Rent Inversion for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Inversion

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.6

890 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely underrated. This is a decent shooter.

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I too can't understand this tendency to compare every FPS that comes out to GoW or CoD. We don't compare every movie that comes out to some preceding classic. And every game, like every movie, borrows elements from predecessors, and have been doing so since Doom and Half Life.
This particular shooter has this gravity gimmick which is not brand new, but works fairly well. Definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

INVERSION -- IT ROCKS!

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WHO THE HECK RATED THIS NOT GOOD?? I AM GLAD I IGNORED THEM AND RENTED IT, IT WAS KILLER !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Try it for 2 hours

posted by RabPenguin (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Oct 1, 2012

Member since May 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very underrated. Yes, it is a GOW clone but that doesn't make it bad. The plot is thin but interesting and the ending is pretty good. I don't think I would pay $60 but it is a DEFINITE rental! I would have liked a little more information, maybe collectibles that explain a little history etc. Unfortunately I couldn't find anyone on mulitplayer so can't comment on that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rent this game! Ignore the negative reviews

posted by papd15 (BRIDGEWATER, NJ) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I rented this game last week, I ignored the negative reviews since the game looked interesting. Now after playing through the 13 chapter campaign I'm convinced that Gears of War fans have negative review bombed this game. Inversion takes a lot of stuff from gears of war, but I must say the gravity part is done well. The game is not perfect, but it does not deserve a 5 rating, that's why I'm giving it a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it!

posted by Dcaf (BUTLER, NJ) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to the bad reviews, rent the game and decide for yourself, it won't be a waste of a rent i guarantee you (as long as you like games like Bulletstorm).

Excellent, very unique and creative gameplay, ragdoll physics with the ability to toy around with enemies, throwing explosives at them, throwing them into explosives, shooting out the support for a tower they are on and watching them fall 200 feet to there death. Collapsing bridges they are standing on, making heavy objects suspended in the air fall on enemies. Throwing them thousands of feet away, into lava, off buildings, or straight into a wall watching there body parts go flying. And finally, head popping, the thing we loved so much about Gears. These are just some of the things i loved about this game. (not to mention the great story line, with the mind=blown ending)

The only thing I didn't like, was that it was too short! took me only 2 days to finish on normal difficulty. But, i guess this is a good thing for all the gameflyers out there worried about wasting there rent on this game. finish it in a few days, send it back, and get a new game. I cant get enough of Inversion, and i really think alot of people out there will love it too if they give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You people be crazy!

posted by slavens (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. New ideas, great controls. Nothing's wrong with this game! Voice acting is great, graphics are really not that bad at all. I do suggest playing it on easy. It's kind of tough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Where is everyone? Day 3

posted by TheYellowBus (TEMPE, AZ) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I just got this game today and played through half of the campaign on the moderate difficulty. It only took about 3 hours which means the campaign is probably approximately 7-10 hours long depending on difficulty. I also played 3 multiplayer matches, 2 deathmatch (FFA) and 1 team deathmatch. Mind I have played campaign and multiplayer for various shooters: COD, HALO, GOW, etc. so I have a pretty good understanding of what to look for in a FPS genre.

Here are some pros and cons:

Pros
- Story and gameplay similar to GOW which engages the player although shorter (7-10 hours)
- Co-op very much like Army of Two
- Multiplayer is still very weapon based even with gravity variable added to shooter

Cons
- Multiplayer is a ghost town...this game just came out and the hour I played (or waited to play) sumed up 3 games where one involved a kid rage quitting 9 minutes into a 10 minute 1v1 match (suppose to be 8 player FFA) which resulted in a draw--and a team deathmatch where I was spawn killed repeatedly with a sniper or rocket launcher 15 times as all my teammates raged quit early...The next round I got the upper hand and everyone raged quit eluding to yet another draw-one game I did finish where I won a stunning 4 kills to his 3 kills--mind you this was a FFA search gone 1v1. The best part is the draws don't count your K:D. How is this logical?

- The campaign (at least on moderate) did not have situational ways to learn EVERY control/action...but did introduce the important ones when needed

Overall this game has been a blast in campaign but the multiplayer is frustrating on multiple levels. I suggest renting this and if the popularity does not heighten then this will be yet another FPS twist bust and you can return it for another game until Fall and Winter blockbuster sequels hit GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Inversion

posted by godlike (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Here is my problem. Gamers really need to stop conparing this title to others. This game held my attention for hours, which was surprising. This is especially true since the preview was so low. It is a new idea that works. Give it chance. It is worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I hoped for better

posted by mustanglover (SANTA ANA, CA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game starts off ok reminding me of many precious shooters. It fell short in the storytelling and the controls. There are no command controls for your partner who constantly needs to be saved when going up against one of the repetitive many so called bosses. Game play is much too repetitive and becomes annoying along with the stagnant story which failed to get me to connect with the characters. Graphically the game is passable but the areas in the game become repetitive and do not have enough variation. I do not recommend this game there are many other shooters that are better than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A poor clone of another game

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

They must have thought if we take every single asset from Gears of War and included the gravity gimmick from Bulletstorm, we can't fail. They sure did not succeed. In retrospect, it wasn't so much fun, more like trying to convince myself that since I was shooting things and other things were blowing up, I was having fun.

I was not.

-The guns are unbalanced from damage, to ammo, to aim, and to how some will cancel out your gravity ability when aiming and others will not
-The camera has no idea where you want to aim and guesses poorly
-At times the game has so many ques going - sound, visual, particle effects - that "slow-mo" occurs. Terrible.

But really, EVERY part of this was gears of war without any of the polish. Even the character models were interchangeable with the locust and cogs down to each and every generic soldier type they had from wretches to RAAM. I cannot express in polite terms how much of a rip off this seemed and I don't play much gears - I'm just familiar with the Unreal engine and its various quirks and qualities and this game did everything gears did with the exception of adding the bulletstorm gravity gimmick.

Notice how little I wrote about the gravity gimmick so far? It barely works. The game chooses for you where your grav shot will go, what it will grab and what it won't, and more often then not just ends up exploding in front of you because some part of it clipped an invisible wall and messed the whole thing up. Trying to use it in a firefight leaves you exposed and you die entirely too quick to stay out of cover that long.

Plain and simple, this game was not any fun, there is NO ONE playing multiplayer and afterwards, I dusted off Gears 3 which I haven't touched since January and was reminded of how well the Unreal engine can work. That was a lot of fun. Inversion just felt...unclean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun that is what we want

posted by papapico (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I read IGN review 5.5 yet G4 (my now go to for gaming) gives 4/5 or 4out of5. My perfered is third person shooter! This best described as a serious "BULLETSTORM" tid bits of other great games. Let me fix IGN with a 8! 9 is a must have (unless collector or hardcore gamer "like me") it drops to 8 out 10. Ratings are subjective. Research a game like a subject till you can play it! NO DEMO can be trusted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok FPS..could have been so much better!

posted by gategoer74 (CORVALLIS, OR) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was a great idea but failed in so many ways.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh... i guess

posted by Easydoesi (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is a copy and paste of "Gears of War." From the gameplay down to the way the AI attackes... they even come out of the ground just like "Gears." One simple grenade in the hole and its sealed... just like "Gears" its just meh. Now only if the dialog wasn't terrible and the graphics were a little better then maybe it would be worth half the time i put into beating this game. The gravity control is fun for about 5 minutes before it becomes awkward at times. This game could score even less considering there is so much more they could have done with this concept. So much! Like seriously you mean to tell me i have a weapon that basically turns off gravity but i have to find routes around simple objects? Lovely... Some games survive even with these big flaws... if the story is great. This is not one of those games. Idk what else to say... i want to point out the good but i just can't this game is.... its just a big helping of Meh. Never even tried the online gameplay. I couldn't find a single match so i stopped trying after the second day. Good luck if you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Gears Clone

posted by BuellGator (High Springs, FL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I had heard nothing about this game until I put it in my queue, and boy was that a bad choice. I only made it about three hours into this game before I gave up on having fun, and then continued to slog through another hour of the game, before I just quit the campaign entirely. Everything about this game screams GoW, but without any of the fun. It has one interesting gimmick, the gravity control, but really that is wonky at best, and downright useless at worst. So I decided that I could at least try my hand at the multiplayer, and forget about it no one is playing this game I waited about 10 minutes in four different gametypes before I just gave up altogether. This could have been neat I guess, its just that every mechanic has been done way better in alot of different games. If you really want to play a good Gears clone try Binary Domain, at least the shooting in that game doesn't feel floaty and unresponsive. If you want a really good cover based shooter, do what I did and put Gears back in your Xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Someone made a cheap knock off off Gears of War. Gun looks like the retro lancer, they attempt to rodeo run and the dive and roll is very similar. The voice over is horrible, graphics comical. Don't waste you time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow...

posted by earlschwag (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

terrible ripoff of Gears of War. Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Stinks

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

About halfway through this game starts Rehasing old boss fights" Near the end of the game it will Rehash 2 old boss fights you have to fight them at the sametime" Controlls are bad game looks bad - Out-dated by 8 years. Dont waste a Rent-slot on this game if you do Good Luck"" thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Wallynater (SEMINOLE, FL) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I didnt like it only reason i didnt send it back was i just wanted to beat the campaingn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the bosses are hard

posted by shadows68 (ALTOONA, PA) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The BOSSES are hard to defeat or at least most of them that is. You keep on getting killed then fighting them and the game is great too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Knockoff Gears EVER!

posted by GCP (MEMPHIS, TN) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Nothing original, copied Gears of War completely, should be sued for such a ripoff! Very bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

At Least a Decent Game

posted by Itzz_HK (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

Inversion is a special game. It managed to be repetitive enough to put me to sleep, and yet be innovative enough to strongly draw my interest. This game does borrow elements heavily from Gears of War (control scheme, weapons system, cover, crosshairs, etc.), but this is how video games are supposed to work. Companies should benefit off of the success of other games to overall benefit the industry.
This game does have some flaws that turn it off for me: Repetitive, uninspired boss fights; problems with hit detection at some points; thin, underdeveloped story; poor voice acting (I can't stress this enough).
However, I think this title is getting a little less credit than it should. It really is a half decent game, and is certainly worth a rental, at least (especially since nobody is playing the multiplayer). Try the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So very, very badly written.

posted by gnohms (ROSEDALE, MD) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2007

I honestly can't tell you anything about the actual gameplay. It might be the best designed game ever, and it wouldn't matter. The story is so badly written, and takes so long at the beginning of the game, that I just gave up on it. With the incredibly long loading time when you start, I spent a half hour on it, and hadn't learned any of the mechanics but ducking behind cover. For a game where you can supposedly change gravity they spent an incredibly long time without introducing that mechanic. It's the only reason I rented this game, and I didn't even get to use it. I'll just console myself with the gripping story of how some random cop's daughter is lost. If you're going to spend this much time and effort making a game, please, please hire someone who knows how to write a story. Not all of us will like a game because of some new gameplay mechanic you figured out how to do. I almost spent the $15 to just buy this game straight up, now I'm glad I didn't. I wouldn't pay $5 for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Actually really liked it

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

A little more polish and this could have been a big release. There's a few spots where you can see budget restraints. Overall, this thing played really smooth. I played it until the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Inversion: The Game That Never Loads

posted by Phattiger (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2005

I'd Like to be able to sit here and actually write a review for this game. Though there was one glaring issue I had. The game refused to "cache," i.e. actually load. While I am familiar with the style of level selection they chose, think Halo 3 campaign, the utter lack of indication of how much has loaded, or not loaded though seems trivial, it sure does beat sitting around for about 5 minutes and watching NPCs run around shooting each other in the background, before reaching the conclusion that a Windows 95 computer would have booted up and opened two programs in this time span. I even tried changing the difficultly to see if there was some weird block to prevent you from playing on hard immediately, but to no avail. Though I'm not sure if anyone else has had this problem, I'm sure not going to request a new disc just to see the issue come up again. I'd just pass this one over if I were you and save yourself the 4 to 5 days waiting for a game that actually loads to arrive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

more of the same old

posted by gwf (PALESTINE, TX) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

its not a bad game but just same old thing as far as i got with it but i got bored of it so i never finished some of the boss fights are kinda hard to figure out they may or may not help you kill it or make them stupidly hard maybe its just me but thats what made me bored of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse