Rent Innocent Life: A Futuristic Harvest Moon for PSP Games
view large frontback

Innocent Life: A Futuristic Harvest Moon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.4

199 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

innocent life

posted by MRPlNK (KANSAS CITY, KS) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

i had never played any other harvest moons, but i really loved this game! yes, hard to get into at first, but after a few days i got the hang of it. i am really considering buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lacking Content

posted by Gam3rGuy (WAXHAW, NC) Jul 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

To get right down to it, This is a shallow incomplete game. Filled with good ideas, with just as much bad ideas. As you start off it's pretty much the typical Harvest Moon affair, you get a Farm and you're told you have to raise crops for whatever reason.

The first thing you'll notice about this game is it's beautiful Graphics. Second would be the equally beautiful Music.

As we all know, Game play is what really matters. And that's what this game needs help in. A little further in the game and you'll find that pretty much every character is useless and lacks personality. Your supposed to go get "upgrades" every Sunday which turn-out to be pointless and a worse-er use of your time.

Festivals have returned but now they are unsatisfying, boring, and pretty much a waste of your time. The game itself is pretty much uneventful, nothing happens. You'll find your self having nothing to do but practicing your cooking skills, which is once again pointless.

Early on you'll be given a helper bot which does all of your farm work for you. And since the hole point of Harvest Moon is farming and tending your crops, why is the bot doing it for me?

Maybe they did it so you would have more time searching for jewels. You need jewels in this game to unlock certain doors and vital parts on your farm - Also known as "Seals". This unnecessary twist on the game play prolongs you from being able to have Chickens and Cows on your farm.

They're are other disappointing features in this game like, you can't marry, useless pets, useless people, you're a robot, the list goes on and on people.

What they got right is the huge amount of seeds there are. It goes from Watermelon to Corn to Lemons. Truly impressive.

In the end Innocent Life: A Futuristic Harvest Moon is nothing but a failed attempt at a Handheld Harvest Moon game and a total waste of your time. Please do not do what I did and rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weaker

posted by Lezard (COVINGTON, KY) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This harvest moon really didnt apeal to me. It basically took all the crapy parts of the other harvest moons and put them together.
Its boring... there is no relationships... and it takes an extremely long time to get anything done....
I liked the other harvest moons especially the mineral town one... but this one is just pathetically boring.
Dont get this game unless your REALLY bored and REALLY LOVE doing the same boring thing over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expect from a Harvest Moon game

posted by 666gamer (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I rented An Innocent Life with the notion that the game
would as enjoyable as past HM games. After reading
reviews from gamers, and viewing screen shots, I went
ahead and rented the game. After a long introduction,
this went on for 15 minutes, what did I get myself into?
Yes, the graphics and music are superb, but the fact that
you can't get married and the main character is a robot
really turned me off. This game is set in the future, it's
a futuristic world unlike the past HM games. There is no real ending, no goals, everything is just so boring
and bland. I returned the game the next day, it just
wasn't what I expected from a HM game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Simple

posted by Nicekitty (NEWARK, DE) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game is very simple. It doesn't seem all that futuristic except for having machines and robots. It is easy to earn money and buy things. I liked the buggy and the little railway you can get. I had the battlebot water my plants, so I could do the harvesting and planting.

Some of the controls are extremely tedious. You can only buy seeds 9 at a time, and watch the messages that come along with them over and over and over. Breaking rocks to get resources is the same, messages over and over and over.

Simple isn't necessarily a bad thing. It can be nice to play without stress. Cutting down on more of the tediousness could have made it more of reward to keep going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My thoughts on the game(:

posted by JenniferLouuX (ANKENY, IA) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Well, personally I think the game is pretty good! Great graphics, I love the whole futuristic theme, and I like how they kept the same concept. What I don't like about the game though is that first of all, you don't get married or have a child at all. Personally, that was my favorite part. Yes, I know I'm lame. And second of all, I really don't like how they don't let you be a girl. I, myself, am a girl. I'm okay with playing as a guy, but still. And third of all, it's just not as fun as the other games. I admit, this game is still really good but I reccomend the other harvest moon games better like Animal Parade and Magical Melody. Check those out first(:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent idea, horrible execution.

posted by Cikedo (MASON, OH) May 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I'm a rather large fan of the harvest moon series, I've always enjoyed it, no idea why.

This game was no different in the beginning, I enjoyed planting, harvesting, and then I began to notice alot of rather large issues with the game.
For example, if you miss any event in the game, you will need to restart the file, because you cannot get it back.

For example, I missed a tool necessary for winter, I can no longer get this tool because I am one day too far ahead. I can no longer farm in winter, meaning I will literally have to sleep through every day of winter, every 7th day I Have to walk to town, stand in a portal, come back, then sleep for 6 more days.

The cooking system provides absolutely no benefit or interesting aspect to the game. If you choose to cook, your cooking level will go up, nothing else. If you don't choose to cook, you won't miss out on anything.

If you want to farm livestock, you must spend a good 2 hours acquiring all the items you need to raise them.

All other Harvest moon games have given me some sort of sense of reward for accomplishing what I did, in this game I just feel like I wasted time and gained nothing.

I wouldn't even give this game a try, because I thoroughly enjoyed it for 1 day, meaning the other 2 days I tried to enjoy it just made the game even less enjoyable.

::Sigh::

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a very good game.....

posted by sydchops (CAPE CORAL, FL) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This was not a good game at all I just wanted to try this because I thought one of the Gamefly users was lieing to me, So I rented it and (Beg my pardon if it's bad) IT SUCKED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definitely Not Great

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I like how after several Harvest Moon games providing nothing but the same over and over, they're trying to spice it up, but this was a failed attempt in my opinion.

It's kind of exciting at first if you've played other Harvest Moons because you think of all the exciting things they could do with the "futuristic" Harvest Moon. However, the potential wasn't met and the game is extremely repetitive without the additional depth that other Harvest Moons have.

That being said, it's not the worst game I've ever played, and not the worst Harvest Moon ever made. It's simply unremarkable and not particularly worth the time required to get far into the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wont Buy

posted by Geovoni (TURNER, OR) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game was ok not the best game I have ever played but fun. Fun for about the first week of play.
I think that things just move to slow. You dont get much land in the begining and you wont get any more until about seven hours of play. You cant get any livestock for along time. You dont have many places to explore until again about six hours of play.
People who love Harvest Moon, will probable love Innocent Life, but for people who dont probably wont. I was ok with Harvest Moon and also ok with Innocent Life, for me nothing to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is the best harvest moon game yet

posted by dbzmastor (EL DORADO, CA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I loved this game it was very fun to me. Its way different from the other versions though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Harvest moon with a horrible twist

posted by Kazama (PORT ANGELES, WA) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I liked the harvest moon games quite a bit like games like that in general. But I could not get into this at the very start. One big factor is knowing you arn't even really human, your a robot pretty much. Although I will say that your guy can level up his human skills including "love", it just went from bad to worse when I saw what your starting farming area was. I liked the cozy little farmhouse you got in the other harvest moon games, but instead you get "ruins" as your home. The atmosphere just did not agree with me. Rent this before you buy, it will help you save money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »