Rent Injustice: Gods Among Us for PS3
view large frontback

Injustice: Gods Among Us

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U
GF Rating
7.6

1802 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun 2 player game, replay value high, minor cons

posted by apples14 (UNIVERSITY PARK, PA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

When the main theme song for a game is good that's when I get the feeling the game will be excellent as well...I still haven't given this game back because I've been playing as all 24 characters, which have their own unique set of moves, combos, special moves, and super moves. Injustice:Gods Among Us was made by the same people who made MK9, and just like MK9 the replay value comes from messing around with all the characters and the online experience.

The Story - I've sunk three hours into it so far and still haven't beaten it, mixture of cinematic sequences which are sometimes interactive and fights. You also have battles, S.T.A.R. labs (you have to do specific missions), single fight, and training (tutorial and practice)

Multiplayer - Once you press x on this option you have two more options - versus and online. Versus is where you can do some local fighting but a drawback is that two players is the maximum. That stinks, and you can't do any multiplayer team ladders like MK9 (Mortal Kombat 9). You can do it in single player however and choose battles where you fight heroes only, villains only, survive as long as possible, and many more. Other options include ranked match, player match, private match, join room, and create room. After choosing player match then more options open up, including: 1v1, koth, and survivor. I'm not sure what the difference is between the last two but how it works is you sit in a lobby with other people and watch as the king (someone who's been beating everyone else) and a rival fight. You can place bets on who you think will win and this gives you xp. There's also an "xp po_t", and the longer a king stays the more it goes up, and when a rival beats the king they get it. While you're waiting in line to fight the king you can watch the fight, chat, view stats, etc.

This is one of those games where the replay value lies in spending an enormous amount of time memorizing combos and beating up you're family and friends =D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Injustice Review

posted by cloakXdagger (OMAHA, NE) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Wow, this game is a lot of fun. Nice line-up of characters, though some are kind of obscure choices from the DC universe. DLC will likely replace the fun of unlockables when it comes to additional characters, I'm sure. Story mode is original, but short. Aquaman is one of the most legit hero fighters, which shocked me. Graphics are more than acceptable for a PS3 fighting game, not sure why I've read some gripes on that? Injustice is worth picking up when the price goes down some!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alternate Worlds Collide

posted by Godot (BRONX, NY) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As one who thoroughly enjoys the DC Comics and games, not to mention being a fan of the fighting game genre as well, Injustice was right up my alley. If you ever played the recent Mortal Kombat game (2011 release) Injustice may be reminiscent of MK gameplay wise. While many of the characters in Injustice wields their own unique, individual play styles, i got that oddly familiar sense from time to time that reminded me of MK combat style (makes sense i guess, since it is a NetherRealm game.) New and compelling in-game mechanics, big character roster, plenty of Online and Single Player Modes, and a captivating Story Mode make this game a must have for gamers looking for a challenge, or some looking for a more casual crowd to learn the basics. However, with all of the good, there's usually some bad as well. The graphics tend to be slightly choppy, making some of the action in Story Mode lackluster at times. Like most online games, lag happens. In Injustice it's quite painful at times, sometimes forcing you to quit a match because it's moving so slow. But these are just some personal pet peeves .Overall, this game had exceeded my expectations well beyond the giant disappointment that was MK vs. DC. After a very successful franchise reboot to MK, and after some hands-on time with Injustice:Gods Among Us, NetherRealm Studios has indeed wowed me over with their in- character heroes and villains, and their over-the-top stage changing scenes. Now if you'll excuse me, I shall leave to prepare a cup of my finest, exquisite coffee in homage to NR Studios for a job well earned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by zachs7 (METROPOLIS, IL) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was epic! It is one of the best fighting games out there! While there was excellent sound, graphics, and story-line, I believe that Netherrealm Studios could have made the story a whole lot bigger. It was pretty short because I beat it in about 2 hours while watching cinema. Two more things they could have done was add more characters and add more costumes. I felt that most people playing the game had no clue who the bad guys (actual bad guys, not in game) were. I love DC Universe, I had no clue who have the bad guys were. The costume problem is a big problem with most games. Netherrealm Studios needs to follow Dead Or Alive 5 with there costumes; new costumes every week just to spice things up a little. The best thing about this game (and probably what it is gonna be known for) is the heroes and villains due to people growing up with them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Minion010 (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game feels great, the controls feel solid, the environments are very interactive, and the voice actors did a great job with this one. There are many modes in Injustice to chose from, for example there is a mode on here called S.T.A.R Labs that almost exactly mimics the challenge tower from MK9. There are 240 Missions in all with a reward at the end. The traditional arcade ladder mode is also present in injustice, it is called battles. You chose your character and fight your way up the ladder against 9 other characters. Each Character is rewarded with a ending once you completed the ladder just like in MK. There are other modes in the Battles Playlist you can unlock when you get farther in the game also. The one thing that is different this time around is now you have a leveling system. You earn points by winning fights, going through campaign, playing multiplayer etc. The highest level is 100 so it will def give you something to work for. With each rank and with each achievement you earn player cards, badges, and other unlockables. These are customization options you can use towards multiplayer mode for the most part. Injustice also has a campaign mode. The campaign it self is very short took me around 5 hours to complete, but I will say the story is decent and has a few twists in it to keep things interesting. The multiplayer is also a lot of fun, although there are some lag issues here and there, and I have been kicked out of a few matches. I will say that the lag is no where near as bad as MK9 was, and I do believe these issues will be addressed with a patch in the following weeks. If you love DC comics, and you enjoyed MK9 this is the game for you..

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YEAH!!!

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

to call this a video game would not do it justice. first off story mode is more like watching an animated movie or tv and then getting to do all the fighting and feel awesome because you just beat up that super villian or hero from your childhood. besides story mode aspect of the game the regualr fight and challenges you can complet make this a solid game to keep you occupide for quit some time trying to achieve everything with all your favorite characters. only draw back is its not anything we havent really seen before, fighting style is just like mortal kombat and super attack resebile marvel vs. capcom but since we all love those game this game is just iceing on the cake!!!! rent of buy great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INJUSTICE:GODS AMONG US

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really think this game deserves a perfect 10 it plays and looks great not to mention the fight/stick for it is awesome as well but i still like to use my ps3 dualshock the moves are fresh and easy to pull off not to much blood which is pretty cool if you play with your children my nine year old crushed me so i guess its family friendly so yeah i give it a perfect 10 thank you netherrealm for an EPIC fighting game that everyone should appreciate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Attracts Non-Fighter Gamers

posted by mrlokito94 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Oh wow Injustice is uh mazing. I'm not a gamer that plays fighting games, but when it comes to my favorite superheros in this genre I could help to not count myself in. Injustice is fun and I personally found it to be addicting. I love the character roster, every character is unique. As soon as I received the game I went straight to story mode and ohh man such a awesome story plus with descent graphics. The voice acting is convincing and really good. However I didn't like how the story is based on multi universe, but other than that fantastic. If you own a headset you'll get your money's worth because talking trash while you play is all the more satisfying. I WISH I WOULD OF PRE-ORDERED IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by posey97 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game is great so far. All I have done is arcade and there so many people you get to chose from.Some are ones that you barley see in superhero games. All in all get it great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gamespot only gave Injustice a 7.1? Harsh!

posted by HungSolo (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off let me say, if you are a DC fan at all you will LOVE this game. The character list is perfect, all the iconic super hero's from the world of DC plus some that aren't as popular. But in my opinion the best part of Injustice is the spot on stroy. All of your beloved characters have decided to side with the now evil Superman, and without giving any spoilers it takes another demention of the Jusice league to come help out the insergency. The story keeps the same kinda humor only the Justice League can do. Once you beat the pleasntly long story, you are not done! You can then try out 'The mini story' as I call it at the S.T.A.R LABS. Where you can unlock new skins, and awesome stuff! The only reason I gave this a 9 instead of a 10 is because at times they will spam you with the same move, but it's not enough to ruin the game by no means, it just can get annoying. But do yourself a favor and get this game, they made all the characters such for lack of a better word awesome and kinda dark! Don't listen to Gamespot's review it's definitely a 9 if not a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game.. but there are others

posted by Vhinn (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I honestly expected this game to be better from what my friends said about it, but idk if its just me but the gameplay just feels so weak compared to mortal combat or soul calibur. The hits don't have that real impact feeling you get or that certain flashy look.Sorry but the game just feels dull

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fast ship

posted by Most1305 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

8 out of 24 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Can't wait to play the game same day ship great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Injustice Indeed

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Apr 23, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful


This is nothing special.

There's a pretty decent cast here, although, lets face, it, DC heros are kinda lame...

I was really disappointed with the graphics. I somehow remember this game looking better and/or having better character designs, but man, the game looks terrible and the heroes designs aren't too good either. Seriously, what is wrong with Wonder Woman?! How did that model get approved? It's not even close to proportional.
I honestly think, this would have been an easy fix had the game been cell shaded to look like a comic (and had better designs in general)

But, there's gameplay too. This isn't bad as much as it is bland. Punch, kick, power move. It feels a bit stiff. Moves aren't too spectacular. Levels are decent, transitions are cool. Story has a decent length, is about as good as you could expect it to be (not good) but can't really complain about it. The other challenges and stuff in the game are cool, but tedious.

Characters all feel the same. You could pass a little time just to experience it, but it's honestly nothing special, and a bit disappointing. I enjoyed the MK reboot quite a bit; this feels like a step backward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh..

posted by bigt24311 (TORONTO, OH) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you play these games for the the storyline, don't bother renting. It took me 2 hours to beat the storyline, and unless you have enough free time to sit and play this game for days, upon days you won't be able to land more then a 5 hit combo. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Terrific graphics! And a great story to come along

posted by firefox420 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well they sure have done a masterpiece with this game, I am just frustrated about two people I thought would be present. Starfire and Bestboy. :) Either way, even the characters I haven't heard kick-aszs! Like black Adam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like the game and the concept

posted by BossDonTom (WASHINGTON, DC) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I like the game controls are just like MK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by etrnlabyss (HUTTO, TX) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

looks like the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

injustice gods among us

posted by xxyoungsavagexx (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

best dc game love it give it a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome story but to short for a keeper!!!

posted by SoloAssaszin (DUNNELLON, FL) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have to say this game was great as for the solo campaign the story i wasn't ready for i beleave it was written very well it is a short game i beat it on normal in 1 & half hours.The graphics are spot on the sound is great the game play was good on a few of the super heroes they felt a little stiff but over all it was a good game TO RENT!!! NOT TO BUY!!! Now if they were asking 30.$ then yes its a keeper do to the Stars mode & the Battle mode & Online play, But other than that its only worth a rent people,i give this game a 9 over all do to the story & the shortness,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

injuste cool

posted by ELYZAHERE123 (COHUTTA, GA) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game looks amzing i cant wait to play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by Soul8Death (FOND DU LAC, WI) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I played the demo and it reminds me of soul caliber where u fight 2 c who moves on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

TOO EASY

posted by topgun2012 (AIKEN, SC) Jun 13, 2014

Member since May 2012

OK I THOGHT I HAD ALREADY PLAYED A BAD GAME IN DARK FORCE RISING 2 BUT THIS WAS WORSE THE ONLY REASON I GAVE IT A 4 WAS BECAUSE OF THE STORYLINE. I BEAT THE GAME IN 3 HOURS ON THE HARDEST SETTING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by Jupiter1554 (ITHACA, NY) May 30, 2014

Member since May 2011

Beat the game in 4 hours of play and had unlocked all the unlockable content in an additional 2. It has replay value unfortunately I got bored with the game after unlocking everything, would definitely rent again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just another borng fighting game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2004

Unless you are really into boring Fighting games don't bother to rent this game t isn't even a very good fighting game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

all right game

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) May 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

the it self was good over all the only really issue was is when you input the for the combos they seem to respond well when inputting the moves correctly. like if you press X,X and down the response is stiff and you will have to be lightning quick for button pushing. that's is bit disappointing. after playing for about an hour I just lost interest because of the none responding buttons for the combos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse