Rent Inversion for PS3
view large frontback

Inversion

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

510 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Weak kin of Dead Space

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't do multiplayer but the campaign was interesting enough. So-so story, but enough to keep momentum and not bore. Would have liked more variety in weaponry but aiming/shooting/destroying worked fine. The gravity gun was similar to portions of Dead Space. Worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underappreciated

posted by Commander9 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I don't understand how someone can give this game a 1 or 2. Sure the story is dumb and the characters are cliche and personality-less, but so is Bella from Twilight.

The game is much underappreciated. I had a blast playing through campaign. The game is a great idea and has great potential, however it didn't live up to that potential. Messing with physics and gravity always gives the player a feeling of ultimate power and control. Heck, you can make guys float!

A big problem is that it could have used a lot MORE antigravity segments, switched gravity, and more gravity powers.

Overall, the game could have been much better but I predict it will spark other ideas for other futuristic video games in the future, hopefully ones that have learned from Inversion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Step above garbage

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
Unfortunately I suspected this game wouldn't be good and it sure isn't... It is a 3rd person shooter with the twist of gravity shifting.

However, I completed 2 chapters and couldn't stand playing it anymore. It is one of the worst games I've played as of late. Let me count the reasons why:

1) lame acting/story
2) weak controls
3) guns have no weight or feel to them
4) poor framerate
5) half of the game was cut scenes in the 2 chapters I played
6) graphics are not very good

Simply put I couldn't find a single thing to list as good. It was a waste of a rent and I feel really sorry for anyone that bought it.

The problem is that it is horrific because all aspects of the game are subpar....if it was just a few areas it would be a passable time waster....isn't even worth that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just a demo for an awesome physics engine

posted by ryankhart (BRIER, WA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros: It has a one of the best physics engines for destructible environments I've ever seen.

Cons: Everything else. Aiming was also really clunky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What the heck is this?

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jun 6, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Controlls are awful game is ugly Guns are Weak!! Feel very very sad for the person that paid full price- Even a weak Rent Game!! Good luck!! thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DONT RENT THIS FAILURE

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

your wasting valuable game play on this,,, the other reviews say it all ... BEYOND TERRIBLE, but it wouldnt be if the controls just worked... i feel cheated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than what the other reviews say.

posted by ErTh32 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

--<>SPOILER ALERT<>-----
when you read the other reviews you recieve a very negative look on the game. other reviews say that: 1. The Characters lack personality 2. the guns are weak 3. the story-line bounced all over 4. the enemies language is not understandable and 5. too many cutscenes. let me tell you right now that all of those are false.
the first "issue" is that the characters lacked personality, throughout the entire game it is shon how the main character (davis) is a lovng father who would and will give everything to find his daughter the other main character (leo) his davis's partner who has a shady past but has redeemed himself b y becoming a police officer and helping davis to find his daughter.
Another <false> thing is that the guns are weak. Of coarse you are going to have a little trouble killing the guys that are coated in super thick armor, but for these bigger bosses they were desighned to be killed easier with different weapons such as rockets or thrown items. also on the regular lutadores (bad guys) you cant expect to kill their bigish guys bu shooting them in the foot. you have to aim for the head and use the gravity powers to help you. the game was designed to use the gravlink (as the gravity devise is called ) to heavily assist you.
the third "issue" is that the story line wasnt consistant and jumped everywhere. again false if you pay attention they will say that t " we gotta go blank blank blank to kill/ destroy/ get to the blank" its pretty easy to follow.ecept of coarse in some parts its dsigned to leave you stumped to have some dramatic tension.
the enemies are brutes and beasts so why would you expect they would be talking in english to the point where we could understand them. the language they speak is an obviously different language with english integrated into this not only shows their not from earth and it also leaves some degree of whats going on what are they doing and why to leave you wondering. all in all good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wasn't worth finishing

posted by AppallingSlinky (LA VISTA, NE) May 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

I thought this was confusing and weird. Plot was not good enough to overcome the odd gameplay. Interesting idea with the changes in gravity, but poorly executed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cult game

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

+ Good story
+ Good environment
- Some sounds issues
+/- Voice actors are just not good enough with their characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gears of War....I Mean Iversion

posted by black_hawk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

Gears of War of war anyone!? I Mean Iversion!! lol If you like gears of war for xbox you will like Inversion for PS3. same cover to cover concept just not as graphically intense as Gears of war. overall good shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good concept, poor execution.

posted by jeeep4fun (FORT GEORGE G MEADE, MD) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

The game uses Gears of War-style mechanics, as far as ducking behind cover and then leaping over it. The plot is excellent, but the difficulty level is way too high. Even on "Low Gravity" (the game's version of "Easy"), you are hard pressed to kill the bad guys before they kill you. I'd give this one a pass, unless you ENJOY screaming obscenities at your television.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst game I have ever rented, GARBAGE

posted by Ricksta (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

You will get nothing if you play this game.
The online Multiplayer is dead, The trophies are hard and very time consuming, there is NO SPLITSCREEN PLAY. It's like one big broken Gears Of War. Matthew Karch should be ashamed. Inversion is a frustrating, clunky broken mess of a game. The aiming is horrid, the cover system is a joke. I will never support Namco again. I am glad Robert A. Heinlein is gone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Inversion

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2005

Inversion is a game I really wanted to love, but just couldn't. Don't get me wrong, I liked it alot but Inversion was held back from greatness for the dumbest reasons imaginable. From the terrible framerate to the regurgitated boss fights and the abysmal control system I just about put my head into the wall. If there is a sequel, which the ending kind of led into one, I sure hope it's better than the first. This game had soo much going for it that it's a really a shame that it falls short. I would rather of had Inversion be a terrible game than something that had the potential for greatness. Rent but do not buy unless dirt cheap!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not even average.

posted by kingkong1986 (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game was not worth the time. The gameplay is weak, there are way too many cut scenes, the story is blah, it wasn't enough inverted moments,the graphics were not on par with similar games, and the voice acting was trash. The only reason i gave it a 4 was because the weapons were okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

why this game sucked

posted by sambot (CHARLOTTE, VT) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

What I did not like about this game, is the difficulty through out the whole campaign. I felt like I was pushing through it and not just playing it. What was ok was the multiplayer but it took me 2 hours to show the other person the controls. I did kinda like the maps. Over all I think it was a good idea but they did kinda butcher it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I am going to finish this...

posted by matgreg (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I am going to finish this, but only because I don't want to wait for another game to play.

The gravity element of this game is pretty cool, however it isn't cool enough to carry the game. The storyline is weak, and the game play is... standard, at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok campaign Dead multiplayer

posted by DirkWiggle (CLAYTON, GA) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

The game has an interesting story, campaign is fun to play thru, online part of it is completely dead, there is no one playing online and if you want to earn xp for ranks or challenges you have to do it online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Frustrating

posted by daegos (SURPRISE, AZ) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The game has a decent story line, however the controls are horrible. The gravlink is a cool tool but I found I didn't use it until it was upgraded to throw stuff. This made the game more fun. Back to the controls, because of the poor design it makes the game frustrating. I finally sent back because of the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Huge faults but still kinda fun

posted by Ronpthompson (NEWARK, NJ) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It's not that the game is horrible (ok - the controls ARE horrible), it's just that it could have been so much better. I really hope they make a part two to this game because the who anti-gravity physics engine is pretty cool, it's just the story, controls, guns are lame. It needs a reboot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great concept, lacking gameplay & story elements.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

I had high hopes for this game. At first, I was intrigued by the concept that up can be down, and you can battle across multiple platforms of terrain, well, that doesn't happen as much or as often as it should in this game.

To me, this game is a weak version of Gears of War. The game play, especially the running and combat is a mirror image of Gears of War. It is nice to have a game of that type ported to the PS3, though it was done terribly wrong.

The graphics are not up to date with similar or older released games. It is a terrible arcade game, knowing now that it is made my Namco, I should have known better to think of it more like a Time Crisis style of game in comparison to the graphics. The characters and the environment are cold, hard and lifeless.

The game play is useless and harsh. You are often pinned down with no where to go. I died way too often, and returned it before completion.

The story is typical. A guy, a regular beat cop and his annoying care-for-nothing partner end up having the save the entire world, based on the fact that the main character needs to find his daughter. The voice acting is terrible, and the character facial expressions are dull and boring.

The game takes place a time over a month, from which you start driving down the street and then later end up in some other worldly place, all along, your character doesn't change. I know that after 30 days of not shaving and running through lots of terrain changes, I would look like a hobo, not just a dirty ken doll. What I am getting at, is that I cannot imagine it is that much work for a studio to add some extra dirt and rips on the clothing the character is wearing. I mean even give the character some different clothes 30 days later. Little pieces of detail like this, to me makes a game that much better. Imagine a game keeping desert camo on a character going through the jungle or snow. That would be unforgivable. Even adding these details would still make this game unbearab

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrid

posted by mat5653 (BOISE, ID) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

Has anyone ever mentioned "Gears of War rip-off"? Cuz it truly is, & it's a baad one at that.From the exact control scheme(Hold X/A to run[Same lowered camera angled too],O/B to melee,etc),to abnormally large knife-attached guns & character feet(idk why),GoW will no doubt come to mind.They even have that rare "Choose left or right path" option that GoW throws at you 4 times in the game.
But what GoW achieves,Inversion fails to do -- An interesting, creative story. Here's inversion: Earth invaded randomly by lutadores (which happen to look like GoWs enemy characters), cop seperated from daughter, cop goes to rescue daughter, daughter happens to be taken to enemy mothership, random robots appear out of nowhere & attack everyone, and blah blah. That's it. But ohh the REAL twister, is that when you somehow come to be in the enemies huge base, you take a magic shuttle to outer space. And guess what's out there? Our Earth [which is flat] in techy-created dome. (Keep in mind, this is set in the future)
It was so bad i didn't even know why anything happened. Seperate random events were just thrown in piece-by-piece with no significance to any 'main' story.
Another gameplay piece they threw in & butchered, was the "come-back boss". At least, thats what it seemed like. There's 1 extremely fat guy that you fight 4 or 5 times. Now, idk if it was just a copied appearance on a different boss, or the same one you 'killed' 3 times before. That's how confused you are. You have no idea what's going on, as they never give annotations to the actually story [like there is one].
The only decent aspect, was the gravitational factor. Shooting upside down enemies while you're on the side of a building is neat to experience, though it was nothing near amazing to be honest. The mobile gravity pack on your back seems fun as well, but it wasn't anything spectacular either. It's limited use, & all it does for you is makes enemies easy targets for you to hold r1 on.. over.. & over..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Inversion/ game review

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I recently had the oppurtunity, thanks to GameFly to play Inversion. As far as the reviews I had read before I played it, there was some truth and some just plain and simply a case of bad rap. The sound is messed up, you can,t make out whats being said sometimes by the good guys and the bad guys can,t be made out at all, just garble. But this is a good shooter game, I am not sorry I rented it And I have bought worse, and I did decide to buy it. Mass Effect to me is overrated, too much story and mining for elements not enough action. Thanks Billy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Questionable

posted by djtacomeat84 (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I thing the concept of the game as a whole is pretty good but The Acting/Story line and controls are not up to par what so ever. Now however if Namco were to fine tune the all this aspects and give the characters more personality I think this game could really be something.
I must say I really enjoyed my self with the whole gravity aspect of this game very good engine and great fluidity. All in all it's one of those game you want to rent just pass the time with but not want to spend the money because then you really are gonna wanna toss your system out the window.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game

posted by rapini (ROSELLE, IL) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

Guns are weak and under powered when most needed. The gravity concept chews the poodle. Terrible controls and bad camera angles.....bad guys just appear out of nowhere. I don't really care that the engine is marvelous the game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very cool game!!

posted by charvel5150 (WASHINGTON, IL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I dont know why anyone would give this game a bad rating. This is one of the funnest games i have played in a long time. Great enviroments cool guns just all around great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse