Rent Jak & Daxter Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Jak & Daxter Collection

Rent

Keep for: $18.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
8.3

1499 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh The Memories :)

posted by fele3 (ONTARIO, CA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you haven't played the Jak and Daxter series, you really should, i remember all the levels and stories, as if it were yesterday. If you into stories and great game play this is a must have the story has surprising plot twists and great endings. I remember playing Jak 2 after the first one and saying it felt disconnected from the first one, even though it had a great story and game play. But near the end of the second game you start to realize that all the games are connected.
Plus if your a collect and find stuff in games like infamous and skyrim, you have plenty to search for, and list after list of cool things to unlock, such as level select, gun mods, vehicles and tons more. And most of all that crazy stuff is even after your done with the main story so you'll have lots to do, and still not feel like its boring.
As for the game play all games feel like they're adding something new to the experience. like the first one was all about exploration and finding those
"orb thingies", the second was all about weapons and gun courses and since we're on that i spent countless hours on those dang gun courses im not sure why they're so awesome buy they just are. As for the third game i loved the vehicle missions, it was nice to put the gun down for a second and just drive.... even though there's a turret on the car, lol.
So if your a fan of naughty dog's "Uncharted series" you will be a fan of the Jak and Daxter.

By the way i think its messed up that they just put jak 2 and jak 3 instead of Jak and Daxter 2, always got to be mean to Daxter. But seriously if you loved the PS2 ages or a fan of shooters or platformers this is a must have, or a must replay, c:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing, Brings me back to the good 'ole days.

posted by RickygPoole (COLDWATER, MS) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

19 out of 28 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

If you're a huge Jak and Daxter fan like me, or a new comer to the series, You must get this game! I remember playing these back on the PS2, and they are still amazing and better yet they're are tropheys to add some extra fun, Now lets hope Naughty Dog makes a Jak 4 now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Series

posted by Kratos_Killz_ (SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

The Jak & Dexter Collection is a great addition to the PS3. The series brings back memories from the PS2 version. Graphics have been polished with the nice trophy feature. If you haven't played the series, you'll see a huge transition from the 1st to the 2nd game. The first being a calmer, peaceful game of collecting orbs and power cells while fighting a few bosses and the 2nd becomes more of a sandbox GTA style game with a huge change in story and character. These games are worth your while as you enjoy the plot twists and unravel all the great mysteries in the world of Jak & Daxter. Now let's see a Jak 4!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as my memories...

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked Jak & Daxter on the PS2 a lot, but that was back before I played a lot of games. This collection showed me that my good memories of the past were sometimes colored by lack of real experience.

To be fair, the first game in the series is excellent, and holds up for what it is. That game is a solid 9 in my book. It is a basic 3D action-adventure platformer, so don't expect anything revolutionary, but it is solid.

The second game is where things start to get bad. That game ranks a 5 in my book. What would happen if you tried to take the edginess of Grand Theft Auto, and add it to a kid friendly platformer, amplifying the negative aspects of that union and forgetting what makes any of the 2 fun? You guessed it, you get what Jak II would have been if it was more fun. I remembered all the frustrating parts from years past, but just saw them as annoying now.

The third game, Jak III, took what was bad in Jak II, and added bad racing components, with a story line reeking of foreshadowing throughout. This actually surprised me, since I remember playing this one 2-3 times on the PS2 (and I'm not one for replay too often). Very little of the story was memorable here, and I'm guessing I'll have forgotten is by the time the next game shows up.

Yes, I did finish the games, but it was more out of a sense of duty to the memory I had of this series.

On the flip side, playing this series lets me forgive Naughty Dog for leaving the Jak & Daxter series for Uncharted (another series I've been disappointed by, if I compare it to the hype). At least we still have Ratchet & Clank and Sly Cooper (my other beloved series from PS2 that actually live up to my memories: even if Sly's gameplay has turned into Cole McGrath/Infamous)

If you want great PS2 3D action-adventure platforming, stick with Sly. If you want updates to the PS2 3D action-adventure platformers, stick with Ratchet & Clank or Infamous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love to hate this game

posted by badcompany (MARION, VA) May 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I missed this game. And now that it has returned and have played it I remember all the rage this game contains. If you loved this game 11 years ago, than you'll find a reason to love it again. But newcomers beware, this game is not for the faint of heart. It is hard and relentless. DON'T think just cause the graphics look kid-like means this will be 3 easy platinum trophies. This series is still one of the best out there today. Don't miss out but remain caustios.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disapointed

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Giving this collection a 1 because of jak 2 & 3 which is by far one of the worst games ever made jak 2 the camera checkpoint combat sucks if your going to add weapons why not add a targeting or lock on system?? same with jak 3 except the checkpoints are a little better but camera and gameplay still suck(no aiming or lock on still) in both jak 2 & 3 you need vehicles to get to a mission which sucks dont know why naughty dog changed the games from traditional platform to this any ways jak 1 was very good loved giving that a 9 i just wished jak 2 & 3 where like 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC!

posted by lilneup3 (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

For all those people out there who loved this game as a kid... It is everything and more than you remember. The graphics look fantastic in them all, and for those who never played this series... It is made by Naughty Dog who is in my opinion the best Video Game company out there. This was there second game series they made after Crash Bandicoot and Uncharted... You can never go wrong with a Naughty Dog game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

JAK is BACK!!

posted by nate420 (CALIFORNIA CITY, CA) Feb 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I am a hardcore gamer and I still die so many times in these games that is what makes them so fun and addicting.
GREAT for Everyone defiantly a solid buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'll just keep my PS/2 versions of the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WARNING!

posted by PissedoffGamer (LADSON, SC) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

DO NOT GET THIS GAME! IT GLITCHES LIKE A MOTHER! I couldn't even play the first game for 5 minutes without it glitching, and freezing on me! Naughtydog should be ashamed of this garbage that they "remastered"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brings Back Memories

posted by XBL_Vs_PSN (FORT MITCHELL, AL) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I remember my first time playing Jak and Daxter, I fell in love with it, and I am sorry to whoever else wants this game, but I am NOT SENDING IT BACK... :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good times

posted by TenaciousDallas (MARQUETTE HEIGHTS, IL) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Brings back fun childhood memories. i had so much fun playing naughty dogs first amazing trilogy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great but Challenging

posted by Dwinner9000 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

First off, the series of games is a great mix of plat-forming, three person shooting, and arcade like game play. Each game is especially difficult, but is balanced my more forgiving checkpoint system than I've seen in any other plat-forming game.

The first game doesn't have a tutorial, but starts off rather easy and gives you a chance to learn your moves.

Weapons and use of Dark Eco are introduced in the second game along with a totally new overworld and a deeper interest in story than the previous

The 3rd game farther adds upon these abilities with newer weapons and use of Dark and Light Eco in the game, this consistent improvement is what makes the game series as a whole so great.

My only problem with the game is near the end of all three games, the checkpoint system begins to become rather faulty, having you replay 5-10 minutes of gameplay, and in bosses or other special events, you start from the beginning regardless of how far you got, this is also a problem in some missions (the sewer missions) in Jak 2 and 3, and upon restart you do NOT regain ammo or magical ability.

That being said, I wouldn't let children play this game, not Jak 2 and 3, it has adult language and the game itself can be really annoying, perhaps more mature people with a little more patience, as all 3 games or long, filled with side content and unlockables.

A personal problem of mine (which does not affect my score) is Jak's change in character from Jak 1 to Jak 2, even though clearly explained and reasonable, it did disconnect me from the character a bit. I love Daxter though. Also the Desert overworld in Jak 3 can be REALLY annoying, because of the physics engine in this game, but is still enjoyable.

This game does follow a more realistic set of physics in my opinion, so the switch from something like mario, sonic to something like this will be difficult, but very interesting if you're gamer looking for new experiences.

Excellent Game. Even in 2014, you should

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it is horrible

posted by thebbatman10 (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

the graphics are horrible and it is to hard if you don't have it don't get it and i had high hopes for the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

jak 3 enough said

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

the first was good but to childish for me its not bad by any means it just wasn't my cup of tea jak 2 was indeed my cup of tea but was also the most difficult game i have ever played jak 3 thankfully was a masterpiece however if you ask me the only good game was the third so if you agree and still have a ps2 stashed away you may just wanna get the third for the ps2 unless your desperate to see it in hd ps jak 4 would be nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

reliving a great franchise

posted by quinnloki (TUNKHANNOCK, PA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this remastered collection instently brought me back to when I originally played them for ps2. the story hook me all those years ago and now its hooked me again. its nice to be able to play these games on the ps3 since I don't have one that backward compatible. to me the fact that they look sharper and now have trophies is just a bonus. two thumbs way up for naughty dog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting gameplay

posted by sh4dow (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I've played a good amount of HD collection sets and was about to conclude; "Don't go for HD unless you're ALREADY a fan of those particular games in the set". But THIS series demolished that hypothesis. I stayed up playing this an entire day because it was just that fun (it was a long weekend, don't judge me). Jak and Daxter has alot to offer within the game and the story isn't so bad either. part 2 and 3 offer tons of challenges which builds up the re-play value GREATLY, especially if you're going for top score on each one (or for the platinum trophy). of course there are a few things that can be a bit frustrating, but nothing that was particularly constant.
To SUM UP, I don't easily give away a perfect rating, and i'm not selfish with the points either. This game really is fun, it's like an open world crash bandicoot or whatever, you pick your old platform favorite :)
GET THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best games ever

posted by DuhMonstah (BARSTOW, CA) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Classic

posted by RizenFromDeath (DEARBORN, MI) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Never got a chance to play these titles on PS2, reminds me of fable in a way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jak and Daxter Collection Review

posted by hardcor (BURLESON, TX) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Jak and Daxter - can be VERY hard at times sometimes to the point of rage quit but it does have its moments where its rather good. 7/10
Jak 2 - Better than Jak and Daxter because guns were added and it is less irritating than the 1st game. 8/10
Jak 3 - Didnt like the racing all that much. To be honest I havnt played this game all that much but there was to much racing in the beginning so its not all that fun at first and I dont know what happens later on so ask somebody who has beaten it. From what ive played it deserves a 7.5/10
Overall the storyline was easy to follow, but the gameplay was meh. overally id say 8/10 for the whole collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by Zacksattack16 (DUNBAR, NE) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I loved this series when it was one ps2 and now since its on ps3 its even better with better graphics and lots of trophies. I really hope they put Jak X on ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Jerfondo13 (DOWNEY, CA) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I love this game so much this was like the call of duty of my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

childhood

posted by mwgstyle (CHILLICOTHE, MO) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this game is amazing it brought me back 2 my childhood

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Missed Out!

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

I never played Jak and Daxter on Ps2, but I have played games like Ratchet and Clank and the three original Spyro games. After playing the Jak games I realized I really missed out. This is a really must play game. Checkpoints are annoying but the game play is really good.
After playing this, if you like it, I highly recommend playing the Ratchet and Clank games if you haven't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Jak and Daxter Collection

posted by knh1416 (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The collection is entertaining and has a high replay value for those who didn't get to play these gems the first time around. For those experienced in Jak and Daxter, there's plenty of nostalgia and visual beauty to be had. There are plenty of things to collect for all the completionists out there like myself. I absolutely love the environments in the first installment. These are definitely platformers you don't want to pass up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse