Rent Iron Man 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Iron Man 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.6

1155 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iron Man 2

posted by Ericknopf (FAIR LAWN, NJ) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

While the game shows very good improvement from Iron Man 1, it's still a bit of a let down. Don't get me wrong, it's has a good story, it's just doesn't really show the events from the movie. It's more like a continuation of the Iron Man 2 movie. The targeting system could have used more work. The big flaw is the game is way too short. Forget about being able to beat this game in a day, one will be able to beat this game in a few hours. The character modeling was a let down considering the state of modern computer graphics. Graphics wise, it looked more like a PS2 game than cutting edge PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Iron Man 2- PS3 Review

posted by jtr1997 (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 9

Gameplay: 7

Overall: 8

This is a great game. I highly reccomend it to someone who likes action games and also likes Iron Man, like myself.

Pros:
1. Awesome graphics.

2. Decent gameplay

Cons:
1. Doesn't follow the storyline of the movie at all.

2. Tony's voice isn't done by Robert Downey Jr.

3. Gameplay is kinda repitive, like the first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a disappointment

posted by Lionchild (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I had played the predecessor and I thoroughly enjoyed, but was no where close to that.

The maneuverability sucks! This game was made for kids. Even the graphics aren't that good. I was expecting something like the first one, but was disappointed.

It seems like they rushed in making this game.

What a shame, Iron man 2 the game had such potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much better

posted by MDHG212 (JOPLIN, MO) May 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well, most of us know, that the first Iron Man game wasn't exactly GOTY material and we didn't expect it to be. We did, however, expect to get a well made Iron Man game. We didn't get that either. While the first game wasn't bad, the second one outdoes it one every level.

Iron Man 2 is fun! Pure and simple. The flight is much easier and enjoyable. The customization comes close to rivaling Army of Two's weapons customization. The story is not based on the movie! They say 5% of the movie is in the game. Well those 5% are the likenesses and voices performed by two actors from the movie. That's it. That being said, this is not a movie game. You have an entirely new storyline and different enemies.

Now it's time for the bad stuff.
The controls are a little hard at first but once you get them down, it's a piece of cake. Customizing your suit is a little tedious but the same goes for it. The biggest drawback is the story. It's very short. You can blow through this game in about 5 hours or so. But you can play it at least twice due to the fact that you can choose to be either Tony or Rhodie for most of the missions therefore giving you different dialogue throughout the game. The animation is a little tough on the eyes as well especially during the cut scenes but that's not why you'll play this game.

You'll play this game for the pure exhilaration of blowing stuff up and being Iron Man or War Machine! Very simple. If you've got some time to spare then check this one out. It's fun, short, and to the point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

One day

posted by Undien1 (SMITHFIELD, VA) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

One day Iron man will get a decent game, this by far was not. Again dissapointed in the game controls, and the stiffness of flying. Do not get me wrong this game has potential but I really feel let down and gave this one a chance thinking SEGA learned from their mistakes and boy was I wrong. There was not much to enjoy so the 3 rating was merely for the story and actor voicing, the rest well again I hope one day Iron Man gets beefed up and hopefully by the same company who turned the Spiderman series around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

fool me once shame one you.twice shame on me

posted by vandal (MODESTO, CA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

not good....hoooorrrriibbbuuuullll

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Iron Man 2 shuts down my PS3

posted by tonyb36 (WELLINGTON, FL) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Iron Man 2 shuts down my PS3 at the point where you hit start to start the game. Whenever I insert the CD, the PS3 just shuts down inexplicably.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the iron man 2 game sucks!!!!

posted by biggz954 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sucks...the game really really sucks just like the first one...its hot garbage!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iron Man 1 is Better

posted by Financial (ORLANDO, FL) May 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall I would say the game is a disappointment. Felt a lot like Transformers. In my opinion, Iron Man 1 was better in graphics, story, and game play than Iron Man 2. This is definitely a rental if your out of options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is an epic fail

posted by That1Dood (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only thing stopping me from smashing the game was that i rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I like marvel comics but this is a horrible game

posted by Mathazar (WASHINGTON, NC) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is shamelessly awful. It is obvious that this was put out simply to ride the movie train. The graphics aren't even sub par. The game play is non existent. The story is borderline mentally handicapped. I love Marvel Comics and even loving them can't make me finish this game. Yay for gamefly! I didn't waste money on this piece of toilet paper!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A slight improvement over the original game

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) May 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For those of you who played the first Iron Man game, Iron Man 2 is a slight improvement.
In the first game one of the most problematic areas of the game was the flying game mechanic. Iron Man 2 was given an overhaul in this area. Now the controls for flying are more akin to an Armored Core game and it works much better than the first game. The controls are still not precise enough to navigate an exhaust vent, though the game will make you do it anyway. The flight controls work ok in the more open environments where running into walls is not an issue.
Iron Man himself feels stronger than he did in the first game. He can take care of weaker enemies easily and the more powerful enemies can be dispatched with finishing moves. Iron Man and War Machine’s suits can be upgraded with a light RPG type upgrading system. However, the upgrades cost a lot of mission points (points acquired during missions) and don’t seem to really do very much.
The environments are also destructible this time around, which adds a little bit more fun to the game since you can blow up buildings and other junk that’s lying around.
However, the core game play in Iron Man 2 is still just plain boring. Missions are very similar and the action is too repetitive. The combat is so simplistic that it devolves into button mashing to dispatch foes whether you are using melee or ranged weapons. Also, the unlockable suits seem really counter productive since only two of the suits are actually better than the suit that you start out with.
Overall, this game is a slight improvement over the original game. If you are really into the Iron Man movies you might find enough content in this game to keep you entertained, but this game still has a long way to go to be a game worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by crackhead (BRONX, NY) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

once you get familiar with the controls youll have a blast if your and iron man fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game...if this was for PS2!

posted by jjohn2478 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bad, clunky, confusing confusing controls, horrible PS2 graphics, bad plot, bad voice acting....i could go on and on!!!

I played this for 15 minutes only to confirm all the bad reviews. Once in a great while I love a game most people hate, but this sadly was not one of them. Unfortunately, just like the movies, Marvel has yet to make a good game for any system...

This has the ability to be sooo good if they hired good people to work on it and gave it enough time and testing. The movie industry and Marvel and so super rich that there is no excuse for another bad movie or game and I hope this is the last bad game they ever release!

Believe the bad reviews, skip this one, and go for anything not Marvel for the next game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh...

posted by ZeroCS (BROOKLYN, NY) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly I wasn't expecting much of this game, but I never expected it to be so mediocre either, and in an honest opinion I think this game had potential had SEGA not gone lazy on it.

Story wise, it's not too related to the movie, and in fact is quite boring, especially since both heroes tend to say the exact same thing. It really should have contained events during and after the movie for a better experience.

Graphics wise everything today should look fantastic whether the game is a hit or a pile of feces in disc form, for some reason, this game seems like it was made before the Y2K rumors were settled, and I can't think of any reason for that besides developer laziness.

Gameplay is also confusing and lacking. The camera angles when melee attacking can mess you up big time, you will continue punching relentlessly at pavement WAY after you've stopped hitting the square button, the targeting system is too out of wack and the weapons don't have that piszaz they should. I can barely see the beam coming out of Iron Man's chest or the Missiles out of War Machine. Another note, the difference between Iron Man and War Machine is suppose to be that Iron Man is faster while WM brings the firepower. In all honesty, I can't see a huge difference in outcome of battle if I fly a little faster, cause the majority of the time you're fighting you will probably be strafing slowly or standing still.

I don't want to shun the game completely because I was interested in it enough to play both heroes, but only because I'm a nerd at heart, otherwise it's a rather uninteresting gaming experience, which is to be expected from a movie game. I do think that Sega was not the fit company to make this game, since it is really out of their usual style, but unless developers made this a bigger project than it needed to be I really can't see this game being any better than it is now or even if someone like Free Radical or Bioware produced this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Strike 2 for Iron Man

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) May 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the movie tie-in game for Iron Man 2. You can play either Iron Man or War Machine. Some one has stolen a copy of JARVIS, Tony Stark's AI butler, and released nano bots bent on assimilating the world Borg style. You have to stop it. I seem to recall the exact same nano bot plot being used in Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2.
Okay, so Sega made a huge deal out of the fact that this game would not suck like the first one. They hired a brand new studio to make it and promised to make it fun. They failed.
Basically, Sega changed the game mechanics. But, someone forgot to tell Sega that different does not mean better or fun.
The flight mechanics are just as broke as the first game. You can customize your character a little better. The story is cobbled together.
Iron Man 2 is a rental only for the serious Iron Man fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad Graphics

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

What year is it? It looks like 2000 to me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my view on ironman 2

posted by rfrost81 (WEST MONROE, LA) May 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game has excellent graphics, story line and weaponry set up, as far as fabrication, upgrades and use are just awesome. The graphics are as if you are watching a cartoon, whether it be during an FMV or during game play. I am only part of the way through it and the hardest person I have fought was the hybrid, trying to wear him down enough to keep him in that portal looking room while making my way to the control panel to close the doors and activate the machine, that took me about 5 tries of back and forth and dieing once to figure that out plus hastily getting to the control panel to activate the machine and what not. So far, I have unlocked about 3-4 out of possibly 10 suits(not including the suits you start with). I am just now at the S.H.E.I.L.D.S. flying fortress using the WarMachine armor, and it is interesting to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Iron Man is better than ever!!!!

posted by wolverineX (SEATTLE, WA) May 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

OK, so let's be honest for one moment; I LOVE THIS GAME. every one says "oh no, don't get that one, it's horrid" however, this game is one of the very few fun movie games I've ever played. first up are the controls; they are very complex and cool and can be easily mastered, especially during flight. In the first Iron Man game the flight controls were very difficult to use and I found my self often either on the ground or going berserk. another revolutionary game-play tool was the lock on targeting, which with the tap of R1 (PS3) would quickly direct every thing fired at the target who's health is being displayed. Also, the ability to toggle between War Machine and Different Iron Man suits, (MK I, MK II MK III, MK IV, MK V, MK VI Classic Iron Man and so on) is very helpful. Most people will say no to Iron Man 2: the video game for Xbox 360 and PS3 but if i know anything, it's that this game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing...

posted by billy618 (NACOGDOCHES, TX) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Didnt find the game very fun at all...played it for a couple of hours and stopped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very disappointing

posted by Steiganator (LAKE ZURICH, IL) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I got a copy of the game from my que and it didn't even work. I even tried using my professional $150 video game CD cleaning machine. Thats Bull

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by BoxyOrphan03 (BALDWIN PARK, CA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

i recieved the game and i couldnt play it at all because the disc was actually broken!!!! this is horrrible and then i returned the game through the mail and it says that they never recieved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where Have All The Good Super Hero Games Gone?

posted by Snowman5000 (ESSEX, MD) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I have never done a review before but this game has forced my hand. First off let me Say I love Super Hero Games especially Iron Man but this shouldnt even be in existence. I couldnt even make myself finish the 3rd board not because I was Having a hard time in fact it was too easy its so clunky to the point that I felt I was playing a Flight Sim from PS1! The fighting felt like I was swinging at air and as for the customization they jammed to much into it. This is probably one of the worst games ever. It only gets a 2 out of 10 from me because it is an Iron Man game with War Machine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not As Bad As People Make It Sound

posted by Thaelryn (FLINT, MI) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

While Iron Man 2 is certainly no masterpiece, it is a very fun game for the time you invest in it. The levels are varied (although considering Iron Man and War Machine, 'varied' means different ways to blow stuff up), and the play mechanics are quite good, even if flight and targeting could use some tweaking. The game's script is amusing, as Tony Stark usually has something amusing to say every level. The trophies are easy to earn, although the grind can be a touch annoying. But still, 51 trophies in a little over two day's play time? Worth it, even if only for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever....

posted by damianv1 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

Seriously this games sucks! For all you trophy hunter's looking for an easy Plat, don't waste your time on this! Game-play is horrible with freezing & glitching, controls are stupid, graphics suck, audio non-existent, weapons WEAK, upgrades LAME and worst of all BORING! I wanted to Plat because this game is short, about 3-4hrs to complete on easy, and 3-4 grinding. You need 2 play thru's to Plat, the first on easy and the 2nd on Formidable, however after your first play-thru (if u can stand it)u will be sooo done with this game, ready to send it back! A major let-down! I dont know what happened!? This game was done poorly and I cant believe they actually released this game to the public, its an embarrassment to Marvel & the Iron Man legacy :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse