Rent Injustice: Gods Among Us for Wii U
view large frontback

Injustice: Gods Among Us

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

182 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Injustice: Best fighter since MK9

posted by GameMonkey27 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Injustice: Gods Among Us is the best comic book game and the best fighting game that i have seen in years. NetherRealm studios followed up their incredible MK9 with a fighter definitely worth its pedigree.
Graphics: good, but not great. The cutscene character models are dreadful, but the in-game models are crisp, with unique costumes and fluid animations. 6
Sound: While not particularly memorable, the music is still cool enough to keep you humming along. but the sounds of the actual fighting is fantastic. The hits sound brutal and the effects are quite good. And the voice acting performances are great, also. many jl cartoon actors reprise their roles and do a great job of it. 8
Story: the opening cutscene really sets the stage for a surprisingly complex and emotional plotline. Superman's twisted version of Gotham is creatively astounding. The characters are well-fleshed out, and the game is perfectly paced. Its really interesting to see how it progresses and to see who lives and dies by the end. and the ending sets itself up for a sequel nicely. 9
Gameplay: take MK's near-flawless combo and meter systems and add in a plethora of new ideas and concepts. i really enjoyed using the environmental objects and screen transitions. wagers are also a good tactic to use, while not completely necessary. The super moves are visually stunning and stylized, while also dealing tons of brutal damage. the characters are all fun to learn and master, and the combo systems allow noobs to immediately jump into the action. experienced players will also get a kick out of its many game modes and the complexity of its advanced combat. 9.5
if u can, pick up this game. its completely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Horrible!

posted by Andrew01093 (HARRODSBURG, KY) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Doesn't support playing with friends whatsoever! Complete mess online! Errors pop up and getting disconnected happens every few minutes! Also button lag is really bad in this version. Utter garbage! Go with the 360/PS3 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever.

posted by stephali77 (FULTON, NY) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

No more needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SUPER!!!

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I love fighting games and I enjoy super heroes, while I prefer Marvel I still enjoy DC. The developers at NetherRealm Studios did a great job combining classic 2D fighting gameplay with the over-the-top elements from Mortal Kombat that have made them very well-known. Honestly, I am not a fan of Mortal Kombat, too bloody and gory for me, but since this is not Mortal Kombat I am really into it. It has its flaws like slightly unresponsive controls, but all in all it's fun and perfectly balanced. Not only that, but the cast comes from previous DC shows such as Justice League and Teen Titans, which is really awesome. If you love fighting games, get it. If you love super heroes, get this. If you love both, get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Injustice brings Justice to the WiiU.

posted by Lowenberg2013 (CARMEL, IN) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Personally, I've always been more of a fan of Marvel Comics, but I must say, this game is exceptionally done. The graphics are top notch, the gameplay is smooth and natural, and the combat features are clever and creative, such as environmental interaction, level transitions, and meter build up to incredibly animated super attacks. Plus, the story mode that was featured in single player was very well done, as it flows naturally between cut scenes and battles. Speaking of the battles, they fit in well with the story and were not random matchups, like story modes in most other fighting games. Each character was very distinct from one another and were each fun to control, with their unique movesets that were not only combat effective, but were creatively incorporated from the characters' capabilities in their past adventures. A few of the problems with the game is that movement within each fight was pretty slow, even with The Flash. I found it difficult to move around the battle field at times and could easily be interfered with by my opponent before I could get to the point I want to get to. However, I can understand the lack of effective movement, as the playing style is meant to focus on purely fighting. Also, I do not like having to pay for DLC content, like alternate skins or new characters. And since the game only supports Gamepad controls, this game does not support offline multiplayer, as only one Gamepad can be used per system. But overall, this game is very enjoyable to both old-time fans of DC Comics and people new to the series. The combat style, as a unique and quirky feature, actually felt like fighting in a Super Hero movie. However, I do recommend playing this on other platforms unless this system is your only option, or you have bad eyesight and would like to play the game with the Gamepad screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Let the heavens scorch the earth with Injustice!

posted by FRIGID (WEST COVINA, CA) Jun 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

That's right this game surpasses every game out for Wii U. The story and cutscenes are very well made. The user interface and combo system is very personalized, letting you do just about anything you want.

Like me you may not be that into fighter genre games or comic book characters for that matter. Trust me when you get this game all that will change. You will master a character and then have a certain connection with the one you chose. This game is best described as easy to learn difficult to master.

If you are competitive you will find this game that much more enjoyable. What are you waiting for, get the best game out for Wii U!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Injustice from a single player prospective

posted by Ricky_keim (SOMERSET, CA) Jun 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I do not have an internet connection on any of my consoles. so I cant say anything of the inferior online system. the story of the game was okay. it could have been shorter. the game is fun to play and fast paced. the moves are pretty simple to do. it feels like a Mortal Kombat game and it has some balancing issues. Deathstroke for example is a projectile fighter and his moves will pin you at the edge of the screen if done correctly. Superman's character power makes his beam attacks and other specials really strong. the move list is very detailed down to even frame data. I hope we see this level of detail on more fighting games. you can use the game pad as a second screen or to display your favorite moves which can be tagged from your master list. Batman reminds me of Scorpion from the MK games which is why I question the decision to have Scorpion in the game as a DLC guy. if you are the type that loves to master your fighting games this one may be a little light on content and the clash system can be exploited so that you win 90 percent of them. I definitely have enjoyed playing this but I dont feel like it would be a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Entertaining

posted by JaredHay (KEIZER, OR) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is really fun and the scenes are like watching a movie. Great game for beating the single player story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Injustice

posted by kenerinn (COLUMBUS, GA) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Great game! Love how it plays a great story, and has you fight in each of the fight scenes. The superpower moves were very cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can't say anything, but SIMPLY AMAZING!

posted by DeadHead468 (WALL TOWNSHIP, NJ) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

Injustice Gods Among Us was probably the first REAL fighting I've ever played in my life (besides smash bros.). I got the game last Tuesday and I had a lot of fun. The story is just amazing,, but takes a couple minutes to understand. Also, hearing Kevin Conroy's voice again in the game is just a delight. Too bad Mark Hamill couldn't reprise his role as Joker though:(. The playable characters such as Superman, Batman, Joker, Bane, and many others were a big let-in into Injustice. Also, the stage designs and gameplay is phenomenal. I know it wasn't helpful enough, but nothing more can be said about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Rental, Not a Great buy

posted by Wearemomo (JAMAICA, NY) May 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is pretty good and reminds me of every single Mortal Kombat game. The story is awesome, it nice to watch the movie-like cutscenes and enjoy playing the fights as well.

I played the game on Medium mode and it took me only 4 hours to beat the main game storyline. We are expected to recieve DLC in the summer but ill leave that in the air. Also online fights are nice but there is no cohesive interface that can allow you to play with friends. Just random people over the internet.

It is not a bad game, its just not living the true potential for online.

For single player though, this game packs a punch and can keep a Casual gamer going for atleast a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Captivating story

posted by Smedrick (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) May 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2009

I'll admit it, I had no idea this game was a fighter. I'm not a big fan of fighters, but I gave it a go anyway. Made it through the grueling tutorial and then fired up the story mode. It seems like a pretty standard fighter. Fairly easy (if not cumbersome at times) controls. Enjoyable, dynamic levels. But what kept me playing for three hours straight on the first go was the story. Excellent, engaging cutscenes, professional voice acting, interesting character models and costumes. I kept fighting just to see what would happen next. I fully intend to complete the story mode, but I can't see much replay value after that. That's not to say there isn't replay value, I'm just not that entertained by fighting titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fun, Yet Complicated Fighting Game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

When the heroes of DC get sent to another dimension, things really get heated. In Injustice: Gods Among Us, 24 characters from the comics duke it out – from Batman to Superman to Joker to Catwoman and so on.
But this is one game that you will need time to get used to – the learning curve here is rather steep. On top of the basic moves and the combo moves, you have to deal with moves that let you block and escape some attacks, attacks that send characters flying all over the place, a showdown system where you make a bet against the opponent, and using some objects in the arena as weapons. This is one game you just can’t pick up and play.
The main part of the story takes place in an alternate dimension where Superman rules with an iron fist, and it’s up to some of the other heroes to get the needed muscle in order to bring down the Man of Steel.
The Story Mode takes place over 12 chapters, and each chapter revolves around one character – and four fights the character has to win in order to move the story along. I liked some of the story, and the voice overs were really good, but there were parts that felt excessive (where you go right from one fight to the next in order to make the four fight quota for every chapter)– or confusing (just who belongs in what dimension and who are the good guys and who are the villains?).
But it’s still fun to beat the heck out of some of DC Comics’ famous characters, and it wasn’t too tough for me to get through the Story Mode (some players may find it too easy).
When you’re done with that, you can take on challenges – like beat 10 characters with a select character, beat every character in the game, beat 10 characters within a set time limit, or start every fight at only 25% health
Or you can have fun fighting online.
Injustice: Gods Among Us is a fun fighter to play, and fans of the genre ought to go get it. But the leaning curve may make this game too tough for some players – which is why I say rent it before you get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stick to the other consoles

posted by Mynameisvalet (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This version has no DLC, lag, no way to play with friends, and it makes me realize, OMG NINTENDO, REMAKE YOUR D-PAD, IT SUCKS FOR FIGHTING GAMES. I CAN'T DO HALF THE COMBOS BECAUSE IF ITS A PRESS THE TWO OPPOSITE DIRECTIONS, YOU HAVE TO SLIDE YOUR FINGER ACROSS THE D-PAD TO DO IT FAST ENOUGH AND IT WILL MESS UP BY THIS 90% OF THE TIME. iF YOU HAVE ANOTHER CURRENT GEN CONSOLE, STICK TO THAT VERSION. That will be all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »