Rent Iron Man for PS3
view large frontback

Iron Man

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

1843 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

7.5 TOTAL, NOT BAD FOR MOVIE GAME.

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) May 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Truthfully theres nothing wrong with this game other than the usually movie game quallities. The graphics are excellent but not full pollished due to the rush to have the game released the same time as the movie. The cut scenes are good but not fully finished. The levels look and interact beautifully.

The targeting system is spot on and the controls are great considering every different possibility there is with Iron Man. With as many weapons on hand as you'd expect Iron Man to have, you just have to get complicated controls as the return,
If you've seen the movie then you know just how many failed attempts Tony Stark had a something a simple as hovering, Poor Shelby Cobra :(

The flight mechanics are on par with any Flight Simulator. At times its just great to pretend your a Bright Red Missile and just ram directly into whatever you want dead or gone. The game is great but it just feels like it was rushed to assembly.

I was massacure 7 times by Titanium Man before I shoveled the snow with him for no apparent reason. Literally I just owned him when all I did was stand still and fire away at him I can't explain why either.

The upgrade system is very nice and does yeild noticable results. Being able to wear different suits is also great.

All in all this is one of the better Superhero Movie to Game attempts I've seen yet. I recomend this to anybody who enjoys Iron Man comics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by venom96 (LEANDER, TX) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has great graphics, good game play, and is just alot of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iron Man

posted by Cman92 (FALL BRANCH, TN) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Game is very repetitive, and kinda boring. It is pretty cool to change suits and upgrade, but overall it isn't a game i would buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iron Man

posted by Artisgr8 (KENMORE, NY) May 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

10 out of 24 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I downloaded the demo off the PSN and thought it could be ok , but when i played it i found that they gave iron man to much power , like 3 hits and blows up a tank or a rocket launcher. So i said ok this is ok , so i rented it from Gf and boy was i suprised when i got it , the mark 1 even moves fast and demolishes tanks and stuff which is impossible , a man in a suit of sheet metal with flame throwers is just unrealistic in the sense of demolishing tanks and helicopters. So i said ok , but then you get the light beam thing and i said oh my god this is so cheasy , i beat a few more levels and said this is to stupid put in in the slip and sent it back the very same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Looks Great, but another typical movie game

posted by Bridge3000 (BELTSVILLE, MD) May 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I really hoped that after "Hulk: Ultimate Destruction" that developers would have take the cue to step it up for these kinds of games.

Iron Man had potential, but turned out just like the Superman game in a lot of ways, but a little worse. The "targeting system" is useless, unless I missed the instruction on auto-lock? The camera gets crazy when you take off to fly, and you have to hold down a trigger to hover while battling. The controls were fairly smooth until I had to fight. I couldn't seem to take advantage of any super-strength by being able to pick up anything!

The tutorial was frustrating when I had to learn how to dodge, which I still couldn't do at the end of the tutorial.

I'm really glad I just rented this, because the potential is totally wasted on crazy cameras, demanding control during aerial combat, and unusual limitations for a superhero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mario or Iron man who would win

posted by omnimechx (SAN RAFAEL, CA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Man i have to say this game sucks, not just sucks, but i mean its horrible, could the developers put together a game more faster than this one. or is it just the same as transformers, i mean they need to stop making games off from movies, unless they do it right, i mean the movie was off the hook, best movie iv seen for atleast 5 years. and than they put this sorry for a excuse game and name it iron man, they should of could it C&ap man, or bad graphics man, or just plain Sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Had High Hopes!!!!!!!

posted by jmrtn74 (Harriman, TN) May 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I just got the game in the mail and after 15m of gameplay, i put it back in the mail. its HORRIBLE the graphics are choppy, and its at most its just a ps2 game i was expecting so much more, im just glad i rented it before i bought it...............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good movie based game

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) May 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 26 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Nice graphics and good attention to detail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

the most boring, lame to play, and head smashingly bad controls games ever made. i wast of money. not much for me to say that already hasent been said. >:) airbender14

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

iron man one of the hardest games i've played

posted by ThunderLana (FAIRMONT, MN) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

by mission 7 i just quit and sent it back, i give this a 5 on its playing style

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Great

posted by kcmrc4 (UPLAND, CA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is a great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! People say its boring and stupid but don't get fooled. It is an amazing game. Sure it can get hard and boring at times, but overall great!!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It had promise!

posted by chemical36 (WHITMAN, MA) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

As a huge fan of Iron Man, I had high expectations for this game. At first, it delivered in spades. What more can you ask for than a game that puts you in the suit, allows you to fly, and gives you all the powers of Iron Man? How about a game that doesn't have nearly unbeatable sections?

Seriously, at first I had a lot of fun flying around, blasting the baddies and putting myself in the immersive world the devs created. But then it got to a point where not only did it get extremely difficult, but it also got extremely repetitive.

There is not much you can do against a weapon that drains your life in one shot and fires every 5 seconds. It takes nearly that long to charge your weapons to take out one of three generators.

I am not one to shy away from difficulty either. Heck, I made it half way through CoD2 on veteran (arguably one of the more difficult games created) before I smashed my controller. But this? Yeah, no thanks. There is a thing called giving the player a challenge and then just down right stupid difficulty.

My wife bought me Iron Man 2 for Christmas. Hopefully that will be a better more balanced effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

iron man

posted by gonzales10 (CANTON, OH) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

this game has to many glitches in it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK

posted by DrAuFinger (HOLT, MI) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

The controls are difficult to grasp. Flying while working the targeting system, and shooting the variety of weapons can be a challenge. You can do some cool stuff in the suit and the levels are decent action. Kind of nifty that you can redirect power to specific systems. I was ready to move on after a few levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stay away

posted by jakeob (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

superman 64 on ps3. That all I need to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ironman

posted by dolphins10 (AYLETT, VA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

this game is great i wouldnt say that the language is mild tho but still great game but the controls could hav been better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not that great

posted by dagamer13 (KAKE, AK) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game was really not like the movie. the graphic arent even realistic. the movie is way better than the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Iron Man

posted by mraot07 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game REALLY SUCKS! I played for 1 hour and after that I was wishing for my hour back! I immediatly shipped it back same day I got it. This was an horrible excuse for a game! pathetic!

The controls didn't make sense, the weapons were sort of limited.

And it was hard to hear everybody talking. And no subtitles!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

What a horrible game. I didnt even beat the last half because i was in disgust of how bad it is. Sorry dont rent it or even think about buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

waste of time

posted by tkaufman (SYRACUSE, NY) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

game is not good. when you kill people with the flame thrower they just fall over the same way as if you shoot them. flying controls are very difficult. i played this for 10 min and then sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Batenzi (HOMESTEAD, FL) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I really wanted to like this game. It starts off with very cool controls, hovering, flying, lock on target control and the weapons are fantastic. The problem is, the enemies are Quantity over quality. There is just too much going on and it turns into button masher instead of what it should have been. Also, the auto save points should have been closer together. Dying starts you off at the beginning of missions and forces you to play the same scenes again add nausea. This game had potential, but it was rushed out of production too soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too much like the movie

posted by Hardnock05 (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

It played out exactly like the movie, too predictable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lol feel sorry forthe 10 bucks i paid for the game

posted by kunlau2002 (North Pole, AK) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

i dont know but the game is made not ps3 but ps2 the grafic was horrible, i didnt belived when i saw the first scene,i was shoked i thought i put the wrong disk or something like ps2 but it wasn't.
well i'm glad that i didnt buy it early cause i really had big hopes for that one i even didnt belive all the rewies i red about the game,but i guess u get what u paid for.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a rent

posted by BlkViper (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Pretty fun game overall. Playing on hard difficulty brings out the most chaotic fights I've been a part of in some time. The only problem is there seems to be little or no method to the madness. Jets are nearly impossible to deal with and the enemies come out of nowhere to spray you with attacks about as dangerous as your standard BB gun. Missiles wreck you though and trying to catch them as the training insists is a complete joke because it's impossible. Overall I'm glad I rented it and would suggest any comic fan to do the same. The game does not go hand in hand with the movie it actually explores some more interesting areas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

iron man

posted by illusion88 (Murrieta, CA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

If you are under 12 then is game might be rad only because its iron man who is just one of the more popular comic hero's out there but besides that this game put me to sleep after an hour and a half of play'n it. First the levels are way to long and the battle time is just way to easy, although the boss guys make it interesting, getting to him/her is no contest. So anyone with kids under 12 or hasn't seen the movie this game might make u satisfied but for everyone else well u should get the hint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse