Rent Infamous 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

16676 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Story Worth Experiencing

posted by majorfunk (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

72 out of 75 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This game is...amazing. I finished it about twenty minutes ago and I don't think I will cease thinking about it for another week. The gameplay alone is enough to keep anybody interested, be it the diverse and mischievously delightful powers, the advanced, satisfying melee, or the precise, skillful freerunning, Infamous 2 does not disappoint. However, this game has much more to offer than the average third-person adventure, it has a soul. The story is gripping and expertly woven to keep the player constantly yearning for more, making it nearly impossible to put down. I played until my eyes hurt, not because I wanted to level up or unlock a certain ability like in other games, but because I cared. As the game progresses, each choice becomes harder and harder. You don't choose between saving 2000 puppies or blowing up an orphanage, but between two equally appealing choices that no longer hold any sense of "right" and "wrong".

I would recommend Infamous 2 not as I would recommend the latest 1st person shooter or RPG, but as I would any film, novel, or movie.

If nothing else, play this game to experience the tale of Cole MacGrath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It Electrifys the 1st into No-Mans Land!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jun 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

89 out of 98 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

inFAMOUS is basically a bigger, better, more polished, and all around advancement from inFAMOUS in pretty much every way. And that's AWESOME!! I easily spent 40 to 50 hours on the first game, finally platinuming it. :) And it was worth it. So when I brought home inFAMOUS 2, it took me a few hours to adjust. Because this one is SOO much more refined, I had to adjust to the new way to play. The better way to play I should say. The story is a bit slow in the first quarter of the game, but really picks up and flies after that. With new powers, enemies, and locales, the game gets better and better every hour. Also, the side-missions are SOO much more fun than in the first game. The first had a few gems, this one consists of 75% of gems. Of course there's a few repeats and boring ones, but they always stay fun. Environment traversal is back, and still awesome, but the original voice-acting isn't. But don't fret, this isn't a bad thing. The new voice actually sounds better than the first. The first made me always think Cole was a villain, now he really sounds like an average guy. And of course, the powers. So not to spoil anything, THEY'RE FREAKING EPIC!!!!! 'Nuff said. And although not perfect, or needed, the User-generated content adds lots of extra playtime.

Pros: Its an all around better game of inFAMOUS. Graphics, gameplay, characters, acting, powers, boss-fights, 'Amp'ed up melee combat, great new locales and lots of great content!! and even the civilians look better!! You really can't beat this sequel, (unless you're Uncharted 2!)

Cons: The melee can mess up the camera angles. A bit slow in the beginning.

This game dominates the first in every way imaginable. If you enjoyed the first one, then the 2nd is a purchase without a second thought. And if you haven't played the first, then you aren't a real PS3 gamer. Now go and get it!! And then get this one! IT ROCKS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't write many reviews...

posted by banky74 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since May 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But I had to for Infamous 2. I, like many people enjoyed the first installment. I fully expected that the 2nd one would be a good game but I was wrong. One of the best games I've ever played.

Unlike the first game, Sucker Punch has breathed life into Cole, Zeke and newcomers Kuo and Nix.

Once again they've managed to make every new power that Cole receives both cool and useful. But the real star here is the story. It's nuanced, it's compelling and it's something out of a classic comic book.

The ending, depending on which one you get is devastating. Both because of the story and because you're at the end of this brilliant journey.

This is not a rental, this is a solid buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Improvements All Around, Wanted a little More

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

THE LOOK

Graphics are crisper and more colorful than the first game. The "New Orleans" New Marais city works well with the lighting. The sky and horizons have a nice feel as you run through the streets and swamps. The colors are very nice in this environment. The buildings are more detailed and the addition of cutscenes makes this a better experience although it could use more of the comic book segues the first game used between chapters.

THE GAMEPLAY

The same as the first but with some improvements. The shooting is easier to control. The AI are easy to handle with the exception of a couple of monsters. The Ravagers will be the most difficult to kill. Not much has changed though. When I first saw gameplay footage a long time ago it looked like they added some cinematic elements like Uncharted 2, but basically this is the same flow as the first game. Travel to the area, fight and move on.

THE STORY

It's not bad by any means. In fact it's much more comprehensive than the first. It just left me a little empty by the end. I won't give anything away but they have a continuity issue that doesn't make sense. The Beast, Kessler's reason for the Ray Sphere...? It just doesn't add up right with the ending. The characters don't have much to do but add dialogue with Cole. I didn't care about any of these people. The bad guy isn't intimidating. Cole doesn't really have a conflict. Clean up the city and wait for the Beast. That's it.

THE VERDICT

Infamous 2 is better than the first in every way. It's not a breakout from the first but an extension of it. I enjoyed it but expected more depth with the characters and the overall story. I hope they make a 3rd game with more powers to use and more people for the hero to interact with. I want some explanation to why some of the mythology differs from the first game to the second.

HINTS collect blast shards early, complete side missions to unlock powers, help residents for karma, get all 29 dead drops for 100% completion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a true super hero origin story

posted by symbolkid (FREMONT, CA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

He starts out like any ordinary guy just doing his job, then he gets super powers and Cole McGrath's world changes forever. In many ways, he's just like Spider Man with the whole "with great power comes great responsibility" thing. As much like Spider Man he is, he also resembles Spawn as an anti hero.

In pretty much every way, InFAMOUS 2 is way better than the first game. New evolving powers, new and better melee attacks, more boss type enemies, new ways to travel the world, and two endings depending on what path you take. The random events like stopping muggings are actually pretty cool. They make make it more like a open world game than it already was. The only problems would be the ones present in all open world games like the random minor glitches like parts where you can fall through the ground or the sometimes oversensitive camera, but they don't ruin the game.

Bottom line: InFAMOUS 2 is such an awesome game that every PS3 owner should have this game in their collection. the story is the classic heroes journey, the characters are are true to themselves, shooting lightning in all its many forms is really fun, getting around the city flying, zipping on power lines, and climbing buildings is really fun, and beating up bad guys rocks. To put it simply, this game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game.

posted by Chriz704 (BRONX, NY) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this game, the graphics are a huge improvement over the original infamous. It is not to repetitive and the new Cole looks amazing. This game is one of the best exclusives on ps3 and its a must get.

--
Chris

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you liked inFamous, you'll love inFamous 2

posted by RobAnybody (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The title basically says it all. If you like the first game, you will definitely like this one. Lots of people are complaining that the sequel is pretty much exactly the same as the original, but I say 'who cares?'. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

The bottom line is, it's FUN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Improved, Polished game.

posted by Sierpinski315 (PUTNAM, CT) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The developers behind Infamous 2 had time to polish a fan-favorite game and they didn't squander it. After renting this game, I happily started playing immediately and noticed a few things over the course of the game. Improvements : Side Missions and exploring for blast shards is encouraged and somewhat fun now, due to enticements such as exp and more power - who doesn't like more power for those shock grenades? Facial animations and voice acting, along with cut scenes, is leaps and bounds ahead of the first, as many who played it could tell you immediately, it was behind current gen games. The powers at Cole has at his disposal are expanded and intertwined with the story, depending on which actions you take. Watching an Ionic Ability tear down a street is just flat out amazing. Combat has been improved, and is accessible to those who wanted to use melee but found it lacking in the first game. My only gripe with this game is the voice actor behind Cole and the manner he speaks. This isn't exactly the Cole we knew from the first game. Overall, Infamous 2 brings a great story, better combat, re-playability that will entertain you for hours, and a game both hardcore and casual people alike can enjoy happily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost there!

posted by reddevil93 (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

In inFamous, you learn that an apocalyptic Beast is coming soon and you have to be ready for it. When inFamous 2 opens, you find out pretty quick that you're not. Forced to retreat to New Marais, you begin your quest for power, trying to get enough juice to fire something that'll weaken the Beast.

inFamous 2 succedes in large part due to it's gameplay, with awesome powers and even cooler and smoother graphics... The storyline also impresses, but not as quite as much as the first... It has just enough to keep you interested, but not enough to blow your mind like the first one did...
Also, while the first game basically guaranteed a sequel, this one makes a third inFamous extremely unlikely... I won't say why, but after playing through the game twice, it's clear to me they aren't planning on keeping this around for a third time...
Final score: solid 9. Awesome, but not perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous 2

posted by Superfly12 (PEARLAND, TX) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My son said this was one of the greatest games he has ever played. He said it had lots of action, explosions, and a good mix of choices. He loved the game play and the new powers. I think it was a great game for him to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow...such an upgrade

posted by CherryPie (BRONX, NY) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played InFamous back in 2009 and was blown away in the first 10 minutes how much fun it is to be a super hero in a open world game. Sucker Punch polished everything from the first InFamous game such as the combat system, new powers, a different looking environment, better graphics, better voice acting, and a more open world feeling. Even added User Generated missions which allows us to make our own missions and continue the InFamous experience online by playing missions made by other people.

The story continues right after the first InFamous you play as Cole Magrath a carrier who delivers packages to people when one day a "special package" tears through Empire City. He awakens in the hospital with electricity-based superpowers and a city he must save or destroy" This is a definite buy and I won't spoil anything about InFamous 2 but I highly recommend play the first one which was free in "Sony's welcome back package" or its $20 USD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back Cole

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Infamous 2 takes what 1 was and made it so much better, with new powers, new army of idiots and monsters to kill and huge game changing karma choices. (Keep in mind, i only completed the GOOD side)

The story takes place right after the first game, Cole is heading to the city of New Marais to get his new upgraded powers from scientist Dr. Wolfe after he heard about The Beast thats headed to Empire City. Whats cool about the start of the game is that you can use your karma from the first game to boost your karma in this game and some of the choices you made with that karma effect some of the side missions which is awesome!

Here's my full verdict,

The goods:

Cole's back and his powers are more insane than ever(please see ionic vortex).

Graphics hold up from the first game.

User generated content adds to the replay value!

The meh:

Some of the bosses suck(IMO).

Not a whole lot of variety in baddies, but its not that bad.

The bad:

As with most great games....the experience ends eventually.

The overall:

Must buy, if you loved infamous 1 you'd be insane to miss this one. Oh and check out the User generated content creator if you wanna have some crazy fun making your own missions!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What you want to know

posted by africaboundmish (SCRANTON, PA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For anyone who has played infamous and liked or loved it stop reading right now and rent/buy this game.

For the people who have played infamous and didn't like it there is no reason for you to rent this game.

For everyone else.....

First the good parts.

1-Infamous 2 plays much better then infamous 1 example. You won't get caught on walls or be worrying about never ending spawns of enemies.

The game over all is very tight and well balanced.

2-They removed some of the more useless abilities and balanced the powers for evil and good to really make you focus on either helping or destroying the world.

3-Everything in this game is better then Infamous (as we would hope but rarely expect)

Now for the bad

1-The game can get a little dry since the side missions tend to repeat themselves after a while.

2-The enemies become a bit to predictable in there tactics and the AI could be better

but honestly I am nit-picking.

This is a great game I give it 8/10 for being well worth my time and an all around fun experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous 2

posted by pduncan1954 (PLUMAS LAKE, CA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought it last Saturday and have been playing it non stop since the graichs great and so is thr story line it's a great game!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

iFamous 2 would make Nikola Tesla proud!

posted by chemoman (CAMARILLO, CA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I played the first iFamous I wasn't that impressed but this sequel just blows that one away! I like the new weapon he has, its an electric prong type sword and the new moves are visualy stunning! The best part for me is the electric glides he does on the power lines! very cool! Definitley rent this game you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

unbelievably monotonous

posted by Rabbitleggys (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but it's so boring! Tried three times to get into it and couldn't tolerate the tedious wall climbing and idiot punching game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

InFamous 2 Review

posted by 50fotflame (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i loved this game! when i first got it in the mail couldent wait to play it, after i played around for a bit i realized some of the differences from infamous 1.

in the first infamous your basic lightning bolt took no energy to use one thing i dident like was now in the second 1 it takes a little awaay everytime you do it, this is good because it makes people charge more and makes it more real but often time ive found myself wondering around trying to find something that will give me a good charge, there are always cars around but they offer little to no charge at all, thats really the only thing i dident like about the game.

i played on both sides (evil and good) and loved em both, i couldent tell you which i liked better, they both have their strengths and weaknesses.

SPOILER ALERT!!! DONT READ THE NEXT TWO PARAGRAPHS IF YOU DONT WANT TO EXPOSE THE SUPRIZE!!

when i played as evil and i got to the very end and had to kill zeke, it was pretty intense, i almost started to cry at the thought of killing ym best friend whos like my brother!

one thing i really liked was when i got to combine powers with Kuo or Nix, of course i tried them both, i thought Nix would give me some sort of teleporting power but i guess not it only gave me the Ionic Drain (witch was awesome, espically when ur surrounded by guys) and Kuo gave me Ionic Freeze and a Frost Grenade witch were both pretty cool except they had little to no effect on the ice people.

in my personal opinion i give this game a 10 because its a great game! ITS EPIC, hoping they make an InFamous 3 :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super charged sequel improves on the first game

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sucker Punch's "inFamous" was a ton of fun to play, with an all new superhero to take the fight to some very bad people. Cole's electrical based powers were a joy to use, and he moved about Empire city with ease. Now, here it is two years later, and Cole has returned for another round in "inFamous 2". He may have a new voice and a slightly new look, but it suits the character, and his powers are just as much fun to use as in the first game. The game begins in Empire City, starting you off with your save file from the first game, as you encounter the Beast, a thing of fearsome evil come to find Cole. Things move to New Marais, a thinly disguised New Orleans, after a huge battle. In this new city Cole finds new enemies to fight, both human soldiers of the Militia that has seized the town, and mutated monsters, some of which are quite large. To combat these new threats, Cole gets some new powers (the Ionic Vortex is especially fun to use) and some new allies as well. Pal Zeke returns from the first game, and newcomers Kuo and Nix aid Cole in taking on the bad guys. The story takes a little bit to kick in, but once it does, it equals and surpasses by a bit that of the first game. Graphics are also improved, notably in the cut scenes, which are well done. Voice acting is generally good, and the controls work well for the most part. There are occassional graphical glitches and the camera can get a bit wonky in melee combat, but there's nothing that detracts from the overall enjoyment of the game. One play through will take you around 20+ plus hours, with plenty of shards to find and side missions to do. With the karma choices, there's plenty of replayability, with two possible endings. This is a must buy for fans of the first game. For others definitely give this one a try. It's definitely worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Electrifying!

posted by INDESTRUCT1BL3 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Jun 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

inFAMOUS 2 is a fantastic game!

Graphics 9/10 - The visuals, especially the character models are DRASTICALLY improved from the first game. The environments are cleaner and more polished and the lightning looks better than ever! The frame rates run great almost all the time unless you just dropped the mother of all lightning storm explosions.

Game-play 10/10 - Basically they took the entire first game and improved EVERYTHING. The new skill swap out is awesome, where u can swap out how your regular lightning bolt works, grenades, rockets, and several different R2 commands such as a shield, a lightning tether (my personal favorite, think bionic commando's grapple arm) or lifting stuff and hurtling it at enemies. The melee is also improved quite a bit, you have a weapon called the Amp that builds combo and finisher moves, not an in depth system, but it works great for the game.

Story 9/10 - I'd make it a 10/10 but it takes a little bit for it to get going, but once it does you stay interested and feel a connection with the character. The morality is there at the end of the game, maybe not in some of the side quests, but during the story it is there, just like in the first one, only there's on the fly morality activities this time around, i.e. healing people, rescue from muggings, suppressing cops, or silencing artists.

Online 8/10 - I didn't even mess with the online feature the first time around, but it adds a fair amount to the replay value, which the game has already. Now, its not multiplayer, you basically can create your own missions or download missions other people have made. Pretty fun system if you want to use it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Electrifyingly Great Experience

posted by TeriyakiJoe (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Allow me to begin by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed Infamous, and really only played it because it was offered for free as part of Sony's "Welcome Back" program. That being said, I am extremely happy that I played the first game, because if it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have played this one.

In Infamous II Cole McGrath, now settled into his role as superhero/badass, heads towards the Louisiana City of New Marais, intent on strengthening himself to his furthest limits before his destined conflict with the Beast, a being whose sole intent is the absolute destruction of all life. Here we go:

+Storyline+

Paired with his two new, sexy female super powered companions Nix and Kuo, Cole finds that New Marais has a few problems of it's own, with Swamp Creatures, an overzealous militia, and a Mayor who isn't very happy about Cole's presence, or that of any Conduits, for that matter. What results is an excellent plot that gives you more than enough incentive to play through it on both the good and the evil side.

+Graphics+

Graphics wise, the game is a huge improvement over the first games, with a vastly improved engine that allows for some impressively rendered, high-def cell shaded visuals. The draw distance has been vastly lengthened, and the character models have plenty of detail to them. The games newly added in-engine cut scenes are well done, and lip-synced perfectly.

+Gameplay+

Cole has a new weapon and plenty of new powers this time around, with a new melee weapon called the "Amp," which is pretty much just a giant tuning fork, and a streamlined melee system, complete with brutal finishing moves. Cole can now do things with electricity such as flinging cars around magnetically, and halfway through the game expands his grasp of the elements with either Fire or Ice powers, depending on which path you take through the games plot.

Movement still feels about clunky and jittery, especially while climbing, however.

+Overall+

I'm giving this one a solid 9.6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

inFamous 2

posted by mario5000 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I got this game the day it came out and it exceeded my expectations. This game has a well thought out story, amazing graphics, great powers, and awesome bosses. The thing that could make this game perfect though is if Cole had dual wield Amps (play game for more details). All in all this is definetly a buy. Though if your not sure rent it and see for yourself if you like it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!

posted by apebble (ATHENS, GA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

14 out of 26 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amzing. Gameplay is very fun. Powers are very cool. This did almost the impossible and outshined the first!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

infamous 2

posted by Gemini34 (STATESBORO, GA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

crazy good! better than the 1st

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous 2

posted by Gameflyuserfore (COTTONWOOD, CA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was an amazing game that was beautifly deatailed and had a magnificiant plot along with some cool powers and a character you could connect with. I pearsonaly rated this a "10" because this game is wounderfully well rounded, and i had enjoyed the game before hopefully the can produce anothe up coming game that surpases the earlier versions!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Infamous 2

posted by niori (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing. it has a balance of everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse