Rent Ivy the Kiwi? for Wii
view large frontback

Ivy the Kiwi?

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.7

159 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute idea, but gets old fast

posted by KLSnow (APPLETON, WI) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts off with a pretty promising, adorable premise. The gameplay quickly shows off a creative idea but the levels are too short and repetitive to really take advantage of it.

Furthermore, I got about an hour in (into the third chapter), and the story never resurfaced. One "title screen" per chapter. The background, music and feel never changed. It's a cute idea, but it just wasn't interesting enough to hold my attention very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ivy the Kiwi?

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Oct 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is beautifully rendered - the attractive artwork is the main element that draws you in. I did enjoy the first few levels, it was your basic left to right scroller "get to the goal" type of game (reminded me of super mario bros!) There were some really simple challenges, using what I thought was an interesting vine stretching technique, but it did get really dry after about 10 levels.
The story is pretty much open and shut from the brief introductory scene. "Baby kiwi pops out of his egg, needs to find his mother…" It's a nicely done, endearing intro, but after that, there's not much more to be said of the storyline.
Even when I first entertained getting this game, I fully understood it was for children - young children - and I was hoping I could get some interest from my 4 year old (too bad, she was disinterested, being in that unpredictable phase!) As a parent, I could only play it for so long, and it's replay value was not very high. I hope this review helps someone determine whether to buy/rent the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Close, but no Kiwi

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ivy the Kiwi? shares a lot with another Wii game, Crayola Colorful Journey. In both games, you have to build bridges to get the protagonist from Point A to Point B.
Ivy the Kiwi? adds a few new twists; you can use the vine bridges as slingshots to shoot Ivy through some bricks, defeat enemies and get to higher ground.
And you can have Ivy push a huge boulder down a path, crushing anything in the way.
But I would’ve like to have the option to directly remove a vine bridge, instead of the indirect method this game uses.
Along the way, you can collect feathers that are floating in the air in certain points of each level; collect enough feathers and you get an extra life. And each level ends with a podium of five steps; get Ivy on the high central step for the most points.
This could make for a very exciting platforming game, but unfortunately, the presentation is about as flat as you can get.
There’s supposed to be some sort of story about a baby bird finding her mother through several clues that she finds on her journey. But I never got any of these clues, and the story never gets developed. When I finished a level, I’d got on to the next level. When I finished a chapter of five levels, it’s off to the first level of the next chapter.
This - along with the repetitive gameplay - made the game a chore instead of a joy to play. I got bored after about thirty levels of Ivy the Kiwi? - and didn’t like slogging my way through the next several levels.
Even the inclusion of multi player - where you race against up to three other players to see who can get their Ivy to the Goal fastest on any level that’s beaten in single player mode - this game is a bore.
Ivy the Kiwi? needs some more fire and imagination in it. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

....LAME

posted by PrinceAlx (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was very boring, same thing over and over!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ivy The Kiwi Slips Off The Vine

posted by snow_ninja (RENO, NV) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

When I first heard of Ivy the Kiwi, I thought that it looked both cute and fun, but I was sadly mistaken. I don't hate it, but the game itself wasn't great.

Story: 5/10 Essentially a bird named Ivy (who looks suspiciously like a phoenix chick) hatches only to discover its mother is gone. So the chick (with its egg still stuck to it) goes off to find its mother. Okay, then. Not the deepest story, and I raise story as one of the highest things on my list (other than obviously gameplay).

Gameplay: 4/10 The gameplay is boring, repetitive, and unoriginal. I've seen many games like this before. You create platforms out of vines for Ivy to step on as she gets to the finish line, without being able to move the character itself. The levels are also infuriatingly hard and very short.

Music: 4/10 The music never changes, ever. Of course, I sent it back pretty quick, but from what I observed, the music was uninspiring and repetitive.

Graphics: 10/10 This was one of the few things I did like about this game. The graphics are 2D and charming, and the bird is really, really cute.

Controls: 9/10 The controls are fairly smooth, though they can be a little annoying when the vine doesn't go where you want it to and Ivy turns back and ruins your route.

Overall, the game is decent, but pretty graphics are just about all there is to this game. If you are looking for a creative, fresh title, this probably isn't the one to pick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ivy the Kiwi

posted by goldnbear (EL CERRITO, CA) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

We received Ivy the Kiwi and my son inserted into our Wii. Wii would not run it unless we performed an upgrade, which we did not want, so we just returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not last 5 minutes

posted by ImTheDad (RIDGECREST, CA) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

My 10 year old daughter claims this to be the stupidest game ever. Her words, not mine!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute, but...

posted by Mandie82 (MEDFORD, OR) May 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

Maybe I didn't give it long enough, but it seems like any ordinary flash game I could play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard As Heck!

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The game is cute but it cost you a controler, and a Wii, and a Tv. If you are looking for a challenge go ahead otherwise I woulden't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »