Rent Incredible Hulk for Wii
view large frontback

Incredible Hulk

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.2

745 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Smash, rinse, repeat

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A few years ago there was another Hulk game that took the green machine on a rampage through an open-world New York. Years later, this game does essentially the same thing, except with shoddy controls.
Yes Hulk is back to destroy another virtual New York, but he's brought a terrible camera, overly complicated special attacks and way more mechs than it would seem plausible to use.
But let's address these issues one at a time. First, the camera: to change your camera angle, you press a button to bring up a pointer. The pointer moves the camera, but it gets trapped behind objects and in places where the Hulk is barely visible. And try playing the game while you're constantly adjusting your camera... it doesn't work. Special attacks: These are chosen from a menu. After you select one, you have to shake the nunchuk and then press the B button before the screen goes away. Why? Because the developers wanted to use motion-sensor technology somewhere. Mechs: These flying, fighting buggers are all over the place. They're not that interesting and tedious to dispatch, but there's plenty of them.
The things that work well in this game are the same things that worked in the previous one. The New York landscape is great for Hulk's destructive capabilities, buildings and cars get smashed up real good, you can use the environment effectively and there are many goals and collectibles to unlock upgrades. Sad they couldn't give us something new or fresh to enjoy this time around.
The Incredible Hulk is a "been there, done that" kind of title. It offers nothing new for the character, even taking a step back in some ways. Hulk smash game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HULK SMASH

posted by meatwad32 (HOOVER, AL) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a fun, easy mind-numbing game with not alot going on. Jump around the city(it is the best way to travel) from objective to objective, if you destroy too much of the city the law comes after you. Not much Wii use, which I liked. The constant Wii swinging can get tiresome when you only want to press a few buttons and jump around destroying stuff. If you are looking for a Wii game that utilizes the Wii remotes constantly such as Star Wars: Force Unleashed, then this game is not for you. If you are looking for a game to play for 30 mins when you have time with little physical exertion then this game might be for you. I liked this game so much I bought it off of Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good game

posted by taterscolt (PRESTONSBURG, KY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i liked this game but it was a bit too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I love Gamefly

posted by ElPete (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm so glad I have Gamefly. Otherwise, I might go out and buy bad games like this. This is the third time I've been excited to see a followup to a fun game only to be totally disappointed. Just like the Wii versions of Destroy All Humans and Godzilla, this Wii Hulk is a complete waste of time and will only make you want to pull out your copy of Hulk Ultimate Destruction for the original X-Box. This is pretty much the same Hulk game all over again, which would be fine if it made SOME kind of use of the Wii motion controls. Controls in general are pretty horrible. Why in the world would they map the jump to the A button and the punch to the B? Then there are the graphics. They are okay, what you can see of them. Everything more than twenty feet away is covered by blue fog. Climb a tall building and you can't see a thing! Seriously, do not even waste a rental spot on this. Play the original Xbox game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh. It's Alright.

posted by CHEECKO52 (OVIEDO, FL) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I was very upset with this game. The graphics are are a notch under DS and N64. There are countless areas of the city that are just huge, empty lots.

Sure this game has countless flaws, but I can't stop myself from playing it. I love just running around the city and beating the snot outta the army. You can pick up almost anything, destroy anything, and go anywhere. This game is worth renting, but don't get your hopes up for a perfect game worth $50.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

play ultimate destruction instead!!!!

posted by Panther82 (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok so when i rented this i game i though "hey, its a movie game so it'll mostly likely be bad!" but what i found was worse. This game tried so hard to be ultimate destruction but messed up on a lot. 1) the story line is convoluted at best. Instead of 1 story line you have about 5 going on at once and instead of doing it one by one you have to run around the city and fine floating coins that signify your next mission! 2) the power ups you started off with in hulk you have to "earn" here. example: when you defeat X amount of enemies in X way you get a power up, but not the whole thing after doing X more things you get the full version. 3) you still have the radar system where if you destroy enough stuff the army comes after you but its annoyingly easy at the highest level. 4)you don't use the wii-mote to punch you use the A and B buttons, i got the wii version under the impression i'd be smashing stuff with my hands...i was sad. 5)instead of being able to buy power ups you have to run around the city to find your health and you fury power ups. 6) the enemies are all way to easy the only time i died was on the parts where you can't fight back or you fail the mission. 7)your better off just buying ultimate destruction and being happy than wasting your time playing this junk, its as bad as the other movie based hulk game, more fighting on this one but its the same formula just on ultimate destruction steroids!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Incredible"ly average bashing game.

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

When a secret group called the Enclave tries to take over New York (or destroy it), there's nobody that can stop them except for the Hulk aka Dr. Bruce Banner.
You play as the Hulk wandering about New York as people gasp, scream and run away from you. Your task is to find icons placed about the city that will give you missions or mini games.
The missions are simple types: destroy this, bring this person or thing from here to there and/or protect this.
Most of the enemies are soldiers, and they're hopelessly inept against the Hulk. You also fight some stronger muscle men, tanks, jeeps, helicopters and floating carriers. Once in a while you get into a boss fight, but most of those involve you waiting for the right time to strike or just pounding the other guy into the ground.
Going through the missions are simple. For the most part, you'll be mashing buttons as you dispatch your enemies. It's mindless fun to take on the US Army or this "Enclave" guys. But the action can get repetitive and almost all of the explosions look flat and uninspired. When buildings get demolished, it's a "meh" effect.
But the biggest problem with the Hulk is the camera. It tends to wander off at the worst time, giving you a bad view of the battle ground. Using the - button and waving the Wiimote to reposition the camera is very clunky.
The Incredible Hulk is a fun rent, but a bad camera and bland in game graphics keep it off the buy list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Developers had NO idea how to use the Wii

posted by RogerH (CRYSTAL BAY, NV) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was very anxious to try out the new Hulk game for the Wii, but like to many games ported to the Wii, developers are so use to sitting on the couch with other every other game, they missed a wonderful opportunity.

The Hulk can punch with either hand in the game. So what did these couch ridden developers do? Assign the punch to the 'B' and 'Z' buttons. Hey, did any of them even try the Wii boxing? Come on? How lazy do you have to be to assign a punch motion to a button when you simply can punch with the remote?

Imagine. You could have done everything using the remotes like two arms. Raise a shield over your head - Raise both remotes. Crush your enemies by swinging both arms down. Grab something, bring your hands together, uh, you guessed it, like you are grabbing something.

This title could have really been great for the Wii if the developers had even a clue on how to program for it. I bet none of them had ever seen a Wii. With a little intelligence most moves could have easily been made more Wii like, however the developers simply chose to remain on the couch and do nothing but punch buttons.

What losers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HULK wonder

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's all fun and smash smash until you realize you're walking in circles doing just about the same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty cool game...

posted by zack21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i like this game. its a good 3D game... FULL OF
DESTRUCTION!!!!!!!!!!! but when the hulk screams,
its kinda wierd. but ignore that, if you like
grand theft auto or ant fighting games, you'll
like this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Over and over again

posted by phildog111 (SHELBYVILLE, IL) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great, we have this multi million dollar epic movie that blows all expectation out of the water. Now I have to play a game that is part Hulk part Rampage ....all boring. It does get better as your moves progress, but all in all its just punch leap run Hulk smash and repeat over and over again. If your a fan of the incredible hulk and only have the Wii then rent Ultimate Destruction for game cube cause even though Ed Norton helps with voice acting this just isn't worth it.,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak HULK weeeaaaakkk

posted by hocky98 (MILPITAS, CA) Jun 18, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If the game didnt remind me that SEGA made it, I would have sworn this was lifted directly from Vicarious Visions version of Spiderman on the Wii.

The play is too similar and HULK doesnt bring anything new.

I would say that the graphics is slightly better on HULK itself but the rest is still from the cookie cutter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good for first 5 minutes

posted by Fishtaco (Los Angeles, CA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The moves are to repetitive, graphics are horrible, apparently their are only 2 people in the city that you can pick up and throw... a man and a woman. This game is obviously an example of a game rushed to be paired with the release of the movie and it paid dearly for it. Do not rent this game, it is a waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK

posted by starwarsma (SEBASTOPOL, CA) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

this game isn't the kind of game you would want to buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN!!

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is sweet. It is a lot of fun. But it also gets boring after a while. i recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good and Bad things for this game

posted by ZRTattack (AVON, CT) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Good: okay, I would say get ultimate destruction before this, but this was a really fun game. You just jump, use special power-ups, and smash your way through the semi-realistic New York. Also, you battle major bosses, and you can pick up, and throw people for about a quarter mile. You can also pick up cars and turn cars into steel boxing gloves.

Bad: there were things you couldn't do, like make sides of buildings fall of, the descriptions for hulk were dull, and he barely made any noise at all. Except roar every time you do a special move (which is not often at all). You couldn't get the heck away from the army when they come after you, and when you get hit, it takes more life away then you expected.

But, if you were looking for at least 2 good hulk games, I would say, "The Incredible Hulk, and Hulk Ultimate Destruction."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bumbumbum

posted by chickencow (CLEARFIELD, UT) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is awesome who wouldn't like it you run around and smash stuff and get to say HULK SMASH!!!!!!!!!!! Really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is a game that makes the hulk him self mad.

posted by wolverineX (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I mean come, on you'd think that Incredible Hulk the video game would be fun, at least a little bit. Here are some reasons why this video game is NOT fun: bad graphics, not enough destruction, wwwaaayyyy too hard, and can not keep your interest for two minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gets old quick...

posted by LisaNYC (ALBANY, NY) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Repetitive plot, poor graphics, and complicated controls. I'm just overall disappointed with this game. I really got the impression that the developers thought the game would do poorly because the budget wasn't there for it as the movie. Edward Norton does do the voice overs which is cool, but the game had so much potential that they dropped. Its good to try it out for a while, but I'm really glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

should be sued for boringness

posted by Slayer99 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

this game is soooooooooooooooooo baaaaaaaaaaad it made my head explode BAD graphics BAD gameplay
BAD everthing i rented it played 5 levels of story
THREW UP then sent it back DO I HAVE TO SAY MORE
the movie was great THE game WAS NOT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too Hard!!!

posted by lahlah (DESLOGE, MO) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Rented this for my son who quickly became frustrated because the levels were too hard. We had to return the game immediately due to the difficulty of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak at best

posted by DrKnow (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game attempts to place the hulk in the same type of environment as the Spiderman 2 game. Hulk has free reign over Manhattan, but it falls way short of the Spiderman 2 experience.

the game play on the Wii was not fluid. Camera position was weak and you could not easily change the camera position while moving or fighting which caused me some grief. The Shaking of the nunchuk for certain attacks was never consistent sometimes it attacked sometimes it didn't. The missions quickly became very repetitive.

What I really disliked was the the story line. Hulk is taking orders from Rick Jones on how to save the city, stop the Enclave gang, etc as if the Hulk was under Banner's control. However, he goes around the city breaking everything he touches like the savage hulk. "Lets save the city, never mind you destroyed 78 cars, 4 buildings, and countless lightpoles.

Overall the game is just ok, a 4 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It cool game but seems easy at times.

posted by 24454426 (MURFREESBORO, TN) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

It was a fun and cool game, though at times as my friend pointed out it seemed too easy at times. Great stuff and it was awesome to really smash anything even the buildings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Bad Wii Game

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Good Game, I liked it and my eight year old son loved it. Too bad the controls were unhappy and the graphics on the PS2 are better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So So

posted by EricBosarg (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is like all the others that have come out, Spiderman, Avengers, etc. I played it on my Wii and it was really hard to navigate and work with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse