Rent Infamous 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

16744 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Infamous 2 was great

posted by xctatty (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was great. During the game play, it was difficult to switch from good to evil, or evil to good. You can pull the character from the first game and continue it. The only problem i had is, when i was evil i did a good event in a major scene and it made me complete good, instead of just adding good points. 4.5/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding, a huge improvement from the first.

posted by Giraffle (SPRING, TX) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Over all I saw inFamous 2 was getting the same scores as inFamous, but when Gamespot gave it a 7.5, I was getting a little worried. However, once I started playing inFamous 2, I knew that Gamespot was wrong.

InFamous 2 is overall MUCH better than the previous game. The graphics are beautiful, the city is alive and colorful, and you really do feel like you're making an impact. I just got done with my first playthrough (as a Hero), and I must say that they did a great job making you feel connected to the characters, and caring about them. The original powers are back, and instead of standard up-grading, you can acquire new versions, and "evolve" your powers as well, being able to freely switch between any of the different versions.

The karmatic system in the game is PERFECT. In inFamous, it really only changed some dialogue, your powers, and maybe the last few bits of the game. In inFamous 2, however, your karma choices can affect the entire game. You will meet two support characters who reflect your karmatic choices, Nix (Evil) is chaotic and controls fire and oil, Kuo (Good) is diplomatic and controls Ice. Eventually you will be able to get samples of their powers, reflecting your karma.

Over all this game is amazing, I was hooked and couldnt put the controller down, it's entirely immersive, not too hard and not too easy, and provides enough material to be a blast. The mode creator feels thrown in at first, but given practice it makes for even more hours of entertainment. I highly reccomend this game if anything about super powers get you excited.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME BETTER THAN THE FIRST!

posted by NyQuiiL (SUITLAND, MD) Jun 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start first by saying if you haven't played the first inFamous GO DOWNLOAD IT RIGHT NOW! It will be free for the next month on PSN.

inFamous 2 improves on almost everything from the first game. infamous 1 was a good game but it did have its faults. They improve on everything i didn't like about the first. The missions aren't as repetitive as before, New Marais is a lot more bright and fun to explore than Empire City was. The new powers are great, and most of the old powers are still in too. the controls work well and let you pick your old powers and the new ones. The new pop-up menu is great for switching between powers on the fly. The one thing that i hated most in inFamous 1 was having to go to a powerless part of a city, finding a sewer and powering up that part of the city. it was really repetitive. But it's not as bad this time around. There are still missions that require you to power up sections of the city but there actually fun this time. The story is told in comic book form like before which is still cool. They used motion capture for the cut scenes so the characters don't look as stiff as before. The new female characters are cool addition. so now cole isn't alone anymore out there. On certain missions they will assist you but it still feels like your out there all alone. (NO CO-OP?!?!) Sometimes you do feel overwhelmed with having to take down so many enemies at once with little help from the A.I. The User Generated Content is a nice plus but i REALLY wish there was co-op this game is begging for it. maybe inFamous 3!

If you liked the first game you'll love this game it improves on so much of the bad from the first it's a must buy. cant wait for inFamous 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What the heck?

posted by voodoofriends64 (REDDING, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Every time I beat the beggining Beast fight I just fall out of the map over and over. I have updated it and everything, it doesn't help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

infamous 2

posted by darqnezz (WORCESTER, MA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

didn,t get a chance to play the game..the game paused every few seconds here and there..caused a problem with my ps3...Now no game will load up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Infamous 2: More of the Same

posted by Jombodolo (FERNANDINA BEACH, FL) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Infamous 2 was the quintessential video game sequel. They took the old game, slapped on a few new abilities, tweaked the melee combat, created some more baddies and continued the story. I'm not saying this game was bad by any means. It was an improvement to the original which was entertaining for the most part; however, they didn't make enough headway in the combat mechanics to keep me interested throughout the game.

In the original game I found myself riding the line of boredom with the combat mechanics by the time the end of the game rolled around. With Infamous 2, on the other hand, I was bored with the combat system almost from the start of the game because of the large similarities and overall lack of improvement upon the first entry's system.

Not only did the combat lack modifications to its detriment (most notably in the ranged aspects of combat which happen to be predominant in most encounters) but the game also had times when you would be instantly killed as you turned a corner or came into view of enemies. These instant deaths were due to the enemies with rocket launchers and the fact that they fire with often deadly accuracy within moments of you coming into view. These occurrences would be much less frustrating if they didn't happen so often.

Despite the relatively lackluster combat, this game was still enjoyable enough to warrant a single playthrough because of the entertaining characters and the desire to know what happens to them next. I did feel the relationships between the main character and the two leading ladies was somewhat underdeveloped though.

tl;dr: Better than the first, but only slightly. Worth playing if you want to know how the story is continued.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very nice....

posted by jamzwayne (SHERWOOD, AR) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you were a fan of inFAMOUS, you'll love inFAMOUS 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nothing SHOCKING here except gameplay!

posted by DEWb1978 (JEROME, ID) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was a HUGE fan of the first Infamous game Sucker Punch put out, and they have certainly outdone themselves with this one! Its been stated in many other reviews, so i'll keep this short, sweet and to the point. Gameplay - improved, Map Size - improved, Storyline - much more involved! Havn't quite beat it yet, but it has me hooked! This was one game that i was highly excited for and it's lived up to my expectations in EVERY way!

Only negative aspect is those pesky choppers! I get em shot down, and with the upgraded rapid-fire, they are much better to nix, but they were a big pain in the "u know what" until then!

Dig the development of a variety of characters that are also subject to a Ray Sphere explosion! Makes the game more post-apocolyptic rather then just an isolated incident!

A+ to the Sucker Punch team for doing a great job! Will certainly purchase to own and keep this one to play again and again along with the first on my PS3, and the Dead Rising/Crackdown games for my XBOX 360.

Thanks for tuning in!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short and Sweet

posted by TheJonesGamers (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. Kinda short story. Work on side missions and story missions to maximize play time. I'd recommend staying Good Karma throughout the game because you get more benefits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OHH COME ON!!!!

posted by kccarrel (GOLETA, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

You are too easily hurt in this game. We have new spider monkey dudes that get no early explanation. You have no unlimited ammo weapon like the first game. The upgrades seem to so no better than the original useless weapon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

saddest good ending ever

posted by Gamer5000 (IOTA, LA) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But on the good ending (major spoiler alert!!!!!!!!) when cole died it was pretty moving and sad unlike some other main character endings (cough kratos COUGH) still they both made me mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

install failed

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i tried 20 consecutive minutes trying to install it simply wouldn't install i ordered a replacement copy which worked but then the money hungry people at gamefly charged me for the unplayable copy that's just un excusable all i got left to say us screw you gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tested My Patience

posted by duff916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Why must he grab on everything?!? I found this so annoying that I had to mail the game back. It's near impossible to do a simple jump and land on the ground without him grabbing onto a ledge or something.

Or why does he have to do a flip to get passed a 6inch ledge like most of the roofs have? And don't get me started on those little air vents on the roofs. You know the ones that are black and have a cone on the top? I would think he would just run right passed those, but NO! He has to jump on it with style and stick to it to slow you down.

Graphics are great and the control is OK at best. The story pretty much seems like the first one with a few more twists from what I have seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Only If

posted by zeppelinmetal (WIMAUMA, FL) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Only get this game if you enjoyed the first inFamous. I played the first inFamous through Playstation 3's promotion after their downed network. Was not impressed and could not understand why people enjoyed it so much. Decided to give the second one a chance considering I could get it through gamefly. The game has not changed.
inFamous 2 is repetitive at best. The graphics are decent but I have seen better in older games. The missions aren't exactly exciting. For example, one of the common side quests that show up is to "save the civilian" from a bomb. Sorry, but if you are dumb enough to stand in front of an obvious looking bomb... Darwin would have something to say about that. The good or bad system is horrible. It gives you obvious decisions to make, it even pauses and basically says "Karma moment... What do you do?" It completely ruins the flow of a game when the entire game stops to ask you what you would like to do when the choices are already obvious.
Basically, if you enjoyed the first inFamous, then you would enjoy this. If you did not enjoy the first inFamous and thought (like I made the mistake of doing) that they would have actually fixed the enjoyability of this, then do not bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite game of 2011.

posted by Kory_Kardaleff (FLETCHER, OK) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I would like to start by saying congratulations to Naughty Dog, for scoring a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Realistic

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Infamous 2 is more ''realistic'' than the first. I like the fact that you can start from being evil. What kind of disappointed me was that when you shoot lightning from your hands it takes out some energy, unlike the first one. Honestly I only play infamous for being evil. Oh and one of the best parts of the game is you can kill the street performers!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here we go another Ace title are is it

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jun 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The bad guys in this game every shot hits you its like their aim is dead on every time bugs me then when you have that flashing warning screen alert that you are about to die it takes 5 minns for him to heal up. Some of the missions is darn boring. It is fun over all have a open city cool upgrades some nice boss fights. but the people in the city are a joke very fake life like run around like dopes just weird. its like call rockstar get some pointers!! Great rent game tosss up buy game good luck people enjoy.. PS Long Long ways from a perfect 10 score"""

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than the first...also, Nix is awful

posted by KrakenGrey (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The first game left me underwhelmed. It was fun for a while, but the side missions were same ol', Zeke was annoying, and it was just to black and white. Controls were funky too.

New one has a much better story, it just seems unfocused. Besides that, the updated Cole is a bit of a dbag, no matter what you choose, he always seems to be "that guy" the one everyone just thinks is a dbag.

Anyway, Zeke is redeemed. He's pretty cool actually. The two new costars, Nix and Kuo are a good addition, Kuo especially. Nix is just so poorly written, it makes me want to punch a kitten. She's unbearable. The voice actress needs her vocal cords taken from her as well. Lord...just just awful...

So..ya, it's an upgrade. It's a cool city that lacks really tall buildings, but it's fun overall. Worth a play for sure.

Nix...is just. so. bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but not great

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

Personally I give Infamous 2 about a 7.5 which is by no means bad. The developers do a couple of things different with the game from the original and some of them work while others do not.

Story 6/10: In the first infamous there was a clear goal from the start of the game. It had the style equivalent to comic books and it worked quite well. However, in infamous 2 the story is extremely slow to develop into anything relevant. I'd also like to mention that taking a well developed dark gritty hero and 180 him into a sarcastic wannabe uncharted character is just a bad move. The game does pick up in the second act but that is roughly about 10 hours of bad story which is why it got knocked down from an 8 to a 6.

Graphics 6/10: I literally finished infamous for the 2nd time before playing infamous 2 and the graphics are a great deal LESS polished than infamous 1. The lightning is made to look flashier but it still does not hide that the game looks very unpolished in many sections (especially when you first start the game). Also this is a minor gripe but i've noticed quite a few buildings with the birds are straight up rips off of assassin creeds eagle buildings and that is lazy design. It was pretty obvious the graphics suffered a bit from deadlines when you see something like the shaking camera when you are running on the ground. That is just lazy design to stir adrenaline.

Gameplay 10/10: Despite problems above the gameplay is very much improved from infamous 1. A whole host of new powers, melee attacks are more useful ways to get around. As many people know infamous 1 kinda got bogged down by climbing buildings, well now there are certain pillars that electric propel you upwards saving some time. I also prefer how the regular electric shots drain your power supply. It varies the gameplay.

Overall infamous 2 is a good game that you should rent for sure. However, it is not a better game than the original due to bad story, graphics, and development issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Infamous again

posted by crimson_smurff (NEWBERG, OR) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

fun but short if you loved the 1st then you will love this one just about the same a few new features here and there the story is consistent which is good and the thing i love most about this game its the closest you can get to playing a comic book it controls better then the first and there are some new powers to play with but i beat the game in 5 hrs i mean it was only 75% but still weak in my opinion bottom line if you liked the first you should play this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Something about don't bring a spark to a gunfight

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

... would sum up the game pretty well. The game is your basic Assassin's Creed clone, only you can shoot electricity and... umm... choose to be a good guy or a bad guy? The electricity bit is cool sometimes (when you accidentally run through a puddle that civilians are standing in) but generally outmatched by the weapons everyone else is carrying. Expect to be juggled to death a lot as pretty much any enemy that can knock you down can do so again before your character is even getting back up.

All in all, it's not much different from the first Infamous, and neither one is too different from Assassin's Creed or Prototype. A good rent, I guess, but it gets old pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Holy Repetition Batman.

posted by Shrimpman (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I cannot understand why people like this game soooo much. So repetative. I cannot have fun playing this game no matter how hard I try. And I have tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but not great improvement on first

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first, the only thing you need to know is that Infamous 2 takes the formula of the first, adds in a little diversity of missions, and delivers the finished product.

Unfortunately, my biggest complaint of both games is really a gimmick: the morality system. The first game had selections of good vs bad that could be compared to saving a bag of puppies from being run over by tanks vs committing mass murder of a few hundred people. Well, if you have problems with that morality assessment, this game makes the decision of good vs bad even easier..... If they make a third, they REALLY need to either get rid of the failed morality system, or work at making it a good system that captures the nuances of morality in the real world.

I did like the endings, though. The "good" ending definitely felt good, and the "evil" ending definitely made me feel sad.

The long-term value of this game comes from the user generated content. The UGC effectively means that you'll have endless amounts of side missions. While I did lose interest in them once I played my 25 side missions to get the trophy, I'd expect to keep coming back to them if I actually owned the game. I was actually surprised to see how much I enjoyed them, after feeling bored by UGC in games like Little Big Planet. Even the bad levels had the cohesion to feel like they're part of the game the developers created. Without the UGC, I'd actually have given the game a lower score, due to how little new there is to this game, compared to the first.

If you haven't played the first, then definitely pick this one up (skipping the first).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

InFamous 2

posted by papasmoke (EATON RAPIDS, MI) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Just as bad as the 1st one I hate the auto-grabing ledges when you try to jump off anything if your in a hurry getting down and you try and jump it's gonna MAKE you turn around and grab the ledge, and you have no control of it, the other thing was a glitch in the 1st one that I haven't noticed in this one Yet you know when you walked in the street and try to get on the sidewalk but you couldn't walk onto the sidewalk you had to jump, I hope it's not as stupid as the 1st one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Reason Why i gave it a one

posted by Ih8Usernames (LOWELL, MA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Game looked very cool, i read reviews and everyone seemed to like the game , so i finally got my copy in the mail and i think i might have gotten a bad disc because i wasnt able to get past the first mission(the one with a huge flaming guy). the game kept freezing on the same spot( when the huge guy lifted me up).
I tried restarting my system, i tried fiding a solution online . and even deleting and reinstalling the game and it still kept freezing on the same spot . so afte realizing this game was useless i decided to send the disc back, and this incident is why i lost all interest in thistitle and probably any related to it that may follow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse