Rent Infamous 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

16676 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Entertaining!!!

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

If you played the first one, its similar in style but with updates..... If you haven't played it, its okay, the fun factor is easily as good. Basically, your Cole McGrath, a mutant with electric powers, you charge your health and abilities at any electric port or conduit of electricity. Your overall goal is to save the world or America from this beast that you face in the beginning, the beast is too strong so your basically developing your powers to defeat him. Through the game you'll be running around a New Orleans based city fighting militia and working your Karma. You choose between the Evil side, or the Good side, the two path give you different powers and abilities.... given your actions and mission choices you have access to both good and evil powers, but not both at the same time.

PROS:
The powers are great and the more you develop them the easier it is to take out bigger enemies and multiple enemies. The fighting is satisfactory, you can use both hand combat and electrical powers, a mixture of the both is ideal.
The Graphics are awesome, the city is well developed and your ability to interact with the environment is a lot of fun (you can throw cars and garbage cans, and the electricity charge is cool).
They allow you to make your own missions and play online missions that users invented, which rocks because some of the missions are really creative.

CONS:
The climbing can be better, they could have taken a page from Assassins Creed or Prototype, your not really climbing your basically jumping from ledge to ledge.
The transportation can be annoying at time, you can't travel long distances in a quick and effective manner, you have to run everywhere, hit the roofs or use the electric lines to skate through the city. you get a cool glide but it doesnt offer you the speed you want. And if you fall off a building it sucks because climbing back up isnt fast and fun.

OVERALL its a fun game and the pace is just right. VERY ENTERTAINING!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by Infantry11B (NEW ALBANY, IN) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I just came across the Infamous title when PSN offered the 2 free games for the welcome back pack. I got Infamous 1 and was really impressed with it and seen the 2nd one recently came out and it picked up perfectly where the 1st one left off. The game takes quite a few hours to beat and is really entertaining, the only downside is after you beat the campaign there isn't co-op or anything so there isn't really any reason to play it any more.. Good game none the less and I hate the ending seems this will be the last of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Are there any unbiased reviews out there?

posted by brooks85 (MARENGO, OH) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

Usually I never write reviews but I can't stand it this time. This game should be called Fable 2 because it is a huge letdown. This game is definitely a step backwards compared to part 1 just like GTA4 is no where near the level of GTA:SA.

The bottom line is the story is mediocre at best, the mystery and intrigue from the first game are gone. The new characters laughable and the new abilities are nothing "new" in the game world.

And the number one problem is, this game can be beat very quickly. I saw another review labeled "short and sweet." Since when did a game being only 7 hours long a good thing?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uniquely fantastic

posted by MisterSinister (VOORHEESVILLE, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

In its first installment it took the free roam to a new level

Infamous2 is a great game, why is it a great?

Its fun. Roam around racking up destruction and indiscriminate killing at your fingertips, the controls are fluid i dont feel like im scrambling for buttons. scaling buildings is a lot of fun and for the most part its fluid

Graphics- OK not great but also tolerable in the sense that its a huge game and your free to roam anywhere there isnt water.

Game play- Fun, very fun nothing is more satisfying then hurling cluster bombs and tornadoes of destruction while shooting basic bolts all at the same time for an epic scale of destruction watching cars bodies and civilians soar through the air. The only thing this game suffers is its tendency to become repetitive which is slightly washed away with the mission editor after completion. Leaving replay high

Control- Excellent control the qucik powers menu addition also marries up well with its fluid constant action

The mixture of characters and there powers are also a great introduction.

I highly recommend this game to anyone that enjoys destruction on this scale, there is a new addition of some smaller structures being destructible which adds to the gameplay

Get it fool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous 2

posted by vghoyt08 (CALHAN, CO) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It was the best game i ever played. Both endings were pretty sad but the game itself was awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

infamous 2

posted by seth10 (TEMPERANCE, MI) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

this game is epic!!!!!!!!! its 10x better than the frist one. u have so many more powers than the frist one. u can throw tornados.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Not Great

posted by KeysV2 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The Good: The graphics are visually stunning, and I enjoyed the cg animated cut scenes. The moves are awesome.

The Bad: Game is too short. Not a lot of replay value.

Overall not a bad game but could have been better. I give it a 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME.

posted by vw86gti (PUYALLUP, WA) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

This game is one of the best hero games i have played yet.But one thing that got on my nerves is that when ever you swing the amp it is allways in slow moe.But other than that it is a awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

InFamous 2

posted by ShootUUp (FARMINGTON, NM) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

This game is almost like a nicer version of Grand Theft Auto. You can do stuff like kill random people, create total chaos without any consequences. But thats the problem. In Grand Theft Auto, the police do something about your rampant chaos. In InFamous, you can't drive away from an explosion hitting random people while the cops try and shoot at you. It just doesn't let you have as much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good but boring but good

posted by dominick35 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

fast action.like the damage amp and the powers.great graphics.wish the enemy types were more varied and challenging.a little monotonous sometimes..overall,infamous 2 is good.solid controls,great mobility,not too buggy.with all the bad games that came out this year it's nice to see one that delivers.good game to play as a filler before skyrim comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Famous 2!

posted by gerrbear11 (ELKO, NV) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

InFamous 2 is a great game I loved the original and this one improves upon it and is an awesome game in every way. In every store with a playable PS3 I've seen this game as the game you get to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by Marcelo_Parodi (LEANDER, TX) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Very well created and executed. There is a lot to do throughout the game, so you'll never be bored, especially with being able to chose being good or evil. If you enjoyed the first one then I highly recommend playing the second one. ENJOY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SO..

posted by Talented1Gifted (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

So...When is inFamous 3 coming out! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Makes the first infamous look like a tiny battery

posted by Paul23 (HAMMOND, LA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Infamous 2 was amazing the gameplay, controls, story lines, everything was amazing. Coles new powers make running around destroying (or saving) people a lot of fun. I had only two issues with this game but it was nothing major. The first one was that ii would try to jump from a building and use the static thrusters, he would fly away but then suddenly grapple back on to the building which was probably my fault. The next thing was that the game would suddenly glitch in the middle of levels where I would beat an objective but the next objective would not pop up or a character would get stuck. That part was annoying because the only way to fix it was to kill myself. But other than those two things this game was fantastic!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Hard Way

posted by djbeatzzz (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Played this game after downloading Infamous from PSN. I was really happy with the first game. The second one didn't dissapoint either. Just wish the game's story was a bit longer because the powers you acquire at the end like the frost abilities cannot be used unless you play the game again or at the aftermath chapter. Gameplay is great for an action game. I didn't find myself playing the game again to find out the infamous side in either game. The laborous quest of finding shards was boring but necessary if you want to take out large groups of enemies. The titan is an annoying enemy to kill. I wish that you could use the RFI in the aftermath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

if you played and enjoyed the first game your going to love this. everything has been cranked up a notch. the graphics, the sounds, the characters, the powers, the enemies! The game takes it successful formula and took it to a whole new level. definitely a must rent or own for any gamer. if you haven't played the first one, play that first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE THIS GAME

posted by andyfl7146 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Jun 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

THIS GAME WITH THE FIRST IS SUCH A GREAT GAME!!!! THE FOOLISH PEOPLE IN LIFE WILL NOT PLAY THIS DONT MISS OUT ON THE BEST GAMES FOR PS3!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game

posted by TecksChamp (REXBURG, ID) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

If you loved Infamous then you can't go wrong with Infamous 2. Just imagine Infamous on steroids and you have Infamous 2. I have already passed it as a Hero now I need to do it again as an Infamous player. I'm excited to see what UGC is created in future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A MUST HAVE!!!!!!

posted by Batman37 (WEST PARK, FL) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

"inFAMOUS 2" is one of those games you can literally play all day and night. The games game play is out of this world. You start off from where "inFAMOUS" left you on. The game begins with an epic battle between Cole and The Beast. After defeating The Beast or should I say postponing The Beast, Cole arrives at a new city in which he is on a conquest for new powers. With the new upgrades to Cole's powers, you would have to defeat giant bugs, ice titans and many more enemies. One thing I love about the game is the fact that, the player actual gets the chance to chose Cole's outcome in the game. Whether you want to be a hero or evil the choice is up to you. Not to mention the choice of new powers. Those choices are totally up to you. This game is a most have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it like a fat kid loves cake

posted by DELTURNIP (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This is a blueprint for how EVERY GAME should be designed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

infamous 2

posted by MechaSatan666 (SEWELL, NJ) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

the character is slow, and sticks to everything like a spiderman reject.
its a good idea, a guy with elemental powers in a modern day setting
but the game has too manny escort/defend this missions with the worst set of rules if you get ten feet away from the objective you fail and have to start from the verey beginning. You cant use his powers in the simlpelest way with out makeing a mistake, he cant even throw strait.I didnt play the first one, but if the sequal is this big a pain in the blank, I dont want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great sequel

posted by Joeisme333 (VENTURA, CA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

I loved the first inFamous, and I've been excited for the sequel as soon as I experienced the cliffhanger. Finally, the time has come to do battle with "The Beast". The only thing keeping this from being a 10 in my opinion is the story. I think they could have done a little more to explain the ice men and Kuo. Also, the first time you meet Dr. Wolfe, you hear an explosion and you have to go check on him. You find him lying on the roof. Why the roof? that doesn't really make sense unless you factor in the fact that Cole travels by rooftops. But it doesn't make sense to the story. Simple things like that bugged me a little, but overall the game was extremely well done. I loved the story's end (for both good and bad). Also, one thing I was slightly disappointed at was the evil powers. Evil really got shafted in my opinion. (MINOR SPOILERS) if you're evil you basically get fire powers, and ice powers for good. I think the ice powers were by far more useful, especially the ice launch. Still, they were both extremely fun to play. I would highly recommend playing the first one before this one, and if you've already played the first, what are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Action/Adventure game of the century!!!

posted by Skullcandy399 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I just got a PS3 system and I got inFamous 2 with it. I am so happy I BOUGHT the game other than renting it. It's so sweet! It's way better than the first and has cool options. Like your Karma. You can make decisions in the game wether to be a hero or a vilian. That affects what types of powers you can earn, and who you get to work with in the game. The graphics are also great and top notch of course. So if you're looking for an "electrifying" game than inFamous 2 should be at the top of your choices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fianlly a great game

posted by kyjode (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

If you liked the first one, you'll love this. although Jackie Earle Haley (Kelly Leak Bad News Bears) doesn't do the voice on this one, (Bummer) it's still a great game with new powers. I love skating on power lines!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by riki1227 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

yess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse