Rent Iron Man for Wii
view large frontback

Iron Man

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

765 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

my Iron man Review

posted by moonstone (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Iron Man is one of my favorite comic book heroes of all time. I mean, come on, who doesn’t like a guy who flies around in an indestructible suit of iron? Recently, he had a movie come out and it became a summer blockbuster. Sadly, I can’t say the same for the video game.
During the game, you play as Tony Stark (aka Iron Man), and you start out in the terrorist hideout, just like in the movie. You are wearing the first-ever Iron Man suit as you make your way through the terrorists until you escape and blow up their weapons. After the first level, you can choose what suit of armor you want to wear, whether it is from the movie version of the Iron Man, or the comic book version of the iron suit. The game play gets really repetitive since all you do is fly from place to place and beat up goons. The missions are pretty easy, no matter what difficulty level you’re on. You can upgrade your weapons also. A heads-up! Some of them do different things and have different amounts of ammo. There isn’t really a life gauge either. When you’re in critical condition, you can easily reboot your heart system, so you never lose a life, which is annoying, but then again, it’s Iron Man.
The boss fights are a little tricky from time to time, since some of them have force fields around them. You can hit them when the fields are down until they go up again, but your ammo doesn’t seem to do anything to their armors. As a result, you have to go into melee attacks, but they don’t need a lot of strategy. The final fight in the game is, of course, against the enemy in the movie. Since it takes all your ammo from your machine gun and rockets to take half of his energy away, he’s only tough during the first part. If you have seen the movie, then you know what happens to him in the second half.
The graphics don’t really help either, because they’re “last generation” and don’t stand up to graphics like Super Mario Galaxy or Super Smash Brothers Brawl. Overall, it’s just another bad movie game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Iron Man" the movie's much better than this game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Iron Man's a shooter; you've got one powered up armor loaded with repulsors, a beam that shoots out of your chest, a gatling gun, and mini missiles.
There's nice voice work from the actors of the movie, but the cut scenes don't have the zip the movie has.
The controls work very well (though it takes a little time for me to get used to them.) The missiles and Gatling gun had a delay between the time I pressed the trigger and when they actually fired, making the game harder then it has to be.
Over ten missions, you blast your way through bad guys and perform some waggling of the Nunchuck to destroy all the weapons Stark Industries sold.
But the list of enemies is very small: you've got soldiers, tanks, helicopters, floating orbs, and that's about it. The game gets very repetitive very fast (if you've gone through three missions, you've gone through them all.)
For $50, I was looking for more variety in weapons, missions, and enemies. Besides, most of you could get through the game in about six hours - not enough to justify that $50 price tag.
Iron Man's a good weekend rental - or week rental - and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IRON MAN!!!

posted by killer27 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 4, 2008

Member since May 2005

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

At first when I heard that this game was going to come out on the wii i was about the pre order it...but I'm glad i didn't.
The pros:
1.You are IRON MAN
2.follows the movie pretty good
3.great cut scenes
4.awesome voice acting from actual actors from the movie

CONS:
1.playstation 1 graphics
2.the enemys all die pretty much the same way
3.some missions are way to pointless or repetitive and long
4.enemys all die within at most 2 hits
5.doesnt take full advantage of wii remote
6.Awkward control scheme.

To me I'm being generous giving this a 7 but it was iron man so i had to.
To me I think there should have been free roam because I would have really like to fly around a city as iron man. I say rent the 360 or ps3 version they are graphically and better action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rated 6 but below average effort on Wii

posted by hocky98 (MILPITAS, CA) May 3, 2008

Member since May 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had hopes up for this game. After playing the demos for both 360 and PS3 I was thoroughly confusing my fingers on the buttons to press. At least on the Wii, its a bit more straight forward.

However, there are some technical flaws that keeps me from hitting the "keep it" button. First, the game's quality suffers as objects disappear and reappear. This makes it hard to clear a stage because a enemy can suddenly appear.

Another major flaw is that the game is not in wide screen ratio. It makes the game look really fuzzy and fat on a 16:9 or 16:10 display.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iron Man is the band-aid of movie tie-ins

posted by MagnumApex (CARLSBAD, CA) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Iron Man is not a bad videogame.

It is also not a great videogame, and maybe not even a good videogame, but it surely clawed its way, kicking and screaming, out of the powerful clutches of licensed boredom. This in itself is a notable achievement, as developers of licensed videogames usually run inside shelters, with canned foods and children in hand, as they prepare to face the storm of a short development schedule and meager budget, followed by the aftermath of critical decimation mixed in with the continually disappointing financial success.

Thankfully, the minds responsible for this videogame (directly or indirectly) chose player movement and control as the sole beacon of light in an otherwise bland-tasting playground. I don't much mind that I can't shoot while happily flying like a rocket using my suit's afterburners after rerouting power to boost its propulsion. I don't feel too bad when shooting at frozen 2D Sprites half-disguised as real humans and tanks when it's so easy to release my repulsor blasts and dodge what appear to be actual bullets.

If you want the proverbial experience of "I want to feel like Iron Man," then Sega and A2M succeeded in motion, but only in motion. It isn't so much that shooting still targets is bad as much as it is an excuse to fly and look around as the videogame's only good-looking 3D model. There are flashes of gameplay where I'm actually excited in completing a mission, and these moments usually happen in full, open spaces with a ridiculous number of enemies coming from all sides. I can hover behind a pillar to avoid missiles coming my way, then crop out from the other side and shoot down a helicopter. I'll then fly down to a tank, rip its cannon and use it to smash the vehicle in pieces, recharging my power to all three sections. I'll then hover back up as I release seeking Stan Lee rockets on the unsuspecting ground terrorists.

There is no strategy or depth, but at times, it can be mindless fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not the best

posted by DieHard258 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was O.K. NOT FOR 13 AND UP BUT ANY ONE BELOW THAT AGE WOULD INJOY IT FOR THE MOST PART

THERE WERE A COUPLE GLICHES AND IT TAKE A WHILE TO GET USED TO THE CONTROLS BUT AFTER THAT THE GAME IS EASY

I RECOMENED STARTING OUT ON THE MEDEUM LEVLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Iron man good's and bad's

posted by Glitch78 (INDIO, CA) May 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hi, My name is Nick. I'm an 11 year old gamer and I got Iron man from game stop a while after it's realese to try it out. but sadly after I got to the third level it started to get kind of boring. I'm also not impressed with the voice acting, But the visuals are sweet. The game play is rock solid and that is useful when up against five tanks. The finishing moves are pretty impressive but get old because you can only do them to the tanks and helicopters. They do have a bit of swearing in it such as the d word and b word but that's all. All in all it is a great game with great graphics but it's a game that feels more like a rental than an actual purchase but if you feel that it is absolutely you're thing than it is you're decision not mine.

long time gamer,
Nick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one man tank

posted by gonzagon (ELLINGTON, CT) May 4, 2008

Member since May 2005

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

your basically a one man tank in this game and...who doesn't love that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Surprised by "mild" language

posted by Momto2boys (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My sons thought the game was okay. My mouth dropped open when I heard the game dialog say "son-of-a-b!". There were some other strong cuss words that weren't appropriate for my 11 year olds to hear continually so I made them turn off the volume while they played the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

engagin dialogue?

posted by bobbabooey (BLOOMSBURG, PA) May 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The graphics and and concept are excellent but the dialogue destroys both. Plus moving to far out of range is way to easy... 'are you lost sir? Absolutely not back to it.' was the repeated phrase that got this game turned off prematurely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I am Iron Man

posted by dogwhisperer (CONNERSVILLE, IN) Jul 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was so cool I love the open environments. You will never get board with it change up the equipment and strategy a level will seam completely diferent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great gameplay but...

posted by Wiimasta (GLOUCESTER, VA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I'm not sure if it's just me though, my view kept locking up and i had to pause it for a mintute or two so i could move my view around. other than that the fighting was great, the flying was amazingly done, and the graphics were decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

thats it that was the final straw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by chickencow (CLEARFIELD, UT) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

it absulutley sucked i'm getting the 360 probaly better games!!! THIS ONE SUCKSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Feels sorry for people who bought it

posted by rastaraqi (Corpus Christi, TX) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

These developers spent all their time on the graphics and abilities of Iron man and left everything else bland and just plain bad. As Iron Man flies about dozens of enemies are just pummeling him with bullets. This one goes down as another rushed movie game that is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sucky sweetness

posted by bloiop (FRISCO, TX) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game had a pretty good storyline different from the movie yea but probably for the better because if it follow the movie exactly what would u do escape captivity learn to fly save refugees and kill stane that makes for a 30 minute game. although the game is still short cause i beat it in 1 week and my mom limits me to only 30 minutes a day. another problem is that u can never die u loose ur health and hunch over while jarvis puts u in manual reeboot and u just have to press the 3 buttons at the bottom of the screen and even if u mess up jarvis just reeboots for u and either way full power is restored to all systems which realy makes dying a good thing when repulsors ar on low energy once i left while a guy was shooting me with missles cause my wiimote died so i got back 10 minutes later with new batteriesand the guy was still shooting me once i got up from jarvis reboot and i had full everything althogh i did love flying around and blowing things up so it was a pretty good game even though it had all those problems i mentioned

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

S.U.C.K.S

posted by espnfan13 (MONMOUTH, OR) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1.Bad Graphics
2.No where close to the movie
3.Bad voices
4.Little Kid gameplay
5.Stupid levels.
This is not a good game to play if you have already seen the movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Iron man play

posted by justme1 (HAVRE, MT) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I thought that the graphics were fun. My children had a hard time controlling the Ironman. Infact, My husband thought it was too difficult for him to control. This would be a good game for gamers who enjoy challenge. There is realistic killing without the blood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mediocre to Awful Game

posted by LPerry86 (WEST ROXBURY, MA) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This is one of the worst superhero games I've played, or it was just defected. The first time I played it it was a great game. The second time I couldn't control Iron Man. I felt a little bit ripped off, I think the game was defected. I think that the game creators could pay better homage to the development of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

is that it

posted by joebobiam (NORTH JACKSON, OH) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game was alot of fun on the open ended, go where you want kinda thing. Just like alot of other games out now, to short. I beat it in less then 3 days of casual playing. So i guess that's why i have gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easily Gets Boring(Along with many other problems)

posted by Andy88 (MARIETTA, OH) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Lets start off with how boring it is, the game was so boring the first 15 minutes I turned it off and came to write this review. To aim and look around you had to move the Wii remote, my arm was hurting from all the pointing, although the song that plays (Iron Man, By: Black Sabbath)during the game is good, I gave the game a 5 mainly on graphics, the graphics aren't amazing but they are pretty good. About as good as Endless Oceans graphics. I didn't get past the first level in 15 minutes and all you basicly do at first is aim at random people and they fall over about the same way each time, similar to a few 2005 games. If the game had the ability to freely run around like SpiderMan and some Incredible Hulk games(made by the same people who made this game)it would make it better, I simply don't try to beat games, I just run around testing the graphics and things like that. It could use some work but it isn't terrible. Maybe try it, I wouldn't recomend trying it or buying it if you just run around and don't even try to beat it like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNBELIEVEABLE

posted by SporeRox21 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Definatly the best SuperHero Game Period. You'll start playing it and right away you should notice that this game will be amazing and it keeps getting better. I loved the heck out of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another horrible movie Game

posted by Gonzo151 (CHASKA, MN) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

What can I say this game for the Wii is pure weakness to put it lightly. The only reason I was able to give it a 4 was it held my 6 year old sons attention and he seemed to like it. It looked terrible it played terrible and the controls were a joke I had to put my wife in a Time Out for putting this on the Q lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tough controls

posted by 1hotwife (MAYTOWN, PA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Maybe it's just me, but this game has an extremely high learning curve. Now I didn't play it very long, but the flying while trying to lock on to a target is almost impossible. It just isn't very user friendly. I've been playing games for about 25 years and this game just didn't keep my interest enough to care whether I learned the controls or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Iron man is... THE BOMB!!!!

posted by DeltaSquad (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 13, 2008

Member since May 2007

Iron man is cool because you can change your armor. Have classic suits, and you can fall down to do a pound ground. Some of the bosses are great because, they have shields. You fly high to the sky and you can fly into helicopters and bust jeeps, tanks, and helicopters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

About what you would expect

posted by bmook22 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game is mediocre at best. Graphics are about what you would expect and gameplay is okay, worth a rental, but that's about it. Biggest complaint is controls; more times than not when there's action, the wiimote isn't recognized and in the time spent getting the signal back you've missed something. And, maybe it's just me, but the afterburner feature pretty much had me nosediving into the turf more times than not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse