Rent Iron Man 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Iron Man 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, DS, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
4.4

1398 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really, don't play this, it encourages them...

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) May 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

38 out of 40 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Iron Man 2 is a terrible game. Rarely have I laughed so hard while having such a bad time, so I felt the need to share.

The graphics actually hurt my eyes - as in nothing looked liked it belonged together at all and trying to figure out what things were was nearly impossible causing my eyes pain. Character models were strikingly good - so much so that when the non-main character models like random pilots were highlighted, they looked much worse - while environments were messy, enemies were difficult to see and the camera is fairly miserable. After playing several other games released this year, I questioned several times while playing IM2 if it was actually 2010 and not still 2006.

The gamebreaker, however, is IM's targeting system - apparently Jarvis (IM's electronic butler/onboard computer) is incapable of keeping a lock-on anything not directly in front of IM. Combat is one long struggle of keeping IM pointed directly at said target without touching the right thumb stick because that will change targets. REALLY? The camera control auto targets at will making destroying a single target nearly impossible if it moves at all, not to mention his Unibeam, which rarely connects.

And did anyone ask why the character model of Miss Potts looks NOTHING like Gwenyth Paltrow when IM & Warlord (Downey Jr. in movie but a different voice actor who plays IM in Marvel's animated series - did a good job - and Cheadle respectively) look EXACTLY like their movie counter parts?

I admit I couldn't get thru the whole thing (I did, however, get thru the entire 1st IM and rather enjoyed it, but not this one). There is a whole lot more wrong with the game, but really, just save yourself the time, disappoinment, and eye pain and just skip this one. I'm really sorry I played it, really glad I have Gamefly and feel VERY good about sending it right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OH NO! ITS 1999 AGAIN!

posted by armored06 (MONROVIA, CA) May 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward playing this game. Do yourself a favor and dont rent it. It truly feels like they made another Superman (or superman 64 as many people knows it) Trust me this game is not even worth a rental. Play the demo from xbox live and you will see. They did achieved something with this game. They proved that even with a next gen hardware, it is possible to make a game with the quality of 2 gens ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just bad

posted by cov331 (FREMONT, OH) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was litteraly opened up taken out of the package and shipped back in 5 minutes later. the controls just did not go well at all! the graphics were so so, but better from the first one. but the game was horrible i would not suggest this to ANYONE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst SuperHero/Movie tie-in Game ever??

posted by DungaDubal (MURRIETA, CA) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off, I'm giving this a 3 strictly because I feel it needed points for effort and War Machine. I remember a lot of talk about how the last game was a little overbearing with its constant barrage of enemies, in which i did not agree with until this game came along. I immediately found the simplest of foes to be insanely difficult only because of the uncooperative camera, single-button mashing combos and an insanely confusing HUD. But what really got me was the upgrade system. I've never been so lost with what to do in a game in my life. I felt like I needed to be some kind of Technical Savant just to understand what kind of weapons to use for which suit. I spent more time trying to upgrade than I did in actual gameply. I've been playin for less than 2 hours and I'm more than half through and I just could not have been more disappointed with a movie-to-game tie-in. Ever. Superman Returns was better...yea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost

posted by Larkonman (HALIFAX, MA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Well its better than Iron man 1...But not by much. The game is only 8 levels, I beat it in 3 hours on hard mode, so its not a long game. The difference between playing as Iron man and War machine is a mini gun so don't expect much there. The customization of weapons and suits was a pretty good plus but not enough to pull this game out of the fire. The changes to the flight controls are certainly...different good or bad I'll let you decide. I found them to be a pain at first but I got the hang of them eventually, not to say that I liked them but that I could use them. The weapons system I actually liked, targeting was good but his range is awful. Also the destructible environment was a nice change of pace from Iron man 1. Overall I would say rent don't own this one unless your a die hard Iron man fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it's fun game but don't expet greatness

posted by Drizzle (SANTEE, CA) May 8, 2010

Member since May 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

hey I am a big fan of IronMan

but i was a little disappointed with this game, the graphics were a little weak... the ones from the 1 game were better... give granted they if you played the 1st iornman you will notice that.. also the controls are better pretty simple..

the story is pretty good and for those of you who haven't seen the movie yet and don't to play the game till after you seen the movie... well don't worry about that because this game story is NOWHERE near the story in the movie.

overall it is a fun and quick game I played it and got all the achievements for it in about 6h total time....

a fun rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worse game i ever played

posted by jgrimm50 (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok first of all this game is a dud i mean when you make a game from a movie it suppose to have similarities from the movie and its short i got the game today and i beat it today, im glad i didnt play iron man 1 because they said iron man 2 would be way better so i would have gone crazy from the boredem from iron man 1, so to end this its not worth the rent.

peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game sucked

posted by omgrukidin (NEWTONVILLE, MA) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

12 out of 56 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

plain and simple it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Iron Man 2

posted by bdydrpd88 (ROCKLEDGE, GA) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Sucky game, controls are horrid, definitely would not recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by talkgeeky2me (ITHACA, NY) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I somewhat enjoyed the first Iron Man game, for what it was. I gave the first game a "5". This game is absolute garbage. The graphics are horrendous. The background scenery in the first Iron Man game was prettier than this game. The flight mechanics and control did not get better from the original to its sequel, but it actually got worse. They made the game overly complicated this time around which did not better the overall experience. I will normally tough out a game for the sake of completing it, but I couldn't bear this game a second longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tin Man 2

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

First Off i rented this game because I enjoyed the 1st Iron man Game. Soon as this game started and I got to play for 5 minutes I knew right away it was going to be a painful experience.
The Graphics were something you would expect out of a game from 1997. the Controls were jerky and unresponsive. the Flying was super super slow and felt like you had no real control what so ever.
the weapons are ehh.
i don't know how They go from making the first Iron man game which had good graphics,great controls,beautiful flying controls and just an all around amazing game...To Iron man 2...WOW!! soooooo let down by this game. I couldn't even Beat the game because the difficulty is unreal...i made it to the last fight and almost beat him but the controls were my down fall...that and They didn't refill my health and I only had 1 bar of health at the end so it was impossible.

Bottom line is rent Iron man 1. Avoid this game like the Plague

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool it took 3 days to send back mw3 then took

posted by 4mcelravys (PAYETTE, ID) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 days to come back hey halomasheift cook me a steak ok your still on right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh!!

posted by Pirate_man34 (BUZZARDS BAY, MA) May 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game wasn't what I expected, not very good graphics and it all seems repetitive, Would strongly advise you don't buy the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as I though

posted by Nonnowhisky (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

To be honest, this little game was pretty fun. Easy achievements that only take about 6 hours to get. The controls never do feel right, and while playing as War Machine in the last level, the controls had me furious. But at the end of the game, I came out with a Super Easy 795 gamerscore, and not too bad of a game to boot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ironman 2

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game is good for the gamers who prefer easy games over hard ones. Based on the story I assume it is a tie-in to the movie of something. Great graphics and gameplay. As I said if you like easy games this one is right up your ally if you like challenging games then this will be somewhat of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Iron Man 2

posted by homerunmonkey (CHICO, CA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Simply put, Iron man 2 is the worst sequel ever. the graphics in the first one were shakey but it was good enough to play through. in the sequel the graphics were just terriable. Iron man was huge and bulky witch was unrealistic. the controls were very difficult to operate compared to the first. the flight controls were terriable. and the boundries were very small. you could bearly even fly upward before you had to go back. I just thought it was a waste of my time playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another movie game

posted by RacemeReview (LANSING, MI) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

Ironman2 was nothing like the first Ironman game sure you can still fly and still take full control of War machine and Ironman but none of that matters in this game.

The graphics seem ok at first but after looking at the screen while playing this game for more then an hour they start to really bug you!

The Action of the game was pretty good i will give you that but after a bit it was just awful flying around and fighting was 2 things that i hoped would be good but not really those 2 really do not go together well in this game.

I think movie games should not be but the characters of the movies should have there very own game not following the movie in any way. make an iroman game that has its own story like the comics but dont make an ironman game for the movie bad combo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

iron man 2

posted by bubba246 (PROSPECT, CT) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is the worst game that I have ever played. By the second level it gets very boring and there is not even alot of action in this game. If you rent this game you will surely regret it. Stupidest game ever. (don't say you weren't warned)!!!!!!!!!!!! I rate this game a 3 of 4 yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuukkkk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Feel bad for those who bought this one

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

It's all too often game developers pump out terrible budget titles for movie releases. This is no exception. I'm quite surprised to see SEGA and Havok both had their parts in this pile of hot garbage. IM2 is also single-player only, so you can't even bring a friend along to join you on this epic journey.

Iron Man 2 is not even based off the movie. Combine a new story that nobody cares about with bad voice overs, blurry graphics, and even worse controls, and you have a nice accurate rating of 3.

I couldn't get the hang of this red & yellow pixelated blurry thing flying around in the sky. Oh wait, that's Iron Man. The controls are abysmal. It's trying to be too much at the same time. You can't have good hand-to-hand melee combat, aerial combat, flying stunts and moves, upgrade capabilities, and have the power to be both Iron Man and War Machine, and expect it all to be good.

I'd rather you give me something that works in much smaller package than try to do it all and mess everything up. Even the navigation menus to upgrade and switch modes was awfully confusing and non user friendly. They couldn't even get that right.

My recommendation is to stay away from this game unless you are looking to score achievement points. It's good for that, but that's about it. If you want good Iron Man action, go rent Marvel vs Capcom 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So easy I give it a 10

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

Played it on the hardest level and still beat it in 2 1/2 hours. Easy game for points. I beat the game 3 times before I even realized how to upgrade the weapons I purchased. THIS GAME IS 2 EASY ! If your looking to up that gamer score Iron Man 2 is fun...and easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Iron man 2

posted by billjohns (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I had high hopes for this game and it met none of them!!!!! The flying system was horrible and too dang tricky to figure out. I mean you should be able to fly at a good speed and also be able to move. The wweapons system was just horrible. Reloading/cool down time was too long.. the missle system could not even track movement of a few degrees by the target. Having owend IRON MAN 1 I should have expected as much from the second one. I am truly offended by the slow loading and the glitches in game play. I don't know about other platforms but for xbox 360 this game was not worth the wasted space on my gamefly list..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible - Game

posted by rizwanholo (LAUREL, MD) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I played 10 Minutes of it and I hate it.... Waste of my Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game felt like a demo not the real game

posted by welzy9819 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

Demos are short and not much to them so I ask where the real Iron man 2 game did they release the wrong one left the real one with the good story and graphics. They must have!!!! Its a playable game one where you can walk away with 750 gamer score i had it for 8 days before i had enough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is that it?

posted by BrooklynKT (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Really? 8 Missions? That's it? What a croc, this game should be at least twice as long and should have a few free roam missions so you have a bit more freedom. The graphics were alright and the story fairly decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Sucks

posted by Mathazar (WASHINGTON, NC) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Almost as bad as bayonetta.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse