Rent Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine for Wii
view large frontback

Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.3

688 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could be better...

posted by mandasabs (BRICK, NJ) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually bought this game because I absolutely love cooking games as well as the show! I am enjoying playing it, but expected a bit more from it. I get annoyed that the intro to each challenge is exactly the same, though am happy that you can skip over it. Would be nice if they had more meal choices for each "secret ingredient" and if Alton Brown didn't talk so much during each cooking activity. Plus, I would also like it if you had more choices on how things are served.
All in all the game is definitely worth playing if you like cooking games or Iron Chef America, but don't be suprised if you don't love every aspect of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be much better

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The show Iron Chef America is pretty cool. The game is something entirely different. First off let me say that this game isnt bad at all. But saying that its also not good at all. It has some cool things like you actually chop the food and really make it, which is different from H.ells Kitchen. By the way i put the period in H.ells because it wont let me put it in here without it. But as for this game the graphics are decent for the Wii. A downside for this game is theres no online which i think couldve been fun. Besides chopping food and some other things you can do to make food, theres almost nothing else to do in this game. So when ever youve done everything in this game thats about it. So overall this game is fun for the first few hours your playing it, but then it just gets boring. So if youve havnt played the other few good games out for the Wii play those. Otherwise try this game out, but you prouble shouldnt buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not hiring any of these "Iron Chefs"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

"Whose Cuisine Reigns Supreme?" After going through several matches with Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine, I thought "What game turns real lame?"
Iron Chef America for the Wii plays out much like Cooking Mama and Order Up! You play several mini games where you chop, slice, boil sauce, plate, and do other culinary tasks.
Problem is, that's all I do in this game; the ingredients never really come together to form a dish.
The matches start with me selecting dishes, then I play dozens of mini games, one after another after another.
Some of the mini games are mind numbingly easy; chopping, slicing and grating uses simple, repetitive gestures of the Wiimote, and they're the best parts of the game.
But other tasks get hard due to clunky controls, namely boiling things, saucing dishes and using the mixer.
At the end of the matches, I get comments from the judges that do not indicate how they score the meals I or my opponent create. I would win, move on to the next match and the whole process repeats itself.
After three matches, I got bored with the whole experience.
Adding to my misery are the cut scenes. Iron Chef America, the video game, has too much ham in it. The drama is pumped up far too much and the judges demand too much of the spotlight. Heck, even the host and the Chairman go too far over the top.
If you're looking for a cooking game for the Wii, go get Order Up! and skip Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

They got this all wrong

posted by colwildcat (BROOMFIELD, CO) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is truly terrible. Issues:

- The game exists only as a way to let people use the Wii remote to chop food and stir things
- Cooking requires absolutely no skill. You can only choose from a few preset recipes
- Plating requires no skill, only drag and drop
- There is no ability to spice food, design a dish, or cook, for that matter
- The judging is pointless as nothing you did added anything to the food
- It consists only of timed chopping and stirring exercises
- The cut scene animation is awful freeze frame garbage

Could have been a good game. BUt it's not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetative

posted by mrskershne (TECUMSEH, MI) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

It is a great game at first, but after playing it for 15 - 20 minutes, it is all very repetative and it gets boring pretty quickly. The graphics are pretty good, but over all, not all that great. I was pretty disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

To hard

posted by chris2go (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Control were not friendly just not my type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Have fun pretending to be a great chef

posted by eyemac (ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

After reading the reviews, I was not expecting much, mainly because others said they expected it to teach them cooking skills. (go to the bottom to read my comment on this). First, realize it is a GAME and not an instructional cooking guide. Once you get past that mindset, the game is quite decent and can be played by most everyone. The instructions are clearly given during the game and if you go through TRAINING/SCHOOL (strongly recommended at least try a few sample dishes to test your skill and to get comfortable with the motions, which are fairly realistic or representative of the task), you will do better at the game/contest part.

The game does not take into account what you choose to make, just how well you complete each task during the allotted time. The time is quite generous so as long as you get acquainted with the tasks, you will do fine. My only complaint (I am legally blind) is that when you have to trace a path onscreen, it is difficult to see. Other than that, I was able to see and complete most of the tasks. (My wife played "sous chef" for the parts i could not see well.)

Overall, it is a good game, even if it is easy to do. I assume once you move up the ranks, it will get harder.

-As for those who think they would learn to cook playing this game, use your brain! At the retail price, you cannot expect an instructional program. There would be way too much info to add that getting started playing the game would make it uninteresting to many people. This game is to get people a taste of what it might be like competing as a chef. I will say that maybe the game makers, or a competitor, would be good to make a more instructional series for those who want to learn to cook and have a Wii system. Maybe like a Julia Childs or Alton Brown series..oh wait, there is a show... called GOOD EATS and will teach you more than just how to cook.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Challenging - Boring

posted by ccastillo7 (CHANDLER, AZ) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game is a bit boring, with no real challenges other than the pre-determined dishes and placement of the food. The game needs to be a lot more interactive, and it's not. It might appeal to some, as it kinda simulates the motions of cooking, but it's nothing short than just shaking the remote up and down, left and right... that's pretty much the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed

posted by spaltor (MATAWAN, NJ) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I really had high hopes for this game, because I love Iron Chef American in general, and Alton Brown specifically. In fact, I found out about the game from AB's website. I heard some bad things when this game came out, so I didn't buy it, and waited to try it. I have to say I'm very disappointed.

You just do the same things over and over - chop, boil, slice, mix, etc. There's not variation. It's all about how you move the Wiimote. You don't even get to plate creatively. And if you do your tasks well enough, you win the battle. And the dishes you can choose to make are all very similar, but with the "secret ingredient" thrown in. Plus, the animation is terrible! The mouths don't even move when characters are speaking. AB pops up on the screen while you're working, but only has a few phrases that play over and over, which get annoying very quickly.

And finally, the game crashed my Wii after the 6th battle. I was trying to get through the game quickly so see if it ever got more interesting. But that's enough of that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flawless, the reason I bought the Wii

posted by MattHawkes (CELINA, TX) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

-Pros
Beautiful graphics sometimes i forget im playing the game
Sound effects are phenomenal, asparagus was amazing
Revolutionary controls, felt like i was really in the kitchen
Hells kitchen has nothin on this game
-Cons
Extreme lake of Bobby Flay
The game ended
Got fired from job due to playing this masterpiece to much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing and Boring.

posted by sraehines (FLORENCE, OR) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I was pretty disappointed in this game. I love to cook and thought this looked like fun. I only played it a few times, hoping it would somehow get better, but unfortunately it never did. You pick what to make from a list it gives you, and then all you do is chop, slice, mix, and these are all very boring. When you go to plate your food, it tells you where to put it. Glad I only rented it and didn't pay the money for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just ok

posted by DarthFenix (WATERBURY, CT) May 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Nothing spectacular. Got boring after awile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

This game was too easy, repetitive and boring to me. I learned how to chop, stir, plate, etc. fairly quickly. I kept winning round after round. I didn't see the point to this game at all. At least you were able to skip a lot of the boring dialogue but this game wasn't fun for me. Like I said it was too easy with the winning. Perhaps it would get harder as you further into the game but I lost interest with it before I could find out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Iron Chef America the game is very, very, very bad

posted by jesparzadc (FALLS CHURCH, VA) May 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I am a big fan of the show and was really looking forward to playing the game, but then I actually played the game. It's bad. Really bad. There is no sense of actual competition or completion or satisfaction to be had at all. The entire game consists of flinging the controller all over the place in pretty much any direction over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again. Then, after you're bored out of your mind and thinking about buying a carpal tunnel brace, the game destroys all faith in humanity by not even having a judging round for the food! After all your hard work you just get a score and then you're done. Nothing else. To say I was disappointed would be a severe understatement. So please stay away from this game at all costs, otherwise they will make another one and then I will never be able to watch anything Iron Chef related again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The idea is good

posted by Deliadawn (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The idea of the Iron Chef is good, but it is boring and you feel like you have carpal tunnel after you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More like lean cuisine

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

I enjoy Iron Chef America. Watching the best chefs compete in culinary competition makes for quality television. If only the game measured up...
Iron Chef America: Supreme Cuisine casts you as an unknown chef looking to rise through the ranks to iron Chef status. Of course, you'll have to battle a bunch of unknown Iron Chefs made up for the game before you achieve that distinction.
The game plays out like a series of mini-games. These are simply small tasks completed by using the Wii's motion sensor controls. Turn a knob by twisting the Wiimote, shake it to chop, rotate it to roll, etc. Why the chairman has to shout out "Chop!" every time is beyond me, because you'll be doing the same thing over and over. And the plating phase is completely unnecessary as you monotonously drag finished items onto a plate. Oh well, each battle only takes about 10 minutes to complete.
The presentation budget for this game must have gone specifically to voice acting. Getting the Chairman and Alton Brown to lend their voices to the game, along with some sound bites from Iron Chefs' Morimoto, Cora and Batali, seems to be the most authentic part of presentation. Too bad their voices are stuck in repetitive dialog and placed in cartoonish, still-frame animation. The judges are a handful of generic stereotypes that say suitably generic things about your food. Most of the time their comments make no sense considering the grades you get.
If you rise through the ranks, you'll compete against the aforementioned Iron Chefs. And your final challenger is... the Chairman!? No, you don't battle Bobby Flay at all. Instead, the Chairman (most notable for having no personal involvement in the competition) is your culinary Lex Luthor. But even he isn't much of a challenge. You'll be through the main game in under two hours.
This concept has been done much better in other games with strategy and role-playing elements thrown in.
The verdict is in. And the winner is... Order Up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok kinda boring

posted by boobookity (KANSAS CITY, KS) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game was ok. kinda like cooking mama. nothing like the show iron chef. i wish it would have been more real. it was ok for the first few days but got boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't "Allez Cuisine" Here

posted by willra (Baton Rouge, LA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I'm a Food Network junkie, so I was pretty excited about the game. It held my interest for a whopping 45 minutes before I was ready to put this back into its envelope and send it back.
I personally think that if a game company is going to animate real individuals, they should make an effort to do it well. The Chairman and AB were flat-out creepy. I did appreciate the voice work from them both, but that's where it ends.
I would rate this higher than the Gordon Ramsay equivalent (ironically enough, although Gamefly rents out that particular game, their profanity-filter will not allow me to actually reference the title here for posting), but not by much. I think folks will be better off either playing their Wii, or watching these shows. Apparently there is not yet a winning formula combining the two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by caseyj6206 (APO, AE) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

The only thing that was even remotely good about this game was the guys voice when he calls out the food you are to be working with. Other then that....Really not even worth trying this game....We wish we hadn't!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just not good at all

posted by khuddle (CONCORD, NC) Mar 2, 2009

Member since May 2008

I had high hopes for this game, but it did not live up to them. The game is simple. My 5 year old could play it with no problems. As long as you do what the promts tell you to do you will be fine, but there is really no challenge here at all. I really liked Order Up much better and think there are better games out there if you are looking for something similar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by gamecrazy3 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

it is dumb how u do the same steps for all the dishes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It's a port from the DS for Chrissakes!

posted by yourself (Battle Creek, MI) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was terrible.

Bad

Sucked like a Hoover

Seriously. It SUCKS!

I love the show. I love Alton Brown, kitchen stadium, the whole works...

Really, REALLY sucks.

I'll play Cooking Mama. I'll cook for real. I'll watch YOU cook...

But it suck diddly-ucked, Flanders!

The Good: It said "Iron Chef" at the beginning and Alton + the Chairman did the voice work.

The Not Good: EVERYTHING ELSE! The animation is worse than my Gameboy Advance. The voice overs are awful. The gameplay is repetitive and dull. The character selection is c-rap. The challenges are EXACTLY the same every time. The pathetic motions gave me carpal tunnel and, somehow, the f.arts. I can't even explain how that happened, but it was so bad I stunk personally.

No fun on any mode, level or difficulty, it's the same piece of 'sweetbreads' on every setting and level.

We thought "Let's rent it, it'll be one of those games that you wouldn't buy because it'll bore you after a few weeks". I wish... we didn't even finish one GAME. I put it back in the next morning to play single player because I thought "maybe we missed something."

Nope. Just c-r-a-p.

Avoid, avoid, AVOID this game.

Let me restate: I love Alton, the Chairman and the show. This game is JUNK. Seriously, it looks and plays like it was ported from the Gameboy DS, maybe the Atari. Just try the "sprinkle!" or "Sauce" actions, it's a pathetic at gameplay and will make you vomit.

Or far.t... Still can't explain those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Amusing

posted by Badjoke (Houston, TX) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

It plays a lot like cooking Mama, but the voices are a lot less irritating. The things is, I didn't like the claymation-looking, no-animation-having characters. Voices were great, and having the Chairman and Alton Brown made for some entertainment. Nice try, but replay value is almost nil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Get Cooking Mama instead

posted by mikelerch (SCHENECTADY, NY) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game has a lot of potential, but is handicapped by two things: the controls are slow and clunky, and this concept has already been done better by the Cooking Mama series.

I loved the Alton Brown commentary, and if the controls were at least as good as Cooking Mama I would prefer this game.

It's worth noting that even Cooking Mama is clunky on the Wii compared to the great DS versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Iron Chef America

posted by GackBammon (RICHMOND, IN) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game was fun for about an hour. after that it was really repetitive. you only had so many ways to prepare the food and it was always the same motion with the wiimote. After 2 hours i beat the game and couldn't help but feel like there could've been more thought and creativity in this game. Then again i am more used to playing the xbox 360 so my opinion might be a little bias but overall i give this game a good rating for family time. My two sons really enjoyed the feeling that they were cooking. So u decide for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse