Rent Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy for PS2
view large frontback

Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

1145 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Jax and Daxter: Percursor Legacy

posted by jw13kef13 (DARIEN CENTER, NY) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Forget about renting this game, just go out and buy it. Yes it's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by blahman777 (BOILING SPRINGS, PA) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for anybody, even kids. But this is a bit hard for the kids. I bought this when it was $50 and it was worth every penny. Just play NOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Is it me or?

posted by Mitch92528 (KLAMATH FALLS, OR) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow me and my friends are debating if this game or Ratchet and Clank started PS2 off Great? Well i can tell you this, I Love this game and didn't like Ratchet a whole lot. lol so i think this one started the system out great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brilliant Visuals; Derivative Gameplay

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) May 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed this game. However, I didn't feel pulled in by it. The environments and characters look fantastic, but there was some level of immersion missing.

It has all of the visual elements of a much better game, but I feel like the game looks backward instead of forward in terms of gameplay. The game strongly reminded me of Mario 64 and Banjo-Kazooie for N64. Even at the time that Jak and Daxter was published (2001) this is too derivative. Other great platformers were adding totally different approaches to gameplay that were "current" gen rather than "prior" gen. Ico is a great example of a forward-looking platformer from about that time (published in '01 or '02).

Jak and Daxter looks beautiful and it's little wonder that another SCEA team (Insomniac) would borrow Naughty Dog's technologies. But where a game like Ratchet and Clank feels new, exciting, and compelling, Jak and Daxter feels all too familiar and trite. Don't misunderstand me; I think Jak and Daxter is a really good game, but it doesn't offer anything new other than new graphics and voice acting.

The story is also off-kilter. It's rarely made very clear what's happening and why you should care. Mostly, the plot comes down to "collect x number of doo-hickies to move on." Either tell a story or don't, but don't do it halfway. Mario 64 didn't need a story to be fun. Sometimes story can just get in the way of your gaming experience. Just tell me to collect stuff and let me go about my business.

I have yet to play the follow up games in the Jak series, but I can only hope that they found new approaches to these old gameplay formulas. Worth a rental if you are a platformer fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great all-around game

posted by 007dude (HAHIRA, GA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

'Course even though next-gen games are now the now-gens' if u will jak and daxter is a great game for younger children w/ some teenage humor added into it. Who would have thought a teenager with a osslet would create such a sweet game maybe that's the reason it's different and still a normally veiwed game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool Journey

posted by SnakeGuy (GLOUCESTER, MA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The begining put the game in a good setup. The tasks were a good challenge[including the underwater city near the blue sage's lab]. The ego powers were great for fighting the lurkers [wonder when the lurkers turned good before the second game]. Good game recommend to everyone who loves adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Great Legacy Under the Green Sun.

posted by TheApester (MCGREGOR, TX) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy is for the platforming gamers who like cutesy games, but not anime cutesy, like Mario,Kirby and Ape Escape (especially). Since this game is Western, a unique thing in the gaming industry, the art style (and almost everything else) is more of a fantasy Saturday morning cartoon. As stated in the description, you play as the silent,strong-and somewhat cool- Jak, who is on a quest to turn his best friend Daxter- the hilarious comic relief- back to his former self. But you'll feel more like you're on a tourist trip of the world of the green sun and the elvenfolk when you go through each level collecting Power Cells and Precursor Orbs, because each place is sooo beautiful! (My favorite level is probably the Lost Precursor City) The game should've have music like Kingdom Hearts, but well, guess not, because it'd probably make the game look more Japanese, I suppose.
My favorite part of the game was the cutscenes, because each time a new cutscene rolled, I was like "Oh, boy, is Daxter gonna say something hilarious?!" The best cutscenes are the ones when you die, because sometimes Daxter will pipe up saying something smart-aleck about the dead Jak, like " I'll Say something real teary at the funeral, like 'How am I going to change back now?!" Jak and Daxter, you make the grade!
I know there are other Jak and Daxter games, but I don't really have the heart to play them, because it seems like they changed Jak and the enviroment too much, turning him and his tourist trip into a grittier darker world. I'm kind of upset about that. I will probably play the PSP game Daxter (if I ever get one) because it's not that gritty in presentation thanks to our lovable hero, Daxter!
I think I'll get that far in the series, then pretend it ends there.

Daxter: Don't step into the light, Jak. DON'T STEP INTO THE LIGHT!(Shakes camera.)

Hilarious!! <:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Start

posted by austinjb (CARLSBAD, CA) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a good start to one of my favorite video games series. the title is a little misleading since this is just the first game out of three and it makes it sound like the only game in the series. the story is a little lacking since all you do is collect a certain number of things called power cells until the very end. the environment constantly changes and goes from a village on the beach to the center of a volcano. you can only attack two ways and it takes a while to get from one place to another but that doesn't ruin the game. if you like this game you should get jak 2 and 3. jak 2 changes dramatically from the first one though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Like Any Other, Except Crash

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 22, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Jak and Daxter is a story that takes you on an adventure to save the world by stopping a crazy from releasing dark eco. Theirs also blue, red, green, and yellow eco that give you special abilities for a short period of time. Throughout the game you have to get your hands on precursor orbs and power cells. The precursor orbs are used to exchange for power cells. Power cells are what you need to progress through the game.

The graphics are still pretty good even though the game has been out for a while. The gameplay is much like Crash Bandicoot with the character movements and enemies. The camera control can get a little annoying because you can't look up or down, but it's nothing that ruins the game.

Overall I recommend this to anyone who likes a good action adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it was fun

posted by blomac7 (CHERRY VALLEY, IL) May 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its really fun. there's a lot to do so you keep busy. I prefer the 2nd and 3rd jack. its a good game if you want some action but your moms to protective and wont let you play teen games. The only flaw and a huge let down is once you have finished the game there is nothing to do. Its good if your not to good at video games because you get more entertainment longer. the fighting just like any other game a punch and kick with occasional bosses. the graphics are really good for its time and I recommend getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better on the PS2!

posted by BartKomedy (THORNTON, CO) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

A few months ago I had rented the collection on the PS3 and I didn't like it that much. It felt too out of place. But when I got my PS2 I decided to try it out again and I am enjoying it so far. It just feels so at home on the PS2. The graphics are decent for the time and the gameplay is pretty good for the most part. The story is strange, but oddly satisfying. Overall this game is a lot of fun. There are some issues, but so do all games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better then jak2 and jak3

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

jak and daxter doesn't suck. i've ben waiting 3 years to rent this game cuz i have played the second and 3rd one. this one i find alot better cuz it gives a good challenge. the game pretty much is collect precursor orbs to progress. i do like the eco of yellow green and blue, and diappointed they took those out in the other games. i do like the humor and funny moments when daxter does his dance and muscle shows like a cartoon character. this game is so worth a rent.

definetly a 10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty decent

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

I wasn't really expecting a heck of a lot from "Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy", mostly because the only 3-D platformers actually worth playing tend to have the word "Mario" in the title. (Yeah, I said it.) This game was something of a pleasant surprise, however, as I ended up enjoying it, and it held my interest to the end. The levels are diverse and nicely interwoven, and there's lots of things to do and items to collect. One big drawback, however, is that Jak can't jump worth a three dollar bill, and it's irritating how often his double-jump fails to activate, sending him plummeting to the bottom of a deadly chasm. Still, everything else worked well enough, and I'd definitely recommend this game to any fan of the platforming genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by zipline123 (KENNEWICK, WA) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

when i first borrowed this game from a friend, i was amazed at how good everything was, the graphics, the plot, the humor, and everything was just perfect. i loved it! for anybody who is curios about this game, RENT IT FOR GOD'S SAKE! it will change your life i tell you. when i was 5 i used to L.A.R.P it with my friends in the park near my house. then when jak 2 came out, i'm not gonna tell you about that because thats a different story. but seriously. GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Jak: A Full Story

posted by Nutwit (BEAUFORT, NC) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Naughty Dog has made some wonderful games over the years, the most notable of which include Crash and Spyro, but the Jak Trilogy was one of the first Naughty Dog legacys to be finished by Naughty Dog.
The first game, titled 'Jak & Daxter', is an action-adventure comedy epic about a mute named Jak and his talkative friend, Daxter. The story opens with Jak and Daxter on a boat, riding towards a place called 'Misty Island', forbidden to their people. While there, Jak discovers he has unusual powers over relics left by creatures called 'Precursors', and Daxter takes a swim in dangerous Dark Eco! When he emerges, he has become a small, orange, ferret-type creature called an otsel.
The story that follows revolves areound Jak and Daxter journeying to nearby villiages to find Eco Sages who may have a chance to change Daxter back. However, all the while they must complete difficult tasks to earn power cells and Precursor Orbs.
Like most first-in-the-series games, the characters are bubbly and fun. The animation is very smooth and the gameplay is addictive. It is completely worth while to play this game through to 100%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME!!!

posted by heihachi99 (DUMFRIES, VA) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I started playing this game when I was 3 or 4 and I still love it to this day. it is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

first jak & daxter game and its awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by aguila (ELIZABETH, NJ) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i like it so much!!!!!because of all the eco precusor powers jak has and its funny.you don't use guns but i don't care because its so cool.this was the first jak & daxter game and its awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game that got me into PS2

posted by rcfrandsen (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

One of the first games on PS2 (and the first game I got with the console) does an excellent job showing what kind of graphics and features the PS2 can do and many more would follow to one of the best consoles ever. Bits of the game have elements to the gameplay of Crash Bandicoot (which was made by the same company, Naughty Dog) but that’s not a bad thing. The characters are unique and Daxter is one of the funniest sidekicks I’ve ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

jak and daxter new gerneration of gameing

posted by backfire (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

i like this game very much good story long story too graphics and the made crash and he spins a bler but he spins a nice kick i can tell thay tired real hard and was good too til jak lodt forinter came

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Jak and Daxter: Rent it and you're wasting time!!!

posted by gamewiz123 (MILFORD, OH) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I am sorry but I must say, Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy TOTALLY SUCKS!!! In fact I would have rather considered Jak II the first and Jak 3 the second and so on!! Jak and Daxter sucks THAT BAD!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

an instant classic

posted by stickpic (PENRYN, CA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This is one of the first games I owned for the PS2, and it continues to be my favorite games. If you like platformers, then you should like this game. It has excellent controls, fun gameplay, and a good story. The only thing that annoys me, is that when you get hit, you fly back. But otherwise, this is a top-notch game. Max Casella really pulls off the character Daxter. Especially when you die. Definetely Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Legacy Begins...

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Here begins one of my favorite videogame series of all time. In this unique fantasy adventure, you play through a fully and beautifully realized world with its own fascinating history that is composed of various environments that meld seamlessly together, which means that their are no load screens to interrupt the flow of gameplay.
You play as Jak, a young adventurer who goes to see the Samos the Green Eco Sage, one of five sages who devote their live to studying the mysterious substance known as eco in its various forms, as well as the wise and mysterious ancient beings known as Precursors, who are believed to have created eco and used it to make the world. Jak's best friend, Daxter (the side-kick and comic relief)), has been touched by dark eco, the most dangerous of them all, and it transforms him into an Ottsel (otter/weasel mix). Jak, Daxter, Samos, and his daughter Kiera traverse the land to Gol and Maia, the Dark eco sages, in hopes of changing Daxter back.
To advance through the game, Jak must collect artifacts known as power cells from the locals by performing various tasks in exchange. Jak also finds them hidden throughout the world. Jak is endowed with the ability to channel eco through his body, allowing him various powers and abilities that let him overcome various obstacles.
Characters are vibrantly animated, and the voice acting is superb. Dee Snider of Twisted Sister lends his voice for the villain, which I think is kind of cool...
Although this game is short in length and not particularly challenging, you will enjoy it for its sheer depth and style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy review

posted by goldmaster (SIOUX CITY, IA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

It is a great game with awsome graphicsfor game made in 2001! Its funny when you die and Daxter always says something funny. This was one of my first video games so I haved loved it since I was 5. I love all the different egos you can collect. My favorite thing about this game would have to be collecting all the powercells, it keeps you busy from the beging of the game to the end of the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game ever!!!!!!

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) May 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I have been playing this since i was like 4. This game is so cool it is without question my favorite game dont even bother renting it! BUY IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game bored me soo much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse