Rent Infamous 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Infamous 2

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

16730 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game sucks

posted by larafan70 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I don't like games that tell me how to play. this being a move only doesn't help any. I was at the beginning and I couldn't' figure out where the stupid thing wanted me to go. doesn't' help that I cant' afford a stupid HD TV so I can't read the print on the screen. When I couldn't' use the standard controller. I gave up and am returning this turkey to game fly. Word to the developers. Leave a controller option for future games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

install failed

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i tried 20 consecutive minutes trying to install it simply wouldn't install i ordered a replacement copy which worked but then the money hungry people at gamefly charged me for the unplayable copy that's just un excusable all i got left to say us screw you gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible.

posted by CCessatioNN (FRESNO, CA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Unless you where a huge fan of those... old Spiderman games where you flew around the city(Which you can't do in this one) helping citizens then your not going to like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Reason Why i gave it a one

posted by Ih8Usernames (LOWELL, MA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Game looked very cool, i read reviews and everyone seemed to like the game , so i finally got my copy in the mail and i think i might have gotten a bad disc because i wasnt able to get past the first mission(the one with a huge flaming guy). the game kept freezing on the same spot( when the huge guy lifted me up).
I tried restarting my system, i tried fiding a solution online . and even deleting and reinstalling the game and it still kept freezing on the same spot . so afte realizing this game was useless i decided to send the disc back, and this incident is why i lost all interest in thistitle and probably any related to it that may follow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AWESOME!!!!

posted by jrsuhy (BELLEFONTE, PA) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Infamous 2 is the best game ever. it is so fun, there are so many awesome powers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What the heck?

posted by voodoofriends64 (REDDING, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Every time I beat the beggining Beast fight I just fall out of the map over and over. I have updated it and everything, it doesn't help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OHH COME ON!!!!

posted by kccarrel (GOLETA, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

You are too easily hurt in this game. We have new spider monkey dudes that get no early explanation. You have no unlimited ammo weapon like the first game. The upgrades seem to so no better than the original useless weapon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

infamous2

posted by lavellclayton12 Sep 16, 2011

infamous2 is a very cool game i am your biggest fan in the whole world
but the most thing i like about infamous2 is when you put freeroam on infamos2.

sincerely,lavellclayton
p.s. Is there freeroam at the end of the game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

no thank you

posted by GlitterQueen (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Exact clone of the first Infamous..sooo repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

unbelievably monotonous

posted by Rabbitleggys (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but it's so boring! Tried three times to get into it and couldn't tolerate the tedious wall climbing and idiot punching game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

infamous 2

posted by darqnezz (WORCESTER, MA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

didn,t get a chance to play the game..the game paused every few seconds here and there..caused a problem with my ps3...Now no game will load up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ummm....

posted by gylda10 (ORANGE PARK, FL) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

loved infamous 1 but this one was wierd... i understand changing some things up but its like this was made by totally different people. Its like someone saw infamous 1 and said o ill make a sequel. Didnt like it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I really tried hard to like it.... spoiler alert!!

posted by ssjsora99 (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Oh inFAMOUS..... after waiting literally a month to actually play it i found the end product less than stellar unlike all the reviews raving about this game. That's not to say its a horrible game. I really liked the variety of new powers this game provided (Im talking about you bolt stream!) and the more varied side quests in between the excellent story missions. But after a while it starts feeling tiresome. Even the quests that are suppose to introduce new powers via blast cores that replace the power substations of the first game left me a little disappointed at times, I mean cmon! A lighting tether that acts like spiderman's webs? I know its a super hero game but thats whats great about the original game in thats its ORIGINAL. Granted Cole isnt the first electric powered hero, there are other ways to traverse the landscape. How bout a short burst of power to teleport from short distances? Seems like all the other conduits could do it but me! I feel like im always trying to catch up to whoever im following in difficulty when im supposed to be the most powerful character in the game, or so I thought. All the new powers you receive in-game seem pretty cool at first, but in the heat of battle you tend to stick to your most powerful arsenal at the time. The first game got it right when it decided to evolve its powers, Meaning that whatever upgrades your bolt power has will be retained even after an upgrade. Here in the 2nd game you get different bolts each with each own attributes IE.bolts for long range or bolts that blow your head up with a head shot. I like to have a bolt that retains all the great attributes without fumbling through the controls to find that specific bolt, It kinda helps keep a level head during the last leg of the game plus it helps me feel like im an all powerful hero or a devastating villain. With the short amount of space i have left let me point out a few things. no more power charge when grinding. no more infinite basic bolt. evil not as fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Never played infamous 1

posted by shurlz (MARIETTA, GA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

So this review comes from someone new to the series. I must say this game is lacking and just not very good. I found myslef just wanting to finish the game because I was in to deep to not beat it but the journey was not rewarding. Very weak storyline with alot of things not exlained in detail.Traversing the city is not fun. You don't have means to move around fast enough except gliding on power wires that are limited in area coverage. To even get to wires you must climb buildings which is a slow process in its self and is nowhere near as smooth as platforming and building scaling as assasins creed for example.

The game isnt very long which is good. I bypassed most side missions because they are not fulfilling.They are basic and offer nothing to the player such as items or skills but just xp points and maybe a karma boost whther positive or negative. The xp setup is faulty and lacking and the upgrades don't present any real quality to the game. You never feel like the God you should be unless toiling with pedestrians. You also take damage to easily. I'm really suprised this game has such high reviews it really is filler based and has no substance what so ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Something about don't bring a spark to a gunfight

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

... would sum up the game pretty well. The game is your basic Assassin's Creed clone, only you can shoot electricity and... umm... choose to be a good guy or a bad guy? The electricity bit is cool sometimes (when you accidentally run through a puddle that civilians are standing in) but generally outmatched by the weapons everyone else is carrying. Expect to be juggled to death a lot as pretty much any enemy that can knock you down can do so again before your character is even getting back up.

All in all, it's not much different from the first Infamous, and neither one is too different from Assassin's Creed or Prototype. A good rent, I guess, but it gets old pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun till second island

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

it was a really fun game got bored at second island. Enemies so hard to beat. The second island is trash!!! But over all fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh..

posted by poontang (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 25 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

should have been a DLC and not an actual $60 release...and they should have never took away the comic style cinema that made it unique. didnt have enough fun to bother to finish it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing like the first

posted by ozzcab (PERRIS, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Just wasn't as good as the first. It does look a bit better ,but they also changed the voice of the protagonist which may be a let down for some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Twice in the Infamy

posted by ChetBreaux (LAFAYETTE, LA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

inFamous 2 quickly throws the player in the mediocre story of the original (the recap is so short, it actually manages to make obvious the utter simplicity of the storyline) Huge monster attacking fake New York. Player must travel to fake New Orleans to become strong enough to defeat said monster. Throw in some utterly forgettable characters and missions, and you have inFamous 2.

The gameplay shows marked improvement from the original. Cole is faster, stronger, and much more agile the orignal. This aides the experience quite a bit (no more long jogs to buildings followed by slow ascents). Moving around New Marais takes less time, effort, and aggravation. Cole's powers are relatively similar to the first game, but with improvements made to all (you start with more powers, adding to the boost in gameplay described above). Cole has more options to deal with baddies, but the options don't add much to the overall experience.

Major Conceptual Flaws:
The baddies, mission structures, side missions, and city feel carbon copied from the first title. You fight similar thugs and monsters through similar terrain over and over gain. Boring. I'm also disappointed with Sucker Punch's unimaginative take on the setting. New Marais is a poor adaptation of New Orleans. The architecture is off, filled principally with casinos and swamps.

No creative approach to setting, repetitive gameplay, and weak story makes this a rent at best, at worst a complete skip.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but.......

posted by Gamingforyears (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

In general sequels are sub par and this seems to follow suit. There are some new powers and different enemies but all in all it's pretty much the same as the first installment. A little too redundant for me to even finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun at first then turns to LAME

posted by SogAalix (MISHAWAKA, IN) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Well I beat the first one and it rocked the second one was fun and the back made it seem like id get control over fire ice and lightning, NO! you get to chose ice or fire not both, the controls are better but the constant big creatures who you cant hurt easy gets annoying. I didn't even finish the game it got to boring. All in all this was a disappointing game, I'm glad i didnt buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

nice visuals repetitive gameplay

posted by ronheichel (DAVENPORT, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this game looks good and the controls are ok. it is just so darn repetitive. i found myself wanting to go to the dentist for a root canal rather than play anymore of this. it is fun at first and the upgrades are cool. but the plot is thin as dishwater and as i said it gets reeeaaalllyyy boring. if i bought it i would be p!$$ed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh.....

posted by slightlydeaf (RYE, NY) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The original infamous game is one of my favorite titles on the ps3. It took the romanticized superhero concept and put it under the light of reality. While I'm fine with fiction as long as its logical in its own plane of reality, infamous had me truly believing that this could possibly happen. The story was tightly woven and the characters were well developed. Not to mention how immensely satisfying the ending was. I really wish any of the above could be said for its successor, infamous 2. The characters are cheesy and the script reminds me of a soap opera at times (I'm referring to the graveyard scene with Kuo). Bertrand is a weak antagonist, and his overall agenda is not only incredible, and i mean not credible, and ultimately boring. The incredible cutscenes mimicking a graphic novel were equally stunning, though lacking in the substance infamous original had, though that can be attributed to the games flimsy story. The story isn't fleshed out and the moral choices you make aren't as engaging. This is poorly balanced by most exciting battles. The combat system is fine, if not exaggerated, but i think most people would have preferred to keep the original system of upgrading existing abilities rather to gain access to alternatives. I simply gives the player a sense of progression. the endings were boring. and also lacked emotional weight. And after playing, I lacked the incentive and motivation to go back and play it again for the alternative ending. In a nutshell, its everything a sequel shouldn't be, and if it weren't were the already fantastic combat and gameplay, this game would have tanked. Its a shame the maker flopped on such an incredible lead in from the past game, but what can you do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same old same old

posted by teeterj (LINCOLN CITY, OR) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

nothing really to new just powers its the same game we all love just a different place and powers so enjoy i did it is worth it and you can make your own missions also for extra xp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dissapointing -_-

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

First off, I loved the first game...but the fact is that this basically IS the first game AGAIN! A few tweaks but same gameplay and a few new powers. Just as repetitive, can't skip cut scenes, ect...but there is many user created side missions, collectibles, but on the whole it's just dissapointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse