Rent Iron Man for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Iron Man

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, DS, PS2, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.3

4339 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent package

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) May 6, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Rather than bore all of you with game specifics, my experience with Iron Man can be summed up very quickly: occasionally problematic but overall enjoyable.

There is a lot to pick apart in this game that works and does not all at the same time. Too many buttons carry double functions that seem to conflict with each other during flying/hovering transitions and the context grabs Iron Man performs are super annoying to complete, but the weapon customization, shooting/explosions, and graphical smoothness during fast flight is very good. Almost too good to be your average comic book game, let alone a good flying game as well.

Bottom line is that flying around as Iron Man is a lot of fun (the achievements on the xbox360 help direct you as to what your more abstract goals for the missions are) and annoyances aside, I'm glad I have Gamefly to give this rental a fair play rather than skip it because of the price tag/quality ratio.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

avoid this game

posted by jackal309 (BEREA, OH) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

one of the worst games ive played on the 360. the pilot system is frustrating and the battle mechanics abysmal. enemies are generic faceless goons who respawn after ten seconds. not even remotely fun nor do u feel like iron man, better off renting or buying the movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by Gundrin (KATY, TX) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

as you can read from the name horrible the worst game I have played in a while graphics are cheesy and no check points man this game is LAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible game

posted by cvalentino (GLENDALE, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

terrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Is A Bad Game!!!

posted by WHTphoenix (Mount Orab, OH) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok i don't normally do this but this game is horrible, I put it in for maybe 15 minutes and I couldn't take it anymore. I sent it back an hour after I got it! graphics are no good but that's not the problem. What I couldn't take was how difficult the flight system was. It seemed like it was built more for a joystick. I didn't have the patience for this game but I don't know maybe you might.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucks

posted by lilman524 (JAMAICA, NY) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

itttttttttttttttttttttttt- ttttttttttttttttttttttttt- ttttttttttttttttttttttttt- ttttttt sucksssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssss badlyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy- yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy- yyyyyy veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy- yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy- yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy- yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy- yyyyyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Review for Iron Man

posted by rooster11 (ALBERTVILLE, AL) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't like this game, because it was very hard and on some parts I couldn't find where I was going, I was just going in circles. The graphics were great I guess if you like a challenge and hard games this would be for you. I'm used to games for kids even though I'm 19. So if you get frustrated easy don't rent this game, but if you are good at these sorts of games then it would be great for those people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible.

posted by kbraden (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It would have been more fun to cut out a paper doll and pretend that it was Iron Man.

The controls were sloppy, targeting annoying, and forget trying to fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!

posted by justink (MASTIC, NY) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. Theres absolutly no point to it. Thats it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Iron Man Deserves Better

posted by CMoss79 (TRACY, CA) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Iron man, is one of the marvel universes coolest most kick butt super heroes, and to see a game so poorly made actually hit shelves especially after such a good movie is so extremely disappointing.
i can not recall playing a game with such clumsy controls ever before. The cut scenes look like something from a ps2 or x box, and the game play suffers from stupid enemy a.i. that is is substituted by an overwhelming onslaught of characters. Iron man fans prepare for system failure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost Invincible Iron Man

posted by Yogurt109 (MILLERSBURG, OH) May 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I rented this with the knowledge that most movie adaptation games are pretty weak and upon playing was pleasantly surprised. It was probably the best adaptation game I've played but it still wasn't perfect.

Controls were a little jerky and took a little bit to get used to but that came pretty quick. The Iron Man graphics were top notch but background scenery a little on the low side but not to bad. The missions were short. I played on easy and normal and there was a huge difference between difficulty. I would have not stood a chance on hard.

If you're just into achievements then this will get you a solid 400-up just on one play through on easy so its decent there. The ones you don't get on first play through are pretty easy to grab on a second try. I think I finished wih missing maybe 6 of the 39 achievements and only played it for two days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I <3 Missiles

posted by Kordesh (PROVIDENCE, RI) May 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Things you need to know:

- The boss AI is terrible. On several occasions I've managed to get them to simply bounce back and forth in once place doing nothing while I just blast away at them.

- The game tends to get choppy, at least on the 360 version I played. Mainly moving around the terrain, specifically the canyon level, will cause some slowdown. Otherwise it generally scales textures in and out fairly well.

- Did I mention this game is missile happy? The solution to increasing difficulty is to simply throw more missiles at you.This also has the side effect of making the difficulty ramp up drastically and without warning. Prepare to spam chaff for the entirety of some missions.

- Be prepared for "infinite reinforcement" moments where you simply cannot stem said tide of missiles because the jets firing them simply respawn.

- The story feels very disjointed and may as well not even be there.

- Very short. You can finish this in a few hours, same day, easily, on just about any difficulty (possibly barring ultimate due to said missile fetish making some of those missions absurd)

- Difficulty cannot be changed once you start the campaign. If you find later on it becomes much too hard, tough, start over.

-Army of One is simply a replay of the old mission maps with a "kill this many by this time" objective to unlock some armor skins for mission replays and other Army of One missions.

Ultimately, very shiny, and makes you feel pretty badass for the first few missions which is fun, but it's movie game syndrome all over again. It has it's moments, and if you can stand being very frustrated by a few missions (some lovely insta death moments) then it is at least worth a rental.

-(originally posted by myself on GT)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a one man army and a one man flight simulator...

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) May 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

53 out of 74 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

the title of this review may come across as a negative thing, but it realy isnt, its just the game in a nutshell. Ironman for the 360 is actually a solid title(finaly, a good superhero game that isnt spiderman 2). and i KNOW thats ur only drawback to this game. not ONLY is it a superhero game, but its also a MOVIE FRANCHISE game...normaly a recipe for disaster. but au contrair...LETS CHECK OUT THE PROS AND CONS!!!

the PROS:

1.decent graphics. realy very well done. but YES its IS a superhero movie game, so they arent exactly top notch.
2.gameplay. u can fly and hover, both wich handle FAIRLY well. u have long range weapons like grenades or missiles, then u have melee attacks that allow u to either smash a soldier or split a helicopter and/or tank in half. sound cool?.....kinda IS.
3.story. thankfully, its not JUST based on the movie. if ur a comic fan, u'll b able to spot out a few of the other missions straight out of a marvel book.
4.MY FAVORITE FEATURE, customization. its so great that this game doesnt get TOO repetative. what REALLY helps is that before each mission, u can upgrade ur suit and weapons. also...very cool...u get all the different costumes!

so the game is good, but no ones perfect, sooo...

THE CONS:

1.FLIGHT CONTROLLS. while they will normaly work well, u will usually end up just hovering around, and flight mode usually makes u feel like u do when ur drunk and playing flight simulator. it definitly takes getting used to, cuz its a little bit clumsy and it feels like it needs to correct u if u do a back flip. but boosting DOES look pretty cool.
2.my only other complaint is that i feel they REALLY could have done this game sandbox style. it would have been SOOO much cooler if u had free roam of the world, even if there were loading screens.

but this game is a definite rent, not sure on the buy, but a solid 8/10.

this review brought to you by Pucheo Films on Youtube. search "Pucheo" on youtube for off beat comedy and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unlike the movie...disappointing

posted by Rayvin13 (DARIEN, IL) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Spider-man 2, the game was better then the movie. Wolverines Revenge, better then all 3 X-men movies combined. Iron-Man...unlike the movie, crash lands after take off. This game falls short where many superhero movie based games do. An unoriginal, underdeveloped story line. The cut scenes seem hurried to tell the story before the player gets too bored and throws you right back into the action. And that's part of the problem. The cut scenes should be as enjoyable as the game itself. So in that aspect, they are...
The action is fast, intense and seemingly unending...but that's kind of the problem. Iron-man is a one man army, but there's too much coming at you to become fluid with his powers and fall way short of being anywhere near stylish. Yes, there is some gratification to ripping the tail off a helicopter, or catching a jet and send it straight into the ground...but ultimately you'll find yourself following the same recipe of routing power to life support, hovering in place and unleashing a barrage of energy beams and guided missiles. If senseless destruction is what you're looking for then this game is right up your alley...but much like the Hulk games...you just cant get passed the repetitiveness. Even the upgrade system is a joke, you can still beat the game without upgrading a single piece of your suit. Aside from the sarcastic comments of a decently voiced Tony Stark by Robert Downey Jr., I found myself quickly bored with the game and beat it (just for the sake of beating it) in approx. 12 hours. Bottom line: Skip it. Save your time and throw back to a classic such as Fable, or spend some more time terrorizing Liberty City. The movie, in my opinion, set a new standard in superhero movies and what they should be. I was hoping the game could do the same...unfortunately, it was another step back for this genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Why even fly??

posted by khujo78 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Man...this game could be quite AMAZING if it weren't for the horrible flying controls. That in turn wouldn't be much of an issue if that weren't a key ability for this character and what you had to do. You have some pretty nice weapons and the graphics are decent. I haven't seen the movie, so I don't know how well the storylines coincide...but I'm not complaining.
The controls for the weapons are pretty easy to get down, unless doing them while flying, lol. And since I'm back on it, the flying is not very good at all. You have hover..then you have flying, which are two different buttons. This in itself may not seem too bad until you realize you may have to alternate between flying and hovering...which pressing other buttons to use weapons (which also use different buttons). So there's alot going on durign a battle...and PLENTY of enemies to fight. I just think that your primary method of travel should not be as complicated as fighting your enemies (which is the main goal of the game). The gaming is a little glitchy int he beginning, but tapers off later on...Its just that darn FLYING lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive

posted by Outtellect (ALLEN, TX) May 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Iron Man is one of my favorite super hero characters. And it brings me great difficulty dissing this game but Iron Man is extremely repetitive and gets boring really quick.

Playing formidable mode is frustrating and definitely formidable. As you go deeper in missions you get ambushed 10x more every time and its RELENTLESS. I've tried different techniques to beat missions only to fail. I thought if i take out every jet plane it would get easier but the jet planes never stop appearing and they unload on you every time with a ton of missles. i destroyed over 70 jet planes in one mission and they kept coming. Its as if they have a million jetplanes lying around in the mountains of afganistan!!!

I got so frustrated trying to defeat entering "Maggies factory" I decided to play on normal level and the game totally deleted my progress in levels I defeated in formidable. In most games when you defeat a level you have the option to select the difficult afterward. NOT HERE. I had to start over again. The mission selection option is no longer an option if you decide to start a game at a different difficulty. AGAIN your not able to retrieve your previous mission accomplishments. But you can retrieve the video footage before the missions. Thanks ALOT!!!

Also missions are really long so if you defeat half the mission and die... You have to start all over again from the beginning. you could be near the end of the mission, if you die facing the boss... You have to start all over again doing the little stuff like destroying 80 planes + tanks, and military bases. AWESOME!

There's a difficult skill in the game where you push A button move to the side then push B button to catch incoming missles. Personally, Its a waste of time cause if you are lucky enough to catch a missle there's 5 coming toward you. Unfortunately I have to start all over again. Hopefully normal lever is much easier than formidable. Guess I won't get those achievement points. Thank you OH SO MUCH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lot's of fun

posted by scalan15 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) May 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm surprised by some of the lower scored reviews, this game is a lot of fun and very addictive, the graphics are great and the controls are very tight and work well. As for a prior negative review, he must be a terrible gamer because if you play the game right, (rerouting your suits power), it's very hard to die, you have 4 energy cells, so if you burn out all 4 you have to do the mission over, not that hard, if you're taking a lot of heat just back off for a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ironman for the XBOX360

posted by hrcbatman (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very dissapointed! The only cool thing bout this game was the flying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hope no one actually bought this

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Aug 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Honestly hope no one actually bought this Piece of Trash SEGA and ACTIVISION call a game. There is absolutly nothing in this game that could be considered fun the flight controls really suck but then again the whole piece of trash sucks you cant control Ironman trying to target something is next to Impossible. This is one so called game I would be very very very very ashamed to have worked on. Please for goodness sake dont buy this game or even rent it. Best Place for this Is In the Trash. Dont know what the programers were thinking actually they werent thinking I gave this one a ! but only because you cant rate games Lower then that if any game deserves a negative one million this one does

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stay Far, Far, Far Away From This Game!

posted by IlliniNate (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just got this from Gamefly and I am sad to say that it is several hours of my life that I will never get back. I did not even finish it because it was about to drive me insane. First of all, the gameplay is horrible. Every level is you flying around and getting shot by loads and loads of missils, bombs, cakes, babies and everything else you can think of. Most of the time you cant even reach your objectives because you have so much garbage being shot at you. Every mission is basically the same, the cutscenes look like Little Billy made them on his Playskool computer and even the achievements are annoying. Dont even waste your time because there are very few 360 games worse than this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hope No one ever plays this game

posted by xVFxSe7eN (BOSTON, VA) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like all movie/game releases your let down and feel sick to your stomach and want to crawl into a corner and pretend that you never played it. I spent about 1 hr playing this title if thats what you can call it, the graphics were at 5 and i am pushing that, the game play was horrific i have never played a game that lags in story mode, the one neat thing about this game is you can fly but that is ruined by the tedious controls during flight, i could go on about how bad it is and how i wanted to burn the disc but i think you have heard enough and you brave gamers who play this game all i can say is good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Built this in a cave ... with a box of scraps

posted by aggrazel (MAINEVILLE, OH) May 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To get the game devs in the proper frame of mind to build this game, they apparently mimicked the conditions of the cave that Tony Stark was locked up in in the movie. And fed them scraps. And had whips.

Its another bad movie game. What can I say. You fly around, you blow up stuff, you listen to witty commentary that they couldn't have bothered to get someone talented to write.

Some missions were frustratingly difficult, others were too easy. So an electro magnet is keeping Tony Stark alive and he'll die if it runs out of juice. One question, don't they make magnets that just work without any power?

Anyway, its fun for the kids but I really wish they'd put more time and thought into these movie games and make them more entertaining on their own, you should have to have watched the movie to understand whats going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Watch Ironman, THEN play this game

posted by Galakdessa (SEATTLE, WA) May 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It would seem that this is a pretty good adaption of a movie to video game (as far as video game movies go), probably the best since Superman (which isn't saying much).
The controls take some getting used to. There are ground controls and flight controls that both need to be learned in order to survive in the game. Believe me though, survival can be pretty easy. The AI can at times, become quite... well off I guess.
The graphics run pretty smoothly, although there can be some chop from time to time. The graphical quality is also well done. The shading and textures look quite well with a 1080p television.
As for the gameplay, there are many bosses in the game that are from Stan Lee's comic books, so if your a comic nut like myself, it's a good addition to the game. Theres more time spent in the air than rather the ground, because it's just more fun in the air I guess.
The sound is well done, drawing off the main actor of the movie. The explosions can sound flat from time to time and recycled, but it's not to worry all that much.
I found that if I went to watch Ironman in the theaters, then came home and played the game, I actually had a better time playing it. So if you like Ironman and have this game, go watch Ironman again, then speed home to hammer on this game.
All in all, it's enjoyable for a renter, but I'd keep it at that, a renter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please read full review for better help

posted by gam3Xpert (HOLLISTER, CA) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

OK LETS KEEP THIS SIMPLE :the game controls are xtremely bad, the flight controls are even worse, the games to short, the story line is not even close to the movie story, I mean c'mon theres only two actual movie storyline missions and even those dont resemble the movie's story line.theres a never ending helicopters and jets with heat seeking missles platoon shooting at you all the time and that can make boss battles harder than they alrady are.Oh and did i forget to mention no chekpoints kids so have fun starting the missions all over again after you've used up your two extra lives given to you from the start of every mission oh and by the way those two extra lives dont mean jack when theres a horde of missles flying at you all the time.if youre one of those several people who dont listen to the bad reviews about this game and trust me theres alot bottom line dont even waste your time thinking abot this title its totally the oppisite of what the actuall movie was, the movie was good not all the fact for this game the movie may have been so good it might have pumped you up for the game.so if you do get this title I recommend even for some of the most skilled players out there to start if off on the easy setting.

this has been a review by:gam3Xpert thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow...I am shocked!

posted by SengIV (OCALA, FL) May 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is actually very good. You pick it up and five hours later you stand up. Time flies when playing this game. Very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse