Rent Infamous 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

16744 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth playing, but has issues.

posted by Xionanx (NEW ELLENTON, SC) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

I really enjoyed inFamous 1, even though it had its issues, so I was really looking forward to inFamous 2. Right off the bat I could tell that the game had made some improvements over the first, which was a good thing; however they also made a few mistakes which almost made the pack it back up after my first hour of play.

Pros:
Melee is now actually a viable combat mechanic and works on most enemies.
Animations are greatly improved and the graphics quality in general are a definant improvemnt.
Combat feels smoother in general.
Less annoying missions.

Cons:
Different voice actor for Cole, which if you haven't played the first game recently you may not notice, but I beat the first one less then a month ago so it was pretty obvious to me. The new voice actor just doesn't sound "right".
Camera problems - Often an enemy would knock me back into a wall sending the camera into a permanant random spin which would result in me not being able to effectively move away from the wall.. think of it as a death spiral.
Unforgiving health - some enemies can and will one shot you, it happens often enough to be frustrating at times.
Poorly chosen mission locations - once you get to "swamp town" you are constantly facing enemies who shoot rockets at you, which knock you back and down, into water, which kills you. This leads to winning missions more on LUCK then actual player skill.
Speaking more on luck - there are quite a few points in the game where you can loose/die by seeming random coincidence through no mistake on your part. For instance near the end of the game you are expected to tether from boat to boat to get away from a boss. However while tethering across "allies" are shooting the boss with rockets.. which for some inexplicable reason will occasionally hit you in mid tether and knock you into the water... where you die.
Juvenille personality remakes - Somewhere along the line they decided to rewrite coles personality, he is now more "childish" in his humor.
Out of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Infamous 2

posted by steelerfan19 (NOVATO, CA) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Awesome game, good graphics, good campaign, good everything. One of the best games of 2011.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ELECTRIFYING STORY!

posted by Kat_Gamer (TAMPA, FL) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I've always been a huge fan of openworld games and this game was definitely one of the best games I've ever played.

The story was compelling and gripping. I ended finishing the game in three days (as a hero) and I would've finished in one, however, I actually had to go to work.

I also definitely enjoyed the new powers I got, however, I definitely did not like the way I had to earn the upgrades. I don't mind the whole getting-a-kickass-power-after-every-blast-core but getting the upgrades for the original powers I already had was a pain in the butt. I enjoyed the strategy of getting new powers in the first game a whole lot more. It was much easier to understand the first game because in this game I only really stuck to the powers that were most destructive and easy to use. I really didn't like having to pause the game just to change powers for a particular enemy even if it's for a few seconds.

Also Cole was very grabby. There were times I just wanted to jump off a ledge but he kept grabbing the ledge and it was really annoying. I couldn't just do a single, simple jump without him annoying me by grabbing the ledge or something.

But despite this annoyances, the game was unbelievably good. The enemies were much more challenging this time around and I enjoyed every minute that I spent defeating them. Although I preferred the storyline of the very first game more, the storyline for inFamous 2 kept me glued to my couch for two days (except when I had to go to work).

Also the graphics were amazing! Way better than the first game.

I highly recommend this game to everyone because you will definitely have a good time beating it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Infamous 2

posted by ESN (WEATHERFORD, TX) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Its such a great game that I beat it twice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Infamous 2 Review

posted by EvilBuddie (TONAWANDA, NY) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

If you liked the first one then you will surely like this one. As always sucker punch made a great story mode. Over all of it you can b good or evil. I'm not going to ruin the ending for you but the evil side was very depressing if you get sucked into games like i do then you will find this game great. But if you haven't played the first one yet i would do that before starting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by CptCurbStomp17 (SYLVESTER, GA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The graphics for this game are excellent. The story carries on perfectly from the first one and every cut scene makes you keep playing. i recommend this game for anyone who likes to play. Its not a copy of any other game, its unique, fun, and the story lasts long enough to keep you occupied for days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lightning DOES strike twice!!!

posted by pickle962 (WALKER, LA) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

As a huge fan of the original game, I got this game the day it came out and well...lets just say I gave my PS3 quite a workout. I2 takes what made Infamous good and cranks it up tenfold. The result? An even more electrifying game that PS3 owners should not miss. Lots of things have improved in I2 and although I could sit here and type up paragraph after paragraph extolling the virtures of this game, I'll save you some time and give you a quick rundown of what to expect

Story:
I2 picks up where Infamous left off as Cole and his allies prepare to head for New Marais, so Cole can get juiced up enough to fight an end of days like foe known as "The Beast" When it comes sooner than expected, Cole must quickly prepare for the confrontation. Question is will Cole have what it takes to save the world, or will he watch it go up in flames? The choice is once again yours.

Pros:
Better looking graphics and Sucker Punch puts motion capture to good use.
The amp is fun to use
Cole already has access to most of his powers from InFamous right at the start.
Trophy import is a nice thought for those who wish to start I2 with a few perks.
Cole's new powers are a blast
Karma plays a bigger role in this game thanks to two new characters who have superpowers of their own(not to mention they both have drastically different ideas of getting things done)
New Marias is a nice change in locale compared to Empire City
I2 offers a good variety of side missions ranging from taking on choppers to taking pictures for Zeke to even fighting a humongus swamp critter.
UGC Missions are also a nice thought.
New variations on existing powers.

Cons:
Making your own missions is not easy
Occasional problems with the camera

Overall, I2 gets a 9 out of 10. Despite a few flaws here and there, I2 shows Sucker Punch can make a great sequel and crank it up to 11. You'll definetly want to play this game twice to see how both sides of the karma coin play out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cole Has Never Looked Better.

posted by Shampos_86 (PORT SAINT JOE, FL) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

When I first started playing this game I was expecting a lot of the same old stuff from the first Infamous, boy was I wrong. This game has not only improved with its graphics and story line but the game play is so much smoother and the amount of powers one can get in this game just blew my mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same old same old

posted by teeterj (LINCOLN CITY, OR) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

nothing really to new just powers its the same game we all love just a different place and powers so enjoy i did it is worth it and you can make your own missions also for extra xp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Electrifying

posted by JLion24 (FLORISSANT, MO) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game is freakin awesome and is a great sequal to the first Infamous. For those who haven't played the first one yet, even though the second game is great without it, dont be an idiot if you want to follow along and understand a few things I strongly suggest you play the first one first, and the first one isn't to bad either. The Game is like Spider man in a grand theft auto world with the powers of Thor. Translation, AWESOME i jus love kicking people while there down and hurt and ask for help then i take a few steps back, get a running start, then kick them while screamin "(beep) YOU"! so if you havent got it by now its a fun game if you play it straight forward it should take a few days but if you play it regularly itll take about a week, a decent time frame. But i pray they come out with a third one. Great Game. Get it Got It Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game that always stays fun

posted by mdwright10 (WEST HAVEN, CT) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

This is even better then Infamous 1 and has plenty of plot twist and great open gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty good

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

Good or evil paths, the game is mostly the same. The evil ending sucked as far as what had to happen. The combat stays interesting, but is easier to build up points on evil because you get rewarded for causing damage to everything. Good for a rental, use the world map and look for the blast shards as a top priority while enemies are or not shooting at you, it is a good evasion technique and is useful later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Glitchy End to a Decent Title

posted by Hellagame (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I found this game a bit glitchy. I'd end up stuck in a wall or jump off a ledge and walk down the sidewalk only to find myself pulled back to the ledge I stood on earlier. This became more and more annoying as the game progressed. I found myself kick some butt only to see myself fall dead for no apparent reason. Nonetheless, I battled though all the way to the end of the campaign. However, I did beat the game in 2 days. Like most PS3 only titles this game is only good for a rent. I wish PS3 games would step it up a notch. I feel sorry for the PS3 only console owners. Mine seems to get more use out of Blu-Ray and streaming movies then I do playing actual good games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Sequel with Big Shoes to Fill

posted by jbentl14 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Let's face it. Under normal circumstances, a sequel usually has a hard time filling the shoes of all around outstanding predecessor, whether it be a video game or movie. (Spiderman 2 and the Dark Knight are rare exceptions)

Infamous 2 came really close to being another rare case where a sequel was better then the original, but fell short.

Infamous 2's story line seemed to lack the hook that gave you a personal connection with the game's main character, Cole. The first Infamous had a captivating plot, spot on delivery, and great acting, all of which really pulled me into the story. Remember how vengeful you felt when Cole's girlfriend died in the first Infamous? I really don't remember ever feeling this same connection when playing Infamous 2.

The way the game ended was arguably the best part of the story, with the only real twist. And trust me, it's a pretty big twist.

The gameplay in Infamous 2 was great as far as variety of powers at your disposal is concerned. In fact, Cole has so many powers in the sequel that the game creators seemed to have ran out of PS3 controller buttons to use all of them.

The mini and main bosses were somewhat repetitive, but hey, I'm not really complaining that much. Zapping a monster in the face with a bolt of lightnining never seems to gets old.

Overall, this game is a must rent, but not worth a full purchase.

Perhaps the game developers should consider creating an affordable multiplayer component add-on. Then, and only then, would I consider fully purchasing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Infamous 2 :)

posted by tcuaron45 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The missions were always interesting, and I went through the entire game without any terrible glitches. The story line was fair, had a little rpg theme to it, which I really enjoyed. It allows you to go back and replay the game for a slightly different experience. I found that after game completion, I lost interest in the game rather quickly. You just end up running around trying to collect all the trophies you can, before you want to send the game back and get a new one. Combat is awesome at first, however even with being able to learn new abilities and customize which ones you want to use. I found it got repetitive. All in all I found it to be a good game, can't say I would buy it. But deffinetly worth renting :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Freaking epic!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by akatsuki17 (NAPLES, FL) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

now this game is epic and you can get the pros from all other ppl posting reviews, i will point out my personal dislikes in the game first. ok the melee is pretty awesome but the camera is ratarded (they wont let me spell it the right way) and it auto locks on the closest person (not necessarily enemies) which makes it difficult to play hero. (the different ranks give you different perks and the first good perk you get is civilian safty which stops bystanders from getting hurt frm ur direct attacks but u still gain evil karma) and i was upset with the evil lightning change, it is orange not red. SPOILER ALERT to infamous 1, and you dnt get black lightning. SPOILER ALERT... AGAIN, the power transfer machine does give you new powers (you keep your old ones but gain new ones) but they are severely inaffective until u actually battle with them. btw it is much better to go evil on ur first run becuz u have enemies who have ice powers and if u go evil u get fire powers. the voice acting is better becuz in the first game cole has a voice tht makes him sound evil all the time, and he was serious, in this one, despite his impending doom, he is lighter, cracks more jokes, and even chills with zeke and drinks a beer or two.
now the pros. the graphics are much better, the sound is much better, the free running very smooth and free. the camera angles tht u get wen u grind or run almost makes u feel like ur in a movie. the story is rly twisty and interesting and keeps you on the edge of your seat. the side missions are rly fun and you have three times as many major karmatic choices as you did in the first game. the endings are interesting and you get to use more powers this time around, being able to switch between them and all. my friend said they are rly pushing electrical powers to the limits but no one ever said tht cole just had "electrical powers" i think he is electromagneticelly kinetic becuz he can pick up cars. i rly think this is a great game tht is worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Homerun !!

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jul 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

Yet another homerun for Sucker Punch video game makers. The sequel is even better than the original. This game is just so much fun. I rented the original and at first i didnt like it, then when the PS3 network came back up, they offered it as a free download and i downloaded it and i suddenly realized how great this game was, i would have paid full price for it. Now Infamous 2 comes out just when i finished palying the original as a good guy, Infamous 2 graphics are awesome, the game play is top notch and it's just a blast to play. I will definetly buy this game, its a no brainer. Good work Sucker Punch!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

overall pretty good.

posted by link259 (PLAINFIELD, IN) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the game was pretty good. not too many differences between the good story and the bad story until the end. the main problem was just that the controls werent so good. i wuld try to fly str8 and it wuld take me to think im trying to land on sumthin behind me. or it wuld do a melee attack wen i wanted to throw a grenade. the list goes on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lets save the world!

posted by MaynEv3nT (MELVINDALE, MI) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

If you liked the first Infamous you are going to love this one. Its very similar to the first installment but updated with new goodies.

Pros

The cut scenes have been upgraded to present a more cinematic feel and I love them!

There are also more action set pieces in this game that do a good job pulling you into the gameplay.

Addicting gameplay with new powers to play with.

Enticing story.

Cons

Some enemies can be annoying.

There are no real "decisions" to make that will alter the story, besides the final decision.

The main story is only about 7 hours long.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience from start to finish. I would highly recommend renting this game or buying it if you want to complete everything the game offers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by DarkEnforcer117 (KNOB NOSTER, MO) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

inFamous 2 was amazing... was better than the 1st one i actually did both karma choices right after each other, each ending could lead to a 3rd game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is what games should be

posted by Wisegamer1 (WHARTON, NJ) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

infamous 2 is one of those games that proves that you do not need a trilogy to complete a story(heres looking at you deadspace). infamous 1 started the idea if a regular person being burdened with becoming a super hero/ arch villain and infamous 2 essentially finalizes the story started by infamous 1. I'm not going to spoil the game because its worth two play throughs. If your looking for a game that actually tells a well crafted story and is actually entertaining then this is the game for you, you must make sure to play the first game because it is part 1 to this part 2 of one of the best stories i've seen in a video game since the N64 and PS2 era, if you'r looking into this game then your probably thinking deeply about a game that you want to play that tells a good story and is a casual type of game with hardcore playabillity as well, this game is for you. take a chance on this game you will not easily forget the implications this game has....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing sequel to an amazing game

posted by Jefferz (JOLIET, IL) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The game is perfect in many aspects of sandbox type games. You can create your own unique levels as well as play user made levels. The game keeps you wondering what will happen if you make certain choices and alters the game just like the first one. The endings however deliever the most impact on the game both the good and bad endings leave players wondering will there be a infamous 3? I highly recommened this game for a purchase as renting it will never allow you to fully utilize the community made games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Infamous 2

posted by deathbot3197 (ROSEMEAD, CA) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Infamous 2 was so freaking amazing! I loved everything about it, including the graphics and the alternating storyline. After playing this game, i just want to play it over and over again until i finish all the alternative stories. thanx gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

infamous 2

posted by tony41305 (COVINGTON, KY) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

great game, better graphics than the first infamous and good story line. a must have.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More Than Just Saving the World

posted by casmouse (MARTINEZ, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I played the first Infamous and i thought no game could beat it, well i was very very wrong. The game is bigger and has alot more depth than you'd think. You have to think on what you do some things might seem easy and good but it could make you more evil. Also when you play this game pay close attention to your character and surroundings they change on your desicions. The new powers are bigger and better than ever, and some powers arn't electric powers. And to close, the voice acting is way better, the new voice for Cole is better, but for big Infamous fans the new voice is a little hard to get used to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse