Rent Infamous 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

16577 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ps move

posted by reed (WASILLA, AK) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 39 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

now enabled with ps move on 6/7/11 i hope it turns out great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Frustrating, vague and too imbalanced difficulty

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Again had potential but ruined buy uneven difficulty, vague timed repetitive mission, impossible trophies, it's like they sat down and tried to figure out how to ruin the game. I would not buy it and rent it if you have nothing else to do.

Why does the screen stay black most of the game? Who knows. Why can't you fight in the open most of the time and are forced to fit in closed off pits, who knows? Lots of cheap deaths and cheap mission, tons of repetition.

Can't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I really tried hard to like it.... spoiler alert!!

posted by ssjsora99 (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Oh inFAMOUS..... after waiting literally a month to actually play it i found the end product less than stellar unlike all the reviews raving about this game. That's not to say its a horrible game. I really liked the variety of new powers this game provided (Im talking about you bolt stream!) and the more varied side quests in between the excellent story missions. But after a while it starts feeling tiresome. Even the quests that are suppose to introduce new powers via blast cores that replace the power substations of the first game left me a little disappointed at times, I mean cmon! A lighting tether that acts like spiderman's webs? I know its a super hero game but thats whats great about the original game in thats its ORIGINAL. Granted Cole isnt the first electric powered hero, there are other ways to traverse the landscape. How bout a short burst of power to teleport from short distances? Seems like all the other conduits could do it but me! I feel like im always trying to catch up to whoever im following in difficulty when im supposed to be the most powerful character in the game, or so I thought. All the new powers you receive in-game seem pretty cool at first, but in the heat of battle you tend to stick to your most powerful arsenal at the time. The first game got it right when it decided to evolve its powers, Meaning that whatever upgrades your bolt power has will be retained even after an upgrade. Here in the 2nd game you get different bolts each with each own attributes IE.bolts for long range or bolts that blow your head up with a head shot. I like to have a bolt that retains all the great attributes without fumbling through the controls to find that specific bolt, It kinda helps keep a level head during the last leg of the game plus it helps me feel like im an all powerful hero or a devastating villain. With the short amount of space i have left let me point out a few things. no more power charge when grinding. no more infinite basic bolt. evil not as fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh..

posted by poontang (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 25 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

should have been a DLC and not an actual $60 release...and they should have never took away the comic style cinema that made it unique. didnt have enough fun to bother to finish it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun till second island

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

it was a really fun game got bored at second island. Enemies so hard to beat. The second island is trash!!! But over all fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

none

posted by iloveinfamous (KINGSVILLE, MO) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 48 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

The first infamous was one of the best game i ever played (exept for bioshock) but as i played infamous two i relized that there was less moves to use far less levels and the enemies where less powerful and give you less X.P. So i hope if they make a nother infamous it will be longer, more powerful eneimes, more X.P, and more moves to use

-- Noah

P.S if you wanted to now how i know all this is becuse my dad works for the gaming place that makes infamous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Truely Great Game

posted by Chandra38 (MANQUIN, VA) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Infamous 2 has everything you could want out of a good game. There's plenty of action, interactive characters, a good reward system, a great story and lots of side quests that contribute to the main story. Your actions affect how the game plays out which has always been appealing to me in games. Though my favorite aspect of Infamous 2 is the combat, harnessing electricity from everyday objects then zapping your foes is a great feeling. Whether you choose to fight for the good of humanity or for your own selfish reasons both paths are fun and exciting to play. I have and will continue to recommend this game to anyone who enjoys action games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by JudgeDread (WEST BURLINGTON, IA) Jul 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game was outstanding! Ihave a GameInformer magazine subscription and a month or so back I read an article on Infamous Second Sons and it sounded like it would be sick, so i got on here and ordered Infamous and Infamous 2 to catch up on the story line and the first game had me frustrated to near insanity... Needless to say I didnt finish it. But i got #2 and loved it the whole way through! The graphics the story the choices! It was all so compelling. I woke up one morning around 11:00 and grabed the controller and went right to work. the next thing i knew it was dark outside and my dad was standing at my bedroom door telling me it was after midnight! If thats not proof of an enormous sucsess I don't know what is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

repeative fun

posted by lilmagex (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

While its fun to run around a open town with super powers it gets old fairly fast. A step up fom the first game all the repetitive action is back hunting blast shard/drops/side quests.

While exploring is a little better this time around you might wanna save yourself some trouble and rush through the extremely light story cause you get quite a few abilities to help traveling a lot easier.

All around better then the first game with new powers and a shiny new weapon but after the first few hour you'll give a sigh at doing the same thing 100's of times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great sequel!!

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I enjoyed the 2nd installment of inFAMOUS much on the Hero storyline and will probably rent it again in the future to complete the game on the inFamous storyline. I liked the different variations they added to your attacks, such as the Bolt Stream, different types of rockets and the various ice attacks. It was seamless to switch between attacks during gameplay and made it easy to use different strategies against different opponents. All in all, excellent game for those who enjoyed playing the 1st inFAMOUS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is amazing

posted by info123 (MILLSTONE TOWNSHIP, NJ) Apr 4, 2013

Member since May 2011

this games had all the stuff i was looking for the action was amazing the graphics were better then i though i suggest you buy this game then renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

aWSOME GAME

posted by shadowsoldier36 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Mar 25, 2013

Member since May 2012

great game with a few bugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first!

posted by gman11 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I loved the first, so I knew that I was going to love this one as well, but I didn't think I would as much.
Infamous 2, in my opinion, is the better than the first for many reasons: graphics, gameplay, powers, mixed powers, story.
I liked the story a little better, and the end has a good twist and also is a big shocker.
The graphics improved quite a bit, still not great but this gameplay is too good that the graphics don't matter much.
There are many new powers, and also the ability to mix powers with the other NPC's, whether you are good or evil, and you also get to choose which kind of power you want in certain situations in combat, and it's very easy to do so.
What is also cool about this game is the user generated content missions. Now you can pretty much have unlimited side missions to do because of the ability to create your own levels. Some levels people have created are pretty creative and fun!
I recommend this game, I love this series and have platinumed both games. Definitely worth a buy in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intresting

posted by Trekker3994 (OGDEN, UT) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Infamous 1 was a game that took some skills to play. It had an intriguing storyline with some good dialogue. Infamous 2 only surpasses what its predecessor had done. There is more humor in Infamous 2. The graphics were quite brilliant, albeit they took some while to get used to when your used to the graphics in Infamous 1. At first hearing Cole's voice being less guttural is strange but now I find that I like it much more. Some of the enemies are frustrating to go up against but if you know how to do it just right they have their weaknesses. In Infamous 1 I would say that being evil was quite a bit more fun, but Infamous 2 makes being evil almost a chore for me. With the add in of some of the improved and new abilities I find it to be extremely fun. I just wish there could be an Infamous 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game sucks

posted by larafan70 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I don't like games that tell me how to play. this being a move only doesn't help any. I was at the beginning and I couldn't' figure out where the stupid thing wanted me to go. doesn't' help that I cant' afford a stupid HD TV so I can't read the print on the screen. When I couldn't' use the standard controller. I gave up and am returning this turkey to game fly. Word to the developers. Leave a controller option for future games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

infamous 2 great

posted by tlo619 (DRAYTON, SC) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

this one was great love it. love new powers and sword to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by xjosh0327x (BENSALEM, PA) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game is packed with all sort of crazy action and fun addictive missions. This game continues from the Infamous story, and just amplifies the first game. Has hours of gameplay. Hundredsnof different things you can do. Just awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth adding to the library!!!!

posted by Scoobage (FOSTORIA, OH) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

After playing the first inFamous, all I could keep thinking about was what they could possibly do with a 2nd entry. I also wasn't sure if there was any possible way that they could improve on everything that was in the first title. I am happy to admit that I was wrong.

After investing some hands on time with this game, I can say with total honesty that Sucker Punch actually DID make this game better than the first. The controls are the same, but somehow seems a little easier. Graphically, it still looks amazing. The fighting system is also just as captivating as it was in its predecessor. But the storyline is where it makes it worth the purchase. Playing through this storyline seems so much more in depth and involved than it was in number 1. There are plenty of main story missions to keep you busy, and just as many, if not more, side missions to accompany. And with the UGC added into this one, it opens this game up to have almost unlimited replay value.

All in all, any ps3 owner that enjoys the action/RPG genre would be a fool not to pick this title up. Anyone that wants to doubt, throw this into your gameQ and patiently wait for it to arrive. You'll be just as amazed as I was with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever

posted by 29darian (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Excellent story, the game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by elchombo24 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

really good entertaining game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grreeeeeaaaaaaaaat!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Wearwolf1324 (GREENSBORO, NC) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Overall this is a great game, the only negative about it is the ending

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Game worth playing !

posted by gam3r (HEMET, CA) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

After playing the first Infamous my first thought was that i needed to play the second. Cole`s trademark acrobatic moves help well in exploring New Marais. Sucker Punch Production`s games are known for their compellling story and voice acting. The game starts off with a " Bang " with an enemy called The Beast , Cole loses the fight. His quest for power lies in a brand new city called New Marais. Gamplay is tweaked a little with a new weapon called the Amp. New powers are introduced in the game . You still have the choice to be a Hero or Villian but your choice affects Cole`s appearance sets of powers and missions. The only problem I experienced in the game is the wonky camera when i use the Amp , but its not that bad . This game is a must get exclusive for PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Infamous 2

posted by Gamering (LORAIN, OH) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is A Great Game I Would recomend this game for any open world fans like GTA fans I Did not play the First Infamous but enjoyed this one alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

no thank you

posted by GlitterQueen (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Exact clone of the first Infamous..sooo repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Love it I just love it - Gaothemon

posted by Gaothemon (REDDING, CA) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I'm normally a pretty tough guy I like punching things, lifting weights, working on my PWI account. There are just somethings in the world that can almost make a man cry. (((((Spoiler Alert))))) The ending was just so good and so sad at the same time it was like I really loss a friend when Cole sacrificed himself and all of the other conducts to stop the beast and cure the plague for all of humanity to live. I'm only like playing the good side so I don't no much about it. Actually I did play evil for a little while and I think the Evil exclusives are not really good especially the weird phoenix-dive-thing. The story of the good side was just so fun and engaging, the world looked great the boss fights where epic and the characters are much more of improvement in this one compared to the last. Talking about improvement I really liked how the combat still stayed true to what we know it was like slipping on a pair of nice socks. The Hero exclusives are awesome the really use Ice Launch power is really use for getting around and the it rockets is really the only thing that I fought with after I got that power. And use the Ice Blast or (what I like to call the Blizzard Blaster, try to catch that reverence hint digimon) a lot it will do tons of damage to enemies even on hard difficulty Word of advice for Heroes never stand in one place and rely your ice shield power it is not that great. You really need to hand it to sucker punch, they are pretty underrated but they know how to make a game. Not like some companies out the(Cough-EA-cough, cough) I'm just really like how they know how to put on a show. I just really can't any complaints I have beside the big one. Moral choice systems are dumb. They should let just choose in the beginning to be a Villain or a Hero. Then again that would take the fun and suspense out of the game. I give this game a 10-out of 10 with the HARDCORE MEDAL AWESOMENESS Keep at it Sucker Punch. This Gaothemon keep on gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse