Rent Incredible Hulk for PS3
view large frontback

Incredible Hulk

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, PS2, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.5

1752 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Smash!

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

31 out of 32 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Well, I guess I should start out by saying that I never expected much more from this game than to be able to smash some ish up. I was not disappointed.
There is nothing quite like looking at a tall building and thinking "gee, I wonder if I could bring that thing down." The answer? Yes. Yes you can. If you want to knock down Trump tower, do it. If you want to smash Carnegie Hall, smash away. If you want to stand on top of the Chrysler building and pound it until it caves in. Then by all means, pound that sucker into the ground.
This game captures the Hulks anger, strength and sheer mass quite well.
Dont expect award winning story lines or even a great variety of missions. If you go into this game wanting nothing more than destruction and fun times then this is the game for you.
Pick up a person off the street, jump up to the roof of a building, look up to the sky, and throw that person. If that does not make you feel...good and happy, then this game is not right for you.

Bottom line, at the very least, rent this game. You should enjoy it if you do not expect too much from it. After all, it is a game made after a movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than its given credit for...

posted by CaptHavok (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed Incredible Hulk for the PS3. This game seems to be getting a bad rap for glitches and repetitive game play. The glitches are few and are mostly funny when they occur.

I found it to be a smashing good time...pun intended. This game is really about breaking the city of New York with somewhat broken physics. Then again, how exactly would the environment react to a 1500 pound human running rampant through the streets with a bus on his back?

While the missions were mostly harder versions of missions you've already done, the sheer level of destruction you can rain down coupled with decent graphics, nice Ed Norton character moments, and a few challenging boss battles makes for a great rent.

I wouldn't recommend buying this game since there is no online play and I was able to beat it in two days, probably around 15-18 hours of total game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

These reviews are terrible!?!??!!!!

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was Awesome! all the reviews I see seem to be all bad. this is maybe the best hulk game out there. The graphics were very nice. And i thought it was better than ultimate destuction! Rent this game if you like the hulk I guess.. :()

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible Hulk for PS3 is AMAZING!!!

posted by Marvelgod1 (PORT JERVIS, NY) May 6, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game gives you both story and high entense gameplay. If you enjoy MARVEL COMICS and the films that they create, you MUST play this game. It is 100% accurate and 100% fun! The graphics make you feel as if the Hulk could smash right through your TV at any moment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amusing distraction

posted by Nykchad (SOMERSET, KY) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll admit that it's fun to leap around the city smashing things, but that fun runs out after a few hours, and your left doing repetitive missions and following story lines that don't really make any sense, even for a comic book.

One of the things they could have done is have more upgrades. The few levels of jumping they have are ok, but you max them out fairly quickly, and then your stuck at one speed the rest of the game.

It was a nice try, but I'm still waiting on my Marvel Universe sandbox game. Hope they get it better next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hulk, the illusionist

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

at first glance, this game looks pretty good. the graphics seem to be the minimal standard of a next gen system. the cutscenes are in-game style graphics (think GTA). gameplay is very GTA-like (going to certain marked points throughout the city to get 'missions'), but you get to destroy everything. i never played 'Ultimate Destruction', but i assume this is just a next-gen version of the same game. the game is alot of fun, but theres nothing new or even impressive about it.

in the end, after 3 hours of playing, the game feels rather cheap and i have found a few visual glitches with vehicles and buildings. some very minor framrate problems during my rampaging through the cities and odd pauses during some cutscenes.

definitely a great game to rent for a few days, but i really wouldnt buy it unless you just have to have everything 'Hulk'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow! what a piece of junk!

posted by HallowsEnd (HAMILTON, OH) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If you release a game on a next gen console you would assume you're getting a next gen game, this is not the case. graphics are not up to par and gameplay is weak. this should have only been released for ps2 because thats what it is, a ps2 standard game, of course they have never released a decent game based on a movie so why would they start here!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this gme is hoooot hooooot

posted by jcolon1013 (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

i had hulk in ps2 so i miss it so i got it for ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the most realistic hulk game

posted by truful (San Antonio, TX) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

if your a fan of the hulk this game is for u u get to destroy everything in your path

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Super hero syndrome strikes again........

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

The only awnser in this game is to smash everything in sight, but that only works when you take a mission? Of course! If the hulk isn't doing the mission to smash the base, then the bad guys don't show up for work when he smashes the buildings! Smash! Smash! Smash!
Isn't this STUPID???? Can someone find the designer and smash him? Pleease... so we don't have to put up with this nonsense anymore?! This is why any real game would give you a choice about how you play, and who you play as! Yes, yes, I know it is comical when the hulk just casually walks down the street and chaos explodes around him. People are running scared, cars are crashing themselves into buildings, in fact...why be violent when the city is already destroying itself without your help??? TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!!! Maybe if you are a marvel fan, maybe, but it is not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

He may not leap buildings in a single bound...

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

...but Hulk sure can destroy them with moderate ease!

I only read comics for a little while when I was younger, but I always loved the Hulk. Peter David's run in particular. Who wouldn't want the Hulk's raw power, but with Banner's intellect intact. I also enjoyed both movies in different ways to an extent, but they still haven't nailed it yet.

The game follows the movie in some part, with major actor's reprising their roles, but also with new story elements. You have to save New York from the dastardly Enclave, the U-Foes, and even the Army itself in various missions. Most missions are either escort, destroy, or protect, with not much variation to be found. There are also bonus missions, like playing darts or destroying parts of a neighborhood, or carrying cabs to their destination. These are all pretty pointless yet occasionally fun diversions.

Since the world is sandbox, at least it's up to you when you take on various missions, so it gives you time to do what makes the game decent, and that's running around and destroying everything you see. Without a doubt the most fun is the destruction element to the game. You can smash cabs, throw puny humans, or even topple entire buildings (although they do return). The games strongest point is you really do FEEL like you are the Incredible Hulk.

The graphics are not exactly special, even though Hulk himself looks good. With a large city it's understandable it's not gonna be perfect, but even the cut scenes are pretty weak. The story, as mentioned, is not engaging at all. The controls are okay, even though sometimes Hulk just wants to go were Hulk wants to go, no matter what you do.

The game is all about being the Hulk and smashing things, and once you get enough power, and can take on nearly anything, that smashing becomes even more fun. Unfortunately the game is just too repetitive to really be more than a few days of mild amusement.

5 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ew no.

posted by karlayjay (GLENDALE, AZ) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

you would think that running around as a rampant green monkey man would be fun right? well it is for about 15 minutes, the game gets very boring very fast, so don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

huh

posted by NMoss1 (Selkirk, NY) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

wow this game was completely stupid other than killing people with a taco off a delivery van it was a big waste of time sega has not put anything out worth playing since the genesis system dont rent it trust me !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Non Stop Destruction

posted by natharia (NEW MILFORD, CT) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

As the title clearly states the Incredible Hulk is none stop destruction which includes the fact that you can destroy almost anything in this game, you can knock down building destroy city streets even rip apart cars and use them as boxing gloves, this game has not shortage of Action, While you are in between story mission you can battle the Armies Quick reaction force for as long as you want...Meaning you can destroy countless Hum-vees and Strikers and they will keep coming until you either walk into a subway or die...But dying is also very unlikely with the ability to quickly regenerate your health with a quick easy push of 2 Bottoms...The story is pretty weak not to much going on but again with so much hands on destruction and good graphics you wont notice it to much...I highly recommend this game it was very fun and interactive and keeps you entertained for a good long weekend.

the only thing I did not like about this game was the fact that the difficulty was not very...well difficult...I felt like I was just coasting through the Game, and the lack of story kind of threw me off because I like a game will a rich story and a pick your own difficulty system.

So 8-10

If it had choose your difficulty and A strong story this would have been a 10 out of 10...But I ask all gamers out there...is there truely a perfect game?

Wait a second there Super Mario World for the Super Nentindo...Try that one on for size...Seriously its a great game...I am not even kidding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sent it back after 15 minutes

posted by Covington (QUEENS VILLAGE, NY) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The review title says it all....I only gave it a 4 for the level of destruction, but even that becomes repetitive after 10 mintues. Climbing buildings is pretty cool, but does not make the game worth the rental...trust me...trust your other peers...the rating speaks for itself...this is not a game you want to rent. Why the actors from the movie even decided to do the voice overs for this game beyond me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but to much like Spiderman

posted by Opie1978 (APPLETON CITY, MO) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game was to much like Spiderman. Smashing things was fun but mind numbing after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the missions r kinda stupid

posted by METALWEET1 (FORT MITCHELL, AL) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

but free roaming in the game is hella fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Higher expectation

posted by locorican6 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I was expecting more. The movie was better than the early 2000 release, thus I was expecting the game to be more like the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at the beginning

posted by rebel77 (CARY, NC) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is tons of fun at the beginning but after a while it starts to feel like your doing the same level over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better

posted by PeppeLePew (ATLANTIC, IA) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I liked this game for a while in the beginning. But then it got totally repetitive. It's ok for a rent tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Especially for the kids

posted by xander1972 (FAIRBORN, OH) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

This game's not bad. It's even better if you're 6-10 years old. It is a pretty wide open game, much like Spiderman 3. You are put in New York City with the ability to go anywhere and destroy pretty much anything, including Stark Tower or the Empire State Building, NICE. You can travel to different waypoints to do missions to advance through the game via different story lines, or do mini games, which are surprisingly fun. Like I said, it's a fun game, especially for the kids, but us older kids, especially Hulk fans, will like it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but not Great

posted by grizzod (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I’m a hulk fan. This game is a lot better than older ones, but it still feels like something is missing with a game labeled the Incredible Hulk. Like other gamers have stated, there are glitches within the game. There are some frame work issues and cutscene delays. Overall, if you want to smash, you can. I wish there was a game that lets you be hulk from his point of view. But after playing games like Heavenly Sword or Devil May Cry 4, I can only give Hulk a fair play in rating. It’s great to rent, but not to buy. I wish I could say that this game is AWESOME… but I just can’t.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Smashing Good Time!!!

posted by tripj07 (BOHEMIA, NY) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

There is not much not to like about this game if you are a Hulk Fan. I am, and have been for many years. Basically, if you've ever wondered what it would feel like to be the Hulk, this game captures that. Smash! anything that's in your way, including buildings cars, etc. If you are feeling particularly evil, you can even smash the innocent civilians (Puny Humans!). It is a great release.
As far as the storyline, it is pretty basic and keeps things moving along. It basically gives you an actual reason to smash the crud out of things.
Also, I think the graphics are pretty darn good as well. I like the fact that it is set in NYC (I'm from L.I.) and you get to smash famous landmarks (you are actually rewarded for it). I also like the option of playing as other incarnations of the Hulk (Although Red Hulk would have been a cool option that is not available).
If you are looking for an intellectually stimulating time, this is not the game for you. If you are looking for some good 'ol mindless smash 'em up fun than this is it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Incredible Hulk

posted by Karim33 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I thought the game was generic with little to know story line graphics were ok until I got on top of a building and there were only outlines of adjacent buildings and not like Spider-Man: Web of Shadows. So if you want to rent by all means, rent it don’t buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay not Great

posted by dinosaur10 (BEDFORD, TX) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

While the smashing of all your surrounding can be entertaining it can get monotonous. Game play was great reminded a lot of the spiderman game but the missions where really pointless it seemed. You do get to smash stuff and that is the Hulk what are you gonna do its not like he was out to really help people. He is the freakin' Hulk thats what he does smash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse