Rent Indianapolis 500 Legends for Wii
view large frontback

Indianapolis 500 Legends

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.5

272 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Brilliant - Indy 2 to fix the probs?

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this is a solid racer but it just needs those extra bits that turn a game into something special.
Clearly produced by Indy enthusiasts the game provides a lot of history on the race and tries to simulate the different makes of cars and they do drive differently (the Novi in particular is very twitchy and can be tough to control).
Controls are simple, effective and quite sensitive for steering. Not much tilting of the Wiimote is required for the bends before starting to skid the cars. However, getting the steering and line correct going into the corners is vital if you want to be really fast.
The real key to winning the races in the game is drafting (or slipstreaming if you prefer) the car in front of you. It is not essential to line yourself up directly behind the car in front but doing so will get you the maximum effect. You will get extra speed just by doing this and you will see the draft "Zone" appear with light blue streamers behind the car in front. As you get closer they will darken to purple. At either of these colors you can hit the B button and get an extra zap of speed but to really take advantage wait for the dark purple and the whole screen dimming slightly - when you hit B the car will jump forward and you will often have to be real fast on the steering to move around the car in front without skidding as you will have been real close.
Missions in the game include the obvious win the race scenario but also use the Wiimote in pointer mode to change tires and refuel - although a little bit fiddly they are a nice attempt at providing another realistic aspect to the game.
Another type of mission involves avoiding the wreckage and carnage in front of you and passing the line within the time limit. These can be a bit random with the computer cars not showing too much IQ at times which they can do also in races bashing you into the wall.
Overall a good rental but may lose novelty a little quick.
I would look forward to an Indy 2 with improvement

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Step In The Right Direction!

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

OK, so the graphics aren't amazing, but the gameplay is not half-bad! I expected this Wii-racer to be a notch better than horrible. But, the controls changed things for the better. I would definitely recommend playing this. The Wii is going to be THE system to play for racing games. All they have to do is keep up the good work, enhance the graphics, add real time stats, and add online playability. This is a fun game.
Game-On!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excite Truck Elements With Lackluster Gameplay!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was intrigued when this was coming out; mainly because there is not many racing games out there. This one has great control and excellent graphics however it is boring and you can't get ahead and take the lead. Also the missions are either too easy or an impossible task. The history of the Indianapolis 500 is nice but it alone is not worth renting. Maybe if they take the controls and graphics and instead make a Gran Tourismo contender for the Wii (THAT WOULD BE NICE); because Excite Truck is starting to get old after a year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

500 review

posted by INDYgameti (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I am a huge fan of the 500 and this name will give you the fealing of being on the track on race day. The one thing that was a distraction is the darkness of the track in race mode. It is dificult to see when to start your turns and exiting the turns. It is a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

how the game is

posted by henley (BEACH PARK, IL) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

This game is a really awesome game.If you like cars,if you like to race,this is your game right here.

enjoy!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's OK.

posted by RoscoeLaw (APPLETON, WI) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Look... I wish the game had more than three big name drivers for each year. But if you want a solid history of the 60s and 70s of the Indy 500, get this game. I get to drive the #14 of A.J. Foyt. How cool is that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Indianapolis 500 legends

posted by BretRyan (Marshall, MN) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I feel this game is exactly what i expected from the title and the back of the box. It is old school Indianapolis 500. If you expect more you will be dissapointed. You get to race 3 different drivers and their cars each year at Indy thats it and thats all the game said was there. Now the gameplay itself left a little to be desired but it wasnt bad. The lighting of the track was a little too dark. The detail of the different cars was pretty good. It was pretty cool racing the 71 Mclaren against the cars without spoilers. The car Physics seemed off a bit but not terrible just a little frustrating when i actually tried to spin an AI car out it would hardly budge. I was really impressed that when i got to Al Unsers Johnny Lightning Special when i tried to sling shot it was hard to steer and with the rear spoiler and lack of front downforce it seemed accurate. Overall it was what i expected before i read most other reviews. 7 of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring and not enough speed!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I found this game boring really quick. You just keep turning to the left and I wanted to go faster. I was way behind the AI cars and wanted to go faster to catch up to them but couldn't. I was already going as fast as I could. I tried a mission game and couldn't get my speed fast enough to qualify. So I gave up, stuck it back in its envelope and it's going back with less than 20 minutes of play. I want a racing game that I can go fast with like Excite Truck. I guess I'm spoiled by this game as you have the turbo to give you more speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deserves an 8, Yet It's a 4

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 4, 2008

Member since May 2007

Pros:
Decent graphics at 480. Easy entry into game-play. Phenominal AI. One of the tightest steering in a driving game.

Cons:
Not much replay value and challenging from the start. Contrast was terrible for me.

Basically, there are only two game types. First is plain racing, which I loved. But, after a couple of rounds I lost interest because there's not much there. No season type racing game. The second type you have challenges. I was stuck on the third one in the very first challenge. You cannot continue until you have finished all the challenges. I tried for an hour to beat it but was unable to. This is why I gave it a 4 instead of an 8.

The AI was phenominal; at first I would tail whip the cars in front of me making them swerve, lose speed, or hit the wall. Then a few rounds of that, the AI realized what I was doing and would watch out for me. DOH!

It is very easy to get into this game. I was having problems steering at first, but then I placed my elbows on my arm-rests and it drove like a dream. I'm sure having the latest update wouldn't hurt, either.

The contrast was another problem. Even though I upped the brightness, I could hardly see the right side whenever passing the grand stands.

And for some reason it gave me a headache. I admit this is a well tuned little racing game. But, the lack of a tour or season, challenging challenges, and giving me a headache didn't make it seem worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting Concept, But Pretty Boring

posted by mattcal (RONKONKOMA, NY) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

When i popped this in and started playing my first race, I thought this would be a really good game, and it is. The concept it great, by using the wiimote as a steering wheel is great. It was really fun at first. But the game itself got boring. I don't think it was the steering that wore off, but rather the game itself. It's a Nascar type game, so all you're doing is making left hand turns. This game would have been so better if it was a PGR type game, or even Forza. Nascar games are just boring!

I do have to say though, the graphics for the game were very good. I hope nintendo takes this as a stepping stone in the right direction

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »