Rent Jade Empire for Xbox
view large frontback

Jade Empire

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.3

3791 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Asian Invasion

posted by DaveHawk (CORYDON, IN) May 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I am completely impressed with this game. This is the first RPG I've played where you aren't in space, and it was cool that the developers made this kind of an imaginary asian land set at a non-specific time in history.

One of my big things with RPGs is how whole the characters are, and they are truely fascinating...even giving you a post-game synopsis of where they all are now.

I wasn't terribly impressed with the fighting moves in the game, but the storyline and the tasks before you are addictive. You will probably play this game at least half the way through without noticing the time.

Solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent XBOX RPG?

posted by wrecker1 (Corrales, NM) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here it is, a really nice looking Role-Playing Game for the Xbox, besides ES. This is from the makers of the Knights of the Old Republic series, but better. They added a really nice combat system, using spells, and hand to hand combat. There are a few weapons here and there and the storyline is easy to follow, with a good plot to it. A few spots are pretty challenging, and the combat system does take a bit getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, the game is pretty good. Also, the ability to be able to select a ''class'' is a new improvement. You can choose from magic classes, to fighting classes, to both! There can be a little improvement to characters interface movements. A very noticeable one is the fact that hair does not move. If it moved, it may add a little to a persons personality. Now here's the sad part, its short. Its a 1 to 2 day game, unless you try to finish a certain part in the game that actually does take a while. This part is like a ''tournament'', which can be challenging. On average, if you try to complete this challenge, it could add a few more days to game play. Also, the mini games are actually pretty fun. The mini games you play throughout the game, but can be played again through the main menu, you can achieve high scores like in arcade games. Out of 10, this game is a 8.5. The storyline could have been lengthened with a few side quests. Also, the fighting styles could have had more of a range to choose and learn from, but other than that, here's a really good Role-Playing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jade empire is a must play

posted by DJTrixx (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 23, 2009

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

simply put........

My fav game of all time..

Played the game thru with each character...

game was fun

story is awsome

can wait for number 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jade Empire is very good on 360 (BC)

posted by vduke300 (VAN NUYS, CA) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have this game on Xbox 360 Using BC and it works great. just a few miner movie glitches.
The game itself is a fun adventure. the Gpx are Great for an Xbox game.
my only complaint is that the fighting in the game can get very frustrating at times. but over all this is a great game and if you have a 360 it is a good game for the Backwards Combatabilty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kung Fu RPG. Fun as it sounds.

posted by Kimoon (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My Status: Beaten oMy Status: Beaten once ~20
Difficulty: Easy~Medium

Jade Empire is an RPG set in the Far East. This setting gives Jade Empire a unique RPG experience not only in terms of the story but also in the locale you visit, people you meet and most notably in the way you fight your enemies.

Jade Empire is interesting because you actually get to fight your enemies using the many styles of Kung Fu that you can learn throughout the game. There are four different types and each type has about 5 styles. Which style you use is entirely up to you except some enemies are immune to certain types of attack. The game will have you changing style on the fly which is easily done using the D+Pad. Even thought the fighting engine is very simple the new styles you learn keeps the fighting fresh.

Jade Empire also has many ways to solve each quest. There is also two path to follow. Way of the open fist or the close fist. Depending on which path you follow certain quest and styles will not be available to you. It does kind of add replay value to a short game.

The problem with Jade Empire is that even thought the story is interesting, the game is short. The other problem is that the first 3 Chapters of the game will take about 80% of your time while the next 3 Chapters are rather short. Those chapters seem rushed and it is a very anti-climatic 3 Chapters after all the great build up in the first 3 Chapters.

The other problem is that the Way of the Open Fist and Closed Fist path is not fully flushed out as it should have been. For example you can be Closed Fist the whole game but at the very end you can choose to be Open Fist and you will see the Open Fist ending.

Jade Empire is a great game and the novelty of a Kung Fu fighting game definitely makes it worth while to play through. Unfortunately it is rather short and because the two paths was not designed as well as it should have been it makes a second run through optional instead of desirable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A holiday tradition

posted by dsach00 (DULUTH, GA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game the year it came out around christmas time, I have fond FOND memories of sitting there looking out the window watching the snow fall as my game loaded then proceeding to play until my eyes hurt. This game is bar none the best bioware game for the original xbox. Now i know KOTOR is out there and some of you may say well what makes this better than that masterpiece. First of all the combat is so entirely different from any game i've ever played. I think there are like 2 weapons you can get in the game or maybe buy some more later but anyway the whole game is played pretty much just busting people in the lip with your hands and feet. Also the ability to turn into a frog demon or a skeleton horse is freaking sick. The characters you meet are some of the best in any game i've ever played. I felt so attached to them and there are decisions you have to make in the game that make you feel like junk either way because you can't please all of your "friends". I slip this game in ever christmas break and play it through and it is a great experience each time. The only gripe I have is that i wish it were longer or atleast let you continue game play after the main story line is over....but hey they can't all be oblivion can they. Also another complaint is that once it is beaten, you will want to play it again but there really is no experience with this game like the first time you play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1 of the best games I’ve ever played

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic, there is so much to do. I can’t complement the developers attention to detail enough. Well written story and dialog with detailed Asian cultural background and philosophies. Voice acting is superb. Character development is very good and even funny. It took me 31 hours to finish the 7 levels. I skipped some of the side quests but when I replay, I will do everything.

One of the biggest turn offs to RPG games for me is that they can get to be very complicated and take a lot of time to learn. Not so here. You can do a lot of customizing and enhancements to your character from a relatively simple menu.

Re-playability is excellent, you can play with different characters with different strengths/philosophies.

Compare this to Mass Effect (also awesome) but Jade Empire has a much more detailed story and is easily 2x the gameplay. The graphics are last gen. but this game definitely holds up.

The only complaint is that there seems to be an excessive amount of load time between maps.

This game will appeal to most gamers unless they are too young to read and comprehend a detailed story. Recommended for everyone.

Be sure to take time to complete all of the side quests. There is no time limit on the main mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fun

posted by Moufasa2 (MADISON, WI) Nov 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you liked playing Fable or Sudeki, you'll enjoy this martial arts and magic RPG. I played several characters through, with variations in character alignment, and had a great time playing the game. Jade Empire is also one of the few games where playing an evil character has a great end game payoff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Jade Empire

posted by adromero (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not since Final Fantasy VII and KOTR, have I enjoyed an RPG this much. The visuals and story were great. However, I did not use some of the characters as I found them not very useful to accomplish objectives. I would recommend this game to anybody who enjoys a good story and action/adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best XBox RPG

posted by C3MP91 (HOLLY RIDGE, NC) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. The fighting styles are awesome. There are also Transformation styles. There are only about 3 of them, I think it needed more. You can, if you choose, get a gun later in the game. The elementals are great too. Two are alignment based. The story is the best part of the game, it's really immersive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game you've got to try.

posted by Roehr26 (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was created by the makers of KOTOR. I loved that series and I loved this game. One thing that I really liked was the combat system. Instead of just pressing a button for your guy to attack, you actually get to control your attacks. Another thing was the main story line. It was actually a very good plot. Although there wasn't many weapons you could choose from. Also the game was fast and pretty easy to beat. But you still have to try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good and Simple RPG

posted by svoiles78 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is easy to pick up and play, great plot and storyline. Controlls are easy. The only part that I didn't care for was the simplicity of most of the opponents' attacks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Jade Empire! Very Good Game!

posted by Gametaka22 (Merrimack, NH) Feb 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought Jade Empire about 1 year ago and i beat it 6 times. I never get tired of it. If you like awesome RPG's were you just dont go walk around killing random people taking there money and running away you will love this game as much as i do. The game basically revolves around you trying to rescue your master and meeting new friends like Black whirlwind and Dawn Star. The most couragous character in the game I think is Sagacious Zue because at 1 part Death's Hand goes to kill u but he risks his live to kill him. Each Character Model u choose will determine what styles you start out with and what weapon's you can get

It is a very AWSOME game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YOU MUST PLAY!!!

posted by OdinFerris (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of the best games I have ever played. It is a very detailed game with a great story. If you are looking for a great game, THIS IS IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very nice though i was disappointed at the end

posted by metarok (STOCKTON, MO) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

5 am not going to be picky but I loved the game until the end it ends so quick. I did really like the fighting style. pretty good game;but rent it not buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

superb!

posted by ustfdes (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very challenging RPG, with nearly everything upgradeable, and within reason. The storyline is VERY in-depth. If you like good long movies, or complex storylines, this game is for you. The fictional asian empire in which this game takes place seems to have roots that go very deep, with every base covered, and no holes in the plot.

One of the best RPG's i've played in a long while!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent kung-fu RPG

posted by Arinthel (Dahlonega, GA) Aug 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did not expect to be sucked into this game like I was. This is easily one of the most entertaining RPG games I have played, matching the style of tradition D20-based RPGs with a unique setting and combat system.

This game does not suffer for lack of an established license (except that the lore referenced in the beginning of the game can be disorienting.) The chinese style setting is unique and interesting; learning the lore of the land is entertaining. It also has an engaging plot. Although many of the plot twists are obviously borrowed from previous Bioware games (the NWN and KTOR series), it is difficult not to be enchanted by the entertaining characters and a fast-moving story. Jade Empire has an excellent sense of humor, and I found myself frequently laughing out loud, especially at the antice of particularly violent follower. The game seems to use the same engine as KOTOR, the visuals, sounds, and environments are roughly the same quality as KOTOR. Outdoor areas suffer as a result, and feel like indoor dungeons with "outdoors" textures.

The game only has a few problems. The most obvious one is that the combast system, while visceral at first, is simple to the point of being dull. You only have two attacks and a block move. It is obviously based on fighting games, but lacks almost all the depth of a fighting game's combat. Depth also sufers in that there is almost no item customization, and henchmen are almost useless in a fight. However, there is a bit of strategy in that different styles have different damage, speed, and secondary effects. Secondly, the game has less replay value than earlier Bioware titles. With the short length, I would recommend renting instead of buying this game.

People who are expecting Jade Empire to top previous boware games will be disappointed. However, this is still an excellent game, and one of the most entertaining I have played on the Xbox system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Jade Empire

posted by Wraiths (CHENEY, WA) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Greetings, this is another great game from the people at BioWare. This game was all I had hoped for and more. If you where a fan of the KotOR games you will love this one. The combat system is a little different than KorOR but in a very good way. I can't think of a single thing about this game I didn't like. The replay value of this game is great and one the the best features of the game. You should really pick up this game!

~Wraith-Angel~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Shot

posted by DeusUmbra (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

It was overall a good try. The only real negative to it is the simplistic combat system, and the game is relatively short (compared to KOTOR). A good effort, most certinly worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by Bostonfan (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is by far one of the best RPG games I have played in a long long time. They brought the mythologies and beliefs of ancient china into one amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i spoke years later about the game

posted by Charlie88 (DISTRICT HEIGHTS, MD) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best game I ever played in my life time. I have a x box 360 now and wen I first played it I thought I wouldn't like it but it has the best storyline I ever played and I just wish the bioware make another one just like it. So please make another game like Jade empire for the x box 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY fun, VERY epic and VERY AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) May 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: The gameplay in JE is very fast and fun! There are many different styles u gain and cool magic abilities that just really make this game great. U can say what u want to ppl and somtimes there are like 5 choices and it really differentiates your overall look and everything. Its just really cool!! There is lots, and lots and lots of depth that can keep u playing the game for mabye a total of 25 to 30 hrs!!
STORY: The story of JE is its STRONGEST power! There are tons of AWSOME, AAA, twists and turns in the game that u NEVER expected that just really make u play for hours on end! U meet lots of cool and unique characters and it really adds some cool aspects to the game!
GRAPHICS: The graphics in JE are simply beautiful! The detail, lighting and everything just look fantastic! One of the best looking Xbox games ive ever played!
OVERALL: Very Fun, Great Story, and Great Graphics = AWSOME GAME!
RATING: 9.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jade Empire: The good and the not so good

posted by kokobware (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Good:
Combat System: Real Time action and the ability to see your foes prior to combat (no annoying random FF battles here) make for a great fighting experience in an rpg setting.
Graphics: Beautiful Environments, and some cool looking enemies
Sound: Great Voice acting (Brain Doyle Murray from SNL and Caddyshack makes an appearance). The Asian themed music was well done, but more could have been written.

The not-so-good:
Length: JE was much shorter than I was expecting; it took me only a little over 15 hours.
MiniGames?: I want to play an RPG, not Galaga
Difficulty: I never died, not once. If you do the sidequests, and its kinda hard not to, you will not be challanged.

Overall: This was a very good game. If you want a great looking RPG with a combat system much like a fighting game, or if youre in the mood for a quick RPG that still has some meat to it, then rent it. Its not often that an RPG with an Asian theme like Jade Empire comes along so enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing

posted by alexprice (PFAFFTOWN, NC) Jun 14, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not only does bioware make diverse games, they make games you can play over and over. The graphics on jade are life like as they are beautiful, and the storyline is not a cheap regular one. over all i would buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok..

posted by ryan88 (COLFAX, CA) May 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought this was alot of fun but after a while I got bored with it. There was cool powers and it felt like a rpg(with almost everything upgradable. But the storyline was just to hard to follow. If you love rpg though you must give this game a look over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse