's face it, Goldeneye for the N64 will never be surpassed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

jg reviews james bond 007 bloodstone

posted by battlemage (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

"Bloodstone is a videogame based on the famous 007 series of movies and books mostly the daneil craig era for this game bloodstone is well it pulled an uncharted when i say that i mean centiamatic gameplay all the set peices areas etc are like something out of a actual bond movie its not based on a movie its a solo bond aventure which is great it even as daneil craig and judy dinch from the movies to voice james and M. I wont tell you anything about the story because i would end up spoling it which i dont wanna do but what i will tell you is this game is great its actually the first 007 game that hasnt sucked goldeneye is the only bond game besides bloodstone to actually be good not a cash in its everything bond should be you get the cool toys solid action now for the lows this game has the car levels are painful because your car doesnt have a brake that works from not keeping you from running into the wall or making the wrong turn cause if you miss up or dont make the turn which happens alot game over misson failed now moving on to the less painful flaw there really isnt fighting in this game you just run up to someone press circle depending on what console you have and your enemies go down just like that yeah its not bad but it would be cool if you could fight then lead to a takedown move but overall try this game i was surprised i thought i would get another bond game i will give this game a high B+." reasons why +great bond experince it feels like a bond movie/adventure +the actors who played in the current bond films are in the game mostly daneil craig and judy dinch who plays M since the 90s era bond films - driving controls in the driving levels suck and makes you do slow turns due to that there isnt a great E brake to allow you to slide and not slow down -no actual fighting in the game just takedowns that just require you to run up to them press one simple button and there done thank you for reading this no really thank yo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

James Bond Blood Stone

posted by dewnut22 (MADISON, WI) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I am returning the game because it was damaged and would not load. I would like another copy sent and please send the next game on my Q with that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than expected

posted by RJ0088 (HOLBROOK, MA) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I enjoyed this game, almost as much as the original N64 GoldenEye. Graphics could've been better, I expected more from ActiVision, but it's a nice fit with the new series of films, Daniel Craig. No official voices but very close. The missions are fun, multiplayer is sweet, the Bond Girl is an exquisite anime boobilicious hottie!
All in all a good rent, not worth a $60 retail but definitely a rentable campaign game. 007 Legends is next in my Q and that's supposed to be awesome. I couldn't compare the 2 at the moment but Legends is a real Bond title, actors, story, etc. Blending off topic.
Rent it, like I said, the gameplay is good and the missions are fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great...

posted by Jeff2178 (HASKELL, NJ) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Being a huge James Bond fan, this game is good, shooting is standard third person style, the driving parts were fun, and story was good. Wish there were more spy parts and tech, this is worth a rental at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it!!!!!

posted by albinorhino (NORTH MANKATO, MN) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

stealth takedowns awesome ..very action packed game great for a weekend ..driving is good too...not too long but overall i loved it ..visuals good too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is meh

posted by LordAdam (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

PROS: Graphics and character models are good, voice acting is top notch, great use of the cover mechanic(you'll be taking cover pretty much all the time), shooting is handled pretty well.

CONS: Singleplayer is way too short(4 hours), car chase sequences are medicore, could have had more variety with the missions, not much replayability.

OVERALL: Rental at best. Could have been a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT SO GOOD

posted by rvalimont67 (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Pro: did not waste alot of time playing finished quickly

Con: should have finished it faster!

not worth the rental even ....thanks god i did not buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blood Stone is AWESOME!!!!!!

posted by SuPerfLY92174fw (HENRICO, VA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

Why wasn't this game made into a movie also? This game has amazing potential for being on the console and the silver screen! Anyway, loved everything about the game and Daniel Craig was fantastic in the voice acting. You better make sure this game is at the top of your GameQ. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but repetitive.

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Blood Stone is not a bad game.
it has good graphics,
passable shooting mechanics,
and a 007-style story.

The reason this game deserves a seven is:
It is WAY to repetitive.
The first level consists of shooting some bad guys,
progressing through the area,
and a quick car (or should I say boat) combat sequence.
The second level is the exact same thing.
As with the third.
And the forth.
All in all, this is definitely worth a rent if you just want something to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game Bond fans should probably look into.

posted by heroofhyrule11 (BILLINGS, MT) Aug 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

It is very tricky, if not entirely impossible, to come up with a video game based on something as awesome as James Bond and have it meet all the expectations of fans to the franchise as well to gamers in general; I believe this game may mostly appeal to the former.

Pros: Very interesting storytelling that can only be found in a Bond thriller. The story is mainly about Bond (you) having to find missing biochemical scientists, whom the bad guys have kidnapped in order to sell their research to the highest bidder (basically terrorists wanting to turn the research into weapons, destroy the world, blah blah blah). Bond fans may find this a lot of fun and wonder why it wasn't made into a movie first. The voice acting is very good, if sometimes wooden, but worth listening to if only to hear Daniel Craig and Judi Dench having fun with their film roles.

Cons: Not too many, other than the gameplay, while still lots of fun, isn't too tight and might disappoint many hard core gamers. The game itself is rather short and leaves you on a major cliffhanger, leaving you to wonder if they will release a sequel...

Conclusion: Blood Stone 007 is not a bad game, just average. It makes for good light playing, but replay might be rather low depending on your reaction to it. I still liked it better than GoldenEye 007, and would say this was the kind of game where you should play it, achieve all the trophies, then send it back; Bond fans who love to repeat what they've seen over and over again should definately add this to their collection. I liked this game very much and gladly give it an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love it, but MP is weak

posted by Brasilkilla (LINDEN, NJ) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I absolutely loved the story mode, it was like playing a bad an epic action movie. Only thing I didn't like about the game is the multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by jazzking (GRAND BLANC, MI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I really enjoyed this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse