Rent Infamous for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25025 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily the best game I've played in a while

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

82 out of 96 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is really one of the best games out there for the PS3 if you're not into multiplayer games. The story start off with a blast, literally. you are an unaware courier delivering a package that ends up destroying most of the city and resulting in a city-wide quarantine. Oh yeah, and it gives you special powers! The story is set up so that you can do a bad guy and good guy version so if you want to experience all the game has to offer, you'll need to play through at least 2x (Also 2x to get all trophies). It's okay though, because I found the 2nd play thru even more fun than the first. I had a better grasp on the basic powers from the 1st run thru and the bad guy powers and story(played good guy 1st) changed things up just enough to feel like I wasn't just doing a repeat. The graphics and audio were insanely good(except for some eerie music that seemed to play at random) and the gameplay was excellent. Bad guys would actually duck and cover behind objects, try to flank, throw grenades, etc. The AI was really good. The powers were all fun to play with and include: lightning bolts from your palm, shock grenades, force fields, electric grinds on power lines and rr tracks, static thrusters and many others. Some of the powers worked better for bad guys and some for good guys, so there was decent balance and nothing to really say playing as either one is better than the other. One of the best parts is that aside from the initial loading, there are no loading screens! You play through the entire game, back and forth across the huge city without ever encountering a loading screen. I did have a few technical glitches where I would be walking and suddenly fall thru the planet and one mission that wouldn't trigger the next scene or something so I had to quit and restart the game. But I never lost any progress in the game so I can't complain too much.
I would easily play this game over & over again but there's too many in my Q so I give it back. 2 thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game

posted by Sadistikal (BYESVILLE, OH) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

70 out of 83 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Story: A
Graphics: A+
Gameplay: A
Control: A-
Acting: B+
Replay Factor: Moderate Fixed (atleast 2 for Platinum)
Platinum Difficulty: Easy

Infamous is a sandbox style work of genius told in a comic book style.

Full of twists and decisions you make yourself, you will find yourself pulled in and attracted to the story of Cole and those around him. I personally kinda had a feeling as to the direction the game was going as the climax approached but I was still amazed. The voice acting in this game was on a higher level than alot of other games out there currently.

The graphics are astounding and the landscape is beautiful and fun to explore. The missions are fun, but get a little repetitive, but not nearly as bad as other games and similar genres.

The powers are fun and the fact that your decisions in the game will alter what powers you have is great (not to mention the changes in your appearances and your powers appearance by those same choices). The controls are smooth for the most part and jumping, gliding and sliding your way through the streets and rooftops will be a breeze.

If I had to find a gripe about the game, it would be the ease of the karma system (raising and lowering it) and the A-B choice system that is a bit obvious (at most times). That and the fact that after your 2nd playthrough, there really is nothing left to do with the game.

Overall: Well worth the praise this game has received all over and a must play, if you have not played it yet add it to your GameQue immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game is why people do drugs

posted by ChrisHowes (WINCHESTER, KY) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is why people do drugs Boring and repetitive. Make a game that involves the mind of a player and not wish it was fable with a mix of gta regect formats. Well if you have a nice dime bag this is the game for you if not this game is an expensive target for your rifle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous: The Number One Reason To Own A PS3

posted by Adams4190 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Who wouldn't love to have the power to control lightning? Infamous puts all these powers at your fingertips, but it is so much more than that.

Pros:
- The action is faced paced and exciting, and feels nice and open. You don't feel forced into any one way to approach a fight, and there are some cool power combos to be used
- The powers make you feel powerful. That seems like a pretty simple concept, but there are plenty of superhero games that don't quite create the atmosphere that you are a certified badass.
-Your powers actually grow. This is generally a point of concern for me when I play games. I hate getting all of these points and upgrading weapons to really not notice any difference in using them. Every power has 3 levels, and while some levels are just making it more powerful, there are enough additions to be exciting. An example would be your basic lighting projectile will eventually explode on headshots when fully upgraded. Also, the powers themselves feel more powerful than the powers you had before, culminating and calling down lightning from the sky that destroys pretty much anything.
-A lot of people do not like the comic book way which some of the narrative is told, but I think it gives Infamous a distinct visual style. The story has a couple of decent plot twists, and an ending that isn't a cliffhanger but lets you know there's going to be another game.
-The good/evil karma meter makes playing the game through twice worth something because certain powers go with good or with evil

Cons:
- While the story carries the game along, it does much else. Also, individual chapters feel thrown together even though the story as a whole is good enough.
- The enemies are not particularly varied, so it feels like you're fighting basically the same people the whole game with slight variations

Infamous is just pure fun from start to finish. Everyone should definitely Ride The Lightning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BRAVO Cole--- Infamous is good.(PERIOD)

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

56 out of 71 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Its just well done.....

I know....thats a weak review but it really is the truth.

Infamous takes all the most important things in a gaming experience (for me at least) and polishes them to a spit shine.

Firstly, the story is engaging and has you interested from the get go....the mystery of how Cole got his powers and what when down when Empire city exploded is a great back drop for the action and adventure that ensues....

The controls are easy to get used to and your ability to jump and climb are extremely fluid. Jumping on and to things is my big weak spot as a gamer and this game never left me frustrated. It was great to not get bogged down in making the perfect leap to reach a ledge or platform. It made the playing much more fun.

The check point system is perfect. When you do die, you dont have to go back far and do a bunch of annoying replaying.

There are upgradable powers making XP gathering beneficial but not a focus of the game. I found that refreshing.

The game looks amazing.....let me tell ya-- when you take a leap off a skyscraper and speed towards the ground (Cole is unharmed by hundred foot falls), the sensation of falling is so real you can feel it in your stomach.

The city is expansive and alive with people, cars, and buildings.

Their are two types of missions, ones that progress the story and side missions that give you XP and help you with your reputation. You can choose to be a good guy by helping citizens or take a darker path. These choices affect your powers and the way your character actually physically looks....cool, right?. People react to you as either a hero or a villain depending on your actions.

Its just a game that is done very well. Its not perfect and you may find something here or there that you think could have been better but not much....

Adding to its replay value is the need to play as good and evil to get all the trophies.

If you have a PS3-- You need to experience INfamous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

InFamous woth the time

posted by WookieMan (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I found this game refreshing, and I love the classic 'choose your own adventure style of plot. I finished the main game, and there is apparently plenty left to do. Good powers, good effects, good story line. A sequel is definitely on the way, based on the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

inFamous, try FAMOUS!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) May 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

107 out of 150 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Everyone has been anticipating this game for months, even a year; and I must say, it does live up to it's amazing promises. The game is freaking awesome!! I am already hooked. The graphics are insane for an open world game, and the voice-acting is so good it's bad. The environments could be better, but it's okay, I don't play a game for its environmental graphics, I play a game for its enjoyability, and inFAMOUS delivers.
The story is also great, not completely original, but Sucker Punch makes it their own. The anime cut scenes are cool, violent, but still pretty cool.
The controls are amazing!! Responsive, clean, and very easy to pick up on. Your character also runs really fast, a trait most games lack.

Pros: Nice graphics, awesome voice-acting, insane controls, freaking awesome action! Sweet story, fresh take on the superhero genre. Very addictive, very evil villains and coll characters. Karma is really cool, and killing citizens are fun to fry!

Cons:Environment could be better, aiming a jump is a little hard.

This game totally adds new strength to the superhero game genre with addictive game play and powers. I completely hooked and if you can get a hold on this awesome game, you'll find yourself loving every minute of this insanley sick game of mass destruction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Brooticus (SAN ANGELO, TX) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I recently received this game and have been in an utmost stuper since. Before i realized it i put 4 hours into the game without even noticing. Very fast paced and keeps your attention. I have noticed that it does become a little repetitive. The controls are extremely easy to get used to. The camera does pan a little fast, but this is easily fixable in the options. I also enjoy that you learn the story as the character does. You have no back story or know-how as to what is going on. As the character learns whats going on, so do you. I have been impressed since starting it and continue to be. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good action/ open world game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

inFamous

posted by beepboop (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I loved the way you can control and customize the main character,Cole. And other than that there is nothing that can be done to make a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by BackNstyle (NEWARK, DE) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It has been several years since I last got into video games and finally decided to give my old hobby a try once more, utilizing Infamous to get me back into the swing of things. I definitely can say without a shadow of a doubt that this game revived my love for playing. The gameplay was smooth and had well balanced attributes throughout.

If I wanted to muck around town, I could do so while still feeling absorbed in the game. There were areas to get into fights and feel some action or if I just wanted to collect blast shards in clear areas, I only had the notion of keeping an eye and ear out for incoming sniper shots. It kept roaming the city maps fun without going to any extreme, as in some other games where you could walk around forever and never get touched by an enemy until you began the next mission in the storyline, taking away from the experience. This all maintained the idea of a dangerous violent world, but sustained the fun factor.

The superpowers were fun as well, suffice to say saving the best for last. The growth and progression of your superpowers is all within reason and appropriate to the tasks at hand as well as the storyline. It was an interesting idea that your moral choices made throughout the game affect the growth of your superpowers, being towards good or evil. I went the good route first and never felt that I was getting cheated as far as sufficiently being able to dole out pain and death to the rampant bad guys.

The graphics and fluidity of the game were right on par for what I expected. Explosions looked great as well as the effects of the electrical superpowers. The city itself had plenty of rich detail without going overboard. To get somewhat philosophical, sometimes it's what the image symbolizes that stirs the most reaction. Seeing a mangled and destroyed city that succumbed to crime, disease, death, and disaster was enough to keep me believing in the game, plus a noir-style storyline had me hooked til the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun -Spoiler Free Review-

posted by IceBrazuca (Atlanta, GA) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

-Completely Spoiler Free Review-

-=My experience with the game=-

I played the game on Hard mode all the way. Did all the sidemissions and got 90% of all blastshards. Played the game one time being completely good, and the other being completely evil.

-=Story=-

Positives:The game's story is really good. The way the story advances seems to fit pretty perfectly. If you pay attention to the story as it progresses, the things that drive the game forward begin to make more sense, and you begin to understand how every character behaves and what motives them to do what they do.

Negatives: The whole going from one island to another only after doing certain missions does seem pretty linear, but its carried out pretty well. Certain side missions make no sense as to why it would increase your territory and prevent enemies from appearing there. Also the fact that anyone would ask you for help if you are evil doesn't make sense.

-=GamePlay=-

Positive: Its very similar to Uncharted except you feel like you are Super Drake. As the game progresses you get more and more powers. Every time you get a power it just makes sense and you begin using it from that point on. Almost every power I unlocked was something that I was actually desiring to have. Pretty good variety in missions, even the side missions.

Negatives: Some of the powers can not be upgraded which is a shame because its usually the best ones. Some of the side missions are annoying. Sometimes you want to get a blastshard on the side of a building by falling into it, but since you can't prevent your self from grabbing on to the side of the building, you basically have to keep falling and climbing up the side of the building until you grab that blastshard instead of a window.

-=Final Thoughts=-

This is a six to ten hour game if you try to rush through it, but if you plan on taking your time and doing the side missions you can add another six to twelves hours onto that. This is a great PS3 exclusive. Play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best PS3 Game I've Played

posted by MrngNeom (ROLLA, MO) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Good:
- Game play is great and addictive.
- Controls are intuitive and making your guy do what you want is easy.
- A lot of freedom in how to combat enemies.
- Your character's movements are smooth and moving around the city is awesome looking.
- Story line and character development is good.
- You can interact with your environment a lot. Cars/trashcans/boxes can generally be pushed/destroyed. People react to you as you walk by.

Average:
- Graphics are great for parts of the game, and not so great for others.
- Replay value is good because you can switch to the other end of the karma spectrum. I didn't make it all they way through the game a second time though. The story line is very very similar between the good and evil paths.

Bad:
Can't think of any. :)

Other: I gave it 10/10 because its the best game I've played for PS3 so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Electric Mayhem!

posted by gameflayz (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

"there's nothin' like a fistful of lightin'" as Atlas said in Bioshock. What can be said about this game that hasn't already. The story is emotional and you become attached to the characters and actually fear rof their safety. The setting of a city that has fallen into chaos after an explosion is really well executed. People still are waliking around looking for food and such, but there are dead and dying people everywhere and gang warfare and lack of electricity has left the city divided (litteraly) into sections. That's where Cole comes in, electrocuting, exploding and crushing his way through waves of baddies. The controls let you do basicly anything you can imagine like climbling/ jumping off buildings, grinding powerlines and train tracks, gliding from rooftop to rooftop all the while hurling lightning grenades and sniping anybody who gets in your way.

Only a few minor gripes. yes it does have the ocassional pop-in (there are so many buildings and details it's impossible not to. Sometimes you stick to things when you're trying to get away from guys firing rockets at you or trying to get the blast shard right below you. Aside from that one of the best games to hit the PS3. File under GTA/City of Heroes/Fable catergory

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous

posted by DSOUTH (SHAKOPEE, MN) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Before I even played the full version of the game I was amazed, on how well it was put together.Its one of my first and best PS3 game I have played yet. The theme and story of Cole and how he was brought up was uniq in its own way.Plus how it made an impact on what it going on around him and what he has to face. It's like a another world your playing in and anything can happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good open world game!

posted by reasoned (FAIRFAX, VA) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is a great open world game.

PRO:

Open world - very well done IMO
Powers
Graphics
Story

CON:
Well, some of the fighting mechanics are awkward - but its sort of part of having so many powers available at once

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding Game!

posted by Coldsun (RED HOOK, NY) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is absolutely phenomenal gameplay and story. To put it quite simply if you take Starwars : The Force Unleashed and throw it in an urban environment with a much more interactive surrounding and you will have Infamous. All the powers are very reminiscent of TFU but Infamous take the gameplay up a notch. This is no simple just run around killing bad guys kind of game. If you try the Rambo strategy in some situations you will find yourself ripped to shreds by gunfire before you even get going. Overall the story is well written and the game is very fun to play. I would highly recommend anyone to give this a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First Real Super Hero/Super Villain Game

posted by Brian6544 (STAMFORD, CT) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is bar none the best super hero style game I have ever played. I say super hero style, in that you are not forced to be the hero you can be the villain if you choose. What the Sucker Punch did so weel in creating "Infamous" was seemlessly translating the the feeling of a comic book into a video game, without using a already established character.

Now while I gave the game a perfect "10" I do have a few small complaints. First "Cole" the main character seems to have a problem with jumping down. He occaisonally goes over the wrong side of the bar he standing on or just grabs on to another surface rather then descending the way you want him to. This a minor problem and has almost no effect on overall game play.

My other complaint is that the choices necessary to be a super villain in the game are at time a little silly, and not particularly logical. Growing up as a fan of characters like Lex Luthor and Dr. Doom I appreciate the villain's ability of deception. It would have been nice to have seen a more strategic approach to making your character a villain.

Overall loved the game and worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

inFamous: Why it's good

posted by SuperFist (METUCHEN, NJ) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a new gamer but i'm beginning to expand my knowledge with games. I originally ordered this game simply because I was tired of hearing my friends brag about their XBOX 360 exclusives and I wanted to be the only one in our group who could talk about inFamous (it being a PS3 exclusive). It ended up being really sick. The powers are great and I found myself craving going into those sewers and getting my next one. The upgrades are totally worth it especially when fighting bosses or large hoards of Reapers, Dust Men, or First Sons. The story is a little complicated and a tiny bit confusing. I recommend just going on Wikipedia and reading the plot if you beat the game and were like "....wait...what???" It's just a really interesting take on the modern superhero. It is an homage to the film Batman Begins and the idea that things get way uglier than we could imagine when disaster strikes. Replay ability is high in my opinion. The free roam is fun; You never get tired of climbing a building and Thunder Dropping off. It's easy to get around and there's always something to do between the story missions, side missions, and random citizens running up to you for help. On the other hand the surroundings are a little repetitive and you really cant physically tell each district of the city from another. There's minor glitches and inconsistencies.

I give it a 9/10. The idea and execution are just excellent and I would love to see a sequel. Even a movie....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INFAMOUS is INCREDIBLE

posted by jacksrmd (WASHINGTON, DC) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

everyone that says this game has repetitive gameplay or repetitive enemies hasn't played the game for too long. The 3 islands have different enemy types and gameplay changes also.

GOOD/GREAT
- original gameplay missions (ie. escorting prisoners)

- people complaining about collecting shards (after u find 80 out of 350) they appear on your map if are within range and u hit your L3 button UNLIKE GRAND THEFT AUTO and every other game - this is UNIQUE

- u have total control of whether u are going to do ALL GOOD MISSIONS / ALL EVIL MISSION / or some of both

- game is like SPIDERMAN + ELECTRO POWERS and then SOME MORE

- for people complaining about sticking to stuff, all u have to do is hit the O button for him to release holding on to something (YEEEESH)

- I've spent over 30 hrs doing only GOOD stuff and I'm at 72% complete the game, with 339 of 350 blast shards (cuz i used the meter), 32 of 32 secret drops, i think its 82 of 87 districts taken control, 15 of 15 MAJOR GOOD MISSIONS, 16 of 21 stunts, 47% of trophies. After I beat the game, I get to play it again and the experience WON'T BE THE SAME, because I'll be EVIL throughout the entire game: the power's will be different, full motion video will be different.

If any 1 tries to fool you into thinking this game is EZ, they havent played the game for too long, they are shallow, or they are lying.

I've been playing video games for over 20 yrs. INFAMOUS has the most original gameplay that I've seen in a game. WOWWWWWWWWWW

This is not a rental, this is a BUYYYYY. But if you are hardcore like me and plan on beating a game of this depth within 80+ hours (this is saying a lot - because this is NOT an RPG), renting it is GREAT.

Don't pass up the chance to play this game.

XBOX 360 has NOTHINNNNNNNG that can TOUCHHHHHHHH THISSSS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game!

posted by Mroszak (CARLSBAD, CA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

One of the best games I've played in a long time. Great controls and graphics and your powers are so much fun to use. The story is very good also. Nothing negative I can really say about this game, other then I wish it had some sort of online. CTF would have been so much fun in that huge city with all your powers and people trying to catch you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the top 10 Ps3 titles so far

posted by funkdr (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a wonderful game to play on so many levels.

Graphics: 8
It's not going to be like Metal Gear Solid 4, but it was pretty great considering it was a sandbox atmosphere with NO slow down.

Gameplay: 10
- The evil/good playthroughs were fun. I would have liked a neutral playthrough though.
- The storyline was very compelling and did a decent job of drawing you into the game
- It had a very well thought-out way to limit Cole to different parts of the island and to increase his powers. There didn't seem to be any plot-holes that I could note
- I would have liked a different explanation for Kessler, but it was still a good sub-plot with John, the raysphere, and all the badguys.
- The newer powers you get throughout are very fun to take advantage of and keep the game fresh.
- Controls are very easy to learn and adapt to.

The only negatives I have for this game are:
- that I wished that there was an 'Realistic' difficulty setting, where Cole uses electricity EVERYTIME he uses a power, not just the powerful ones. I played through good and evil and by my third playthrough (using good) i found i was just too good, even on Hard setting. I would still die every now and again, but it was more through cheap-o hits than a certain section being too hard
- I found myself wanting for some more major battles. A couple more missions like "Anything for Trish", or "Alden in Chains" would have capped this game off perfectly
- Occasional clipping will sometimes get you stuck or will cause you to die instantly.
- The Raysphere should have given you more power.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely Loved It

posted by Kilapirate (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has to be one of the best I have played in a good while now. Even by the way it just starts and sucks you into the story as soon as you press the start button, and that first scene with all the fire? Man that looked good on my TV (granted I will admit its not the best graphics but pretty good none the less).

Let me just ask people this, how many games have you played where you enjoyed playing it all the way to the end and even played all the side/extra missions as you played the story because it was fun/interesting? Not just race through it but actually sit back and enjoy yourself with the whole game?.....TWICE??? Yeah, I was surprised myself but i just got done playing both sides and did all the missions too. Mind you I gave up on trying to collect all the stuff, not really into trying to get all the trophies.

The way this game plays out is so smooth and rarely was I annoyed, and I tend to get annoyed with games easily :P but the controls, just the right amount of special moves (some games have way too much where you only use just one or two moves and nothing else cough prototype), the interesting story, and the diversity in the missions made me wanting more. Also it was fun for people who watched me play infamous...no one liked watching prototype lol.

On a side note i would recommend playing the game going towards good first. Easier healing/regenerating abilities and easier to get XP for more powers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sacrifices were made...

posted by newsradiox (CANTON, MI) May 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

71 out of 120 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I can't give this game anything lower than an 8. This game is good in so many ways and bad in so few.

The good: Next gen. graphics pretty much all around. (the electricity effect looks better than in any game, ever) The main character is well designed and moves smoothly. Every attack he performs looks polished. You get the impression that the developers put some serious time and thought into this game. The city is well designed in detail and looks better than most open world cities. The citizens walking around look and react almost as good as in GTA4. I have to rate the controls a 10. Anyone can pick this up and start playing. The controls are the best I've seen on the PS3. The buttons do what you think they should do. Easiest controls ever!

The bad: While the main character moves with ease and smoothness, the bad guys seem to move at about 4 frames per second. (jerky...almost robot like) It's like they're characters from a PS2 game. Every car you blow up, blows up exactly the same way. (the same 4 fireballs and the wheels fly off) Why couldn't they program 4 or 5 different types of explosions? Also all the cop cars have the exact same damage. (the roof is crumpled up exactly the same for all of them) These are the kind of things which give a game a 'cheap feel'. One more thing... The guy sticks to EVERYTHING (buildings, lamp posts, trees) even when you don't want him to. This happens automatically and it can get pretty annoying, especially when you're trying to move quickly by jumping but instead, the guy gets stuck to objects, slowing you down.

This game is a good choice for almost anyone, but more serious games like myself will go for Prototype over this one. Still, this one's a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best attempt at sandbox

posted by RedFleet (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I play a sandbox game, I have needs. I need a nice big world to explore, I need to be able to get around easily, and I want to be able to do plenty of things in it. Red Dead Redemption is an excellent example of the genre, a sandbox game that really sells an open world.
Most people would say that this is first and foremost a superhero game before its a sandbox game, and that judging it against any of Rockstar's output isn't quite fair. Maybe, but whether or not the game's focus is creating a world and letting the player loose in it, or letting the player run around shooting lightning out of his hands, both games need a good world to do this in.
Infamous's world is small. It's boring. So was Prototype's world, but that game managed to give you plenty to do in it's small space.
In Infamous, enemies aren't much fun, at least beyond the conduits and their minions. You'll basically spend your time having shootouts with ak-47 wielding minions, who take quite a few lighting blasts to kill. While the 3 different conduit types are interesting, most of the fighting you do will be beyond tedious. You'll either be pushing people off roofs or throwing exploding cars at them.
The game's main story is also pretty short, with gameplay life extended by a handful of optional sidequests like removing things from walls or defending an area from bad guys. Some of these quests can be fun. Some of them.
moving around the city can be kind of a chore as well. Grinding down rails and power lines is fun, but since they're not shown on maps, it can be hard to get to any specific point on this system. And the parkour system is a joke. We've seen it work in Assassin's creed, and prototype didnt even attempt it. Infamous should probably have done the same, since their system is just tapping A to fly up the sides of buildings.
And the physics engine in this game is a joke.
If you want super powers, play prototype. If you want to act crazy in a city, play saints row 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not much of a replay value

posted by koroadies (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This Game in my opinion was pretty sweet.The alternate paths you can chose make it pretty interesting as far as story lines.As far as replay value I would say it got pretty boring halfway Thur the second time.The Graphics were pretty sweet and when you jump off a high building i felt that little sensation of falling.Honestly this game was a lot like the star wars games minus the lightsaber.I would not recommend buying this game just because in my opinion, Does not have much of a replay value.I would defintly recomend renting it from here just cause it is fun the first time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse