Rent Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings for Wii
view large frontback

Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2, DS
GF Rating
5.4

909 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty impressed by all the bad reveiws!

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow! all of the reveiws on this game where almost negative and people saying this game is stupid. People say this game is boring but if you are a big fan of iniana jones like I am then you should get this game.
Although this game does not have anything to do with the movies it is still a fun i mean very fun adventure. It is pretty short well there is what 6 maybe 7 worlds and about 20 levels in each one but yeah the controls are good and the graphics are well it's a wii game what do you think. The storyline is to find this staff of the kings I bet you can tell from the title LOL! But yeah I reccomend this game to Indiana Jones fans ONLY!
This game is absouletley, positively, Most serious game you an rent if you like Indiana Jones. Don't listen to the bad reveiws on how horrible it is if you are not an Indiana Jones fan you should proboaly listen but you know your choice if you are an Indidan Jones fan then yeah get this game it is worth the rent I am positive on this one and a lttle seret if you unlock or do one glory move they will mention what a glory move is in the game you can unlock the 1991 game called Indiana Jones and the fate of atlantis. It is a old game and suppose to even be better than the staff of kings so tecniccaly 2 game in 1 WHOOOO GOOD DEAL!!!!!!!!!!

Please follow this reveiw this game deserves more credit than what it is getting by the people who rent this game come help this game be on of the best game eer rate it 10 or 9 or 8 no lower if you follow this review this game should at leas be 8. 9 or 7.9 or somethink thank you!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New to Wii, and "wii" love this game!

posted by designerdi (SENECA, SC) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My husband and I are thoroughly enjoying this game. We've recently purchased a Wii, which is the first system we've owned since the early 90s. Granted, we missed out on the last 15 years of advances in game graphics, so I get it that if you're used to better graphics with another system then you might not be as happy with Wii graphics. But we are thrilled with our Wii system.

Having said that, this game is the best one we've played so far on Wii. Both of us are happy with the way the Wii-mote responds for fighting, flying, and using Indy's trademark whip -- that's a big bunch of fun!

The atmosphere is good, the music is awesome, we love the voice acting, and it takes us back to all the fun we've had watching the Indiana Jones movies over the years.

As two mature adults that are not hardcore graphics gamers, we give this game an 8, and are seriously considering buying it. It is certainly worth renting to see what you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Suprised by the Low Ratings!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game. First you fist fight, then fly a plane, then fist fight, then shoot, and on like that, without any boring repetitive gameplay. It reminds me of the earlier Star Wars games. I read a couple people complaining about swinging your arms to fight, but if you've played the Wii for more than an hour, you would know a slight jerk of the wrist counts for the Wii, and moreover, Indy tells you at the beginning to "look" around your surroundings for things to use. You'll find that grabbing and slamming heads into pool tables is much more effective than dukin' it out. If you only have a Wii, or are just an Indy fan, this game is short, but definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii Action Game...There Aren't Enuff to be Picky!

posted by hockeyman (CARSON CITY, NV) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2003

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I made sure this was at the top of my Q and I got lucky to get it right at release time. If you are looking for a great looking action game, perhaps you should stay on your 360. Having said that, I found SoK to be quite a bit of fun once it sets in that it is a WII game you are playing. Graphics and animation, while dated for the other 2 consoles, look pretty decent on the Wii, and it seems they went thru a bit of trouble to bring decent facial expressions and a decent voice-over for their in-game cutscenes. If you are not into remote "wagging" you may want to pass on this one, but I felt the controls were fairly responsive for whip-swingin, bad guy-punchin, bi-plane flyin (I thought this was pretty cool) fun. Oh and did I mention its Indy?

PS. if you want to see dated gfx, check out the extras section where you can play the Fate of Atlantis PC game! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Raiders of the Average Ark

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I promise not to mention anything about Crystal Skulls in this review (why do some people hate that film with a passion?)
Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings is an platforming adventure game where you play as the fameous Dr. Jones. He is in a race to keep artifacts out of the hands of the bad guys.
But it's mostly you solving very simple puzzles and fighting off bad guys with your whip, gun and fists while going from point A to point B.
The puzzles are mostly "put this item here and that item there" sort. You will have to figure out a button pushing puzzle later on in the game, but that's not too tough.
The fist fighting, on the other hand, can get annoying.
First off, the game makers do not understand that some of us are left handed, and thus hold the Wiimote in our left hand. This makes fighting awkward.
The callibration is also off on the swinging of the Wiimote and Nunchuck, for throwing punches and using the whip. This encouraging me to flail my arms about wildly (which is not good).
They also make me wander about the area in a frantic search of items to beat some bad guys with (not fun at all.)
The control problems really take off in the areas where I had to hold the Wiimote vertically (piloting a plane or moving a piano about to smash into the bad guys.) It's very stiff and inaccurate.
The gunplay, on the other hand was fun for me. Pointing and shooting at the enemy is something the Wii was made for. This game take full advantage of this oppertunity.
This game will take most players about six hours to finish which is somewhat short for a $50 game.
You also get a bunch of average co-op two player games, some simple multiplayer games, a point a click adventure, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis (a game that looks like it came from the early 1990s), new outfits for Indy and info on how the game was made.
Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings would've been a buy if it weren't for those clunky controls and short main mode. RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very disappointing

posted by turnstep (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Mar 14, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I expected more, but this seems like a poorly written, poorly tested game. It's a very linear tomb raider like solve-mini-puzzles to move on sort of game, coupled with terrible boxing/fighting scenes. The controls are very annoying as most fighting moves require a finer degree of precision than the Wii can give. I also found myself accidentally hitting the "2" button often in the middle of a fight (which brings up a submenu) - very annoying.

This is yet another game where the designers took the ability to use the Wii remote too far. Moderation, please! Just because you /can/ make an action correspond to flicking the remote around, doesn't mean you always should. At least make it an option. Flailing the remote around like a madman and hoping that the system detects some of your movements correctly does not make a fun game.

There are other flaws too (weak multiplayer, bad checkpoint system. etc.) but they pale in comparison to the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Adventure

posted by Matthew31 (DES MOINES, IA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man,I got hooked playing Indiana Jones it was a lot of fun my friends like it when I was playing it.Great effects. It really look like Indiana Jones but it really look like Harrison Ford too.Controlling was easy I
was happy about that too.Let's keep it up making Indiana Jones games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great Ideas Ruined By Awful Execution

posted by cem3340 (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Not since Dead Rising on XBOX have I seen a game with as much promise wasted.

The ideas, puzzles, story, voice acting are all great fun, however the problems with the game are great and many.

The whole game feels like you're playing through molasses. The movement is slow, the combat is slow, the time to get through cut scenes is slow. The game is just slow.

The camera is the worst. This awful mechanic caused more deaths than any villain could have. With no easy way to reset the camera, one is constantly fiddling with the D-pad in order to find an appropriate camera angle.

You cannot skip cut scenes. This is particularly frustrating when the camera and sloppy movement contributes to your death so frequently.

This is just a taste of the mediocrity that is Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings. The graphics, even by Wii standards, are barely adequate; the sound design is embarrassing (with the exception of Indy and some of the other voice actors); and the overall presentation lacks polish and substance.

This game is oozing with potential; it's just a shame how the finished product came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Indiana Jones and the staff of kings. Great Game.

posted by RAMBLOR (YORK, PA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Have a sidekick join in co-op play or fight up to three friends in free-for-all battles. That's all I have to say.. If you have friends your going to love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for the easily frustrated.

posted by Oblivion7 (ARDEN, NC) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok I get the Wii. It's a slightly supped up Game Cube...but come on, Resident Evil 4 showed you can make a pretty game.

Staff of Kings is bogged down by the Wii itself.Due to "motion" controls everything in the game requires you to fling your remote around. This is the first game that I've broken the wrist strap...not from in game action but from throwing my wiimote into the ground after the 15th time I accidently hit the + button to pause the game mid "fight".

Fighting boils down to flinging your arms around until everything is beat up.

I can accept poor graphics... it is Wii. I can accept Gimmicky motion controls....BUT...

The WORST SIN however, is the BRUTAL checkpoint system that requires you to almost always go back farther that you want and replay a part you might have to go through several times due to the lame fighting mechanic and shooting. In fact I just sealed the game up after the 3rd time through the first Shooting segment. Oh I got past it pretty easy after the second try....but a little while later I died on a failed rope swing and it brought me back just befoer the first shooting part...which includes a rather lengthy "how-to" section THAT YOU CANNOT SKIP.

Lame checkpoint system is why I returned Velvet Assasin after one level. Indy gets the same treatment.

I'm really beginning to hate the Wii because it's allowing sloppy gameplay with gimmicky motion controls. Lucas arts ditched their 360 version and went this way because I guess it's easy working with 1999 technology.

I give it a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A LAME BOXING GAME

posted by scion91 (BEND, OR) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played 15 minutes before I couldn't take this lame excuse for an adventure any more. After a dozen BORING, repetitive rooms of boxing and just one slight piece of adventure, I hit the eject button. LucasArts should be ashamed of what they just did to Indiana Jones!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Indy takining a dive in this glitchey adventure.

posted by MaxGLEE1030 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

Indiana Jones and the staff of kings is mostly a very fun but very glitchey game espacially the combat you really have to jerk your wii remote and nunchuck to hit someone also I liked the little puzzles you get to solve their a nice addition but the down side is that you have to return to a checkpoint and you think thats good right wrong if there is a cutscene you cant skip it and the text is very slow.I really enjoyed the flying game in the begging it takes some getting used to but its fun also the shooting parts are nice as well especially the the train part I played with my dad on the co op game we did not enjoy it as much but still not bad but not techinacally good either also there are other extras to unlock but you can figure it out this game is a least worth a rent but maybe a buy for the other modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Indiana Jonesing

posted by stepholive (ARCATA, CA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Hand-to-hand combat is FUN but shooting is a pain in the behind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOOOO VIOLENT BUT AWESOME

posted by david17 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This game was so violent but so fun. It was 4 games in 1 Fate of Atlantis was hard but I beat it in 5 days. I beat the story mode in 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Raping of Indiana Jones

posted by bugsycline (Front Royal, VA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

After playing this game about 1/2 way through in one saturday morning there are two things that come to my mind when thinking of this game.
1. An episode of south park called "the China Problem" in wich the south park kids are cying and upset because of the way George Lucas and Steven Speilburg raped Indy in the newest Idiana Jones movie. Looks like the folks at Lucas arts also took a turn destroying the good name of Indy when they made this game.

2. the Raiders of the lost ark for the atari 2600. Raider for atari cost a whopping $50.00 when it came out and when you got it home you found out it was one of the worst games ever made. (I feel the same about this new version) it's like they just wanted to make something that sucked just as bad but with better graphics.

rather than just bash the game here is what I liked and didn't like.

I liked :
Graphics. they were supurb. The sounds were straight from the indy movies as was the sound track music... world class stuff there...
However that about ends the discussion of what I liked about this game.

What I didn't like :
The controls are terrible! I can't count the number of times I died trying to do very simple tasks such as stand close to a wall. You really have NO CONTROL of the game play at most of the crucial moments of the game. about the only time you do are durring fight sequences and when you are just walking along the path to get to another "puzzle" Most of the actions such as picking something up, walking along a wall , using the whip etc... are only able to be done when prompted by the game.
The fighting sequences are confussing. with usually more than three enimies at one time to fight. You can't ever pay attention to the enemy to react properly. The story line is just bad, with no details to what you are actually doing. and just about every new level I had to look at a walk through to see what I was supposed to do, game flow should FLOW not have you walking around going "what do I do next?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Indy Game

posted by Vendetti (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Any one who loves Indiana Jones is going to like this game. The plot suffers but what kind of plot do you need when you are Indiana Jones? You are out finding relics. The last chapter I thought was very clever and I enjoyed the game. It wasn't to long...or too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Programmers screwed up

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

This Game Sucks for one reason only The Gun Play is Nothing but BS You Cant Shoot The enemy if they are shooting Andf they are always shooting or Hiding behind something Oh And the Best Part is You have to Hold Up On The control Stick To Stand up for no other reason then Lazy Programming Then you have to aim with a very hard to aim with Wii Remote Then You Have to hope the crosshairs are Green or you Are wasting bullets because you cant hit the enemy unless the crosshairs are green. Just a bunch of Lazy programmers wanting to get paid for sitting around playing games using every Cheat there is and wondering why pEOPLE DONT LIKE THEIR GAMES AS MUCH AS THEY DO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I thought the game was pretty fun. Kind of repetative and the puzzles sometimes took a couple tries to figure out but all in all thought it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Impossible game to beat!!!

posted by mccreary74 (NEWARK, DE) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I did like this game. There were parts that were hard and required careful trial and error, however the end part of the game is impossible to beat way too many enemies. Lots of other people on the boards had lots of trouble with this game. My advise don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game Suffers From Poor Execution

posted by bdoublec (VENTURA, CA) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I wanted to like this game. No, I REALLY wanted to like this game. I've been a huge fan of all four films and have followed the development of this game since pictures were released years ago. Unfortunately this game falls short very quickly. The graphics are weak even by Wii standards. The music, decent, ripped straight from the film with adaquet voice acting. The controls, incredibly frustrating. No, punching and jabing isnt difficult. But ten minutes into the game you'll find yourself trying to pilot an airplane and will more than likely find it next to impossible. I tried for 20 minutes to steer the plane, but it was like flying a whale. Not possible. I packed this game up and returned it after only half an hour of playing. Not a great way to restart a game series. What a waste of such awesome potential...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun, but not challenging

posted by madwimp (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I enjoyed this game, but it didn't last long before I won it -- too easy. Fun, but I'm glad I rented it instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow...what a disappointment

posted by 06ST1300 (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I can honestly say that I quite playing after about an hours worth of gameplay. The control system is just beyond logic. As the Critic review says, an odd punch here or there using the Wii motion-sensing would have been fine, but not for EVERY punch or swing of the whip. You become physically worn out just completing one combat scene. Couple that with the fact that the sensors may or may not actually be detected and you are in for a lot of play/die/replay scenarios. Since you can't skip cut scenes...well, this becomes something of a tiresome chore to repeat tutorial scenes over, and over, and over again.

Bottom line: stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not disappointed

posted by breath4sou (HOWARD, OH) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

We only game a little on the weekends. After playing this a couple times we kept it. It was visually appealing, but we don't have other systems to compare it to. The objectives are interesting, and there is a lot of variety. It tired me out a bit but my husband seemed fine. If you aren't expecting visuals that other systems may offer or have some idealistic standard from the original movies then I don't think you will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

indiana jones and the staff he sucked!

posted by Dhaze420 (LAYTON, UT) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

this game was ridiculous! never have I played a game so stupid in my whole life. don't have much to say about it except dont waste your time on this pathetic excuse of a "game". It doesn't even deserve a 1 but thats as low as gamefly will let it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest Indiana Jones Game Ever

posted by mrbball879 (PLANO, TX) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I own Indiana Jones and the Staff of Kings and it is the greatest Indiana Jones game I have ever played because you can punch and kick enemies. You can use the revolver and shoot them at different points in the game and you can explore new places than ever before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse