Rent Inuyasha: Secret of the Divine Jewel for DS
view large frontback

Inuyasha: Secret of the Divine Jewel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by zetabeam (DECATUR, GA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I only played this game for 3 hours and I nearly threw it back in the mailbox. This game has sooooo many problems. It's like final fantasy gameplay-but worse. The game has random quests to get through the story line. The one that made me mad was that for 1 thing I had to go take a nap at a hotel. I mean seriously,how in the giant map are you supposed to figure that out. This game looks like you could throw it together in a computer class. I'm glad that I didn't buy it because it's not worth the $10 gamestop sells it for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth your time

posted by Epiced88 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While i'm a fan of both of the inuyasha anime, and magna, this is a really pathetic attempt to cash in on fanboys. First off, this story is extremelly weak, Janis is not even funny to completely contradict the anime, and in the end it's just uninteresting. The next major problem is that you can barely go 3-5 steps without getting in a battle, i'm really not exaggerating either. Now getting into so many battles would be cool if you actually had a decent battle system, but just click the screen, and.... clicking the screen pretty much sumed it up. Another problem with this game is that every char automatically gets their entire libary of attacks from the start, if you like'd upgrading chars in RPG'S don't even think about it in this game. Anywho, if your a hopeless inuyasha fanboy, you'll love this. If you've played a decent RPG, and have standards, run far, far away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game:)

posted by monkey140 (PILOT MOUNTAIN, NC) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this is a great game, my opinion may be a little bit biased because i'm a fan of the show but in this game they have all of those awesome moves like inuyasha's wind scar and the battles are awesome when you get the entire party. If you are a fan of this show or just want a good RPG to play i really recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Patience is a virtue!

posted by MaximusXI (LUBBOCK, TX) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Don't be scared by the first impression of most anime games. It takes a little doing but after a little while you will have your kickbutt party. As soon as you get your party the battle controls are relatively fun and easy and it makes full use of the stylus (clicking on other characters during an attack or defense is necessary to combo or help defend.) The battles are interesting, and fun enough for all ages to enjoy. Heck, who doesn't love ripping apart demons and using all of our favorite moves? If you enjoy anime or simply a enjoyable RPG then rent Inuyasha: Secret of the Divine Jewel now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

another game based off a anime, a RPG, about time!

posted by Wookie345 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well, its kind of hard to find out where to go sometimes, combat and random encounters are repenative, and only getting Inuyasha, Kagome, Shippo (yay little fox demon!), Miroku (perverted monk funny), and Sango, plus Janis, a charecter only in this game (like male and female karurugi in cursed mask) plus for a little while, the shinnigame once more japenese to english, the english game makers can't prenounce things right, supposed to be shikigami, not shinnigami, a girl from america? finally! someone who understands my frustration with the japanese language!
but enough of my ramblings, this is a decent game, only for die hard fans and rpg lovers!
well another review by mesa, Wookie345!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a fan of anime and RPG's

posted by Goldfox17 (STEVENS POINT, WI) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first got this game I did not expect much since most of the anime based games are in a way created for quick money but I was very happy I gave it a chance. The story was not so bad and even more someone from America really that is rare, has an item that makes a demon stronger sealed inside her, kind of sounds like Kagome right. Anyways she is a recarnation of this girl that was in love with a god and the god gave this item to her. So the story is kind of a copy of the story of InuYasha. The graphics are like your playing a super Nintendo game but it really is not that bad. The sound is not choppy or anything like that. The bad things with the game are there are way too many battles and latter on there are mazes like it was not hard to know were you are going to next already. overall if your a fan of Inuyasha and like RPG's this is for you, if your a fan of RPG's but don't mind a slower passed game then you might like it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best inuyasha game

posted by cassadaga8 (CLEVELAND, GA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was intence and the demons were evil! <)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT NOT RENT!

posted by rockyxxxxi (LAUREL, MD) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

in this game it is so hard to tell whitch way to go somtimes you dont know if you can they dont explain the controls you dont know where to go and you have to wait a long just to find the others there are demons everywhere you step do not rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game!

posted by pokeyasha (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

ive only played it once but its on my gameQ so i can play it again!the only problem with me was the enemy encounter rate and the charecters have all their skills but then again who wouldent want mirokus wind tunnel?my friend has it and let me play it. also if you like thi game whatch te anime!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Inuyasha: Secret of the Divine Jewel

posted by Futurama01 (SCOTTVILLE, MI) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I added this game to my Q thinking it would be great. But I was...Right! This game was great, as I expected. It had everything a true Inuyasha game would have. Action, humor, and all the characters' attacks are the same that they have on the show. But not everything was perfect. Some fights were SO tough, like the fight at the end of Masuko Village. And some took FOREVER. But one thing I was surprised by is that everyone was saying that battles were initiated about every four steps. They're not. They're initiated as often as any RPG. If you're a major fan of Inuyasha, or simply want to get your hands on a great RPG, Rent this game today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok for fans and people with patience

posted by moldymilk (Elgin, TX) May 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

It's an ok game, only real problem is the speed of the game. It's WAY to slow. The main character runs slow, the battles take FOREVER, and the text even comes up slow. But if you have alot of patience, or just a fan of Inuyasha you'll probably like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A note on professional reviews (and Inuyasha)

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

When I put the new Inuyasha game on my Q, I read the "Critic Review" to see what the "professional" opinion on it was. After reading it, I prepared for the worst. Choppy graphics, glitchy sound, and uninteresting storyline were the charges against this game.
Here is what some people don't know: sometime game mags and publications receive "advance copies" of games to ensure that game reviews are written in a timely fashion. The catch is that the "advance" copy and the "Final" copy are sometimes different!
I can safely say that the sound of Inuyasha: Secret of the Divine Jewel was not glitchy and the graphics were not choppy. They just weren't all that great. Honestly, for a game based on a well-respected anime property, you would think that animated cutscenes would be the order of the day, like in Fullmetal Alchemist: Dual Sympathy (which also had some decent voice work), but instead the go with the (well) animated sprite route. The only problem is that the sprites have scaling issues, causine the detail to sometimes be lost in pixelated blurs. The BGM (though not great) was not glitchy, but they went the "all-text" route instead of digitized voices. Expected for an RPG, but voices for the fight sequences would have been a nice touch.
The only guilty-as-charged matter is the storyline. Involving a "special" character made just for the game pretty much ensured a snore-filled romp. And all these types of stories pretty mch have the same ending(Hint: punch clear, go home).
In Conclusion, I can say that while the "critic review" may have been a little off-base, this was deffinately not a crowning achievement in RPG history. The most devout, Otaku-level fans of Inuyasha will get the most from this game, but, sadly, that is not all that much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »